Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Marie Orensanz
Laureate of Prix d’honneur 2020

Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz: The Invisible Revolution

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Sans titre, 1968, black adhesive tape on transparent plexiglass, 178 x 119 cm, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz (born in 1936) began her career in the 1960s, a time marked by the repression that followed the military junta’s rise to power in Argentina. The climate of revolt that animated cultural and intellectual circles at this time, encouraged major transformations in artistic practices, expressed through the rejection of institutions and traditional techniques. This emergence of an art that Rodrigo Alonso described as “eccentric, but not necessarily marginal” and “undisciplined” was characterised by artists’ moral and civil disobedience, as well as the reconsideration of the formal tools at their disposal.1 Today, art historians agree that women played a fundamental role in this movement, in which one of the key components was the opposition to patriarchal values supported by the ruling regime. The work of women artists established an innovative language that associated political engagement with new ways of artistic expression.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Limitada [Limited], 1978, photograph, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Energie, 1984, drawing and painting on marble, 60 x 84 x 27cm, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Orensanz discovered the subversive potential of art under the dictatorship of General Juan Carlos Onganía.2 Although she was trained in Buenos Aires by painters such as Emilio Pettoruti (1892-1971) and Antonio Seguí (born in 1934), she has been interested in sculpture since the 1960s when she began experimenting with various materials. Between 1967 and 1969, she realised Estructuras Primarias (Primary structures), a series of abstract works in wood, mirror and Plexiglas. These works show her proximity to Lidy Prati (1921-2008), painter and founding member of the Asociación Arte Concreto-Invención (Concrete-Invention Art Association), as well as her early “indiscipline” defying rules of geometry. Her insubordination took on a more politicised role in 1969, when she presented the installation El Pueblo de La Gallareta (The village of La Gallareta) at Mar del Plata for which she reworked the pamphlet of the workers demonstrating against the suppression of the local railway into posters. The exhibition was censored and shut down the day after the opening. M. Orensanz became aware of the gender stereotypes that hindered an artist’s career when she was told, “We thought you would make flowers”. A few years later she countered that remark with a series of drawings titled Flores Venenosas (Poisonous flowers, 1977) which she exhibited in Buenos Aires.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Sans titre, 1991, marble, 230 x 350 x 40 cm, Blanc Mesnil, France, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Vaciado [Emptying], 2003, photograph, 20 x 30 cm, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Although the affirmation of femininity was a form of dissidence at the time, many artists in Latin America did not identify with the feminist movement.3 Protesting against gender inequality was often part of the fight against military power and its conservative ideologies. On arriving in Europe, M. Orensanz was confronted with the phallocentric art world when a collector purchased one of her pieces and then decided to return it after learning that the author was a women.4 She then decided to add the letter “e” to her first name to fully assume her career: “If being a feminist means fighting injustices, then yes, I am a feminist.”5 She also asserted the importance of the couple and of motherhood by not separating her family life from her professional life, a position she still defends.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Fragmentismo, 1978, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

According to M. Orensanz, art “is not and should not only be the vision of one person, the expression of an individual”.6 Communication is central to it. The relationship that she seeks to establish with the onlooker translates her interest in otherness. “Thinking is a revolutionary fact,” she wrote in her manifesto Eros, which was disseminated in Milan in 1974.7 The artist expresses herself through a language composed of words, numbers and symbols, a reduced but polysemic aesthetic vocabulary, through which she seeks to challenge us and provoke “an intellectual or emotional reaction”.8 The frequent use of metaphor enriches the poetic dimension of her creations, making her, according to the art historian Christine Frérot, a “sensitive conceptual artist”.9 Beginning in 1974, she incorporated Carrara marble into her practice, which nourished her second manifesto, Fragmentismo, published in 1978, in which she declared, “Incompleteness is a constant in my work, because I think we are a fragment of everything”.10 As she refused to adopt a solitary and totalising position, her work heralded the arrival of the generation of neoconceptual artists such as Felix Gonzalez-Torres (1957-1996), for whom the spectator is an active participant in the creation of the work’s meaning.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Invisible, 2019, Corten steel, 300 x 78 cm, Miami, Etats Unis, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Inert matter becomes the paradoxical support of thought in movement, the tool of transmission between the artist and the public. In her recent monumental pieces in perforated steel, we are invited to walk through the sculpture that has become Invisible (2019) to look through it. A keyhole that opens an infinite world, as in Alice in Wonderland, but also an act of emancipation that retains all of its transgressive power.

