Marthe Wéry

19302005 | Brussels, Belgium
Informations
Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Marthe Wéry

Sponsor
— Ayant-droits Marthe Wéry

Belgian painter.

Marthe Wéry studied in Paris at the Académie de la Grande Chaumière, and deepened her knowledge of engraving at Stanley William Hayter’s Atelier 17. Her first solo exhibition took place at Galerie Saint-Laurent in Brussels in 1965. At the end of the 1960s, she assimilated the history of modern art into her geometric abstraction – from Mondrian to Malevich –  as well as American art, which came to prominence quite late in Europe­. Notable amongst these were the works of Barnett Newman (1905-1970), Ellsworth Kelly (1923), Kenneth Noland (1924-2010) and Agnes Martin,  which she discovered during her visit to the United States in 1969, as well as the minimal art and Unism of the Polish artist Wladyslaw Strzeminski (1893-1952). Although she showed work at the Galerie Paul Maenz in Cologne and participated in the exhibition Fundamental Painting (in which she, alongside A. Martin, was one of the few female painters), she abandoned painting for “line drawings” on paper, which showed her attention to the grid from 1974/1975. The artist explained that all of her work “was an elementary research of living the surface”, through a play of empirically traced tight lines that constitute a field that “ceases to adhere to the masculine values of constructivism”. A turning point came with her successive exhibitions at Documenta 4 in Kassel (1977), and at the avant-garde Galerie MTL in Brussels (1977-1978): the papers were exhibited on the ground in irregular heaps, and were distinguished from minimal art through the antidogmatic, non-definitive stance of the “work” shared with other female artists at the time.

In 1979 synthesis between colour and texture was achieved in order to eliminate all form, at the same time as the form of female genealogy was proposed in these “all over” calligraphies on which the painter transcribed texts by philosopher Françoise Collin and writer Gertrude Stein. Colour itself became her way of thinking and doing. In the Belgian Pavilion of the 1982 Venice Biennale, M. Wéry exhibited her return to painting, with a “forest” of 93 canvases, each 24 centimetres wide but of different heights, on which she spread red acrylic paint layer after layer (more than twenty). Placed on the ground and leaning against the walls, the series was open, without linearity, and presented neither a programme nor a gesture. In order to bring the surface to life, the artist proposed installations on blocks and trestles arranged along the walls and hung at different heights. From 1994 onwards, the layers of liquid and transparent colours were spread on aluminium supports. M. Wéry let the diluted paint run until it stopped, causing a series of accidents: roughness, bubbles, and so on. After drying, the upper layers were at times scrapped off. This method of creation is both precise (choice of format, support, hues, frame and thickness) and casual, when, for example, the thin panels receive a flush of colour lying horizontally. This “laissez-faire” approach, this alternation between “becoming and evading colour, space and light” (Franz 2001) contributed to both the appearance and the hanging of her works.

At the Palais des Beaux-Arts in Brussels (2001), she constructed her exhibition according to the architecture of Victor Horta (1861-1947) and the mannerist palette of Jacopo da Pontormo (1494-1557). Three years later, she returned to the style of V. Horta at the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Tournai (2004), where she occupied all of the rooms, creating a dialogue with a number of old paintings that remained on the walls. The painter, who died at the age of 74, wanted “the works to contain life and to be able to keep it moving forward.” For twenty-five years M. Wéry taught at the Institut Saint-Luc and the École de recherche graphique in Brussels, amongst other schools; artists such as Ann Veronika Janssens were amongst her students. She also maintained ties with her contemporaries, such as Bernard Frize (1954) and Susanna Fritscher (1960). After 1985, she was awarded several public commissions, including the metro station Albert in Brussels, the stained glass windows of the collegiate church of Saint Gertrude in Nivelles (with Jean-Paul Emonds-Alt), and a series of paintings commissioned by Queen Paola in 2001 for a room in the Royal Palace in Brussels.

Read more

Élizabeth Lebovici

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1997, acrylic on wood, 51 x 59 cm, © Photo: Geukens & De Vi, Anvers, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1974, acrylic on canvas, polyptych, 35 x 27 cm, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1976, ink on paper, 110 x 75 cm, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1985, acrylic on canvas, installation and composition 200 x 24,5 cm, 200 x 80 cm, 80 x 30 cm, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1992, acrylic on wood and cherry wood veneer, varied dimensions, © Photo: Geukens & De Vi, Anvers, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1995, acrylic on wood, varied dimensions, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 2002, acrylic on aluminium, 150 x 250 cm each ; Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1990, seven multiplex panels and an acrylic painting on wood, 300 x 150 cm et 200 x 100 cm each, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Peinture Venise 82, 1982, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Galerie Cent8, © Succession Marthe Wéry / Cnap

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Relief gris clair, 1993, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo: Galerie Claire Burrus, © Succession Marthe Wéry / Cnap

Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marthe Wéry

19302005 | Bruxelles, Belgique
Informations
Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Marthe Wéry

Soutien
— Ayant-droits Marthe Wéry

Peintre belge.

