Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Helen Levitt

19132009 | New York, United States
Informations

American photographer.

Helen Levitt, who is inseparably linked to New York, took large numbers of photographs of the day-to-day life and the children of Harlem, Brooklyn, and the Lower Eastside. In the early 1930s, she worked with a portrait photographer in the Bronx, but it was her encounters with Henri Cartier-Bresson and Walker Evans, for whom she was an assistant in 1938-1939, which were decisive in her choice of career.  She purchased her first Leica in 1936 to photograph the chalk drawings of kids in the street whom she taught art (In the Street: Chalk Drawings and Messages, New York City, 1938-1948). Despite her use of the Leica, symbol of the boom in photographing reality between the wars, she was neither a photojournalist, nor a documentary photographer. Like Cartier-Bresson’s photographs, her images belonged to an “Art of the poetic accident”, which was the title of the retrospective show devoted to her work by the Henri Cartier-Bresson Foundation in 2007. They try to capture the energy, poetry and bustle of the New York melting pot. Because she photographed Harlem a great deal, she is sometimes seen as a social photographer, but, as the famous museum curator John Szarkowski explains, it was above all because life in modest neighborhoods is “socially rich and visually interesting” that she worked in them.
In this way, New York is at once a character and a décor, where children play and teenagers pose. These unposed images, taken with a 35mm camera, call to mind the French film movement of poetic realism. Shoes left on the pavement, children hiding under cars (New York, 1980), parents disappearing in landaus: the street becomes a merry, popular theatre. Behind the fantasy, however, a sort of anxiety shows through: the masks and disguises are sometimes distressing, and poverty is clearly visible. But many images also play on the contrast between the morose atmosphere of interiors and the exuberance of the characters photographed.

In 1943, the photographer earned an early relative recognition, thanks to the photographer Edward Steichen who enabled her to hold her first solo exhibition at the prestigious Museum of Modern Art (MoMA): Children: Photographs of Helen Levitt. In collaboration with the writer James Agee and filmmaker Janice Loeb, she made two films, The Quiet One (1949) and In the Street (1952), regarded as forerunners of independent American film. In 1959-1960, she received a grant from the Guggenheim Foundation to study colour photography. At that time she was seen as a pioneer:  the turning point was risky, but successful. Despite the theft of a large part of her colour photographs in 1970, she continued with her experiments and presented her images in Slide Show, a screening organized at the MoMA in 1974.  Various retrospective shows then emphasized the coherence of her career (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 1991; Henri Cartier-Bresson Foundation, Paris, 2007).

Her colour photographs, which have been a major source of inspiration for many photographers, nevertheless remain less well known among the general public than her black and white works, brought together in A Way of Seeing (1965). These snippets of everyday life are typical of urban American photography in the 1960s and 1970s, which owes the artist a considerable debt. Levitt did not belong to any school: close to photo-reportage and documentary photography, but without subscribing to either, her work was, according to Agee, “a moderate but irrefutable manifesto of a certain way of seeing things, gentle and thoroughly devoid of pretension”. In France, the first exhibition of her photos was not held until 1998. Her work, which was late to be recognized, is compared to humanist photography, but her artistic approach, her work on the interplay of glances, arrested movements and the evocative power of the off-screen, all belong more to the American documentary tradition.  Stripped of any political message and didactic intent, her art was above all an art of observation.

Read more

Anne Reverseau

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Baby Carriage, New York, 1940, black and white photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Boys, New York, ca. 1940, black and white photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, New York, ca. 1940, black and white photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Bubbles, New York, 1945, black and white photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Car Repair, date unknown, colour photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Green Car, New York, 1980, colour photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Lady and dog, date unknown, colour photograph, © Film Documents LLC

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Helen Levitt

19132009 | New York, États-Unis
Informations

Photographe américaine.