Matylda Taszycka

 

Born in Argentina in 1936, Marie Orensanz lives in Montrouge, France. Active in the artistic scene of Buenos Aires during the 1960s, she participated in exhibitions organised by the Instituto Torcuato Di Tella before moving to Milan in 1973. The proximity to the Carrara marble quarries gave way to her first stone productions. In 1975, Marie Orensanz moved to Paris. Written in 1978, her Manifesto of Fragmentism, presented the conceptual basis of her work. Her creations are present in various private and public collections in France and abroad: the Musée national d’art moderne – Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris, France), the Fonds national d’art contemporain (France), the Bremen Museum (Germany), the Centrum für Kunst (Vaduz, Liechtenstein), the Jorge Perez Collection (Miami, USA), the Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Rosario (Argentina), the Museo de Arte Modern (Buenos Aires, Argentina), and the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes (Buenos Aires, Argentina). She has realised several monumental sculptures for both private and public spaces in Argentina, Mexico, the United States, France and Switzerland. In 2009, she participated in the group exhibition elles@centrepompidou  at the Centre Georges Pompidou (Paris, France). In 2010, the Maison de l’Amérique Latine (Paris, France) presented her first important exhibition in France. She is represented by the School Gallery in Paris.

1
Alonso Rodrigo, “Argentina: In Praise of Indiscipline”, in Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985, eds Giunta Andrea and Fajardo-Hill Cecilia (exh. cat. New York, DelMonico Books/Prestel, 2017), p. 221.

2
Juan Carlos Onganía was an Argentinian putschist general, leader of the military junta (1966-1970), during the dictatorship of the Argentine Revolution (1966-1973).

3
Richard Nelly, “Women’s Art Practices and the Critique of Signs”, in Beyond the Fantastic: Contemporary Art Criticism from Latin America, ed. Mosquera Gerardo (London: Institute of International Visual Arts, 1996), p. 145-151. In this article dedicated to female Chilean artists, Nelly Richard wrote “The works described above do not make overt feminist statements. Nonetheless, each manages to set up strategies of significant organization and cultural intervention capable of empowering the feminine as dissidence.” (p. 149-151).

4
Marie Orensanz and her family moved to Italy, then to France where she lives and works today.

5
Interview with the artist, 2015: http://lesjeudisarty.squarespace.com/notre-rencontre-avec-maria-or.

6
Vergine Lea, Orensanz Marie and Dorfles Gillo, Una conversazione (Milan: Galleria Vinciana, 1975). The interview was published in French in Marie Orensanz, Fragmentismo (exh. cat. Paris: Galerie des Femmes, Paris, 1982).

7
This manifesto took the form of a poster that visitors could take home, published on the occasion of a solo exhibition at the Galleria Libreria Eros, Milan, 18 October 1974.

8
Marie Orensanz, “Notes,” Paris, 2 April1982, in Orensanz, Fragmentismo.

9
Christine Frérot (ed.), “L’art du dialogue”,” in Tout ce qui se voit et tout ce qui est cache (exh. cat. Paris: Maison de l’Amérique latine/Lienart, 2010), p. 9.

10
Marie Orensanz, “Notes”.

Commissioner: Élise Atangana defines her work as an intersection between curatorship and exhibition production. Based in Paris, she is interested in the way mobilities, including the movements of people, ideas, objects, and services, affect our everyday lives and relate to contemporary art. Her recent curatorial projects include: BAWWABA, a new cross-disciplinary section for the Global South at Art Dubai 2019; Power from Within, La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec, France, 2018); Seven Hills, 2nd Kampala Art Biennale 2016 (Uganda); Entry Prohibited to Foreigners, Havremagasinet Art Centre (Boden, Sweden); Produire le commun, international exhibition for the 11th Dakar Biennale (Senegal, 2014); Rencontres Picha – Lubumbashi Biennale (Republic of the Congo, 2013).

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Marie Orensanz
Lauréate du Prix d’honneur 2020

Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz : la révolution invisible

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Sans titre, 1968, ruban adhésif noir sur plexiglass transparent, 178 x 119 cm, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Les débuts de la carrière de Marie Orensanz (née en 1936) se situent dans les années 1960, marquées par la répression qui fait suite à l’arrivée au pouvoir de la junte militaire en Argentine. À la même époque, le climat de révolte qui anime les milieux culturels et intellectuels encourage des transformations majeures de la pratique artistique qui s’expriment à travers le rejet des institutions et des techniques traditionnelles. Cette émergence d’un art que Rodrigo Alonso qualifie d’« excentrique, mais pas nécessairement marginal » et d’« indiscipliné1» se caractérise par la désobéissance morale et civile des artistes, ainsi que par la remise en cause des outils formels mis à leur disposition. Les historien·ne·s de l’art s’accordent aujourd’hui sur le fait que les femmes ont joué un rôle fondamental dans cette contestation dont l’une des composantes principales est l’opposition aux valeurs patriarcales soutenues par le régime en place. Leur travail détermine l’apparition d’un langage inédit qui associe l’engagement politique à de nouveaux moyens d’expression artistique.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Limitada [Limité], 1978, photographie, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Energie, 1984, dessin et peinture sur marbre, 60 x 84 x 27cm, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

