Les grandes dames de l’art

Anna-Eva Bergman
01.07.2021

Fanny Michaëlis, Anna-Eva Bergman, 2021
© Fanny Michaëlis

The podcast “Les grandes dames de l’art” (“Great Women in Art”) gives a voice to women artists of the 20th century. They speak of their work, their lives, the world around them and their achievements. Let us go in search of their presence, their secrets. Let us rediscover the hidden history of women artists through their voices.

Following the episode on Maria Helena Vieira da Silva, let’s carry on discovering the history of female abstraction. Anna-Eva Bergman was born in Norway in 1909 and died in 1987. She was remarkable in her strength and singularity: after practising figurative painting she moved onto abstract painting, whilst refusing the expression “abstract art“. She called her work non-figurative and talked about the art of abstracting.

From 1920 to 1940 her painting was inhabited by quirky characters, but also darker ones when it came to criticising the German army’s occupation of Norway. She also painted urban landscapes. At the end of the 1940s, she shifted towards abstraction, still working from recognizable shapes and forms originating in nature or Scandinavian mythology.

“Les grandes dames de l’art” is a podcast produced by AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, in collaboration with the Institut national de l’audiovisuel, with the support of Maison Veuve Clicquot and the Ministry of Culture’s Délégation à la transmission, aux territoires et à la démocratie culturelle.

Coordinated by: Mathilde de Croix and the AWARE team
Directed by: Élodie Royer
Music by: Juliano Gil
Credits: Andrew Nelson
Sound Editing: Basile Beaucaire
Scientific Advisors: Catherine Gonnard and Marjorie Micucci
Translation: Beth Gordon
French Voice: Camille Morineau
English Voice: Lou Doillon
Translation of the Artist’s Voice: Eve Dayre

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Les grandes dames de l’art

Anna-Eva Bergman
01.07.2021

Fanny Michaëlis, Anna-Eva Bergman, 2021
© Fanny Michaëlis

Le podcast « Les grandes dames de l’art » donne la parole aux artistes femmes du XXe siècle. Elles parlent de leur œuvre, de leur vie, du monde qui les entoure et de leurs conquêtes. Partons à la recherche de leur présence, de leurs secrets. Retrouvons l’histoire cachée des artistes femmes, à partir de leurs voix.

Suite à l’épisode consacré à Maria Helena Vieira da Silva, nous aimerions continuer à vous faire découvrir une histoire de l’abstraction au féminin. Anna-Eva Bergman, née en 1909 en Norvège et morte en 1987, est exemplaire dans sa force et sa singularité : elle a été une peintre figurative puis abstraite, tout en refusant l’expression d’art abstrait. Elle préfère dire de son travail qu’il s’agit d’un art non figuratif, et aime parler de l’art d’abstraire.

De 1920 à 1940, sa peinture est peuplée de personnages cocasses ou sombres lorsqu’il s’agit de commenter l’occupation de la Norvège par les armées allemandes. Elle peint également des paysages urbains. À la fin des années 1940 elle bascule vers l’abstraction, mais son œuvre se construit toujours à partir de formes identifiables, issues de la nature ou de la mythologie scandinave.

« Les grandes dames de l’art » est une série de podcasts produite par AWARE : Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, en partenariat avec l’Institut national de l’audiovisuel, avec le soutien de la Maison Veuve Clicquot et la Délégation à la transmission, aux territoires et à la démocratie culturelle du ministère de la Culture.

À la préparation : Mathilde de Croix avec l’équipe d’AWARE
À la réalisation : Élodie Royer
Musique originale : Juliano Gil
Générique : Andrew Nelson
Mixage sonore : Basile Beaucaire
Conseil scientifique : Catherine Gonnard et Marjorie Micucci
Voix : Camille Morineau

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29