Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Tiphaine Calmettes
Laureate of Prix 2020

© Photo: Rebekka Deubner

Material expresses a physical and mental experience. Modern and vernacular architecture, concrete, raw earth, a relationship to graphics, space, extended lines and other volumes – it is all there. Melancholy brings to mind and crystallises landscapes and ruins, much like a picture does. This is a time of immediacy for territories. In Tiphaine Calmettes’s mind, earthen houses link together fragments, impacts and violence.

Tiphaine Calmettes - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tiphaine Calmettes, Un sentiment de nature, 2019, concrete, adobe, Courtesy Tiphaine Calmpettes, © Photo: Tiphaine Calmettes

Her earlier pieces touched on subjects of light, mental space, orthonormality, deconstruction, and the ambivalence of time, as seen with her concrete bas-relief wall Sans titre (2013). She envisioned spaces in regards to their depiction and dimension. Atmosphere seemed suspended in parallel space-times.

The creative process is an object of conversation with the history of craftsmanship and of its reactivation in the current context. The creative act and movement of the body go hand in hand with a choreography of speculative gestures, which question memories and thoughts and take the outcome of the artwork by surprise. The warmth of the hearth is part of the unifying elements – physicality is always a recurring aspect – and whatever crackles in a ceramic pot is bound to unite us.

Non-formal, reversible and ephemeral techniques constitute the grounds for the animation of life forms through performative actions. The artist explores and (re)invents new formats by using older methods or long-forgotten stories. By revisiting craftsmanship, she becomes part of new fictions.

Japanese playgrounds are recurring motifs, markers of her thoughts and transmissions. Their function and properties align with sacred geometry, a symbol of the universe’s energetic sources. The way the space is designed, its atmosphere and the care with which these are achieved involve knowledge in the fields of geobiology, geology and geodesy – the study of the earth.

The metaphysical research of Tiphaine Calmettes documents as many speculative narrations, particularly the relationship we have with our environment. Her practice is characterised by spatial hypotheses, which are part of an experience of the tangible world.

Tiphaine Calmettes - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tiphaine Calmettes, Lecture gustative, 2017, as part of the exhibition Les mains baladeuses at the Arnaud Deschin gallery (2017), Courtesy Tiphaine Calmettes, © Photo: Côme Calmettes

Her gustatory readings on food take place during her public performances. The ephemeral sharing of a meal holds the promise of uncommon gestures and fine foods. Savouring a meal becomes a dynamic of the senses, as we ingest a few chocolate shavings scraped off the surface of a table, or a beetroot pasty. There is both an insufficiency of flavour and an abundance of it. Created in collaboration with Céline Pelcé and Paris Art Lab in June 2019, En grattant la terre j’ai trouvé mon empreinte (I scratched the earth and found my imprint) questions our modes of consumption.

Tiphaine Calmettes’s works are rooted in the deep political belief that we can all act together and revisit sharing in the form of hospitality. Commensality, through flavours and encounters, and devoid of hierarchy or protocol, reminds us that we are not alone.

Tiphaine Calmettes - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tiphaine Calmettes, La terre embrasse le sol, 2019, adobe, as part of the workshop at the ENS Lyon (2019), Courtesy Tiphaine Calmettes, © Photo: Tiphaine Calmettes

The artist explores the notion of structure, of the soul of a place inhabited by a fetish, and in doing so, expresses a thought, a formal invention, its plasticity. In the garden of the landscaper and writer Gilles Clément, she created an earthen agora equipped with a ceramic kiln, where researchers were invited to share their knowledge.

From September to October 2019, in the context of a teaching workshop1, the artist created the piece La terre embrasse le sol (The earth kisses the ground])– we, also, inhabited it.

By presenting such a utopian vision, Tiphaine Calmettes seeks to develop her research process on a larger scale and to redefine the ways in which we socialise within shared spaces.

Élise Atangana

Tiphaine Calmettes (b. 1988, Ivry-sur-Seine, France) lives and works in Paris. Her evolutive sculptures and installations generate new modes of coexistence between apparently disparate elements. Using concrete, soil, moss, and lichen, as well as prints of plants, animals, and body parts, her works activate narratives that inform the way we relate to the world. They have been shown at La Panacée MOCO (Montpellier, France); Zoo galerie (Nantes, France); CAC La Traverse (Alfortville, France); Kunstwerk Carlshütte (Büdelsdorf, Germany); ENS Lyon, at the 2019 Lyon Biennale. In 2020, she will have exhibitions at the Centre Céramique Contemporaine La Borne (Henrichemont, France) and at the Centre International d’Art et du Paysage (Vassivière, France). She will also be one of the artists in residence at Les Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers.

