Isa Genzken

1948 | Bad Oldesloe, Germany
Informations

Plasticienne allemande.

It took several decades for Isa Genzken’s pieces (sculptures, installations, photographs, paintings, and collages) to be recognized among the most important contributions to the history and renaissance of late-twentieth century sculpture. Composed of contemporary materials assembled in a sophisticated manner, her creations nonetheless display certain artisanal qualities. Her themes question the relationship between private and public space, the autonomy of art, and the collective experience. From a socio-political point of view, her forms demonstrate how art can find a way to bring shape and life to thought, ideology, and to humanity, its representations and disasters. The issue of material is of paramount importance to the artist. In the 1980s, she used wood, plaster, and concrete in her freestanding sculptures, which stand between 5 and 10 metres tall and call into question the architecture that was then at the heart of the postmodern debate over “deconstruction”. These conceptual objects are built following a rectangular design, enclosing space inside concrete walls without windows, fragments of architecture placed on a steel base (Marcel, 1987). In the 1990s, she introduced light and transparency, first using epoxy resin, a translucent material, then turning to coloured industrial glass, which lends her pieces a strange aesthetic. The façade becomes her subject, as in the New Buildings for Berlin series (2001–2002), a fragile incarnation of the skyscraper, made of glass, erected and grouped according to triangular and rectangular designs.

Then came, in the 2000s, the Social Façade series, in which the artist employed a format normally associated with painting. Strips of diverse metals – from copper plates to aluminium sheets – are glued to rectangular frames. Light, refracted by prisms onto shimmering surfaces, mirrors and multiplies the observer’s image, ego, and devastating power. This incursion took on even greater dimensions in the set of 22 sculptures entitled Empire Vampire, Who Kills Death (2002–2003), created following the September 11 attacks in 2001, which I. Genzken herself witnessed in New York. The materials became dirtier, and included plastic toys and debris; the colourless forms seem to be covered in ash, evoking the impenetrable and grey cloud that hung over the world that day. For a few years now, her installations have become more complex: they employ recycled materials, bright colours, torn and decomposed images, providing a feeling of violence, a definitive break with the idea of art as an all-encompassing discourse. Her exhibition in 2010 at the Chantal Crousel Gallery in Paris is a testament to this; she presented, namely, Mona Isa, which featured iconic characters from the history of art, such as Leonardo da Vinci or Michael Jackson, next to her own portraits. In Hotel, Harfe, Ambulance, Nofretete, Bibliothek (2010), sculpture-bodies symbolize universal lifestyle, in Lautsprecher, empty speaker cabinets, receivers or transmitters suspended from the ceiling forever await sounds, and an elephant – that big, sad, and tired animal – enters the exhibition through a hidden window (Mona Isa III [Elefant], 2010). The international public discovered her in 2007 through the Venice Biennale, where Genzken showcased the opaque and reflective dimensions of the history of the German pavilion, creating a real metamorphosis of and about architecture, a place where glamour and misery, euphoria and disillusion, the popular idea and the collapse of modernism rub shoulders. The MoMA devoted an important retrospective to her work in 2013.

Read more

Stéphanie Moisdon

Translated from French by Toby Cayouette.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, New Buildings for Berlin, 2004, glass and silicone on wood pedestal, four parts, each 220 x 60 x 45 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Ohr [Ear], 1980, chromogenic color print, 175 x 118 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, gift of Mary and Earle Ludgin, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Schwules baby [Gay Baby], 1997, spray paint on steel and aluminium, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Spielautomat [Slots machine], 1999-2000, slot machine, paper, chromogenic color prints, and tape, 160 x 65 x 50 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Untitled, 2006, Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington D.C, © Photo: Lee Stalsworth, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Hospital (Ground Zero), 2008, synthetic polymer paint on fabric, metal dolly, plastic flowers in spray-painted vase, ribbon, metal, mirror foil, glass, fiberboard, and casters, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Schauspieler [Actors], 2013, mannequins, clothes, shoes, fabric, and paper, 150 x 150 x 150 cm, © The MET, © ADAGP, Paris

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Isa Genzken

1948 | Bad Oldesloe, Allemagne
Informations

Plasticienne allemande.

