Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Elin Danielson-Gambogi

1861Noormarkku, Finland | 1919Antignano, Italy
Informations

Finnish painter.

Elin Danielson was ten years old when her father, Karl Emil Danielson, committed suicide, despondent at the failure of the family farm. Her mother, Rosa Amalia Gestrin, encouraged her to continue her studies, with the financial help of her brother, who would be a longtime supporter of the artist. At fifteen, Danielson entered Helsinki’s Finnish Art Society Drawing School, where, in addition to drawing technique and painting, she studied painting on porcelain, training that proved invaluable in enabling her to support herself. In 1880 she obtained a teaching diploma, having taken classes with the painter Adolf von Becker, whose private school was attended by several young Finns, including Helene Schjerfbeck and Ellen Thesleff.

In 1883 Danielson received a grant to travel to Paris. There she enrolled at the Académie Colarossi, received training from the painters Gustave Courtois and Raphaël Collin, and began to study sculpture under Auguste Rodin. In the summertime she left the capital for the artists’ communities in Brittany, where the landscapes were a perpetual source of inspiration. lt was here that she met the naturalist painter Jules Bastien-Lepage, who inspired her to lighten her palette. The young artist divided her time between France and Finland, where she worked outdoors under the leadership of Victor Westerholm in a group known as the Onningebykolonin, similar to the Danish group Skagen, led by the couple Michael and Anna Ancher, or the Worpswede group in Germany made famous by Paula Modersohn-Becker.
Danielson participated in several exhibits in Finland. Her favorite subjects tended to be portraits of women engaged in ordinary daily work (After Brekfast, 1890). The artist was critical of conditions for women, and demonstrated an indifference to prevailing social mores, entertaining relationships with several artists, among them the Norwegian sculptor Gustav Vigeland.

A new grant allowed Danielson to travel to Florence in 1895. She returned the following year and soon afterward settled permanently in ltaly, near Livorno. ln 1898 she married the ltalian painter Raffaello Gambogi, thirteen years her junior. The couple influenced each other mutually, for years participating together in exhibitions in France and ltaly. Danielson-Gambogi achieved a certain success in Italy, taking home a prize given by Florence, and one of her paintings was bought by King Umberto I. But the situation quickly deteriorates. Gambogi, who suffered from mental problems, abandoned his wife, leaving her financially insecure. The outbreak of World War l made it difficult for her to sell her work and impossible for her to see her native country before her death, in 1919, following a bout of pneumonia.

Read more

Joëlle Bolloch

© 2017 American Federation of Arts, originally published in Women Artists in Paris, 1850-1900 by the American Federation of Arts in association with Yale University Press

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, After Brekfast, 1890, oil on canvas, 67 x 94 cm, Private collection

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Girl with Cats in a Summer Landscape, 1892, oil on Paper, UPM-Kymmene Cultural Foundation

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Autoportrait, 1900, oil on canvas, 96 x 65.5 cm, Finnish National Gallery

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Autoportrait, 1899, oil on canvas, 47 x 37 cm, Turku Art Museum, Finland

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Fishing Boats, 1903, oil on canvas, 82 x 126 cm, Private collection

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Girl in White Bonnet, unknown date, oil on canvas, 47 x 38 cm, Private collection

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Maternité, 1893, oil on canvas, 97 x 57 cm, Ateneum, Helsinki, Finland

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Portrait of a Young Woman Wearing Fur, 1910, pastel, 30 x 21 cm, Private collection

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Summer Night, 1894, oil on wood, 54.5 x 18.5 cm, Private collection

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, The Musician, unknown date, oil on canvas, 40 x 34 cm, Private collection

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Under the Apple Tree, 1898, oil on canvas, Didrichsen Art Museum

Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Elin Danielson-Gambogi

1861Noormarkku, Finlande | 1919Antignano, Italie
Informations

Peintre finlandaise.

