Constance Stuart Larrabee

1914Camborne, United Kingdom | 2000Chestertown, United States of America
Informations

British-South-African photographer.

Constance Stuart arrived in the Union of South Africa with her mother shortly after her birth in Camborne, a mining town in Cornwall, and grew up in Pretoria, the country’s administrative capital. Photography became her calling early on, because her maternal grandfather William John Bennetts owned a photographic business in Camborne. In 1933 she left for training in London and Munich, where she studied at the Bavarian State Institute of Photography. There she became familiar with modernist photography, twin-lens reflex cameras, and the aesthetics of black-and-white film. By 1936 she was back in Pretoria and soon thereafter established the Constance Stuart Portrait Studio. Her modern mode of portraiture attracted prominent sitters, among them politicians, artists and writers.
Besides her studio work, Stuart photographed South Africans of all racial backgrounds in their environments. She used a Rolleiflex and developed her signature style, including employing different camera angles, focusing on intricate details, and experimenting with light, texture and form. Fascinated with visual aspects of African cultures, C. Stuart began to visit settlements of the Ndebele peoples near Pretoria, famous for their colorful traditional attire, painted homesteads, and performances for tourists. Women and children, her favorite subjects, understood how to pose for her camera during long portrait sessions.

C. Stuart’s reputation as a photographer grew, and several smaller exhibitions brought her wider recognition, among them a 1944 show of photographs she had taken in 1942-1943 in the Cape Town Malay Quarter, today referred to as Bo-Kaap. Flamboyant English playwright and actor Noël Coward opened this display (The Malay Quarter, 1944). Towards the end of the Second World War, the South African Director of Military Intelligence accredited her South Africa’s first woman war correspondent on assignment for the illustrated periodical Libertas. Between July 1944 and March 1945, Stuart accompanied the South African Sixth Armoured Division and the American Seventh Army to Italy. She also encountered French and Italian resistance fighters and French and British troops. As a woman, she was not allowed to witness battles, thus she often depicted their aftermath and the human toll of war during the ongoing liberation of Europe from Mussolini’s forces in Italy and Hitler’s occupation in France.

Upon her return to South Africa C. Stuart opened a second studio in Johannesburg, an unusual endeavor for an unmarried woman in a profession dominated by men. Whenever possible, C. Stuart also continued her passion of recording the life of black Africans in an effort to visually preserve their cultures. She traveled to the Xhosa, Zulu, Swazi and Lobedu peoples in so-called Homelands, rural regions where the white South African government required them to live or had forcefully resettled them.

In and around Johannesburg Stuart created images, which for viewers today bear witness to the horrendous conditions that black African workers and so-called Coloureds of various descent experienced as a result of economic marginalisation and exploitation during the era of racial segregation and, after 1948, under apartheid. Stuart ventured into the south-western townships on the city’s outskirts (by the early 1960s referred to as Soweto). She photographed in Pimville and Orlando, where non-white migrants from rural areas lived in barracks and substandard housing erected by the government. She also captured the plight of poor white South Africans, and the lives of rural Afrikaners, the descendants of early Dutch and Huguenot settlers.

Illustrated magazines thrived in the United States and C. Stuart saw another opportunity to promote her work, so in 1948 she signed up with Black Star, a picture agency in New York. Through Black Star, some of her photographs appeared in Harper’s Bazaar, Life and Vogue. In May of 1949 she arrived in New York for a three-month tour organised by the agency to familiarise her with fellow American image-makers and to show her work. While in the city, she renewed her acquaintance with Colonel Sterling Loop Larrabee (1889-1974), whom she knew from his time as a military attaché in Pretoria; they married and she stayed in the United States.

C. Stuart Larrabee and her husband enjoyed a quiet life at his estate on Chesapeake Bay in rural Maryland. Some of her South African photographs appeared in American exhibitions, among them two in Edward Steichen’s groundbreaking Family of Man at the Museum of Modern Art in 1955. She also pursued a few documentary projects, such as a 1951 photographic exploration of historic Tangier Island and its inhabitants in the Virginia part of the bay. However, as time went by her professional photographic activities declined. She devoted herself to depicting Maryland’s environment, its architecture, working people, and nearby Washington College in Chestertown, which she supported generously.

Beginning in the late 1970s, C. Stuart Larrabee’s photography experienced a renaissance through exhibitions and publications in South Africa and the United States. She enjoyed the renewed recognition of her work. However, she never fully answered the one question that curators and scholars posed during frequent interviews, namely whether she actively opposed the South African regime’s cruel segregationist and apartheid policies in her photographic oeuvre. She shied away from politics until the end of her life. She maintained that her practice was purely personal expression, her passion for photography, and a testimony to her excellent eye.

