Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Carmen Herrera

1915 | Havana, Cuba
Informations
Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Jason Schmidt

Sponsor
— Lisson Gallery

Cuban-American painter.

“Purification … and elimination of all that is not essential” has always been at the heart of Carmen Herrera’s painting, as the artist herself has said. This desire for formal simplicity associated with a vibrant sense of colour has made her one of the most important figures of geometric abstraction and minimalism in the second half of the 20th century. Born in Cuba in 1915, C. Herrera lived between Havana and Paris in the 1930s and 1940s before moving permanently to New York in 1954. She studied architecture at the Universidad de La Habana (1938-1939), then fine arts at the Arts Students League in New York (1942-1943) where she met Abstract Expressionist artists, notably Barnett Newman (1905-1970) and Ellsworth Kelly (1923-2015). From 1948 to 1952 she became known in Paris where she participated in the Salon des réalités Nouvelles, an annual exhibition that presented the trends in abstraction, from concrete art to geometric art, as well as more allusive figurative forms. An enthusiast of the Suprematism of Kazimir Malevitch (1879-1935) and Piet Mondrian (1872-1944), as well as De Stijl, which favoured pure colours and forms as well as mathematical and dynamic compositions, she progressively abandoned the lyrical and interlaced forms from her early canvases for stretched triangular patterns with precise contours.

In one of her most important series, completed after her return to New York, Blanco y Verde (1959-1971), C. Herrera developed compositions in which symmetry, asymmetry, spatial tensions and rhythms were predominate. Sharp lines associated with highly contrasted flat surfaces give her minimal paintings their dynamism. Long unknown in the art world dominated by masculine abstraction, the artist continued to paint for almost six decades, only rarely exhibiting her work to the public. It was not until 2004, at the age of 89, that she sold her first painting. Since then, C. Herrera has finally enjoyed the success that she deserved. The Whitney Museum of American Art dedicated a major retrospective to her work in 2016-2017, Carmen Herrera: Lines of Sight, and the most important international museums have since recognised her fundamental contribution to abstraction and minimalism.

In 2019, at the age of 104, C. Herrera continues to paint daily, drawing motifs in pencil on graph paper, then in marker on vellum, before transposing the work in a large format, still mixing geometric abstraction and the expressionism of colour.

Read more

Marie Perennès

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Angulo Rojo [red angle], 2017, acrylic and aluminum, 213.4 x 307.3 x 48.3 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Ariel, 2006, acrylic on canvas, 91.4 x 91.4 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Blanco y Verde [white and green], 1962, acrylic on canvas, 152.4 x 182.9 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Blanco y Verde [white and green], 1966, acrylic on canvas, 101.9 x 114.9 cm, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Blue with Orange, 1984, acrylic on canvas, 182.9 x 152.4 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Diagonal, 1987, oil and acrylic on canvas, 170.5 x 173 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Iberic, 1951, acrylic on canvas on board, 101.6 cm Ø, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Untitled Estructura (Green), 2007-2016, acrylic and aluminium, 121.6 x 162.6 x 15.2 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Yellow and Blue, 1965, acrylic on canvas with painted frame, 61 x 99 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Discover
Linked themes
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Carmen Herrera

1915 | La Havane, Cuba
Informations
Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Jason Schmidt

Soutien
— Lisson Gallery

Peintre cubaine-états-unienne.

« La purification […] et l’élimination de ce qui n’est pas essentiel » dans la peinture sont depuis toujours au cœur du travail de Carmen Herrera, comme le dit elle-même l’artiste. Cette volonté de simplicité formelle, associée à son sens vibrant de la couleur, en fait l’une des grandes figures de l’abstraction géométrique et du minimalisme de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Née à Cuba en 1915, C. Herrera vit entre La Havane et Paris dans les années 1930 et 1940 avant de s’installer définitivement à New York en 1954. Elle étudie d’abord l’architecture à l’Universidad de La Habana (1938-1939), puis les beaux-arts à l’Art Students League à New York (1942-1943) où elle rencontre les grands artistes de l’expressionnisme abstrait, notamment Barnett Newman (1905-1970) et Ellsworth Kelly (1923-2015). De 1948 à 1953, elle s’établit à Paris où elle prend part au Salon des réalités nouvelles qui présente chaque année toutes les tendances de l’abstraction, de l’art concret à l’art géométrique en passant par des formes de figuration plus allusives. Enthousiasmée par le suprématisme de Kazimir Malevitch (1879-1935) et de Piet Mondrian (1872-1944) ou encore par le mouvement De Stijl, qui privilégie les couleurs et les formes pures, ainsi que les compositions mathématiques et dynamiques, elle abandonne peu à peu les formes lyriques et entrelacées de ses premières toiles au profit de motifs triangulaires étirés aux contours précis.

Dans l’une de ses plus importantes séries, Blanco y Verde [Blanc et vert, 1959-1971], réalisée après son retour à New York, C. Herrera développe ainsi des compositions dans lesquelles la symétrie, l’asymétrie, les tensions spatiales et les rythmes sont prédominants. Les lignes nettes s’associent à des aplats chromatiques très contrastés, ce qui confère toute leur dynamique à ses peintures minimales. Longtemps inconnue dans un monde de l’art dominé par une abstraction masculine, l’artiste continue de peindre pendant près de six décennies, n’exposant que très rarement son travail au public. Ce n’est qu’en 2004, alors âgée de 89 ans, qu’elle vend sa première toile. Depuis lors, C. Herrera savoure enfin le succès qui lui est dû : le Whitney Museum of American Art lui a ainsi consacré une grande rétrospective en 2016 et 2017, intitulée Carmen Herrera: Lines of Sight, et les plus grands musées internationaux reconnaissent désormais son apport fondamental à l’abstraction et au minimalisme.

En 2019, à 104 ans, C. Herrera peint encore quotidiennement, dessinant les motifs au crayon sur du papier millimétré, puis au feutre sur du papier vélin, avant de transposer l’œuvre en grand format, mêlant ainsi toujours l’abstraction géométrique et l’expressionnisme de la couleur.

 

Lire plus

Marie Perennès

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Angulo Rojo [angle rouge], 2017, acrylique et aluminium, 213,4 x 307,3 x 48,3 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Ariel, 2006, acrylique sur toile, 91,4 x 91,4 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Blanco y Verde [blanc et vert], 1962, acrylique sur toile, 152,4 x 182,9 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Blanco y Verde [blanc et vert], 1966, acrylique sur toile, 101,9 x 114,9 cm, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Blue with Orange, 1984, acrylique sur toile, 182,9 x 152,4 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Diagonal, 1987, huile et acrylique sur toile, 170,5 x 173 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Iberic, 1951, acrylique sur toile sur planche, 101,6 cm Ø, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Untitled Estructura (Green), 2007-2016, acrylique et aluminium, 121,6 x 162,6 x 15,2 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Carmen Herrera — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Carmen Herrera, Yellow and Blue, 1965, acrylique sur toile avec cadre peint, 61 x 99 cm, Courtesy Lisson Gallery, © Carmen Herrera

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29