Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Josèfa Ntjam
Nominee of Prix 2020

© Photo: Sean Hart

Josèfa Ntjam - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Josèfa Ntjam, Mélas de Saturne, 2020, screenshot of the film, 14′, Courtesy Josèfa Ntjam & Sean Hart

“Too often have we been the subjects of experimentation, and so we have decided to create our own landscapes, to unsettle visions that were used to naming ‘otherness’ without ever letting it express itself.”
“We have decided the naming through abstraction. A fraying of cantankerous words, too often digested in times past. Polyphemus was not mistaken: we are persona.”

Josèfa Ntjam - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Josèfa Ntjam, Mami Wata On Screen, 2019, view of the solo exhibition Sous La Mangrove at La Mostra de Givors, digital collage, silk print, 280 x 170 cm, 2019, as part of the artist residence with Veduta/XVth Lyon Biennale (2019), Courtesy Josèfa Ntjam © Photo: Blaise Dilon

I chose to quote Josèfa Ntjam’s text written for her exhibition Sous la mangrove (Under the mangrove) at La Mostra de Givors for the 15th Lyon Biennale (2019) because it seems significant to me in relation to the prize’s purpose: to nominate, to name, to speak for. Amidst a porous lexicon of words repeated and interwoven – infiltration, plants, revolts, aquarium, misappropriation – a plural voice emerges, speaking in the name of a fictional identity. This us need not define or justify itself; us says whatever they desire. This blurred enunciation neutralises the presupposed unity of the artist’s subjectivity, as well as its dominant position as an entity that produces meaning within the event of the exhibition. Each paragraph rewrites the narrative: the point is not to establish legitimacy by drawing on knowledge, but rather to imagine new possibilities. One begins to glimpse the outline of a fiction created by an alternative subjectivity, a plural subject untethered by the definitions of gender or species, by part of its matter (by becoming a “drop”), and which therefore gives rise to different perceptions, institutions, and behaviours.

It is precisely this way of imagining a different experience of art – an art that has become aware of and brings awareness to narratives of domination – which led me to want to re-present Josèfa Ntjam’s work. I see her practice as a multidisciplinary form of speculative writing, in that she often uses science fiction as a tool to explore epistemological categories of race, gender and species, as well as notions of space and territory. And so the world of Hilolombi in the performance piece Hilolombi #2 (2018-2019), seen through the intertwined visions of both a female hydraulics researcher and a griot, describes an unknown planet discovered by the United States of Africa, which would provide humans with a new form of aqueous being and, through this possibility, with a new narration of bygone times.

Josèfa Ntjam - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Josèfa Ntjam, I AM NAMELESS, 2019, performance, as part of the Allegoria Show at Kunstsenter Bergen (2019), Courtesy Josèfa Ntjam

The compounding of several cultural products, both in her texts and in her montages of images printed on fabric or edited as videos, brings to mind an “expansive poetry”, like that of Édouard Glissant, moored in the ocean of the “internets”. By unfurling a narration within established knowledge, the artist’s work shows that it is both rooted in the fragmented culture born from digital technologies and fed by the moving discourse of Glissant’s “Tout-monde”, like a bridge between poetics and ethics. Her fictional and poetic approach institutes a plural language that integrates the present event in the form of a space for emancipation and critical thinking.

Barbara Sirieix

Josèfa Ntjam (b. 1992, Metz, France) has developed a cross-disciplinary approach that combines video, writing, installation, and photomontage. Her work is a reflexion built around the notion of space, and for the past few years she has focused on a fictional exploration of alternative worlds and possible futures. Her pieces consist in performative readings, which she uses to bring writing to life. Her work has been shown, among other occasions, at Hordaland Kunstsenter (Bergen, Norway); 2019 Lyon Biennale; La Mostra, Givors (France); Arnolfini – Bristol’s International Centre for Contemporary Arts (UK); GENERATORprojects (Dundee, UK); Bootleg by DOC! (New York, USA); Paris-Beijing Gallery (Paris, France); Zentrale Pratteln (Basel, Switzerland); Palais de Tokyo; and Bétonsalon (Paris, France).

Commissioner: Barbara Sirieix is an independent curator and writer based in Paris. She works with feminist narratives to reflect on emancipation within (and without) various institutional contexts. In 2015, she was in residency at La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec, FR) which published with Dent-De-Leone her first book, 24 ter rue de la pierre feuillère. She is co-editor and co-curator with Joachim Hamou and Maija Rudovska of the exhibition A Barbarian in Paris at Fondation Ricard (Paris, FR) and the book Active Art published with Paraguay Press in 2019. Recent projects include take (a)back the economy at CAC Chanot (Clamart, FR) and the first solo show in France of Estonian artist Anu Põder at La Galerie.