M. Orensanz découvre le potentiel subversif de l’art sous la dictature du général Juan Carlos Onganía2. Alors qu’elle se forme à Buenos Aires auprès des peintres Emilio Pettoruti (1892-1971) et Antonio Seguí (né en 1934), elle s’intéresse dès les années 1960 à la sculpture et commence à expérimenter des matériaux variés. Entre 1967 et 1969, elle réalise Estructuras Primarias [Structures primaires], une série de pièces abstraites en bois, miroir et Plexiglas. Ces œuvres témoignent de sa proximité avec Lidy Prati (1921-2008), peintre et membre fondatrice du mouvement Asociación Arte Concreto-Invención (Association art concret-invention), mais aussi de son « indiscipline » précoce face aux règles de la géométrie. Son insubordination prend une forme plus politisée dès 1969, lorsqu’elle présente au public, à Mar del Plata, l’installation El Pueblo de La Gallareta [Le village de La Gallareta] dans laquelle elle reprend, sous forme d’affiches, le pamphlet des ouvriers manifestant contre la suppression de la voie ferrée locale. L’exposition est censurée et ferme ses portes le lendemain du vernissage. M. Orensanz prend conscience des stéréotypes sexistes qui entravent la carrière d’une artiste quand on lui déclare : « On pensait que vous feriez des fleurs. » Quelques années plus tard, elle détourne cette remarque en exécutant une série de dessins sur papier intitulée Flores Venenosas [Fleurs vénéneuses, 1977] qu’elle montre à Buenos Aires.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Sans titre, 1991, marbre, 230 x 350 x 40 cm, Blanc Mesnil, France, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Vaciado [Vidange], 2003, photographie, 20 x 30 cm, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

À cette époque, alors même que l’affirmation de la féminité est une forme de dissidence3, beaucoup d’artistes en Amérique latine ne s’identifient pas avec le mouvement féministe. La protestation contre l’inégalité des sexes s’inscrit souvent dans le contexte de la lutte contre le pouvoir militaire et son idéologie conservatrice. M. Orensanz se confronte au phallocentrisme du monde de l’art après son arrivée en Europe4, lorsqu’un collectionneur achète l’une de ses pièces, puis décide de la rendre après avoir appris que l’auteur était en fait une autrice. Elle décide alors d’ajouter la lettre e à son prénom et d’assumer pleinement sa carrière : « si être féministe c’est lutter contre les injustices, alors oui, je suis féministe5 ». Elle revendique également l’importance du couple et de la maternité – elle ne sépare pas sa vie familiale de sa vie professionnelle –, une position qu’elle défend encore aujourd’hui.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Fragmentismo, 1978, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

Selon M. Orensanz, l’art « n’est pas et ne doit pas être seulement la vision d’une personne, l’expression d’un seul6 ». La communication y occupe une place centrale. La relation qu’elle cherche à établir avec le·la regardeur·euse traduit son intérêt pour l’altérité. « Penser est un fait révolutionnaire », écrit-elle dans son manifeste Eros paru à Milan en 19747. La plasticienne s’exprime à travers un langage composé de mots, de chiffres et de symboles, un vocabulaire esthétique réduit mais polysémique, au moyen duquel elle cherche à nous interpeller et à provoquer « une réaction intellectuelle ou émotive8 ». L’emploi fréquent de la métaphore enrichit la dimension poétique de ses créations, ce qui fait d’elle, selon l’historienne de l’art Christine Frérot, une « conceptuelle sensible9 ». Dès 1974, elle intègre à sa pratique le marbre de Carrare, ce qui nourrit son deuxième manifeste, Fragmentismo, publié en 1978, dans lequel elle déclare : « L’incomplétude est une constante de mon travail, car je pense que nous sommes un fragment de tout10 ». Comme elle refuse d’adopter une position solitaire et totalisatrice, son travail annonce l’arrivée de la génération d’artistes néoconceptuel·le·s tel·le·s que Felix Gonzalez-Torres (1957-1996) pour lesquel·le·s les spectateur·rice·s participent activement à l’élaboration du sens de l’œuvre.

Marie Orensanz - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marie Orensanz, Invisible, 2019, acier Corten, 300 x 78 cm, Miami, Etats Unis, Courtesy School Gallery, Paris, © Marie Orensanz

La matière inerte devient le support paradoxal de la pensée en mouvement, l’outil de la transmission entre l’artiste et le public. Dans ses pièces monumentales récentes réalisées en plaques d’acier perforées, nous sommes invité·e·s à traverser la sculpture devenue Invisible (2019) et à regarder à travers elle. Un trou de serrure qui ouvre un monde infini, comme dans Alice au pays des merveilles, mais aussi un acte d’émancipation qui garde tout son pouvoir de transgression.

