Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Malala Andrialavidrazana

1971 | Antananarivo, Madagascar
Informations
Sponsor
— Malala Andrialavidrazana

Artist.

Malala Andrialavidrazana (lives and works in Paris, France) regards travelling and meeting people as a permanent research process. Since the early 1990s, the artist has developed an anthropological study that focuses on rites and memory. For instance, she is known for examining various types of Malagasy funeral structures. Architecture is an integral part of her visual and conceptual training. Habitats in all their forms give us clues to how people, families, and societies function. Similarly, M. Andrialavidrazana’s works also generate these parallels between the individual and the collective. Andrialavidrazana uses photography, her preferred medium, to develop a visual relationship with the world, which she tries to capture and understand through experience.
In 2011, she shot the photographic series Ny Any Aminay in Madagascar. For this series, the artist was invited into the homes of several families to take pictures of the intimacy and humility of their interiors. She explains: “Once Antananarivo residents trust you, they cherish the hope that people outside their community will cease to mistake them for what they are not. Come closer, they say. One gets to know them better as they talk about their lifestyles and the objects that surround them – ancient, in a clutter, or knick-knack – automatically or in silence. Always proud and dignified.” Her photographs depict fragments of bodies, seen from behind or partially concealed, as well as objects, textures, and colours. For two years, she broadened the scope of her research to the entire Indian Ocean: Echoes (from Indian Ocean) (2011-2013) led her to explore the homes of families from India, Réunion, and South Africa. Far from the Western world’s exotic, fantasised clichés, M. Andrialavidrazana has created a tactful, sociological portrait of the geographic area with which she shares her own history.

The year 2015 saw her beginning to work on a new series, Figures, which consisted of photomontages combining excerpts from various documents and archives: atlases, postcards, bank notes, album covers, stamps, flags, and pictures from biology, physics, history, and ethnology books. M. Andrialavidrazana creates visual collages that combine several reflections on the notions of exploration, territory, encounters, exoticism, nationalism, and cultural hybridisation, as well as history and colonial relics. The pieces are put together in the manner of personal and collective atlases, and illustrate a sensitive and critical approach to displacement, to discovery, and to the understanding of a territory, a culture and – to a greater extent – of human experience. Their use of graphic designs from the 1950s and 1970s and outdated colours convey the artist’s will to depict a reinterpretation of history written from a non-Western perspective. Covering antiquity to the modern era, her photomontages place different civilisations at the same level: their splendours, decadences, responsibilities, and traumas. M. Andrialavidrazana’s work is the result of a lengthy period of research aimed at neutralising imposed narratives and taboos in favour of critical and restorative images.

Read more

Julie Crenn

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Figures 1861, Natural History of Mankind, 2016, Ultrachrome ink on Hahnemühle paper Ultra Smooth 305g, 110 x 130 cm, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, d’Outre-Monde, Daguan Nanlu, 2003, digital print, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, The Ancestor’s Land, 2005, digital print, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, d’Outre-Monde, Kuburan Bidadari, 2007, digital print, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Résonances Khmères, 2007, video still, © Malala Andrialavidrazana,

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Insomnia, 2009, light box, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Insomnia, 2009, neon, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Echoes (from Indian Ocean), 2011-2013, digital print, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Ny Any Aminay, 2011, digital print, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Steel Life-Still Factory, 2011, light box, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Figures 1838, Atlas Elémentaire, 2015, Ultrachrome ink on Hahnemühle paper Ultra Smooth 305g, 110 x 135.5 cm, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Figures 1876, Planisphère Elémentaire, 2018, Ultrachrome ink on Hahnemühle paper Ultra Smooth 305g, 110 x 130 cm, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Malala Andrialavidrazana

1971 | Antananarivo, Madagascar
Informations
Soutien
— Malala Andrialavidrazana

Artiste.