Indissociablement liée à New York, Helen Levitt a abondamment photographié la vie quotidienne et les enfants de Harlem, de Brooklyn et du Lower East Side. Au début des années 1930, elle travaille chez un photographe portraitiste dans le Bronx, mais ce sont ses rencontres avec Henri Cartier-Bresson et Walker Evans, dont elle est l’assistante en 1938-1939, qui décident de sa vocation. Elle achète son premier Leica en 1936 pour photographier les dessins à la craie des gamins des rues à qui elle enseigne l’art (In the Street : Chalk Drawings and Messages, New York City, 1938- 1948 (« dans la rue, dessins et messages à la craie », 1987). Malgré son utilisation du Leica, symbole de l’essor de la photographie du réel pendant l’entredeux- guerres, elle n’est ni photojournaliste, ni photographe documentaire. Comme les photographies de H. Cartier-Bresson, ses images appartiennent à un « Art de l’accident poétique », selon le titre de la rétrospective que lui consacre la fondation Henri Cartier- Bresson en 2007. Elles cherchent à capter l’énergie, la poésie et l’effervescence du melting-pot new-yorkais. Parce qu’elle a beaucoup photographié Harlem, elle est parfois perçue comme une photographe sociale, mais, comme l’explique le fameux conservateur de musée John Szarkowski, c’est avant tout parce que la vie dans les quartiers modestes est « socialement riche et visuellement intéressante » qu’elle y travaille.
Ainsi, New York constitue à la fois un personnage et un décor, où des enfants jouent et des adolescents posent. Ces images prises sur le vif, au 35 mm, ne sont pas sans évoquer le mouvement cinématographique français du réalisme poétique. Chaussures abandonnées sur le trottoir, enfants qui se dissimulent sous des voitures (New York, 1980), parents qui disparaissent dans des landaus : la rue devient un théâtre populaire et joyeux. Cependant, derrière la fantaisie perce une forme d’inquiétude : les masques et les déguisements sont quelquefois angoissants, et la pauvreté bien visible. Mais de nombreuses images jouent aussi sur le contraste entre la morosité des intérieurs et la joie de vivre des personnages.

Dès 1943, la photographe obtient une reconnaissance relative précoce, grâce au photographe Edward Steichen qui lui permet de réaliser sa première exposition individuelle au prestigieux Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) : Children : Photographs of Helen Levitt. En collaboration avec l’écrivain James Agee et la cinéaste Janice Loeb, elle réalise deux films, The Quiet One (« l’homme paisible », 1949) et In the Street (« dans la rue », 1952), considérés comme précurseurs du cinéma indépendant américain. En 1959-1960, elle reçoit une bourse de la fondation Guggenheim pour étudier la photographie couleur. Elle fait alors figure de pionnière : le tournant est risqué mais réussi. Malgré le vol d’une grande partie de ses prises de vues en couleur en 1970, elle poursuit ses expériences et présente ses images dans Slide Show (« diaporama »), projection organisée au MoMA en 1974. Des rétrospectives insisteront ensuite sur la cohérence de son parcours (San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, 1991 ; fondation Henri Cartier-Bresson, Paris, 2007).

Ses photographies en couleur, qui ont représenté une source d’inspiration majeure pour de nombreux photographes, restent pourtant moins connues par le grand public que ses photographies en noir et blanc, compilées dans A Way of Seeing (« une manière de voir », 1965). Ces fragments de vie quotidienne sont caractéristiques de la photographie américaine urbaine des années 1960 et 1970, qui doit à l’artiste un large tribut. H. Levitt n’appartient à aucune école : proche du photoreportage et de la photographie documentaire sans toutefois y adhérer, son œuvre est, selon J. Agee, « un manifeste modéré mais irréfutable d’une certaine manière de voir, douce et totalement dénuée de prétention ». En France, la première exposition qui lui a été consacrée ne date que de 1998. Son travail, reconnu tardivement, est rapproché de la photographie humaniste. Mais sa démarche artistique, son travail sur les jeux de regards, les mouvements arrêtés et le pouvoir évocateur de l’hors-champ appartiennent davantage à la tradition documentaire américaine. Dénué de message politique ou de volonté didactique, son art est avant tout un art de l’observation.

Lire plus

Anne Reverseau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Baby Carriage, New York, 1940, photographie noir et blanc, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Boys, New York, ca. 1940, photographie noir et blanc, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, New York, ca. 1940, photographie noir et blanc, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Bubbles, New York, 1945, photographie noir et blanc, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Car Repair, date inconnue, photographie couleur, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Green Car, New York, 1980, photographie couleur, © Film Documents LLC

Helen Levitt — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Helen Levitt, Lady and dog, date inconnue, photographie couleur, © Film Documents LLC

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29