Read more

Christraud M. Geary


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Two Young Ndebele Women, Pretoria, South Africa, 1936-1949, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Ndebele Boys’,Neat Pretoria, South Africa, 1936-1949, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Ndebele Child, Pretoria, South Africa, 1936-1949, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Man in Leopard Coat, Nhlangano, Swaziland, South Africa, 1936-1949, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Sotho Cattle Herder, Lesotho, South Africa, 1941, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Sotho Herd Boy, near Maseru, Lesotho, South Africa, 1941, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, WWII, August 1944, Shoes Dropped by Allies Behind the Front Line to Fighting, 1944, 19.21×19.21 cm, gelatin silver print, Corcoran Collection, © Washington’s National Gallery of Art

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, untitled, 1944, 50.48×40.64 cm, gelatin silver print, Corcoran Collection, © Washington’s National Gallery of Art

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Man with Hatt Carrying Logs, Lobatse, Botswana, 1947, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Xhosa Women Transkei, South Africa, 1947, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Johannesburg Social Center, South Africa, 1948, 43.18×37.94 cm, gelatin silver print, Corcoran Collection, © Washington’s National Gallery of Art

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Zulu Warrior, Natal, South Africa, 1949, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Xhosa Woman, Transkei, South Africa, 1949, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Women Talking at a Party at the Mmabatho Convention Centre, Mmabathoo, South Africa, 1983, gelatin silver print, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Constance Stuart Larrabee

1914Camborne, Royaume-Uni | 2000Chestertown, États-Unis
Informations
Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee at desk in her photography studio, South Africa, vers 1945

Photographe britannique-sud-africaine.

Constance Stuart Larrabee arrive en Afrique du Sud avec sa mère peu de temps après sa naissance à Camborne, une ville minière des Cornouailles, et grandit à Pretoria, la capitale administrative du pays. Elle s’intéresse très tôt à la photographie, car son grand-père maternel, William John Bennetts, tient un studio de photographie à Camborne. Elle quitte le pays en 1933 pour faire ses études à Londres et à Munich, où elle s’inscrit à l’Institut bavarois pour la photographie. Elle s’y familiarise avec la photographie moderne, les appareils bi-objectif et l’esthétique du noir et blanc. De retour à Pretoria en 1936, elle fonde le Constance Stuart Portrait Studio. Le style moderne de ses portraits attire des modèles célèbres, en particulier des personnalités politiques, des artistes et des écrivain·e·s.
En plus de son travail en studio, C. Stuart Larrabee photographie des Sud-Africain·e·s de tous milieux dans leur environnement quotidien. Elle utilise un Rolleiflex et développe son propre style en se servant d’angles de prise de vue variés et en se focalisant sur des détails spécifiques, ou encore en expérimentant avec la lumière, les textures et les formes. Sa passion pour les aspects visuels des cultures africaines la pousse à rendre visite aux communautés ndebele installées près de Pretoria, connues pour leurs tenues traditionnelles colorées, leurs habitations peintes et les performances qu’elles mettent en scène pour les touristes. Les femmes et les enfants, qui sont ses sujets favoris, apprennent à poser pour elle au cours de longues séances.

C. Stuart Larrabee voit sa réputation croître : plusieurs petites expositions lui valent une notoriété grandissante, notamment en 1944 The Malay Quarter, où elle présente une série de photographies prises en 1942-1943 dans le quartier malais du Cap (aujourd’hui nommé Bo-Kaap). L’extravagant dramaturge et acteur britannique Noël Coward se produit pour l’ouverture de cette exposition. Vers la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le directeur des services de renseignements militaires sud-africains fait de C. Stuart Larrabee la première femme correspondante de guerre et la charge de couvrir le conflit pour la revue illustrée Libertas. De juillet 1944 à mars 1945, elle se rend avec la 6edivision sud-africaine et la 7e armée américaine en Italie. Elle rencontre également des membres de la résistance française et italienne et des soldats français et britanniques. En tant que femme, elle n’est pas autorisée à assister aux combats : elle photographie donc principalement l’après-coup et le bilan humain de la guerre pendant la libération en Europe, qu’il s’agisse des forces mussoliniennes en Italie ou de l’occupation hitlérienne en France.

De retour en Afrique du Sud, C. Stuart Larrabee ouvre un second studio à Johannesburg, entreprise exceptionnelle pour une femme célibataire au sein d’une profession dominée par les hommes. Dès qu’elle en a la possibilité, elle continue également à photographier la vie des tribus noires africaines, avec l’objectif de conserver une trace visuelle de leurs cultures. Elle rend visite aux tribus xhosa, zouloues, swazi et lobedu dans les homelands, ces régions rurales où le gouvernement blanc les a obligées à se relocaliser.