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Josèfa Ntjam
Nommée au Prix 2020

© Photo : Sean Hart

Josèfa Ntjam - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Josèfa Ntjam, Mélas de Saturne, 2020, capture d’écran du film, 14′, Courtesy Josèfa Ntjam & Sean Hart

« Trop souvent les sujets d’expérimentations, nous avons décidé de construire nos propres paysages, désaxer les regards habitués à nommer “l’autre” sans jamais le laisser s’exprimer. »
« Nous décidons la nomination par l’abstraction. Effilochage de mots revêches, bien trop digérés par le passé. Polyphème ne s’y trompa pas ; nous sommes persona. »

Josèfa Ntjam - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Josèfa Ntjam, Mami Wata On Screen, 2019, vue de l’exposition personnelle Sous La Mangrove à La Mostra de Givors, collage numérique, impression sur soie, 280 x 170 cm, 2019. Dans le cadre de la résidence de l’artiste Josèfa Ntjam avec Veduta/XVe Biennale de Lyon (2019). Courtesy Josèfa Ntjam. © Photo : Blaise Dilon

Je cite le texte écrit par Josèfa Ntjam pour son exposition Sous la mangrove à La Mostra de Givors dans le cadre de la XVe Biennale de Lyon (2019) car il me semble signifiant ici, par rapport à ce dont il est question pour ce prix : nominer, nommer, parler à la place de. Dans un lexique poreux de mots qui se répètent, s’interpénètrent – infiltration, plantes, révoltes, aquarium, détournements  émerge une voix plurielle qui parle au nom d’une identité en fiction. Nous n’a besoin ni de se définir ni de se justifier, nous dit ce qu’ils et elles désirent. Cette énonciation trouble désamorce le présupposé d’une unité de la subjectivité de l’artiste ainsi que sa position dominante comme entité productrice de signification dans l’événement de l’exposition. Chaque paragraphe réécrit le récit : il ne s’agit pas d’asseoir une légitimité en sollicitant des savoirs mais d’imaginer des possibles. En filigrane se construit la fiction d’une subjectivité alternative, un sujet pluriel, affranchi de la définition du genre ou de l’espèce, d’une partie de sa matière (en devenant « goutte »), supposant alors des percepts, des institutions, des comportements différents.

C’est cet imaginaire d’une autre expérience de l’art, conscientisé et conscientisant sur les discours de la domination, qui me porte à vouloir re-présenter le travail artistique de Josèfa Ntjam. Je vois sa pratique comme une écriture spéculative pluridisciplinaire : elle utilise souvent la science-fiction comme outil d’exploration des catégories épistémologiques de race, de genre et d’espèce et des notions d’espace et de territoire. Ainsi le monde d’Hilolombi, dans la performance Hilolombi #2 (2018-2019), décrit à travers deux points de vue qui s’entremêlent – celui d’une chercheuse spécialisée en hydraulique et celui d’un griot – une planète inconnue, découverte par les États-Unis d’Afrique, qui offrirait aux humain·e·s un autre être au monde sous une forme aqueuse ; à travers ce possible se forme une nouvelle narration de ce qui est révolu.

Josèfa Ntjam - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Josèfa Ntjam, I AM NAMELESS, 2019, vue de la performance. Dans le cadre de Allegoria Show au Kunstsenter Bergen (2019), Courtesy Josèfa Ntjam

Le télescopage de différents produits culturels, dans ses textes comme ses montages d’images imprimés sur tissu ou en format vidéo, m’évoque une « poésie en étendue », celle d’Édouard Glissant, qui se serait amarrée à l’océan des « internets » : redéployant une narration dans des savoirs établis, le travail de l’artiste est à la fois ancré dans la culture fragmentée émergée des technologies numériques et nourri par la pensée en mouvement du « Tout-monde » de Glissant, trait d’union entre poétique et éthique. Son approche fictionnelle et poétique institue un langage au pluriel qui investit l’événement du présent comme espace d’émancipation et de pensée critique.

Barbara Sirieix

 

Josèfa Ntjam (Metz, 1992) développe une pratique transversale, liant la vidéo, l’écriture, l’installation et le photomontage. Intéressée par l’idée de spéculation autour de l’espace, elle élabore depuis plusieurs années un travail de fictions concernant des mondes possibles, des futuribles. Elle présente aussi des lectures performées, dans l’intention d’incarner l’écriture. Son travail a notamment été montré au Hordaland kunstsenter (Bergen, Norvège), à la Biennale de Lyon 2019, à La Mostra de Givors, à l’Arnolfini – Bristol’s International’s Center for Contemporary Arts (Bristol, Grande-Bretagne), au GENERATORprojects (Dundee, Écosse), au Bootleg avec DOC! (New York, États-Unis), à la galerie Paris-Beijing (Paris), au Zentrale Pratteln (Bâle, Suisse), au Palais de Tokyo et à Bétonsalon (Paris).

Rapporteuse : Barbara Sirieix est curatrice indépendante et autrice. Elle travaille avec/sur les narrations féministes et leurs outils épistémologiques dans/avec (et parfois hors de) différents contextes institutionnels. En 2015, elle est en résidence d’écriture à La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec) qui publie avec Dent-De-Leone son premier livre, 24 ter rue de la pierre feuillère. Elle a été cocuratrice et coéditrice, avec Joachim Hamou et Maija Rudovska, de l’exposition Un Barbare à Paris à la Fondation Ricard (Paris, 2018) et du livre Active Art, paru chez Paraguay Press en 2019. En 2019, elle a travaillé sur take (a)back the economy, une exposition collective au CAC Chanot, à Clamart, et sur la première présentation en France des œuvres de l’artiste estonienne Anu Põder (La Galerie).
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29