Marthe Wéry complète ses études artistiques à Paris, à l’académie de la Grande Chaumière, et approfondit la gravure à l’Atelier 17 de Stanley William Hayter. Sa première exposition personnelle a lieu en 1965 à la galerie Saint-Laurent de Bruxelles. À la fin des années 1960, elle assimile, à travers son abstraction géométrique, l’histoire de l’art moderne – de Mondrian à Malevitch –, mais aussi l’art américain, perçu tardivement en Europe, notamment les œuvres de Barnett Newman (1905-1970), Ellsworth Kelly (1923), Kenneth Noland (1924-2010) et Agnes Martin, qu’elle découvre au cours de son séjour aux États-Unis en 1969, de même que l’art minimal et l’Unisme du polonais Wladyslaw Strzeminski (1893-1952). À partir de 1974-1975, alors qu’elle présente ses œuvres à la galerie Paul Maenz à Cologne et participe à l’exposition Fundamental Painting (dont elle est, avec A. Martin, l’une des rares peintres femmes), elle abandonne la peinture pour le « dessin ligné » sur papier, qui dénote son attention portée à la trame. L’artiste explique alors que tout son travail « est une recherche élémentaire de vivre la surface », par le biais d’un jeu de lignes serrées, tracées empiriquement et constituant un champ, qui « cesse d’adhérer aux valeurs masculines du constructivisme ». Un tournant s’opère avec ses expositions successives à la Documenta 4 de Kassel (1977) et la galerie avant-gardiste MTL à Bruxelles (1977-1978) : les papiers sont sur le sol, en tas irréguliers, et se distinguent de l’art minimal par la position antidogmatique, non définitive du « travail », partagée d’ailleurs avec d’autres artistes femmes.

En 1979 se produit la synthèse entre couleur et texture dans le but d’éliminer toute forme, en même temps qu’est proposée une forme de généalogie féminine dans ces calligraphies all over, où la peintre transcrit des textes de la philosophe Françoise Collin et de l’écrivaine Gertrude Stein. La couleur seule devient sa façon de penser et de faire. Dans le pavillon belge de la Biennale de Venise en 1982, M. Wéry signifie ce retour à la peinture en exposant une « forêt » de 93 toiles de 24 centimètres de largeur et de longueur variable, sur lesquelles elle a étalé couche après couche (plus d’une vingtaine) une peinture rouge acrylique de sa fabrication. Posée sur le sol et appuyée au mur, la série est ouverte, sans linéarité, et ne présente ni programme ni geste. Afin de faire « vivre la surface », l’artiste va proposer des installations sur des cales ou des tréteaux, disposées le long des murs ou accrochées à différentes hauteurs. À partir de 1994, les couches de couleurs liquides et transparentes sont répandues sur des supports d’aluminium ; M. Wéry laisse couler la peinture diluée jusqu’à ce qu’elle s’immobilise, entraînant un ensemble d’accidents : aspérités, bulles… Après le séchage, les couches supérieures sont parfois raclées. Ce mode de création est à la fois précis (choix du format, du support, de la teinte, du cadre et de l’épaisseur) et désinvolte, quand, par exemple, couchés à l’horizontale, les fins panneaux reçoivent des rasades de couleurs. Ce « laisser-faire », cette alternance entre « devenir et dérobade de la couleur, de l’espace, de la lumière » (Franz 2001) contribuent à la fois à l’apparence et à l’accrochage de ses œuvres.

Au palais des Beaux-Arts de Bruxelles (2001), elle construit son exposition en fonction de l’architecture de Victor Horta (1861-1947) et de la palette maniériste de Jacopo da Pontormo (1494-1557). Trois ans plus tard, elle retrouve le style de V. Horta au musée de Tournai (2004), dont elle occupe toutes les salles, non sans dialoguer avec plusieurs peintures anciennes non décrochées. Décédée à l’âge de 74 ans, la peintre voulait que « les œuvres contiennent la vie et puissent la faire toujours avancer ». Enseignante durant vingt-cinq ans, entre autres, à l’Institut Saint- Luc et à l’École de recherche graphique de Bruxelles, M. Wéry a formé nombre d’artistes, dont Ann Veronika Janssens, tout en échangeant avec ses contemporains, comme Bernard Frize (1954) ou Susanna Fritscher (1960). Depuis 1985, elle a bénéficié de nombreuses commandes publiques : la station de métro Albert à Bruxelles, les vitraux de la collégiale Sainte-Gertrude de Nivelles (avec Jean-Paul Emonds-Alt), une série de peintures commandée par la reine Paola en 2001 et destinée à une salle du Palais royal de Bruxelles.

Lire plus

Élizabeth Lebovici

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1997, acrylique sur bois, 51 x 59 cm, © Photo : Geukens & De Vi, Anvers, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1974, acrylique sur toile, polyptyque, 35 x 27 cm, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1976, encre sur papier, 110 x 75 cm, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1985, acrylique sur toile, installation et composition 200 x 24,5 cm, 200 x 80 cm, 80 x 30 cm, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1992, acrylique sur bois et bois placage cerisier, dimensions diverses, © Photo : Geukens & De Vi, Anvers, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1995, acrylique sur bois, dimensions diverses, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 2002, acrylique sur aluminium, 150 x 250 cm chacun ; Marthe Wéry, Sans titre, 1990, sept panneaux multiplex et une peinture acrylique sur bois, 300 x 150 cm et 200 x 100 cm chacun, © Marthe Wéry

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Peinture Venise 82, 1982, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Galerie Cent8, © Succession Marthe Wéry / Cnap

Marthe Wéry — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marthe Wéry, Relief gris clair, 1993, Centre national des arts plastiques, © Photo : Galerie Claire Burrus, © Succession Marthe Wéry / Cnap

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29