Hannah Höch

1889Gotha, Germany | 1978Berlin, Germany
Informations

German visual artist.

Hannah Höch was the eldest of five children born to a provincial family. In 1904, her family made her leave school to take care of her younger sister, thus postponing the art studies she had intended to follow. Instead, she practiced watercolours and drawing, using the surrounding countryside and family members as models. She finally began attending the Charlottenburg School of Applied Arts in 1912. She learnt glass drawing under the direction of Harold Bengen and calligraphy with Ludwig Sütterlin. The school closed when the war was declared, and the young student left to work for the Red Cross in Gotha. She returned to Berlin the following year and studied graphics under the artist Emil Orlik. There she met Raoul Hausmann, with whom she would have an extramarital affair until 1922. From 1916 to 1926, she worked for the Ullstein Press, designing crochet and knitting patterns for their magazines, which provided her with endless resources for her photomontages. She used fragile papers, most of which can be found in her collages from 1920 onwards. During a holiday on the Baltic Sea in 1918, the artist and Haussmann discovered the popular custom of gluing a photograph of one’s own face on pictures of Prussian soldiers – this would become an inspiration for their first Dadaist collages. Höch became friends with Hans Arp and Kurt Schwitters, took part in the November Group’s meetings and sporadically in their annual exhibitions. She also became an active participant in Dada events in Berlin as from 1919.

In 1920, the review Schall und Rauch featured the outlines of two of her dolls on its cover. Despite George Grosz and John Heartfield’s reticence to accept a female artist, she showed two major pieces at the First International Dada Fair: Dada-Rundschau [Dada-Review, 1919] and Schnitt mit dem Küchenmesser Dada durch die letzte Weimarer Bierbauchkulturepoche Deutschlands [Cut with the Dada kitchen knife through the last beer-belly cultural epoch in Germany, 1919-1920]. In addition to the main political figures of the Weimar Republic, it already contains the theme of the identity and social role of women, which she would develop during the following years. The artist attended Arthur Segal’s Monday sessions, where she rubbed shoulders with Ernst Simmel, Erich Buchholz, and Alfred Döblin. With one of her sisters and the Swiss poet Regina Ullmann (1894-1961), she set out partly on foot on a journey to Rome. The result of the experience was Roma (1925), a painting in which the actress Asta Nielsen (1881-1972) dismisses Mussolini with a wave of her hand. Between 1920 and 1930, she began to exploit different materials and techniques, and in doing so created a series of major works: a collection of ethnographic collages and a considerable number of symbolic landscapes.

Her photomontage work parodied bourgeois life and explored the new expressions of femininity very common in media culture in the interwar period, while also enabling her to deconstruct the notions of race and sexual identity by creating hybrid faces. She used feminine everyday objects – ribbons, buttons, pieces of fabric, and lace trimmings –, which she then deformed until they became grotesque or menacing. She transferred the principle of montage to the field of painting, reworking some of her earlier pictures by adding new elements to them. In 1926, she met the Dutch writer Til Brugman (1888-1958), who would become her partner until 1935. She made contact with the De Stijl Group, became acquainted with Mondrian and Theo and Nelly van Doesburg (1899-1975), and joined the Onafhankelijke. She spent the war years living alone near Berlin, hiding metal crates in her garden that contained works by Hausmann, Arp, Schwitters, and her own, as well as catalogues, letters, reviews and documentaries from the Dada period. She gradually began working again in 1947 with oil paints and collages, in which colour photographs can be seen for the first time. The musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris and Neue Nationalgalerie in Berlin held major retrospectives of her work in 1976. The artist died two years later.

Read more

Catherine Gonnard

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Kleine Sonne [Little sun], 1969, collage, 16.3 cm x 24.2 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Roma, 1925, oil on canavas, 90 x 106 cm, © Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne, Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Symbolische Landschaft III [Symbolic landscape III], 1930, oil on canavas, 70.5 x 83.5 cm, © Dr. Peter Heindlmeyer, Berlin © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Ohhh, 1925, collage, 35.5 x 21.5 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Synthetische Blumen, [Artificial flowers], 1952, collage, 22.8 x 24.5 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Schwebende Formen [Floating shapes], 1958, oil on canavas, 90 x 60 cm, © Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Fortgeschritten [Advanced], c. 1958, collage, 24 x 16,8 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Den Männern gewidmet, die den Mond eroberten [Devoted to the men who conquered the moon], 1969, collage, 26 x 26.5 cm, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Entartet, 1969, collage, 34.3 cm x 40.6 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Das ewig Weibliche II [The eternally feminine II], 1967, collage, 51 x 26,8 cm, privatsammlung Wuppertal, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, 1945 (Das Ende) [1945 (The end)], 1945, oil on canavas, 92.8 x 81.4 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked article
Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Hannah Höch

1889Gotha, Allemagne | 1978Berlin, Allemagne
Informations

Plasticienne allemande.

