Prix AWARE

Farah Khelil
Nominee of Prix 2019

© Photo: Frédéric Iovino

As a student at the Tunis Institute of Fine Arts, I didn’t have access to original works in museums or galleries. It was instead through history books and catalogues raisonnés that I was able to understand the meaning of a work.1

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Technique mixte, 2009, ink on paper, variable dimensions, Courtesy Farah Khelil, Édition La Bibliothèque Fantastique, © Photo: Farah Khelil

Farah Khelil has developed a conceptual approach that places an aesthetic value on the various tools used for presenting art (captions, copies, postcards, archives, etc.). This approach is clearly demonstrated in her book Technique mixte [Mixed Media] (2009–2016), which comprises a list of a hundred or so captions of contemporary works, meticulously collected from the Bibliothèque publique d’information and gathered together under the title borrowed from philosopher Gilbert Simondon, Du mode d’existence des objets techniques (1943) [On the Mode of Existence of Technical Objects, 2016]. The technical information reads like an ontological manifesto for the existence of artworks, desacralized and re-established with the status of an everyday physical object.

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Iqra, 2013, drawing and collage, ink, and electronic chip on paper, variable dimensions, Courtesy Farah Khelil and Officine dell’Immagine Gallery, © Photo: Farah Khelil

Through this act of appropriation Farah Khelil is reviewing the conventional definitions of an artwork and its presentation, creating a distance from the object that aims to foster a semantic understanding and not a figurative perception. Questioning point-of-view as a condition for accessing reality, her multifaceted work (drawing, photography, installations, sculpture, video, artist’s books) acts as a kind of software that translates elements of reality. By referring to the concept of the diagram2, related to the process carried out by cubist painters, Farah Khelil operates through gestures of thought: she analyses the data she has collected (books, texts, images, sounds, games, postcards, etc.) distorting and breaking them apart in space and time in order to remodel them into an abstract composition that allows us to see new and multiple points of view. In this context, the spectator is invited to read the work by linking the various elements that have been hidden or distorted by the artist, thus giving meaning to the process. The same call to action can be found in her series of drawings entitled Iqra, the Arabic work meaning “Read!” that opens the first verse of the Koran revealed to Muhammad.

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Lignes, 2015, collage on paper, 10 x 15 cm, Courtesy Farah Khelil, © Photo: Farah Khelil

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Point d’étape #3, 2017, display, books, documents, glass, wood, marble, framed prints, variable dimensions, Courtesy Farah Khelil, © Photo: Farah Khelil

Reading, in particular of philosophical texts, drives Farah Khelil’s aesthetic research and experimentation. Books and words as a system of knowledge become in turn a source of inspiration and a starting point for an exhibition. Thus her presentation of Solitude peuplée [Inhabited Solitude]3 at Appartement in 2017 was a concept borrowed from Albert Camus and philosophers Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari, where this “inhabited solitude” reflects the state of the thinker deep in creative thought, both private and open to exchange. For her exhibition at the Galerie Selma Feriani in Sidi Bou Saïd in 2018, the artist refined her ideas on the notion of history through the book Boudhour (Graines)[Seeds], published in 1968 by her great-uncle, Tunisian writer Bachir Majdoub, who shares his aesthetic encounter with Rodin’s The Thinker. Books can also become the raw material for her works, as in Lignes [Lines] (2015), a series of collages made up of small sculpted fragments of an Arabic dictionary left behind by book-eating insects in her deceased grandfather’s library. In the series of installations entitled Point d’étape [Waypoint] (2016–2018), art history books are arranged alongside falling piles of postcards, glass plates, and blocks of wood that combine to form a 3D composition. These installations are intuitive gestures of thought, creating a mental landscape of the operations and relations that structure the artist’s activity, as if reporting on her well thought-out path.

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Solitude peuplée, 2017, photograph, mural print, 330 x 265 cm, exhibition view Graine de pensée at Selma Feriani Gallery, Sidi bon Saïd, Tunisia, Courtesy Farah Khelil, © Photo: Selma Feriani Gallery

With few means and techniques, Farah Khelil sets up procedures for translation, encoding, and cecity, distorting and appropriating objects and archives through a body of work she sees as a type of software. She builds a logical space where theory and practice are both arranged and dispersed in space, like in an encyclopedia. Favouring multiple avenues of thought, the artist creates a back-and-forth between what is visible and legible, learned and popular, intimate and academic.

