Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marie Beth Edelson

1933 | Chicago, United States
Informations

American photographer.

The work of Mary Beth Edelson is strongly marked by United States Feminist Art Movement of the 1970s, a period during which members of the movement – female artists– founded new schools, opened alternative galleries in the form of cooperatives, launched new magazines and fought against the lack of female representation in museums and other exhibition spaces. Her work is difficult to describe as it is multifaceted and rich with the experiences and struggles of this movement. In search of the lost histories of women, her photography draws on a diverse iconography spanning from Celtic myths to European Art History, Hollywood films, shamanic rituals, and religious spirituality. She also uses most mediums at her disposal: sculpture, painting, photography, posters, books, stamps, collage, installation, and performance. In 1947 she enrolled in Saturday courses at the Art Institute of Chicago. From very early on, she advocated for the abolition of racial segregation as part of the Civil Rights Movement. In 1958 she continued her studies at New York University, where she received a Master of Fine Arts in 1959, before teaching at Montclair State College (New Jersey). After marrying a lawyer, she moved to Indianapolis, where she founded the Talbot Gallery. Shocked by the sexist behaviour she encountered among her peers, she delivered her first Feminist speech in 1968 at the Herron Art Museum. She then left for Washington D.C., where she became professor at the School of Art and exhibited regularly at the Henri Gallery.

In 1971, after female artists protested the absence of women in the Corcoran Biennial in Washington, the Corcoran Gallery of Art asked her to organise the first conference on women in art, “Art women in visual arts,” as well as a series of seminars on the subject. For this occasion, she realised a poster that later became famous, Some Living Women Artists/Last Supper (1972). By manipulating the celebrated Last Supper by Leonardo Da Vinci through photomontage, she replaced the heads of Christ and his apostles with portraits of illustrious female artists – with Georgia O’Keeffe as Christ, and Lee Krasner, Louise Bourgeois, Yoko Ono, herself and others representing the apostles. The work was framed by a frieze composed of more than 50 photographs of living female artists. In the work, she not only expressed her willingness to identify and commemorate her elders, but also protested against the ousting of women, notably from positions of power, by the Christianity. Published in many reviews and distributed in numerous Feminist art spaces, this poster has become a true icon. After returning to New York in 1975, the photographer was immediately invited to participate in the first cooperative gallery, A.I.R. (Artists in Residence), founded in SoHo in 1972 by women artists for their female peers. Since 1970, M. B. Edelson has studied myths, rituals, and feminine symbols, and has been interested in Jung’s psychoanalysis. This research led her, along with Ana Mendieta and Hannah Wilke, to highlight images of goddesses, the Great Mother, and figures such as Sheela-Na-Gig and Baubô, which she connects with contemporary feminine myths. In 1977 she made a pilgrimage to the prehistoric site of the Grapčeva cave on the island of Hvar in Croatia, where she delivered sacred ceremonies summoning the Energy Goddess. The photomontages of rituals that she organised sought to capture a pre-patriarchal spiritual power. Throughout the 1990s, she confronted the stereotypical image of the femme fatale in Hollywoodian cinema – Mae West, Judy Garland, Marlene Dietrich, and Marilyn Monroe – transforming these glamourous seductresses into radical feminists brandishing firearms. During her thirty years of feminist artistic creation, and personal engagement and experiences, M. B. Edelson has dedicated herself to rewriting artistic codes to include all women in history, religion, culture, and politics.

Read more

Nathalie Ernoult

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Bride of the fire, from the A.I.R. Print Portfolio, ca. 1975-1977, photolithograph on paper, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Death of Patriarchy, A.I.R. Anatomy Lesson, 1976, cut-and-pasted gelatin silver print with crayon and transfer type on printed paper with typewriting on cut-and-taped paper, 69.5 x 109.2 cm, MoMA, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Goddess Head, soft from Femfolio, 2007, digital print, 30.4 x 30.4 cm, MoMA, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Series of wall collage (detail), 1973-2017, mixed media on canvas, variable dimensions, Courtesy David Lewis, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Sheela’s Secret Weapon, from Woman Rising series, 1973, oil, ink, china marker and collage on silver gelatin print, 25.4 x 20.3 cm, 10 x 8 in., Courtesy Mary Beth Edelson and David Lewis, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Some Living American Women Artists, 1972, lithograph on paper, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Mary Beth Edelson

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marie Beth Edelson

1933 | Chicago, États-Unis
Informations

Photographe américaine.

