Rula Halawani

1964 | Jerusalem, Palestine
Informations

Palestinian photographer and visual artist.

Born in the occupied area of East Jerusalem, Rula Halawani began her artistic journey by studying, day by day, the sometimes extreme living conditions of the inhabitants  in the context of the long-lasting political conflict, sometimes open, sometimes tearful. Using close-ups or distant shots, her first works reflect the weight of everyday life and the inequity of restrictions as well as the state of siege, its large-scale consequences and its media coverage, both local and international. After a first bachelor’s degree in advanced photography at the University of Saskatchewan in Canada (1989) and ten years of regular practice as a photojournalist, R. Halawani seems to have retained a concern for the document (Traces, 2014), an awareness of the historical importance of her work, and a desire to bring out fundamental questions by giving them new forms that question us.

Her second training, with a master’s degree in photographic studies at the University of Westminster (2001), will further accentuate this theoretical inflection: her language then increasingly includes and translates the spatial implications of the occupation, the constraining architectures or developments (The Wall, 2005), the more or less visible mechanisms of coercion or annihilation; the transformation of the landscape also impresses her and all these elements, treated as a malleable material, often influence her projects along the way, making them deviate from their initial intentions… Current portraits and archive illustrations mix; night or X-ray shots can symbolize inspection, searching, fear, hindrance, oppression; experimentation on the very medium of images evokes the clandestinity or erasure of time, the stubborn fragility of survival; the anachronistic embedding of vernacular clichés in a television setting multiplies the layers of vision or interpretation (The Bride Is Beautiful, but She Is Married to Another Man, 2016) – and always implicitly reveal the difficulty or uncertainty of identity, the absurdity of the geopolitical context, the painful negation of a culture. Finally, the exhibition space, perhaps the privileged medium of her work, then makes it possible to reinvent or apprehend differently – somewhere between freedom to create and inner exile – a complex, anguishing, labyrinthine social or historical space…

Many hermetic current artistic interventions, can appear disembodied, disengaged, disconnected; others, on the contrary, more militant or involved, would tend to sacrifice the visual dimension, the aesthetic commitment… Rising at the confluence of these two concerns, the work of R. Halawani (still based in Jerusalem, where she was also founding director and associate professor of the photography programme at Birzeit University, and actively represented by the Ayyam Gallery in Beirut and Dubai) develops one to fuel the other and neglects no dimension, as evidenced by the Palestine retrospective exhibition and the joint publication in Brussels in 2008. The strength, interest and subtlety of her work surely consist in this way of questioning both the status of a people and that of images. Observing history – including immediate history – therefore means questioning the way we look at it, and thus the way we construct it and, constantly, reinterpret it: at the heart of this triangle composed of the work, of what it designates or denounces, and of the unstable or uncomfortable position of the external spectator.

Read more

Emmanuel d’Autreppe

Translated from French by Clara Bouveresse.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 17 from For My Father series, 2015, archival print, 100 x 150 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Jerusalem Calling series, 2015, archival print, 100 x 150 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 1 from Photo Theray series, 2011, archival print, 60 x 90 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 5 from For My Father series, 2015, archival print, 100 x 150 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 5 from Gates of Heaven series, 2013, archival print, 120 x 120 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 5 from Irrational series, 2003, archival print, 81 x 114 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 10 from The Warm Light Still There series, 2002, archival print, 120 x 120 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 17 from Negative Incursion series, 2002, archival Print, 90 x 124 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 18 from Intimacy series, 2004, archival print, 48 x 72 cm, © Rula Halawani

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Rula Halawani

1964 | Jérusalem, Palestine
Informations

Photographe et plasticienne palestinienne.