Matylda Taszycka

 

Née en Argentine en 1936, Marie Orensanz vit et travaille à Montrouge. Active sur la scène artistique de Buenos Aires dans les années 1960, elle participe notamment aux expositions organisées par l’Instituto Torcuato Di Tella, puis s’installe à Milan en 1973. La proximité des carrières de marbre de Carrare initie ses premiers travaux sur marbre. En 1975, Marie Orensanz emménage à Paris. Son manifeste intitulé Fragmentismo, écrit en 1978, livre la base conceptuelle de ses recherches. Ses œuvres figurent dans de nombreuses collections publiques et collections particulières, en France et à l’étranger, telles que le musée national d’Art moderne – Centre Georges-Pompidou (MNAM, Paris), le Fonds national d’art contemporain, le Bremen Museum (Brême, Allemagne), le Centrum für Kunst (Vaduz, Liechtenstein), la Jorge Pérez Collection (Miami, États-Unis), le Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Rosario (Argentine) ou encore le Museo de Arte Moderno et le Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes de Buenos Aires (Argentine). Elle a réalisé plusieurs sculptures monumentales pour des espaces publics ou privés en Argentine, au Mexique, aux États-Unis, en France et en Suisse. De 2009 à 2011, elle a participé à l’exposition collective elles@centrepompidou (MNAM, Paris). Sa première grande exposition en France a eu lieu à la Maison de l’Amérique latine (Paris) en 2010.  Marie Orensanz est représentée par la School Gallery (Paris).

1
Alonso Rodrigo, « Argentina: In Praise of Indiscipline », dans Giunta Andrea et Fajardo-Hill Cecilia (dir.), Radical Women: Latin American Art, 1960-1985, cat. expo., Hammer Museum, Los Angeles, Brooklyn Museum, New York, Pinacoteca do Estado de São Paulo, São Paulo, 2017-2018, Los Angeles, Hammer Museum, Munich, New York, DelMonico Books/Prestel, p. 221 (traduction de l’autrice).

2
Juan Carlos Onganía est un général putschiste argentin, dirigeant de la junte militaire (1966-1970), lors de la dictature dite « de la Révolution argentine » (1966-1973).

3
Richard Nelly, « Women’s Art Practices and the Critique of Signs », dans Mosquera Gerardo (dir.), Beyond the Fantastic: Contemporary Art Criticism from Latin America, Londres, Institute of International Visual Arts, Cambridge, MIT Press, 1996, p. 145-151. Dans cet article consacré aux artistes chiliennes, Nelly Richard écrit : « The works described above do not make overt feminist statements. Nonetheless, each manages to set up strategies of significant organization and cultural intervention capable of empowering the feminine as dissidence » (p. 149-151).

4
Marie Orensanz s’installe avec sa famille en Italie, puis en France où elle vit et travaille aujourd’hui.

5
Entretien avec l’artiste, 2015 : http://lesjeudisarty.squarespace.com/notre-rencontre-avec-maria-or.

6
Vergine Lea, Orensanz Marie, Dorfles Gillo, Una conversazione, Milan, Galleria Vinciana, 1975, entretien traduit en français dans Orensanz Marie, Fragmentismo, cat. expo., galerie des Femmes, Paris, 1981, Paris, galerie des Femmes, 1982, non paginé.

7
Ce manifeste prenait la forme d’une affiche que les spectateur·rice·s pouvaient emporter dans le cadre de l’exposition personnelle de l’artiste à la Galleria Libreria Eros, le 18 octobre 1974, à Milan.

8
Orensanz Marie, « Notes », Paris, 2 avril 1982, dans Orensanz Marie, Fragmentismo, op. cit.

9
Frérot Christine, « L’art du dialogue », dans Frérot Christine, Tout ce qui se voit et tout ce qui est caché, cat. expo., Maison de l’Amérique latine, Paris, 28 mai-22 juillet 2010, Paris, Lienart, 2010, p. 9.

10
Orensanz Marie, « Notes », op. cit., non paginé.

Rapporteuse : Élise Atangana situe son travail entre commissariat et production d’expositions. Établie à Paris, elle s’intéresse à la façon dont les mobilités comprenant les mouvements de personnes, des idées, des objets et des services nous affectent dans notre quotidien, et travaille également sur leur lien avec l’art contemporain. Ses projets curatoriaux récents incluent Bawwaba, une nouvelle section transversale du Sud global à l’Art Dubai 2019 ; Power from Within, à La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec, 2018) ; Seven Hills, 2nd Kampala Art Biennale 2016 (Ouganda) ; Entry Prohibited to Foreigners, au centre d’art Havremagasinet (Boden, Suède, 2015) ; Produire le commun, exposition internationale de la XIe Biennale de Dakar (Sénégal, 2014), ainsi que les Rencontres Picha – Biennale de Lubumbashi (République démocratique du Congo, 2013).
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29