Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Florence Henri

1893New York, United States | 1982Compiègne, France
Informations
Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Selbstporträt, 1928, silver print, 25 x 18.4 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Sponsor
— Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Photographe et peintre suisse d’origine franco-allemande.

Alongside Germaine Krull, Florence Henri is considered to be the main representative of New Photography in France, and yet her rich and varied work is relatively unknown. The daughter of a French father and German mother, she arrived in Europe at the age of two, and was granted Swiss citizenship through marriage in 1924. Her artistic training was comprehensive: she studied music under Ferrucio Busoni in Berlin and took lessons at André Lhote’s studio, and Fernand Léger and Amédée Ozenfant’s Modern Academy in Paris. In 1925, she took part in the Parisian exhibition L’Art aujourd’hui, which brought together modern painting trends (Cubism, Constructivism, and Surrealism). She began taking her first photographs at a Bauhaus preliminary class in 1927, where she met László Moholy-Nagy, who had a deep influence on her. She moved to Montparnasse in 1929, but remained in close contact with Bauhaus. There, she earned a living taking portraits and advertising or fashion photographs, which were published, among others, in the Arts et métiers graphiques review. Her advertisement work – the ultimate field for innovation – features close-ups of objects, still lives, geometric patterns and image multiplications, as can be seen in her composition for a 1929 Lanvin publicity campaign, in which the duplicated spherical black shape of a perfume bottle becomes a necklace through complex mirror-play. This interest in mirrors is also visible in her street photography (Vitrines (Shop Windows), 1930-1933).

The 1930s find her excelling at portrait photography, whether commissioned by magazines or friends: Studio Henri, where Germaine Krull and Gisèle Freund trained, was highly famed in the capital. Aside from her professional work, she also practised experimental photography, applying cubist techniques to photography through the use of mirrors. Her studies of shapes, rhythm, and values Composition avec boule et miroir [Composition with ball and mirror, 1928] and Composition nature morte [Still life composition, a collage of pictures of fruit, 1929], possibly make her one of the first abstract photographers. She frequently mixed with Parisian constructivist and futurist painters, photographed her friends Wassily Kandinsky, Robert Delaunay, Fernand Léger, Hans (or Jean) Arp, and joined the Cercle et Carré movement. Some of her experimental photographs were published in avant-garde reviews like Die Form. Her work met with great success at the 1929 exhibition Film und Foto in Stuttgart, and she was granted a solo exhibition in the hall of the experimental cinema Studio 28 in Montmartre in 1930. A consistent contributor to all the major collective exhibitions of the interwar years, she was also known for her women’s and self-portraits, such as the one in which she is reflected in a long vertical mirror with two metal balls at its base (Self-Portrait, 1928).

Henri was one of the rare representatives of Constructivism in the field of photography. Like Bauhaus, the Russian artistic movement founded by Vladimir Tatline proclaimed the death of art and the incorporation of any act of creation into the production. The geometric conception of space was to be achieved through enhancing the beauty of the machine and of the industrial object. In photography, Constructivism was characterised by an attention to geometry and a redeployment of the object in all its dimensions. As such, the photographer experimented with new perspectives, superimpositions, creating imaginary spaces and meticulous compositions. Even when working on a reportage (on the Marseille ferry bridge, for instance), she achieved powerfully structured still lives. In the late 1930s, before World War II interrupted her work, she created photomontages based on pictures of ruins taken in Rome. She took up abstract painting again after the war and withdrew to a small village in Picardie in 1963. Her work was rediscovered in the late 60s, and the ARC department of the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris held a major exhibition of her work in 1978. Like other avant-garde photographers, Henri symbolises the interwar shift from artistic photography based on the pictorial model (in her case, purist and constructivist painting) to a resolutely modern photographic outlook and approach.

 

Read more

Anne Reverseau

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Pariser Fenster, 1929, silver print, 25.3 x 18.8 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Komposition I, 1928, silver print, 17.4 x 23.6 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Komposition II, 1928, silver print, 17.2 x 23.9 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Selbstporträt, 1928, silver print, 25 x 18.4 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Obst [Fruit], 1929, silver print, 16.8 x 24.2 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Florence Henri

1893New York, États-Unis | 1982Compiègne, France
Informations
Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Selbstporträt, 1928, tirage argentique, 25 x 18,4 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Soutien
— Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Photographe et peintre suisse d’origine franco-allemande.