Née dans la zone occupée de Jérusalem-Est, Rula Halawani entame sa démarche artistique en se penchant, au jour le jour, sur les conditions de vie des habitants, parfois extrêmes, dans le cadre du conflit politique de longue durée tantôt ouvert, tantôt larvé. En gros plan ou en plan lointain, ses premières œuvres rendent compte aussi bien du poids du quotidien ou de l’iniquité des restrictions que de l’état de siège, de ses conséquences à grande échelle ou de sa lecture médiatique, locale ou internationale. D’un premier baccalauréat décroché en photographie avancée à l’université de la Saskatchewan au Canada (1989), puis de dix ans de pratique régulière du photojournalisme, R. Halawani semble avoir conservé le souci du document (Traces, 2014), la conscience de l’inscription de son travail sur un plan historique, la volonté de faire émerger des questions de fond en leur prêtant des formes inédites qui nous interrogent.

Une seconde formation, une maîtrise en études photographiques à l’université de Westminster (2001), accentuera encore cette inflexion théorique : son langage inclut et traduit alors, de plus en plus, les implications spatiales de l’occupation, les architectures ou les aménagements contraignants (The Wall, 2005), les mécanismes de coercition ou d’annihilation plus ou moins visibles ; la transformation du paysage l’impressionne également et tous ces éléments, traités comme une matière malléable, infléchissent souvent ses projets en cours de route, les faisant dévier de leurs intentions initiales… Portraits actuels et illustrations d’archives se mélangent ; prises de vue nocturnes ou aux rayons X peuvent symboliser l’inspection, la fouille, la peur, l’entrave, l’oppression ; l’expérimentation sur le support même des images évoque la clandestinité ou l’effacement du temps, la fragilité têtue de la survie ; l’incrustation anachronique de clichés vernaculaires dans un cadre télévisuel démultiplie les couches de vision ou d’interprétation (The Bride Is Beautiful, but She Is Married to Another Man, 2016) – et toujours se lisent en filigrane la difficulté ou l’incertitude de l’identité, l’absurdité du contexte géopolitique, la douloureuse négation d’une culture. L’espace d’exposition, enfin, support peut-être privilégié de son œuvre, permet alors de réinventer ou d’appréhender différemment – quelque part entre liberté de créer et exil intérieur – un espace social ou historique complexe, angoissant, labyrinthique…

Bien des interventions artistiques actuelles, hermétiques, peuvent apparaître désincarnées, désengagées, déconnectées ; d’autres au contraire, plus militantes ou impliquées, auraient tendance à sacrifier l’aspect plastique, l’engagement esthétique… Se situant au confluent des deux préoccupations, l’œuvre de R. Halawani (toujours installée à Jérusalem, où elle a été en outre directrice-fondatrice et professeure agrégée du programme de photographie de l’université de Birzeit, et activement représentée par la galerie Ayyam à Beyrouth et Dubai) nourrit l’une de l’autre et ne néglige aucune dimension, ce dont témoignaient, de façon probante, l’exposition rétrospective Palestine et la publication conjointe, à Bruxelles, en 2008. La force, l’intérêt, la subtilité de son travail consistent sûrement en cette façon d’interroger tout à la fois le statut d’un peuple et celui des images. Observer l’histoire – y compris l’histoire immédiate – revient dès lors à questionner le regard que nous posons sur elle, donc la façon dont nous la construisons et, en permanence, la réinterprétons : au cœur de ce triangle composé de l’œuvre, de ce qu’elle désigne ou dénonce, et de l’instable ou inconfortable position du spectateur extérieur.

Lire plus

Emmanuel d’Autreppe

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 17 issue de la série For My Father, 2015, impression d’archives, 100 x 150 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, série Jerusalem Calling, 2015, impression d’archives, 100 x 150 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 1 issue de la série Photo Theray, 2011, impression d’archives, 60 x 90 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 5 issue de la série For My Father, 2015, impression d’archives, 100 x 150 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 5 issue de la série Gates of Heaven, 2013, impression d’archives, 120 x 120 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 5 issue de la série Irrational, 2003, impression d’archives, 81 x 114 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 10 issue de la série The Warm Light Still There, 2002, impression d’archives, 120 x 120 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 17 issue de la série Negative Incursion, 2002, impression d’archives, 90 x 124 cm, © Rula Halawani

Rula Halawani — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Rula Halawani, Untitled 18 issue de la série Intimacy, 2004, impression d’archives, 48 x 72 cm, © Rula Halawani

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29