L’œuvre de Mary Beth Edelson est profondément marquée par le Feminist Art Movement, très actif aux États-Unis dans les années 1970, dont les membres – artistes féministes – fondent de nouvelles écoles, ouvrent des galeries alternatives sous forme de coopératives, lancent de nouveaux magazines et militent contre la faible représentation féminine dans les musées et autres lieux d’exposition. Riche des expériences et des luttes de ce mouvement, son travail est difficile à décrire tant il est protéiforme. En quête de l’histoire perdue des femmes, la photographe s’appuie sur une iconographie aussi diverse que les mythes celtiques, l’histoire de l’art européen, les films de Hollywood, les rituels chamaniques, la spiritualité religieuse, et utilise la plupart des médiums à sa disposition : sculpture, peinture, photographie, affiches, livres, estampes, collages, installations et performances. Elle s’inscrit en 1947 au cours du samedi à l’Art Institute de Chicago. Très tôt, elle milite au sein du Mouvement des droits civiques en faveur de l’abolition de la ségrégation raciale. En 1958, elle poursuit ses études à l’université de New York, obtient son Master of Fine Arts en 1959, puis enseigne au Montclair State College (New Jersey). Après son mariage avec un avocat, elle s’installe à Indianapolis, où elle fonde la Talbot Gallery. Choquée par les comportements sexistes de son entourage, elle prononce son premier discours féministe en 1968 à l’Herron Art Museum. Elle part ensuite pour Washington, où, professeure à la School of Art, elle expose régulièrement ses oeuvres à la Henri Gallery.

À la suite d’un mouvement de protestation des artistes féminines, provoqué par l’absence de femmes à la Corcoran Biennial de Washington en 1971, la Corcoran Gallery of Art lui demande d’organiser, l’année suivante, la première conférence sur les femmes et l’art, « Art women in visual arts », ainsi qu’une série de séminaires sur le sujet. C’est à cette période qu’elle réalise une affiche qui deviendra célèbre : Some Living Women Artists/Last Supper (1972) : détournant la célèbre Cène de Léonard de Vinci, elle utilise la technique du photomontage pour remplacer les têtes du Christ et des apôtres par des portraits d’illustres artistes féminines ; ainsi, Georgia O’Keeffe incarne le Christ ; Lee Krasner, Louise Bourgeois, Yōko Ono, elle-même, entre autres, des apôtres. L’œuvre est bordée d’une frise composée de plus de 50 photographies d’artistes contemporaines vivantes. Outre sa volonté d’identifier et de commémorer ses aînées américaines, elle proteste également contre l’éviction des femmes par la religion chrétienne, notamment des postes de direction. Publiée dans maintes revues, distribuée dans de nombreux lieux d’art féministe, cette affiche est devenue une véritable icône. De retour à New York en 1975, la photographe est immédiatement invitée à participer à la première exposition de la galerie associative A. I. R. (Artists in Residence), créée à SoHo en 1972 par des femmes artistes à l’intention de leurs consœurs. Depuis 1970, M. B. Edelson étudie les mythes, les rituels, les symboles féminins et s’intéresse à la psychanalyse de Jung. Ces recherches l’amènent, aux côtés d’Ana Mendieta et de Hannah Wilke, à mettre en valeur l’imagerie des déesses, de la Grande Mère et des figures telles que Sheela-Na-Gig et Baubô, qu’elle met en relation avec les mythes féminins contemporains : en 1977, elle fait un pèlerinage sur le site préhistorique de la grotte de Grapçeva, sur l’île Hvar en Croatie, où elle se livre à des cérémonies sacrées invoquant la déesse Énergie. Les photomontages des rituels qu’elle réalise à cette occasion cherchent à rendre compte du pouvoir de la spiritualité prépatriarcale. Au cours des années 1990, elle s’attaque à l’image stéréotypée des femmes fatales du cinéma hollywoodien – Mae West (1893-1980), Judy Garland, Marlene Dietrich, Marilyn Monroe –, transformant le caractère glamour de ces séductrices en féministes radicales, brandissant des armes à feu. Pendant ses trente ans de création artistique féministe, M. B. Edelson s’est attachée à réécrire les codes artistiques pour y inclure, à partir de son propre engagement et de ses propres expériences, celle de toutes les femmes dans l’histoire, la religion, la culture et la politique.

Lire plus

Nathalie Ernoult

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Bride of the fire, de the A.I.R. Print Portfolio, vers 1975-1977, photolithographie sur papier, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Death of Patriarchy, A.I.R. Anatomy Lesson, 1976, tirages argentiques découpés et collés avec crayon et type de transfert sur papier imprimé avec dactylographie sur papier découpé et collé, 69,5 x 109,2 cm, MoMA, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Goddess Head, soft de Femfolio, 2007, tirage numérique, 30,4 x 30,4 cm, MoMA, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Series of wall collage (détail), 1973-2017, techniques mixtes sur toile, dimensions variables, Courtesy David Lewis, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Sheela’s Secret Weapon, from Woman Rising series, 1973, huile, encre, feutre de porcelaine et collage sur tirage argentique, 25,4 x 20,3 cm, Courtesy Mary Beth Edelson et David Lewis, © Mary Beth Edelson

Marie Beth Edelson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Mary Beth Edelson, Some Living American Women Artists, 1972, lithographie sur papier, Smithsonian American Art Museum, © Mary Beth Edelson

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29