Sonia Recasens

 

Farah Khelil (1980) studied at the Tunis Institute of Fine Arts and holds a PhD in arts and art sciences from the Ecole des arts de la Sorbonne. Her work combines artist’s books, videos, archives, and displays with writing and theoretical research. She has participated in many international group exhibitions, such as at the Undercurrent Projects artspace (New York, 2014), the Es Baluard museum (Palma, 2015), the Officine dell’Immagine Gallery (Milan, 2017), the Handel Street Projects Gallery (London, 2017), the Institut français de Saint-Louis/Galerie du Fleuve (Saint-Louis, Senegal, 2018), and the Institut français de Tunisie (Sousse, 2018). She has also had several solo exhibitions, including at the International Cultural Centre in Cerisy-la-Salle (Normandy, 2013), Appartement (Paris, 2017), and the Selma Feriani Gallery (Tunis, 2018). Her work is part of the FRAC Normandie collection. She is represented by the Selma Feriani Gallery (Tunis/London) and Officine dell’Immagine Gallery (Milan).

1
“La grammaire du réel, Entretien avec Julien Verhaeghe” [The Grammar of Reality: An Interview with Julien Verhaeghe], in Possible Revue critique d’art contemporain, no. 1, 2018.

2
Pierre Paliard, “Une modernité diagrammatique” [A Diagrammatic Modernity], in Roven, revue critique sur le dessin contemporain, no. 8, Autumn/Winter 2012–2013, pp. 8–13.

3
A solo exhibition by Farah Khelil presented at the Espace Apartement in Paris from 9 to 24 June 2017 and curated by Sonia Recasens.

Commissioner:
Sonia Recasens is a Paris-based art critic and independent curator. Her areas of research range from the history of feminist art to contemporary African art, by way of gender and post-colonial studies. The chief editor and president of Portraits, she writes for various reviews and publications. In 2017, she organised the first retrospective of Caribbean artist Hessie (Hessie: Survival Art) at Les Abattoirs de Toulouse and then at the MUSAC in León. In 2018, she was invited by the Frac of the Région Grand Est to undertake a research project on the women artists represented in their collections. That led to a show, entitled Citoyennes Paradoxales, presented at the Palais du Tau in Reims in 2018.

Translated from French by Jo Nicoud-Garden.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Farah Khelil
Nommée au Prix 2019

© Photo : Frédéric Iovino

« Étudiante aux Beaux-Arts de Tunis, je n’avais pas d’accès aux œuvres originales dans les musées ou galeries. C’est seulement à travers les livres d’histoire et catalogues raisonnés que j’accédais au sens de l’œuvre. »1

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Technique mixte, 2009, encre sur papier, dimensions variables, Courtesy Farah Khelil, Édition La Bibliothèque Fantastique, © Photo : Farah Khelil

Farah Khelil développe une pratique conceptuelle de valorisation esthétique des outils de médiation (légendes, reproductions, cartes postales, archives…) qui est particulièrement manifeste dans le livre d’artiste Technique mixte (2009-2016). Ce dernier consiste en une liste d’une centaine de légendes d’œuvres contemporaines patiemment collectées à la Bibliothèque publique d’information et réunies sous une couverture empruntée au philosophe Gilbert Simondon, Du mode d’existence des objets techniques (1943). Les informations techniques se lisent comme la manifestation ontologique de l’existence des œuvres d’art ainsi désacralisées et ramenées à leur état d’objets matériels issus du quotidien.

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Iqra, 2013, dessin et collage, encre et puce électronique sur papier, dimensions variables, Courtesy Farah Khelil et Officine dell’Immagine Gallery, © Photo : Farah Khelil

Par ce geste d’appropriation, Farah Khelil procède à une remise en jeu des définitions conventionnelles de l’œuvre d’art et de son exposition, créant une distance vis-à-vis de l’objet qui vise à une compréhension sémantique et non à une appréhension figurative. Interrogeant le point de vue comme condition d’accès à une réalité, sa pratique protéiforme (dessin, photographie, installation, sculpture, vidéo, livre d’artiste) fonctionne comme un logiciel de traduction d’éléments du réel. C’est à travers les gestes de la pensée que Farah Khelil opère, en référence au concept de diagramme2 qui n’est pas si éloigné du processus des peintres cubistes : elle analyse des données collectées (livres, textes, images, sons, jeux, cartes postales…) pour les décomposer, les faire éclater dans l’espace puis les réagencer en une composition abstraite donnant à voir de nouveaux et multiples points de vue. Dans ce contexte, le spectateur est invité à lire l’œuvre en connectant les différents éléments dissimulés ou détournés par l’artiste, afin de générer le sens d’une démarche. Une injonction que l’on retrouve dans la série de dessins Iqra – « Lis ! » en arabe –, terme qui introduit le premier verset coranique révélé.