Les photographies que C. Stuart Larrabee prend à Johannesburg et dans sa région nous apportent aujourd’hui un témoignage inestimable sur les conditions abominables dans lesquelles vivaient les travailleur·euse·s africain·e·s ou coloured à cause de la marginalisation économique et de l’exploitation qu’ils subissaient pendant la période de ségrégation raciale et, à partir de 1948, sous l’apartheid. Elle se rend dans les townships du Sud-Ouest, en bordure de ville (rebaptisés Soweto dès le début des années 1960) et photographie à Pimville et à Orlando la vie des migrant·e·s non blanc·he·s venu·e·s des régions rurales, entassé·e·s dans des baraquements et logements insalubres construits par le gouvernement. Elle montre aussi le sort des Sud-Africain·e·s blanc·he·s pauvres et la vie des Afrikaners ruraux·ales issu·e·s des colonies néerlandaise et huguenote.

C. Stuart Larrabee voit dans l’explosion des revues illustrées aux États-Unis une occasion de diffuser ses photographies. Elle est engagée en 1948 par Black Star, une agence d’images à New York. Grâce à celle-ci, elle publie quelques clichés dans Harper’s Bazaar, Life et Vogue. Elle arrive à New York en mai 1949, pour un séjour de trois mois organisé par l’agence afin qu’elle se familiarise avec ses collègues des États-Unis et qu’elle fasse connaître son travail. Lors de ce séjour, elle renoue avec un ancien ami, le colonel Sterling Loop Larrabee (1889-1974), qu’elle a rencontré lorsqu’il était attaché militaire à Pretoria. Elle l’épouse et s’établit aux États-Unis.

C. Stuart Larrabee et son mari mènent une vie tranquille dans leur propriété de Chesapeake Bay dans le Maryland. Elle montre quelques clichés sud-africains dans des expositions aux États-Unis, dont deux à la révolutionnaire présentation organisée par Edward Steichen au Museum of Modern Art de New York en 1955, The Family of Man. Elle se lance également dans plusieurs projets documentaires, comme l’exploration photographique de l’historique Tangier Island, située dans la partie virginienne de Chesapeake Bay, et de ses habitant·e·s, en 1951. Les années passant, elle se consacre de moins en moins à son activité de photographe professionnelle, préférant désormais s’intéresser à l’environnement, à l’architecture et aux travailleur·euse·s du Maryland, ainsi qu’au Washington College de Chestertown, auquel elle fait de généreux dons.

Au début des années 1970, le travail de C. Stuart Larrabee bénéficie d’un regain d’intérêt, avec une série d’expositions et de publications en Afrique du Sud et aux États-Unis. Elle apprécie cette reconnaissance renouvelée, mais ne répondra jamais vraiment à la question que les commissaires d’exposition et les universitaires lui posent dans de nombreuses interviews, à savoir si elle était ouvertement opposée au cruel régime ségrégationniste et à la politique de l’apartheidqu’elle montre dans son œuvre photographique. Elle se gardera de tout commentaire politique jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, en maintenant que sa pratique n’était qu’une expression de sa personnalité, de sa passion pour la photographie et de son excellent œil.

Lire plus

Christraud M. Geary

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Zulu Warrior, Natal, South Africa, 1949, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Xhosa Women Transkei, South Africa, 1947, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Xhosa Woman, Transkei, South Africa, 1949, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, WWII, August 1944, Shoes Dropped by Allies Behind the Front Line to Fighting, 1944, 19,21 × 19,21 cm, tirage gélatino-argentique, Corcoran Collection, © Washington’s National Gallery of Art

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Women Talking at a Party at the Mmabatho Convention Centre, Mmabathoo, South Africa, 1983, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, untitled, 1944, 50,48×40,64 cm, tirage gélatino-argentique, Corcoran Collection, © Washington’s National Gallery of Ar

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Two Young Ndebele Women, Pretoria, South Africa, 1936-1949, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Sotho Herd Boy, near Maseru, Lesotho, South Africa, 1941, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Sotho Cattle Herder, Lesotho, South Africa, 1941, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Ndebele Child, Pretoria, South Africa, 1936-1949, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Ndebele Boys’,Neat Pretoria, South Africa, 1936-1949, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Man with Hatt Carrying Logs, Lobatse, Botswana, 1947, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Man in Leopard Coat, Nhlangano, Swaziland, South Africa, 1936-1949, tirage gélatino-argentique, Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives, © National Museum of African Art, Smithsonian Institution

Constance Stuart Larrabee — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Constance Stuart Larrabee, Johannesburg Social Center, South Africa, 1948, 43,18×37,94 cm, tirage gélatino-argentique, Corcoran Collection, © Washington’s National Gallery of Art

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29