Malala Andrialavidrazana (vit et travaille à Paris, France) fait du voyage et de la rencontre un mode de recherche permanent. Dès le début des années 1990, l’artiste développe une étude de type anthropologique liée aux rites et à la mémoire. Elle examine par exemple les typologies des espaces funéraires malgaches. L’architecture fait partie intégrante de sa formation visuelle et conceptuelle. L’habitat, sous toutes ses formes, traduit en effet le fonctionnement d’une personne, d’une famille, d’une société. Les œuvres de M. Andrialavidrazana génèrent ainsi des mouvements entre l’individuel et le collectif. Par la photographie, son médium de prédilection, elle engage un rapport plastique au monde qu’elle tente de saisir et de comprendre par l’expérience.
En 2011, elle réalise la série photographique Ny Any Aminay à Madagascar. L’artiste est invitée à entrer dans les maisons de différentes familles pour mettre en images l’intimité et l’humilité de leurs intérieurs. Elle précise : « Une fois en confiance, les Tananariviens se découvrent dans l’espoir qu’on cesse de les prendre pour ce qu’ils ne sont pas en dehors de leur propre territoire. Approchez, disent-ils. Puis, ils se racontent à travers leur style de vie et les objets qui les entourent, anciens, en vrac, en toc, en mode automatique ou en silence. Toujours fiers et dignes. » Elle photographie des fragments de corps, tournés, partiellement dissimulés, des objets, des matières, des couleurs. Pendant deux années, elle va étendre son projet de recherche à toute la zone de l’océan Indien. Echoes (from Indian Ocean) (2011-2013) l’amène à découvrir les maisons de familles indiennes, réunionnaises et sud-africaines. Loin des clichés exotiques fantasmés par l’Occident, M. Andrialavidrazana construit un portrait pudique et sociologique d’une zone géographique avec laquelle elle partage sa propre histoire.

En 2015, elle entreprend une nouvelle série d’œuvres, intitulée Figures, des photomontages où sont articulés des extraits de différents documents et archives : atlas, cartes postales, billets de banque, pochettes d’albums, timbres, drapeaux, images provenant de livres de sciences naturelles et physiques, d’histoire ou encore d’ethnologie. M. Andrialavidrazana élabore des collages visuels où s’entremêlent plusieurs réflexions portées sur les notions d’exploration, de territoire, de rencontre, d’exotisme, de nationalisme, d’hybridation culturelle, mais aussi sur l’histoire et les survivances coloniales. Les œuvres, organisées comme des atlas, personnels et collectifs, témoignent d’une approche sensible et critique du déplacement, de la découverte et de la compréhension d’un territoire, d’une culture et, plus largement, de l’expérience humaine. Elles présentent des graphismes des années 1950-1970 et des couleurs surannées traduisant une volonté de mettre en images une relecture de l’histoire qui ne soit pas uniquement écrite du point de vue occidental. De l’Antiquité à la période moderne, les photomontages articulent sur un même plan les différentes civilisations : leurs splendeurs, leurs décadences, leurs responsabilités et leurs traumatismes. Le travail de M. Andrialavidrazana est le résultat d’une recherche au long cours qui vise à désamorcer les récits imposés et les non-dits en leur préférant des images critiques et réparatrices.

Lire plus

Julie Crenn

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Figures 1861, Natural History of Mankind, 2016, encre Ultrachrome sur papier chiffon Hahnemühle Ultra Smooth 305g, 110 x 130 cm, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, d’Outre-Monde, Daguan Nanlu, 2003, tirage numérique, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, The Ancestor’s Land, 2005, tirage numérique, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, d’Outre-Monde, Kuburan Bidadari, 2007, tirage numérique, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Résonances Khmères, 2007 capture vidéo, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Insomnia, 2009, caisson lumineux, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Insomnia, 2009, néon, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Echoes (from Indian Ocean), 2011-2013, tirage numérique © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Ny Any Aminay, 2011, tirage numérique, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Steel Life-Still Factory, 2011, caisson lumineux, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Figures 1838, Atlas Elémentaire, 2015, encre Ultrachrome sur papier chiffon Hahnemühle Ultra Smooth 305g, 110 x 138,5 cm, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Malala Andrialavidrazana — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Malala Andrialavidrazana, Figures 1876, Planisphère Elémentaire, 2018, encre Ultrachrome sur papier chiffon Hahnemühle Ultra Smooth 305g, 110 x 130 cm, © Malala Andrialavidrazana

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29