Elin Danielson a dix ans lorsque son père, Karl Emil Danielson, se suicide suite à la faillite de la ferme familiale. Sa mère, née Rosa Amalia Gestrin, la pousse à poursuivre ses études, avec l’aide financière de son frère qui restera longtemps un soutien pour l’artiste. À quinze ans, E. Danielson entre à l’École de dessin de l’Académie des beaux-arts d’Helsinki. Elle y étudie, à côté de la technique du dessin et de la peinture, la peinture sur porcelaine, une formation lui permettant de subvenir à ses besoins. Elle obtient en 1880 un diplôme d’enseignement, après avoir suivi les cours du peintre Adolf von Becker fondateur d’une école privée que fréquentent nombre de jeunes finlandaises de l’époque, dont Helene Schjerfbecq ou Ellen Thesleff.

En 1883, E. Danielson bénéficie d’une bourse et se rend à Paris. Elle suit les cours de l’Académie libre dirigée par Filippo Colarossi, reçoit l’enseignement des peintres Gustave Courtois et Raphaël Collin, et s’initie à la sculpture auprès d’Auguste Rodin. Elle s’éloigne de temps en temps de la capitale, notamment pour rejoindre les artistes qui se retrouvent l’été en Bretagne, dont les paysages sont une perpétuelle source d’inspiration. C’est là qu’elle croise notamment le peintre naturaliste Jules Bastien-Lepage qui l’incite à éclaircir sa palette. La jeune artiste partage son temps entre la France et la Finlande, où elle fréquente les artistes de plein air rassemblés sous la houlette de Victor Westerholm dans un groupe connu sous le nom de Onningebykolonin, l’équivalent de ce que fut le groupe de Skagen au Danemark, animé par le couple Michael et Anna Ancher, ou celui de Worpswede, en Allemagne, rendu célèbre par Paula Modersohn-Becker.
E. Danielson participe à plusieurs expositions en Finlande, ses sujets de prédilection étant les portraits de femmes saisies dans des occupations banales du quotidien (After Brekfast, 1890). L’artiste se montre critique quant à la situation faite aux femmes, elle-même faisant preuve d’une grande liberté de mœurs, entretenant des liaisons avec plusieurs artistes, dont le sculpteur norvégien Gustav Vigeland.

L’obtention d’une nouvelle bourse lui permet de séjourner à Florence, en 1895. Elle y revient l’année suivante et s’installe définitivement en Italie, près de Livourne. Elle épouse en 1898 le peintre italien Raffaello Gambogi, de 13 ans son cadet. Le couple s’influence mutuellement et durant quelques années participe à des expositions tant en France qu’en Italie. E. Danielson-Gambogi rencontre un certain succès en Italie, elle remporte un prix décerné par la ville de Florence et l’une de ses toiles est achetée par le roi, Humbert Ier d’Italie. Sa situation se dégrade, R. Gambogi souffre de troubles mentaux et délaisse son épouse qui se débat avec des problèmes financiers. Par ailleurs la Première guerre mondiale éclate, privant l’artiste de la possibilité de vendre ses œuvres et l’empêchant également de revoir son pays avant sa mort, survenue en 1919, des suites d’une pneumonie.

Lire plus

Joëlle Bolloch

© 2017 American Federation of Arts, à l’origine publié dans Women Artists in Paris, 1850-1900 par l’American Federation of Arts en partenariat avec Yale University Press

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, After Brekfast, 1890, huile sur toile, 67 x 94 cm, Collection particulière

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Girl with Cats in a Summer Landscape, 1892, huile sur toile, UPM-Kymmene Cultural Foundation

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Autoportrait, 1900, huile sur toile, 96 x 65,5 cm, Finnish National Gallery

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Autoportrait, 1899, huile sur toile, 47 x 37 cm, Turku Art Museum, Finlande

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Fishing Boats, 1903, huile sur toile, 82 x 126 cm, Collection particulière

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Girl in White Bonnet, date inconnue, huile sur toile, 47 x 38 cm, Collection particulière

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Maternité, 1893, huile sur toile, 97 x 57 cm, Ateneum, Helsinki, Finland

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Portrait of a Young Woman Wearing Fur, 1910, pastel, 30 x 21 cm, Collection particulière

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Summer Night, 1894, huile sur bois, 54,5 x 18,5 cm, Collection particulière

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, The Musician, date inconnue, huile sur toile, 40 x 34 cm, Collection particulière

Elin Danielson-Gambogi — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Elin Danielson-Gambogi, Under the Apple Tree, 1898, huile sur toile, Didrichsen Art Museum

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29