Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

2019 Edition

On March 18, 2019, the AWARE Prizes for Women Artists were awarded by the Ministry for Culture, with the support of the CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture to Hélène Bertin for the Prize, and Jacqueline de Jong for the Oustanding Merit Prize, in recognition of her exceptional career and her recently highlighted work.

Four commissioners – young professionals from the world of culture: art historians, art critics, museum and art centre directors – have each selected two artists whose names are respectively entered in the Prize (for artists whose career began less than 10 years ago) and for the Outstanding Merit Prize (for artists whose career began 30 years ago or more).

The commissioners for the 2019 prizes are Gallien Déjean (art critic, curator, and professor at the École cantonale d’art de Lausanne – ECAL), Céline Poulin (director of CAC-Brétigny), Sonia Recasens (art critic and independent curator), and Joël Riff (curator, author, and teacher at the École Duperré in Paris). They will present and defend the work of their selected artists in front of seven leading figures in the world of culture.

This panel is composed of Alfred Pacquement (honorary general heritage conservation officer, former director of the musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou), president of the panel, Manuel Borja-Villel (director of the Museo nacional centro de arte Reina Sofia, Madrid), Marie Cozette (director of the Crac Occitanie / Pyrénées-Méditerranée, Sète), Fanny Gonella (director of 49 Nord Est – Frac Lorraine, Metz), Camille Morineau (director of exhibitions and collections of the Monnaie de Paris, co-founder and chairwoman of AWARE), Catherine Petitgas (collector and art historian), Yves Robert (director of the Centre National des Arts Plastiques – Cnap).

New conditions of visibility for artists thanks to the renewed support of the Ministry of Culture

For the 2017 and 2018 editions, the 8 artists nominated for the competition were part of a collective exhibition. In order to broaden the visibility of artists beyond the limited circle of the Parisian public, new modes of presentation of the artists’ work will be established for the 2019 edition, notably thanks to the renewed and on-going support of the Ministry of Culture.

The winner of the Outstanding Merit Prize will enjoy a 10 000 grant and a monographic publication, containing an original interview, for release in 2020. Éditions Manuella will devote a dedicated collection to the AWARE Outstanding Merit prizewinner.

The artist who emerges as the Prize laureate will have one or more of their works acquired by the Cnap collections and will enjoy a production grant for a solo exhibition to be held within the D.C.A. network (French Association for the Development of Contemporary Art Centres) and/or platform (cluster of Regional Contemporary Art Funds).

The AWARE Prizes for Women Artists will enjoy the support of the Ministry for Culture and the CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture.

Laureates
Nominees
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Édition 2019

Le 18 mars 2019 ont été remis, pour la 3e édition consécutive, les Prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes, au ministère de la Culture, avec le soutien du CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture. Hélène Bertin est lauréate du prix et Jacqueline de Jong reçoit le prix d’honneur en reconnaissance de l’excellence de sa carrière et de son œuvre récemment remise en lumière.

Quatre rapporteurs et rapporteuses – jeunes professionnel·le·s du monde de la culture : historien·ne·s de l’art, critiques, directeurs et directrices de musées ou de centres d’art – ont chacun·e présélectionné un duo d’artistes, nommées respectivement au prix (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis dix ans au plus) et au prix d’honneur (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis plus de trente ans).

Les rapporteurs et rapporteuses de l’édition 2019 – Gallien Déjean (critique d’art, commissaire d’exposition et enseignant à l’École cantonale d’art de Lausanne – ECAL), Céline Poulin (directrice du CAC-Brétigny), Sonia Recasens (critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition indépendante) et Joël Riff (commissaire d’exposition, auteur et enseignant à l’École Duperré à Paris) – présenteront et défendront le travail des artistes, devant un jury composé de sept figures majeures du monde de la culture.

Ce dernier est composé de Alfred Pacquement (conservateur général honoraire du patrimoine, ancien directeur du musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Pompidou), président du jury, Manuel Borja-Villel (directeur du Museo nacional centro de arte Reina Sofia, Madrid), Marie Cozette (directrice du Crac Occitanie/ Pyrénées-Méditerranée, Sète), Fanny Gonella (directrice du 49 Nord Est – Frac Lorraine, Metz), Camille Morineau (directrice des expositions et des collections de la Monnaie de Paris, cofondatrice et présidente d’AWARE), Catherine Petitgas (collectionneuse et historienne de l’Art), Yves Robert (directeur du Centre National des Arts Plastiques – Cnap).

De nouvelles modalités de visibilisation des artistes grâce au soutien renouvelé du ministère de la Culture

Pour les éditions 2017 et 2018, les 8 artistes nommées aux prix bénéficiaient d’une exposition collective. Afin d’élargir la visibilité des artistes au-delà du cercle restreint du public parisien, de nouvelles voies de diffusion du travail des artistes sont mises en place pour l’édition 2019, notamment grâce au soutien renouvelé et pérennisé du ministère de la Culture.

L’artiste recevant le prix d’honneur bénéficiera d’une dotation de 10 000 euros et d’une publication d’un entretien inédit, à paraître en 2020. Les éditions Manuella consacreront une collection dédiée au prix d’honneur AWARE.

L’artiste émergente lauréate du prix bénéficiera d’une acquisition au sein des collections du Cnap (Centre national des arts plastiques) et d’une aide à la production pour la réalisation d’une exposition monographique dans le réseau D.C.A (Association française de développement des centres d’art contemporain) et/ou Platform (regroupement des Fonds régionaux d’art contemporain).

Les prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes bénéficient du soutien du ministère de la Culture et du CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture.

Les Lauréates
Les Nommées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29