Aux côtés de Germaine Krull, Florence Henri apparaît comme la principale représentante de la Nouvelle Photographie en France. Son œuvre riche et variée est pourtant relativement méconnue. De père français et de mère allemande, elle arrive en Europe à l’âge de 2 ans. Elle obtient la nationalité suisse par mariage en 1924. Sa formation artistique est complète : elle étudie la musique avec Ferrucio Busoni à Berlin, puis fréquente, à Paris, l’atelier André Lhote et l’académie moderne de Fernand Léger et d’Amédée Ozenfant. En 1925, elle participe à l’exposition parisienne L’Art d’aujourd’hui, qui réunit les tendances modernes de la peinture (cubisme, constructivisme et surréalisme). En 1927, elle réalise ses premiers essais photographiques alors qu’elle suit le cours préliminaire du Bauhaus et fréquente László Moholy-Nagy qui l’influence profondément. En 1929, elle s’installe à Montparnasse, mais reste en contact étroit avec le Bauhaus. Elle gagne alors sa vie en réalisant des portraits, des publicités et des photos de mode qui sont publiées, entre autres, dans Arts et métiers graphiques. Pour la publicité, terrain novateur par excellence, elle réalise des gros plans d’objets, des natures mortes, des motifs géométriques et des démultiplications d’images, comme en témoigne sa composition pour une campagne publicitaire de Lanvin en 1929, qui montre un flacon de parfum dupliqué, boule noire devenue collier, par un jeu complexe de miroirs. Cet intérêt pour les miroirs se retrouvera dans ses photos de rue (Vitrines, 1930-1933).

Dans les années 1930, elle excelle dans le portrait, qu’il s’agisse de commandes de magazines ou de portraits d’amis : le Studio Henri, lieu d’apprentissage pour G. Krull ou Gisèle Freund, compte parmi les plus célèbres de la capitale. En dehors de son parcours professionnel, elle pratique aussi la photographie expérimentale et transfère la technique cubiste du collage en photographie grâce aux miroirs. Avec les études de formes, de rythmes et de valeurs que sont Composition avec boule et miroir (1928) ou Composition nature morte (un collage à base d’images de fruits, 1929), elle peut être considérée comme l’une des premières photographes abstraites. Elle fréquente assidûment les peintres constructivistes et futuristes parisiens, photographie ses amis Vassily Kandinski, Robert Delaunay, F. Léger, Hans (ou Jean) Arp, et adhère au mouvement Cercle et Carré. Certaines de ses photographies expérimentales sont publiées dans des revues d’avant-garde comme Die Form. En 1929, elle triomphe à l’exposition Film und Foto de Stuttgart, puis obtient, en 1930, une exposition personnelle dans le hall du cinéma d’avant garde Studio 28, à Montmartre. Présente dans toutes les grandes expositions collectives de l’entre-deux guerres, elle est également connue pour ses portraits féminins et ses autoportraits, comme celui où elle apparaît dans un long miroir vertical avec deux boules de métal à sa base (Autoportrait, 1928).

Elle est l’une des rares représentantes du constructivisme en photographie. Ce mouvement artistique russe fondé par Vladimir Tatline proclame la mort de l’art et l’incorporation de tout acte créateur dans la production, à la suite du Bauhaus. La conception géométrique de l’espace passe par la valorisation de la beauté de la machine et de l’objet industriel. En photographie, le constructivisme se caractérise par une attention à la géométrie et par un redéploiement de l’objet dans toutes les dimensions. Ainsi, la photographe expérimente des perspectives nouvelles, des superpositions, crée des espaces imaginaires et des compositions rigoureuses. Même lorsqu’il s’agit de reportages (sur le pont transbordeur de Marseille par exemple), elle réalise des natures mortes puissamment élaborées. À la fin des années 1930, elle travaille à des photomontages sur le thème des ruines, avec des clichés ramenés de Rome, mais la Seconde Guerre mondiale interrompt son activité. Après la guerre, elle reprend la peinture abstraite et se retire dans un village de Picardie en 1963. Son œuvre est redécouverte à la fin des années 1960, et l’ARC du musée d’Art moderne de la Ville de Paris lui consacre une grande exposition en 1978. Comme d’autres photographes d’avant-garde, elle symbolise le passage, dans l’entre-deux-guerres, d’une photographie d’art encore proche du modèle pictural (dans son cas la peinture puriste et constructiviste) à une photographie résolument moderne, nouvelle dans son regard et son approche.

Lire plus

Anne Reverseau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Pariser Fenster, 1929, tirage argentique, 25,3 x 18,8 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Komposition I, 1928, tirage argentique, 17,4 x 23,6 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Komposition II, 1928, tirage argentique, 17,2 x 23,9 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Selbstporträt, 1928, tirage argentique, 25 x 18,4 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Florence Henri — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florence Henri, Obst [Fruit], 1929, tirage argentique, 16,8 x 24,2 cm, © Galleria Martini & Ronchetti, Genua/Italien, © Bahaus-Archiv Berlin

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29