Les grandes dames de l’art

Aurélie Nemours
08.09.2021

Fanny Michaëlis, Aurélie Nemours, 2021
© Fanny Michaëlis

The podcast “Les grandes dames de l’art” (“Great women of art”) gives a voice to the female artists of the 20th century. They talk about their work, their life, the world around them, and their achievements. Let us go in search of their presence, their secrets. Let us rediscover the hidden stories of women artists through their voices.

After the episodes dedicated to Maria Helena Vieira da Silva and Ana-Eva Bergman, we would like to introduce you to a third female painter, a pioneer of abstraction, Aurélie Nemours. She was born in 1910 in Paris and died in 2005, and stands out because of the radical path her career took. You will soon hear her voice, a voice as abstract and radical as her painting. To introduce her in a few words, Nemours revolutionised geometrical abstraction by using simple shapes, colours applied in solid coatings, and often reducing her palette to black and white. She chose the horizontal and vertical lines and abandoned diagonals and curves. She worked in series that she called families, there are 22 of them in her catalogue.

“Les grandes dames de l’art” is a podcast produced by AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, in collaboration with the Institut national de l’audiovisuel, with the support of Maison Veuve Clicquot and the Ministry of Culture’s Délégation à la transmission, aux territoires et à la démocratie culturelle.

Coordinated by: Mathilde de Croix and the AWARE team
Directed by: Élodie Royer
Music by: Juliano Gil
Credits: Andrew Nelson
Sound Editing: Basile Beaucaire
Scientific Advisors: Catherine Gonnard and Marjorie Micucci
Translation: Beth Gordon
French Voice: Camille Morineau
English Voice: Lou Doillon
Translation of the Artist’s Voice: Eve Dayre

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Les grandes dames de l’art

Aurélie Nemours
08.09.2021

Fanny Michaëlis, Aurélie Nemours, 2021
© Fanny Michaëlis

Le podcast « Les grandes dames de l’art » donne la parole aux artistes femmes du XXesiècle. Elles parlent de leur œuvre, de leur vie, du monde qui les entoure et de leurs conquêtes. Partons à la recherche de leur présence, de leurs secrets. Retrouvons l’histoire cachée des artistes femmes, à partir de leurs voix.

Après les épisodes consacrés à Maria Helena Vieira da Silva et à Ana-Eva Bergman, nous aimerions vous faire découvrir une troisième femme peintre pionnière de l’abstraction. Aurélie Nemours, née en 1910 à Paris et morte en 2005, brille par son parcours sans concession. Vous allez entendre sa voix aussi abstraite et radicale que sa peinture. En quelques mots, Nemours a revolutionné l’abstraction géométrique, en imposant des formes simples, des couleurs en aplat, et souvent réduit tout au noir et blanc. Elle choisit la ligne horizontale et verticale et délaisse donc les diagonales et courbes. Elle travaille en série, qu’elle appelle des familles ; on en compte 22 dans son catalogue raisonné.

« Les grandes dames de l’art » est une série de podcasts produite par AWARE : Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, en partenariat avec l’Institut national de l’audiovisuel, avec le soutien de la Maison Veuve Clicquot et la Délégation à la transmission, aux territoires et à la démocratie culturelle du ministère de la Culture.

À la préparation : Mathilde de Croix avec l’équipe d’AWARE
À la réalisation : Élodie Royer
Musique originale : Juliano Gil
Générique : Andrew Nelson
Mixage sonore : Basile Beaucaire
Conseil scientifique : Catherine Gonnard et Marjorie Micucci
Voix : Camille Morineau

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29