Aînée de cinq enfants, Hannah Höch est issue d’un milieu provincial. En 1904, ses parents l’obligent à abandonner le lycée pour s’occuper de sa petite sœur, retardant ainsi les études d’art qu’elle voulait entreprendre. Elle s’exerce alors à l’aquarelle et au dessin, en prenant pour modèles les paysages avoisinants ou les membres de sa famille. En 1912, elle entre enfin à l’école d’arts appliqués de Charlottenburg à Berlin. Sous la direction d’Harold Bengen, elle apprend le dessin sur verre et étudie la calligraphie avec Ludwig Sütterlin ; mais quand la guerre est déclarée, l’école ferme, et la jeune étudiante part travailler pour la Croix Rouge à Gotha. De retour à Berlin l’année suivante, elle suit les cours de graphismes de l’artiste Emil Orlik et rencontre Raoul Haussmann, marié, avec qui elle entretiendra une liaison jusqu’en 1922. De 1916 à 1926, elle dessine des motifs de crochet et de tricot pour les magazines du groupe de presse Ullstein – une manne pour alimenter ses photomontages. Elle utilise des papiers fragiles, que l’on retrouve dans ses collages à partir de 1920. En villégiature sur la mer Baltique en 1918, l’artiste et R. Haussmann découvrent une pratique populaire constituant à coller l’image de son propre visage sur des photographies de soldats prussiens – source d’inspiration de leurs premiers collages dadaïstes. H. Höch se lie d’amitié avec Hans Arp et Kurt Schwitters, participe aux réunions du groupe November, et, sporadiquement, à leurs expositions annuelles. Dès 1919, elle est aussi active dans les évènements dadaïstes organisés à Berlin.

En 1920, la revue Schall und Rauch présente en couverture les silhouettes de deux de ses poupées. Malgré le refus de George Grosz et John Heartfield d’admettre la présence d’une artiste femme, elle expose deux œuvres importantes à la première Foire Internationale Dada : Dada–Runschau (1919) et Schmitt mit dem Küchenmesser Dada durch die letze Weimarer Bierbauchkulturepoche Deutschlands (1919 – 1920). Outre les principales figures politiques et culturelles de la république de Weimar, on y trouve déjà les thématiques de l’identité et du rôle social de la femme, qu’elle développera au cours des années suivantes. La plasticienne assiste aux lundis d’Arthur Segal ; elle y retrouve Ernst Simmel, Erich Buchholz, Alfred Döblin. En compagnie de l’une de ses sœurs et de la poétesse suisse Regina Ullmann (1894 – 1961), elle entreprend un voyage en partie à pied, à destination de Rome. De cette expérience naît Roma (1925), une toile où l’actrice Asta Nielsen (1881 – 1972) congédie d’un geste Mussolini. Entre 1920 et 1930, elle essaie d’exploiter des matériaux et des techniques diversifiés, et réalise une série d’œuvres importantes : un ensemble de collages ethnographiques et un nombre considérable de paysages symboliques.

Son travail de photomontage parodie la vie bourgeoise et explore les nouvelles images de la féminité, largement répandues dans la culture médiatique de l’entre-deux-guerres ; il lui permet aussi de déconstruire les notions de race et d’identité sexuelle ; en fabricant des visages hybrides. Elle emploie des objets quotidiens d’usage féminin – rubans, boutons, morceaux d’étoffe, passementerie – les déformant jusqu’à ce qu’ils deviennent grotesques et menaçants. Elle transfère le principe du montage dans le champ de la peinture, en reprenant certaines de ses toiles précédentes et en y ajoutant d’autres éléments. En 1926, elle rencontre l’écrivaine hollandaise Til Brugman (1888 – 1958), sa compagne jusqu’en 1935. Elle entre en contact avec le groupe De Stilj, fait la connaissance de Mondrian et de Theo et Nelly van Doesburg (1899 – 1975), puis adhère à l’Onafhankelijke. Elle vit les années de guerre dans la solitude, près de Berlin, cachant dans son jardin des caisses métalliques qui contiennent des œuvres de R. Haussmann, H. Arp, K. Schwitters et les siennes propres, ainsi que des catalogues, des lettres, des revues et documentaires de la période dada. En 1947, elle reprend lentement son travail d’artiste avec les huiles et les collages, dans lesquels, pour la première fois, apparaissent des photos en couleurs. En 1976, le musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris et la Galerie Nationale d’Art de Berlin lui consacrent une grande rétrospective. La plasticienne s’éteint deux ans plus tard.

Lire plus

Catherine Gonnard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Kleine Sonne [Petit soleil], 1969, collage, 16,3 cm x 24,2 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Roma, 1925, huile sur toile, 90 x 106 cm, © Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne, Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Symbolische Landschaft III [Paysage symboliste III], 1930, huile sur toile, 70,5 x 83,5 cm, © Dr. Peter Heindlmeyer, Berlin © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Ohhh, 1925, collage, 35,5 x 21,5 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Synthetische Blumen, [Fleurs artificielles], 1952, collage, 22,8 x 24,5 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Schwebende Formen [Formes flottantes], 1958, huile sur toile, 90 x 60 cm, © Berlinische Galerie – Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Fotografie und Architektur © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Fortgeschritten [Avancé], c. 1958, collage, 24 x 16,8 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Den Männern gewidmet, die den Mond eroberten [Dédié aux hommes qui ont conquis la lune], 1969, collage, 26 x 26,5 cm, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Entartet, 1969, collage, 34,3 cm x 40,6 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, Das ewig Weibliche II [L’éternel féminin II], 1967, collage, 51 x 26,8 cm, privatsammlung Wuppertal, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016 © ADAGP, Paris

Hannah Höch — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Hannah Höch, 1945 (Das Ende) [1945 (La fin)], 1945, huile sur toile, 92,8 x 81,4 cm, © Berliner Sparkasse © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2015 © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29