Céline Gracieuse Laguarde

1873Biarritz, France | 1961Lausanne, Switzerland
Informations
Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Girl with Carnation, 1905, full plate Halftone, private collection

French photographer.

Céline Laguarde’s work was recently rediscovered as part of the pictorialist movement, the first artistic one in the history of photography which originated in the late 19th century. She was one of the major figures of the French branch of this international movement at the start of the 20th century.
Born in the French Basque Country and relocated in Provence, C. Laguarde spent most of her life in Aix-en-Provence. Part of her career as a photographer was based in south-eastern France (particularly in Marseille and Nice). In 1901 she was accepted at the Salon du Photo-Club de Paris, the annual exhibition organized by the most prestigious French amateur association, which she joined as a member the following year. Through contact with its members she developed a preference for the most sophisticated and complex photographic processes of the time, primarily gum bichromate printing. Her masterful use of this pigment printing process earned her accolades from the critics, who saw in her a female and southern counterpart to Robert Demachy (1859-1936), the leader of artistic photography in France who first brought the process to prominence.

One of the main highlights of C. Laguarde’s career was her solo exhibition at the Casino de Nice in 1911. Her work had already undergone a visible shift at the time. While her practice over the previous decade was mostly dominated by studies of the female figure, and more broadly by a symbolist vein, her inspiration moved towards a more straightforward approach to portrait photography. Her effigies of male celebrities of the literary, artistic, musical and scientific worlds (including Maurice Barrès, Darius Milhaud, and Jean-Henri Fabre) – which reflected the company she kept and the diversity of her interests – made quite an impression at pre-war Salons. Such an orientation in this artistic genre, added to her status as a world-renowned female photographer, makes C. Laguarde’s case doubly exceptional in the field of French pictorialism.

International photographic periodicals reproduced many of her works until World War I, after which she almost completely cut herself off from the photography scene. Nearly a century would go by after her last successes until the public was able to rediscover some of her original prints at the exhibition Qui a peur des femmes photographes? 1839-1919 at the Musée de l’Orangerie in Paris in 2015. The following year, the Musée d’Orsay became the only public institution to hold a representative group of her photographs, most of which came from her private collection. An exhibition devoted to the rediscovery of C. Laguarde’s life and work, still largely unknown, is scheduled at the Musée d’Orsay for 2022.

Read more

Thomas Galifot

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Stella, 1904, screen

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Étude en brun, 1904, photogravure, first print series of 1904, board 21, private collection

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Au Jardin Ensoleillé, c. 1905, private collection

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Portrait de Mlle. S. de M., c. 1905, private collection

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Girl with Carnation, 1905, full plate Halftone, private collection

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, L’été, c. 1909, the Amateur Photographer & Photographic News, vol. L, 1305, p. 330, October 5th, 1909, private collection

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Céline Gracieuse Laguarde

1873Biarritz, France | 1961Lausanne, Suisse
Informations
Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Girl with Carnation, 1905, palette en demie-teinte, collection particulière

Photographe française.

Récemment redécouverte, l’œuvre de Céline Laguarde s’inscrit dans le premier mouvement artistique de l’histoire de la photographie, dénommé pictorialisme, qui a émergé à la fin du XIXe siècle. Au début du siècle suivant, l’artiste a compté parmi les principales figures au sein du courant français de ce mouvement international.
Basque d’origine et provençale d’adoption, C. Laguarde a majoritairement vécu à Aix-en-Provence. Sa carrière de photographe s’est en partie déroulée dans le sud-est de la France (Marseille et Nice en particulier). En 1901, elle est admise au Salon du Photo-Club de Paris avant d’être, l’année suivante, élue membre de cette association d’amateurs, alors la plus prestigieuse de France. Au contact de ses acteurs, elle développe une prédilection pour les techniques les plus sophistiquées et complexes, au premier rang desquelles la gomme bichromatée. S’imposant par un usage virtuose de ce procédé pigmentaire, elle est louée par la critique tel un pendant féminin et sudiste de Robert Demachy (1859-1936), le chef de file de la photographie artistique en France, qui, le premier, avait donné à ce procédé ses lettres de noblesse.

Parmi les principaux temps forts de la carrière de C. Laguarde, citons son exposition personnelle organisée au casino de Nice en 1911. À cette époque, un tournant est déjà sensible dans son œuvre. Alors que la décennie précédente avait surtout été dominée par les études de figures féminines et, d’une manière générale, par une veine volontiers symboliste, c’est dans le domaine du portrait que la photographe exprime ensuite la part la plus nouvelle de son inspiration. Ses effigies de célébrités masculines des mondes littéraire, artistique, musical et scientifique (Maurice Barrès, Darius Milhaud, Jean-Henri Fabre…) – autant de reflets de ses fréquentations et de la variété de ses centres d’intérêt – sont particulièrement remarquées dans les Salons d’avant-guerre. L’orientation très affirmée dans un tel genre, ajoutée au fait d’être une femme artiste de l’objectif reconnue internationalement, fait de C. Laguarde un cas doublement exceptionnel au sein du pictorialisme français.

Jusqu’à la Première Guerre mondiale, période au-delà de laquelle elle se met presque totalement en retrait du monde de la photographie, les revues internationales spécialisées  reproduisent abondamment ses œuvres. Il faut attendre cent ans après les derniers succès de l’artiste pour que le public puisse à nouveau apprécier, dans l’exposition Qui a peur des femmes photographes ? 1839-1919 au musée de l’Orangerie (Paris) en 2015, quelques-unes de ses épreuves originales. L’année suivante, le musée d’Orsay est devenu la seule institution publique détentrice d’un ensemble de photographies de C. Laguarde, provenant pour la plupart de sa collection personnelle. Une exposition consacrée à la redécouverte de cette artiste, de sa vie et de son œuvre encore largement inconnues, sera présentée au musée d’Orsay en 2022.

Lire plus

Thomas Galifot

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Stella, 1904, photogravure en taille douce

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Étude en brun, 1904, photogravure, première épreuve série de 1904, planche 21, collection particulière

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Au Jardin Ensoleillé, vers 1905, collection particulière

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Portrait de Mlle. S. de M., vers 1905, collection particulière

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, Girl with Carnation, 1905, palette en demie-teinte, collection particulière

Céline Gracieuse  Laguarde — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Céline Laguarde, L’été, vers 1909, the Amateur Photographer & Photographic News, vol. L, 1305, p. 330, 5 octobre 1909, collection particulière

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29