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Lignes, 2015, collage sur papier, 10 x 15 cm, Courtesy Farah Khelil, © Photo : Farah Khelil

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Point d’étape #3, 2017, display, livres, documents, verre, bois, marbre, imprimés encadrés, dimensions
variables, Courtesy Farah Khelil, © Photo : Farah Khelil

La lecture et plus particulièrement celle de textes philosophiques irrigue les recherches et expérimentations esthétiques de Farah Khelil. Les livres, les mots comme système de connaissance sont tour à tour source d’inspiration et point de départ d’une exposition. Ainsi la présentation chez Appartement en 2017, Solitude peuplée 3 , est-elle un concept emprunté à Albert Camus et aux philosophes Gilles Deleuze et Félix Guattari, pour qui la « solitude peuplée » est l’état du penseur plongé dans une réflexion créatrice, à la fois privée et ouverte sur le dialogue. Pour son exposition à la Galerie Selma Feriani, à Sidi Bou Saïd, en 2018, l’artiste affûte sa pensée autour de la notion d’histoire à partir du livre Boudhour (Graines) publié en 1968 par son aïeul, l’écrivain tunisien Bachir Majdoub, qui y partage sa rencontre esthétique avec Le Penseur de Rodin. Les livres peuvent aussi devenir la matière même de l’œuvre comme dans Lignes (2015), une série de collages composés de fragments sculptés par des insectes bibliophages d’un dictionnaire en langue arabe trouvé dans la bibliothèque de son grand-père disparu. Dans la série d’installations Point d’étape (2016-2018), ce sont des livres d’histoire de l’art qui sont mis en scène avec des chutes de cartes postales, des plaques de verre, des blocs de bois dans des compositions en 3D. Ces installations sont des gestes, intuitives de la pensée, dessinant un paysage mental des traitements et relations qui structurent l’activité de l’artiste, comme pour faire le point sur son cheminement raisonné.

Farah Khelil - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Farah Khelil, Solitude peuplée, 2017, photographie, impression murale, 330 x 265 cm, vue de l’exposition Graine de pensée à la Selma Feriani Gallery, Sidi bon Saïd, Tunisie, Courtesy Farah Khelil, © Photo : Selma Feriani Gallery

Dans une économie de moyens et de techniques, Farah Khelil met en place des protocoles de traduction, de codage et de cécité pour détourner et s’approprier des objets, des archives à travers une œuvre qu’elle qualifie de logicielle. Elle construit un espace logique où théorie et pratique sont à la fois agencées et dispersées dans l’espace, comme dans une encyclopédie. Privilégiant une pensée du multiple, l’artiste opère des va-et-vient entre visible et lisible, savant et populaire, intime et académie.

Sonia Recasens

 

Farah Khelil (1980) a étudié à l’Institut supérieur des beaux-arts de Tunis et est titulaire d’un doctorat en arts et sciences de l’art de l’École des arts de la Sorbonne. Son œuvre conjugue livres d’artiste, vidéos, archives et display avec l’écriture et la recherche théorique. Elle a pris part à de nombreuses expositions collectives à l’international, comme à l’espace Undercurrent Projects (New York, 2014), au musée Es Baluard (Palma de Majorque, 2015), à la galerie Officine dell’Immagine (Milan, 2017), à la Handel Street Projects Gallery (Londres, 2017), à l’Institut français de Saint-Louis/Galerie du Fleuve (Saint-Louis, Sénégal, 2018), ou encore à l’Institut français de Tunisie (Sousse, 2018). Plusieurs expositions personnelles lui ont été consacrées, entre autres au Centre culturel international de Cerisy-la-Salle (Normandie, 2013), à l’Appartement (Paris, 2017) et à la Selma Feriani Gallery (Tunis, 2018). Son travail figure dans les collections du Frac Normandie. Elle est représentée par la Selma Feriani Gallery (Tunis/Londres) et Officine dell’Immagine Gallery (Milan).

1
« La grammaire du réel, Entretien avec Julien Verhaeghe », dans Possible Revue critique d’art contemporain, n° 1, 2018.

2
Pierre Paliard, « Une modernité diagrammatique », dans Roven, revue critique sur le dessin contemporain, n° 8, automne-hiver 2012-2013, p. 8-13.

3
Solitude peuplée exposition personnelle de Farah Khelil présentée du 9 au 24 juin 2017 à l’espace Appartement sur un commissariat de Sonia Recasens.

Rapporteuse :
Sonia Recasens est une critique d’art et commissaire d’exposition indépendante résidant à Paris. Ses champs de recherche vont de l’histoire de l’art féministe à l’art africain contemporain en passant par les gender et postcolonial studies. Rédactrice en chef et présidente de Portraits, elle écrit pour différentes revues et publications. En 2017, elle organisait la première rétrospective de l’artiste caribéenne Hessie (« Hessie, Survival Art ») aux Abattoirs de Toulouse puis au MUSAC de León. En 2018, elle est invitée par les FRAC de la région Grand Est à réaliser une résidence de recherche sur les artistes femmes de leurs collections, qui donne lieu à une restitution sous forme d’exposition intitulée « Citoyennes paradoxales » présentée au Palais du Tau, à Reims.
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29