Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jo Ractliffe

1961 | Cape Town, South Africa
Informations
Sponsor
— Jo Ractliffe

South African photographer.

Jo Ractliffe began her photographic practice in the early 1980s, a time of rising anti-apartheid protest, political tension, and uncertainty. She photographed her early series, such as Crossroads (1986) and Vissershok (1988), in the townships of Cape Town. These images provided the material for Nadir (1986-1988), whose meaningful title implies a low point. In this series, she created photomontages – scenes of apocalypse peopled by thought-provoking stray dogs – epitomizing her viewpoint on the violence of the national state of affairs at the time. J. Ractliffe often accompanies her work with detailed writing which conveys her intentions, conceptual framework, and some of her inspirations, such as the literature of Pablo Neruda and Ryszard Kapuściński, and the photographs of Robert Frank and Manuel Álvarez Bravo. Her photobooks, as spaces for expanded expression, are highly praised.
After moving to Johannesburg in the 1990s, she made numerous road trips across South Africa, including to the West Coast, the Karoo, KwaZulu-Natal and the Eastern Cape. Her equipment was stolen in a burglary and, as she could not immediately afford to replace her cameras, she began working with the plastic toy cameras she had been collecting. She developed reShooting Diana (1990-1995), a series marking a moment of change in her life and that of the peoples and places she encountered via ordinary, antiheroic photographs imbued with humanism. These were printed as a fragmentary narrative strip (the installation comprises fifty photographs suspended from the ceiling), but J. Ractliffe often favours single frames, occasionally polyptychs, and precisely controlled black and white darkroom prints.

In a form of understated political activism, J. Ractliffe photographed a farm that had been the headquarters of a death squad during apartheid and found herself questioning what is unrepresentable. Vlakplaas: 2 June 1999 (drive-by shooting) (1999) searches for emblematic traces of the violence that occurred there, traces which elude the camera. In a second manifestation of the work, the photographic strip is filmed over video and sound footage from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, relaying oral testimonies.

J. Ractliffe prefers to describe her primary subject-matter as space rather than landscape. She builds conscience into the work and incites critical awareness in the viewing of images. According great importance to education, she was the primary photography lecturer at Wits University from 1991 to 2017, has taught at the Market Photo Workshop in Johannesburg, and has been involved in various collaborative projects. Her documentary form deliberately avoids sensationalism, literalness and exhibitionism by seeking to foreground the fugitive. She first photographed in Angola in 2007, and said that she wanted to “shoot straight”, look carefully, make open-ended images. Terreno Ocupado (2007-8) looked at Luanda five years after the civil war had ended. As Terras do Fim do Mundo (2009-2010) traced the routes of the civil war and South Africa’s Border War. The images include roadside markers, minefields, mass graves and battle sites with great austerity. Memory and history, ecological destruction, structural instability, displacement, presence, and what is untold are central to her selection process.
J. Ractliffe considers that “we retain a certain belief in the truth of appearances; we conflate the real with its representation. I’m interested in the slippage between photography and the real, and in the notion of trace.”

Read more

Caroline Hancock

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Roadside stall on the way to Viana, 2007, from the series Terreno Ocupado, inkjet print, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Doll’s head, 1995, from the series reShooting Diana, pigment print on cotton paper, 35 x 35 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Butcher, 1995, from the series reShooting Diana, pigment print on cotton paper, 35 x 35 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, End of Time, 1999, silver gelatin print, 100 x 100 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, The beach at Ilha, 2007, from the series Terreno Ocupado, 2007, digital silver gelatin print, 50 x 50 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Video club, Roque Santeiro market, 2007, from the series Terreno Ocupado, hand-printed silver gelatin print, 36 x 45 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, On the road to Cuito Cuanavale IV, 2009, de la série As Terras do Fim do Mundo, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Woodland near Cassinga (diptych), 2009, from the series As Terras do Fim do Mundo, 2 custom made platinum prints, 38.2 x 45,8 x 2.5 cm each, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Floor slab, temporary military base, Riemvasmaak, 2012, silver gelatin print, 45 x 56 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Raising the flag, Riemvasmaak, 2013, from the series The Borderlands, 2013, silver gelatin print, 36 x 45 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Calitzdorp, 2017, from the series Everything is Everything, © Jo Ractliffe

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Jo Ractliffe

1961 | Le Cap, Afrique du Sud
Informations
Soutien
— Jo Ractliffe

Photographe sud-africaine.