Il a fallu plusieurs décennies avant que les pièces d’Isa Genzken (sculptures, installations, photographies, peintures et collages) soient reconnues parmi les contributions les plus importantes au renouveau de la sculpture et de son histoire. Composées de matériaux contemporains agencés de manière sophistiquée, ses créations gardent une dimension artisanale. Ses thèmes interrogent les relations entre l’espace privé et public, l’autonomie de l’art et l’expérience collective. D’un point de vue sociopolitique, ses formes montrent comment l’art peut retrouver les moyens de donner corps et vie à la pensée, aux idéologies, à l’humain, à ses représentations et ses désastres. Pour l’artiste, la question du matériau est centrale. Dans les années 1980, elle se sert de bois, de plâtre et surtout de béton pour ses sculptures au sol, de 5 à 10 mètres de haut, qui questionnent l’architecture alors au cœur du débat de la « déconstruction » postmoderne. Ces objets conceptuels sont construits sur des plans rectangulaires, ceints de murs en béton dépourvus de fenêtre, fragments d’architectures posés sur un socle en acier (Marcel, 1987). Dans les années 1990, elle intègre la lumière et la transparence : elle utilise la résine époxy, matériau translucide, puis se tourne vers le verre industriel de couleur, qui ajoute à ses pièces une étrange dimension esthétique. Elle fait de la façade son sujet, comme dans la série New Buildings for Berlin (2001-2002), vision fragile de gratte-ciel en verre, érigés et groupés sur un plan triangulaire ou rectangulaire.

Puis vient, dans les années 2000, la série des Social Façade, où l’artiste puise dans la peinture le format de l’image. Des bandes de métaux les plus divers – des plaques de cuivre aux tôles d’aluminium – sont collées sur des supports rectangulaires. La lumière, décomposée par prisme sur les surfaces chatoyantes, réfléchit, en la démultipliant, l’image de l’observateur, son ego, sa puissance dévastatrice. Incursion qui prend encore plus d’ampleur dans l’ensemble de 22 sculptures, Empire Vampire, Who Kills Death (2002-2003), réalisé après les attentats du 11 septembre 2001, que la plasticienne a elle-même vécus à New York. Les matériaux se font plus sales, incluant des jouets en plastique, des résidus ; les formes incolores sont comme recouvertes de cendres, évocation du nuage opaque et gris qui s’est abattu ce jour-là sur le monde. Depuis quelques années, ses installations se complexifient : les matériaux de récupération, les couleurs vives, les images arrachées, décomposées donnent une impression de violence, de rupture définitive avec l’idée d’art comme récit totalisant ; en témoigne son exposition dans la galerie parisienne Chantal Crousel en 2010, où elle présente, notamment, Mona Isa, qui remet en scène des personnages iconiques de l’histoire de l’art, comme Léonard de Vinci, à côté de ses propres portraits ou de la figure de Michael Jackson, Hotel, Harfe, Ambulance, Nofretete, Bibliothek (2010), sculptures-corps symbolisant le lifestyle universel, les Lautsprecher, caissons vides, capteurs ou émetteurs en attente de sons, suspendus au plafond, ou encore cet éléphant, grand animal triste et fatigué, pénétrant l’exposition par une fenêtre dérobée (Mona Isa III [Elefant], 2010). Le public international l’a découverte grâce à sa participation à la Biennale de Venise en 2007, où I. Genzken avait mis en scène les dimensions opaques et réfléchissantes de l’histoire du pavillon allemand, produisant de véritables métamorphoses dans et sur l’architecture, où se côtoyaient le glamour et la misère, l’euphorie et la désillusion, l’idéal populaire et l’effondrement du modernisme. Le MoMA lui rend hommage avec une importante rétrospective en 2013.

Lire plus

Stéphanie Moisdon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, New Buildings for Berlin, 2004, verre et silicone sur socle en bois, quatre parties, chacune 220 x 60 x 45 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Ohr [Oreille], 1980, impression couleur chromogénique, 175 x 118 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, Cadeau de Mary et Earle Ludgin, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Schwules baby [Bébé gay], 1997, peinture en aérosol sur acier et aluminium, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Spielautomat [Machine à sous], 1999-2000, machine à sous, papier, impressions couleur chromogéniques et ruban adhésif, 160 x 65 x 50 cm, Private collection, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Untitled, 2006, Hirshhorn Museum et Sculpture Garden, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, © Photo : Lee Stalsworth, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Hospital (Ground Zero), 2008, peinture polymère synthétique sur tissu, chariot en métal, fleurs en plastique dans un vase, ruban, métal, feuille de miroir, verre, panneaux de fibres de verre et roulettes, Collection particulière, © ADAGP, Paris

Isa Genzken — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Isa Genzken, Schauspieler [Acteurs], 2013, mannequins, vêtements, chaussures, tissus et papier, 150 x 150 x 150 cm, © The MET, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29