Colette Omogbai

1942 | Uzebba, Nigeria
Informations

Nigerian painter and art teacher.

Born in what is now Edo State, Southern Nigeria, Colette Omogbai lived her early life in Zaria, northern Nigeria. In 1963, while still a little-known art student of the then Nigerian College of Art Science and Technology (NCAST) in Zaria, she exhibited surrealist paintings at Mbari Club, a cultural hub in Ibadan, western Nigeria, on the invitation of Ulli Beier, the German art mediator and founding member of the Club. It is noteworthy that Omogbai was one of the very few female artists (the others were Susanne Wenger (1915-2009) and Georgina Beier (born in 1938) whose works were promoted by Ulli Beier and featured in exhibitions he curated.
The radical rejection of academic realism profoundly reflected in C. Omogbai’s expressive nonconformist paintings inspired by traditional African sculptural forms, marked an important point in the development of post-colonial modernism in Nigerian art. Her works received initial critical attention from creative elites in Lagos, following another exhibition at the Exhibition Centre, Lagos. In a review by Babatunde Lawal, published in the Nigeria Magazine in 1963, her works were described as lacking a feminine touch. This criticism prompted a response from C. Omogbai in the form of a feminist manifesto published in the 1965 in the same magazine, titled “Man Loves What Is Sweet and Obvious”.
Upon graduation from the NCAST, in 1964 C. Omogbai proceeded to further her art training in London at the Slade School of Fine Art, after which she returned to Benin, southern Nigeria and co-founded the Olokun Gallery with Chief Ovia Idah, where she had another exhibition. In 1976 she obtained a doctorate degree in art education from New York University. She returned to Nigeria in the same year and joined the Nigerian civil service as an art teacher and administrator.

Curiously, beyond her 1963 exhibitions at Ibadan and Lagos and the 1965 Manifesto, very little is known of the artist and her subsequent art practice. One of her paintings, Agony, exhibited in 1963 at Mbari in Ibadan, is currently part of the Iwalewahaus Collection, University of Bayreuth. Only recently in the context of the new interest in the history of modern African art did Agony surface again, raising fresh questions about the identity of its painter. Consequently, the painting has featured in a few important exhibitions: Okwui Enwezor’s Postwar: Art Between the Pacific and the Atlantic, 1945-1965 at Haus der Kunst, in Munich (2016-2017); Women on Aeroplanes at Centre for Contemporary Art in Lagos (2018-2019); and Into the Night: Cabarets and Clubs in Modern Art, Barbican Centre, London (2019-2020).
According to personal testimonies from the artist, the demands of public administration and the decline of her interest in the traditional African art forms that had inspired her practice, contributed to the abrupt end of her studio practice, and subsequent career investments in administration and philanthropy. Colette Omogbai is now retired and currently lives in the United States.

Read more

Iheanyi Onwuegbucha

Publication made in the framework of the Season Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Colette Omogbai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Colette Omogbai, Agony, c. 1963, IwalewahausDEVA, University of Bayreuth, © Colette Omogbai

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Colette Omogbai

1942 | Uzebba, Nigeria
Informations

Peintre et enseignante d’art nigériane.

Née dans l’actuel État d’Edo, dans le sud du Nigeria, Colette Omogbai passe sa jeunesse à Zaria, dans le nord du pays. En 1963, alors qu’elle est encore une simple étudiante en art au Nigerian College of Arts, Science and Technology (NCAST, l’actuelle Ahmadu Bello University) à Zaria, elle présente ses tableaux surréalistes au centre culturel Mbari Club, à Ibadan, dans l’ouest du Nigeria, sur l’invitation d’Ulli Beier, le commissaire d’exposition allemand qui tient le lieu. Il est à noter que C. Omogbai est l’une des rares femmes artistes – à l’instar de Susanne Wenger (1915-2009) et Georgina Beier (née en 1938) – dont les œuvres sont promues par U. Beier et présentées lors des expositions qu’il organise.
Le rejet radical du réalisme académique que reflètent profondément les tableaux de C. Omogbai, dont l’expressivité et l’anticonformisme sont inspirés par les formes traditionnelles de la sculpture africaine, constitue une étape importante dans le modernisme postcolonial au sein de l’art nigérian. Son travail est remarqué par la critique et les élites artistiques à la suite d’une seconde exposition à l’Exhibition Centre de Lagos. Une critique écrite par Babatunde Lawal, parue dans Nigeria Magazine en 1963, déplore l’absence d’une « touche féminine » dans l’œuvre de C. Omogbai. Cette dernière réplique en publiant en 1965 un manifeste féministe dans le même magazine, intitulé « Man Loves What Is ‘Sweet’ and Obvious ».
Une fois diplômée du NCAST en 1964, C. Omogbai poursuit ses études artistiques à Londres, à la Slade School of Fine Art. Elle retourne ensuite dans le sud du Nigeria, à Benin City, où elle fonde la galerie Olokun avec Chief Ovia Idah (1908-1968). En 1976, elle obtient un doctorat en enseignement artistique à la New York University. Elle retourne au Nigeria la même année et devient membre de la fonction publique en tant que professeure et administratrice d’école d’art.

Étrangement, nous ne savons que très peu de chose sur l’artiste et sur sa pratique au-delà de ses expositions à Ibadan et à Lagos en 1963 et de son manifeste de 1965. L’un de ses tableaux, Agony (1963), présenté lors de l’exposition au Mbari Club, fait désormais partie de la collection Iwalewahaus à l’Universität Bayreuth. Ce n’est que récemment, à la faveur d’un intérêt renouvelé pour l’histoire de l’art moderne africain, qu’Agony a été remis en lumière et a soulevé des interrogations sur l’identité de sa créatrice. Par la suite, le tableau figure dans plusieurs événements importants : Postwar: Art between the Pacific and the Atlantic, 1945-1965, organisé par Okwui Enwezor à la Haus der Kunst de Munich (2016-2017) ; Women on Aeroplanes au Centre for Contemporary Art, Lagos (2018-2019) ; Into the Night: Cabarets and Clubs in Modern Art au Barbican Centre, Londres (2019-2020).
D’après l’artiste elle-même, les exigences de son emploi de fonctionnaire et le déclin de son intérêt pour les arts traditionnels africains qui avaient inspiré son travail ont été les facteurs déclencheurs de la fin abrupte de sa pratique d’atelier, au profit de choix de carrière davantage axés sur la fonction publique et la philanthropie. C. Omogbai est désormais à la retraite et vit aux États-Unis.

Lire plus

Iheanyi Onwuegbucha

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Publication réalisée dans le cadre de la Saison Africa2020.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Colette Omogbai — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Colette Omogbai, Agony, vers 1963, IwalewahausDEVA, University of Bayreuth, © Colette Omogbai

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29