Jo Ractliffe entame sa pratique photographique au début des années 1980, à une époque où la lutte contre l’apartheid, les tensions politiques et l’incertitude s’amplifient. Elle effectue ses premières séries de photographies, comme Crossroads [Carrefours] (1986) et Vissershok (1988) dans les townships du Cap. Ces images lui servent de point de départ pour sa série Nadir (1986-1988), dont le titre chargé de sens évoque l’idée du point le plus bas. La série se compose de photomontages – des scènes apocalyptiques peuplées d’inquiétants chiens errants – qui illustrent parfaitement son point de vue sur la violence qui règne dans le pays à cette époque. J. Ractliffe accompagne souvent son travail de textes qui détaillent ses intentions, son cadre conceptuel et certaines de ses sources d’inspiration, telles que les écrits de Pablo Neruda et de Ryszard Kapuściński ou les photographies de Robert Frank et de Manuel Álvarez Bravo. Ses livres photographiques, en tant que prolongements de son espace d’expression, sont loués par la critique.
J. Ractliffe emménage à Johannesburg dans les années 1990 et effectue dès lors de nombreux voyages à travers l’Afrique du Sud, sur la côte ouest, dans les régions du Karoo, du KwaZulu-Natal et de l’Eastern Cape. À la suite du vol de son matériel et dans l’impossibilité de pouvoir s’en racheter, elle se met à travailler avec les petits appareils photo en plastique dont elle fait la collection. Elle développe ainsi la série reShooting Diana (1990-1995), qui marque un tournant dans sa vie et dans celles de personnes et des lieux qu’elle croise et dont elle tire des portraits très simples et antihéroïques empreints d’humanisme. Ces clichés sont tirés sous forme de bande narrative fragmentaire (l’installation se compose de cinquante photographies suspendues du plafond), bien que J. Ractliffe privilégie également une présentation sous forme de cadres individuels, parfois de polyptiques, ainsi que de tirages noir et blanc méticuleusement développés en chambre noire.

J. Ractliffe fait preuve d’un militantisme politique subtil lorsqu’elle photographie une ferme qui a servi de quartier général à un escadron de la mort pendant l’apartheid et, ce faisant, pose la question de l’irreprésentable. Vlakplaas: 2 June 1999 (drive-by shooting) [Vlakplaas : 2 juin 1999 (fusillade au volant)] (1999) part à la recherche des traces représentatives de la violence qui s’y est déroulée – traces qui échappent à l’objectif. Dans une seconde version de l’œuvre, la bande de photographies est filmée et additionnée d’une bande-son faite de témoignages oraux issus de la Commission de vérité et de réconciliation.

J. Ractliffe préfère parler de son sujet comme d’un espace plutôt que d’un paysage. À travers ses œuvres, elle cherche à encourager la prise de conscience et à inciter les spectateurs à exercer leur esprit critique à l’égard des images. Elle accorde une place centrale à la pédagogie, ce qui l’amène à enseigner la photographie à la Wits University de 1991 à 2017 et au Market Photo Workshop de Johannesburg, ainsi qu’à s’investir dans divers projets collaboratifs. Son style documentaire évite volontairement tout sensationnalisme, interprétation littérale ou exhibitionnisme en mettant en avant l’éphémère. Elle effectue sa première série de photographies en Angola en 2007, où elle dit vouloir « viser droit » et faire preuve d’un regard attentif afin que ses images soient le plus ouvertes possibles. Terreno Ocupado [Terrain occupé] (2007-2008) montre Luanda cinq ans après la fin de la guerre civile. As Terras do Fim do Mundo [Terres du bout du monde] (2009-2010) part sur les routes de la guerre civile et de la guerre de la frontière sud-africaine. Balises routières, terrains minés, charniers et champs de bataille y sont présentés de façon extrêmement dépouillée. La mémoire et l’histoire, la destruction de l’environnement, l’instabilité sociale, et les notions de déplacement, de présence et d’indicible ont un rôle central dans son processus de sélection.
J. Ractliffe considère que « nous croyons encore un peu à la vérité des apparences ; nous confondons la réalité et sa représentation. Je m’intéresse à ce glissement entre la photographie et le réel, ainsi qu’à la notion de trace. »

Lire plus

Caroline Hancock

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Roadside stall on the way to Viana, 2007, de la série Terreno Ocupado, impression à jet d’encre, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Doll’s head, 1995, de la série reShooting Diana, impression au pigment sur papier de coton, 35 x 35 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Butcher, 1995, de la série reShooting Diana, impression au pigment sur papier de coton, 35 x 35 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, End of Time, 1999, tirage argentique, 100 x 100 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, The beach at Ilha, 2007, de la série Terreno Ocupado, impression numérique à la gélatine d’argent, 50 x 50 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Video club, Roque Santeiro market, 2007, de la série Terreno Ocupado, impression à la gélatine d’argent imprimée à la main, 36 x 45 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, On the road to Cuito Cuanavale IV, 2009, de la série As Terras do Fim do Mundo, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Woodland near Cassinga (diptyque), 2009, de la série As Terras do Fim do Mundo, 2 impressions sur platine sur mesure, 38,2 x 45,8 x 2,5 cm chacune, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Floor slab, temporary military base, Riemvasmaak, 2012, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 45 x 56 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Raising the flag, Riemvasmaak, 2013, de la série The Borderlands, 2013, tirage argentique, 36 x 45 cm, © Jo Ractliffe

Jo Ractliffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Jo Ractliffe, Calitzdorp, 2017, de la série Everything is Everything, © Jo Ractliffe

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29