Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

2020 Edition

In March 2020, the AWARE Prizes for Women Artists will be awarded at the Ministry for Culture, with the support of the CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture.

Four commissioners – young professionals from the world of culture: art historians, art critics, curators – have each selected two artists whose names are respectively entered in the Prize (for artists whose career began less than 10 years ago) and for the Outstanding Merit Prize (for artists whose career began 30 years ago or more).

The commissioners for the 2020 prizes are Élise Atangana (independent curator and exhibition producer), Cédric Fauq (curator at Nottingham Contemporary, United Kingdom), Yoann Gourmel (curator at Palais de Tokyo and independent curator) and Barbara Sirieix (independent curator and author). They will present and defend the work of their selected artists in front of seven leading figures in the world of culture.

This panel is chaired by Emma Lavigne (president of the Palais de Tokyo), and composed of Hou Hanru (artistic director of MAXXI – Museo nazionale delle arti del XXI secolo, Roma), Léopold Meyer (president of the Friends of the Centre Pompidou), Camille Morienau (co-founder and chairwoman of AWARE), Pascal Neveux (director of the Frac Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Marseille, president of the CIPAC), Claire Le Restif (director of the Crédac, Contemporary Art Centre, Ivry-sur-Seine), Béatrice Salmon (director of the Cnap, Centre National des Arts Plastiques).

Since 2019, the laureates benefit from new conditions of visibility thanks to the renewed and on-going support of the Ministry for Culture.

The winner of the Outstanding Merit Prize will receive a EUR 10,000 grant and a monographic publication, containing an original interview for release in 2021. The collec­tion of interviews is developed in partner­ship with Manuella Éditions for all the recipients of AWARE Outstan­ding Merit Prize since its creation. The first volume, a discussion between Nil Yalter (joint winner of the 2018 Outstanding Merit Prize) and Fabienne Dumont, has been launched in November 2019.

The artist who emerges as the Prize laureate will have one or more of her works acquired by the Cnap collections and a production grant for a solo exhibition to be held within the d.c.a (French Association for the Development of Contemporary Art Centres) and/or Platform network (cluster of Regional Contemporary Art Funds).

The AWARE Prizes for Women Artists will enjoy the support of the Ministry for Culture and the CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture.

Nominees
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Édition 2020

En mars 2020 seront remis, pour la 4e édition consécutive, les Prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes, au ministère de la Culture, avec le soutien du CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture.

Quatre rapporteurs et rapporteuses – jeunes professionnel·le·s du monde de la culture : historien·ne·s de l’art, critiques, commissaires d’exposition – ont chacun·e présélectionné un duo d’artistes, nommées respectivement au prix (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis dix ans au plus) et au prix d’honneur (artistes ayant commencé leur carrière depuis plus de trente ans).

Les rapporteurs et rapporteuses de l’édition 2020 – Élise Atangana (commissaire et productrice d’exposition indépendante), Cédric Fauq (commissaire d’exposition au Nottingham Contemporary, au Royaume-Uni), Yoann Gourmel (curateur au Palais de Tokyo et commissaire indépendant) et Barbara Sirieix (curatrice indépendante et autrice) – présenteront et défendront le travail des artistes devant un jury composé de sept figures majeures du monde de la culture.

Ce dernier sera présidé par Emma Lavigne (présidente du Palais de Tokyo), et composé de Hou Hanru (directeur artistique du MAXXI – Museo nazionale delle arti del XXI secolo, Rome), Léopold Meyer (président des amis du Centre Pompidou), Camille Morineau (co-fondatrice et présidente d’AWARE), Pascal Neveux (directeur du Frac Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Marseille, président du CIPAC), Claire Le Restif (directrice du Centre d’art contemporain d’Ivry – le Crédac), Béatrice Salmon (directrice du Cnap, Centre national des arts plastiques).

Depuis 2019, les artistes lauréates bénéficient de nouvelles modalités de visibilisation grâce au soutien renouvelé et pérennisé du ministère de la Culture.

L’artiste recevant le prix d’honneur bénéficiera d’une dotation de 10 000 euros et de la publication d’un entretien inédit à paraître en 2021. La collec­tion d’entre­tiens est réalisée en partena­riat avec Manuella Éditions pour l’ensemble des artistes lauréates du prix d’honneur depuis sa création. Le premier volume, une discussion entre Nil Yalter (lauréate ex-aequo du prix d’honneur 2018) et Fabienne Dumont, est sorti en novembre 2019.

L’artiste émergente lauréate du prix bénéficiera d’une acquisition au sein des collections du Cnap et d’une aide à la production pour la réalisation d’une exposition monographique dans le réseau d.c.a (Association française de développement des centres d’art contemporain) et/ou Platform (regroupement des Fonds régionaux d’art contemporain).

Les prix AWARE pour les artistes femmes sont soutenus par le ministère de la Culture et le CHANEL Fund for Women in the Arts and Culture.

Les Nommées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29