1
During this workshop, volunteers learnt the basics of cob building under the supervision of Samuel Dugelay, a builder and teacher specialised in raw soil construction.

Commissioner: Élise Atangana defines her work as an intersection between curatorship and exhibition production. Based in Paris, she is interested in the way mobilities, including the movements of people, ideas, objects, and services, affect our everyday lives and relate to contemporary art. Her recent curatorial projects include: BAWWABA, a new cross-disciplinary section for the Global South at Art Dubai 2019; Power from Within, La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec, France, 2018); Seven Hills, 2nd Kampala Art Biennale 2016 (Uganda); Entry Prohibited to Foreigners, Havremagasinet Art Centre (Boden, Sweden); Produire le commun, international exhibition for the 11th Dakar Biennale (Senegal, 2014); Rencontres Picha – Lubumbashi Biennale (Republic of the Congo, 2013).

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Prix AWARE

Tiphaine Calmettes
Lauréate du Prix 2020

© Photo : Rebekka Deubner

La matière traduit une expérience physique et mentale. L’architecture moderne et vernaculaire, le béton, la terre crue, le rapport au graphique, l’espace, les lignes étendues et d’autres volumes sont là. La mélancolie convoque et cristallise les paysages et les ruines, comme le fait une image. Le temps est celui de l’immédiateté des territoires. Dans l’esprit de Tiphaine Calmettes, les maisons de terre relient fragments, impacts et violences.

Tiphaine Calmettes - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tiphaine Calmettes, Un sentiment de nature, 2019, béton, terre crue, Courtesy Tiphaine Calmpettes, © Photo : Tiphaine Calmettes

Ses premiers travaux questionnent la lumière, l’espace mental, l’orthonormé, la déconstruction, l’ambivalence du temps, à l’instar d’un mur en bas relief en béton, Sans titre, en 2013. Elle conçoit alors les lieux dans leur représentation et leur dimension. L’atmosphère semble suspendue à des espaces-temps parallèles.

Le processus de création est un objet de conversation avec l’histoire des savoir-faire et de leur réactivation dans le contexte présent. L’acte et le mouvement du corps s’associent à une chorégraphie de gestes spéculatifs, qui interrogent mémoires et pensées, et surprennent l’issue de l’œuvre. La chaleur du foyer fait partie des éléments fédérateurs – le corporel revient toujours –, ce qui crépite dans une céramique nous rassemble.

Les techniques non formelles, réversibles, éphémères installent l’animation de formes de vie à travers des actions performatives. L’artiste explore et (ré)invente de nouveaux formats en recourant à des procédés anciens, à des récits déjà oubliés. En revisitant la manière de faire, elle s’inscrit dans de nouvelles fictions.

Les aires de jeu japonaises resurgissent comme motif récurrent, marqueur de ses réflexions et transmissions. Leur usage et leurs propriétés sont en rapport avec la géométrie sacrée, symbole des sources énergétiques de l’Univers. Le design d’espace, l’atmosphère et le soin apporté au lieu impliquent des connaissances en géobiologie, en géologie et en géodésie – l’étude de la Terre.

Les recherches métaphysiques de Tiphaine Calmettes documentent autant de narrations spéculatives, en particulier notre relation à l’environnement. Sa pratique se caractérise par des hypothèses spatiales qui s’inscrivent dans une expérience du sensible.

Tiphaine Calmettes - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tiphaine Calmettes, Lecture gustative, 2017. Dans le cadre de l’exposition Les mains baladeuses à la galerie Arnaud Deschin (2017), Courtesy Tiphaine Calmettes, © Photo : Côme Calmettes

Les lectures gustatives sur l’alimentation prennent corps lors d’interventions publiques. Le partage éphémère de repas promet des gestes hors norme et des mets délicats. Déguster devient une dynamique de sens où nous ingérons quelques copeaux de chocolat grattés sur une table ou une betterave en croûte. Nous sommes à la fois dans l’insuffisance de goût et dans son abondance. Créé en collaboration avec Céline Pelcé au Paris Art Lab en juin 2019, En grattant la terre j’ai trouvé mon empreinte nous interroge sur nos modes de consommation.

Les œuvres de Tiphaine Calmettes s’inscrivent dans une profonde conviction politique pour agir en commun et revisiter le partage sous la forme de l’hospitalité. La commensalité, à travers les saveurs et les rencontres, rappelle que nous ne sommes pas seul·e·s, sans hiérarchie ni protocole.

Tiphaine Calmettes - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tiphaine Calmettes, La terre embrasse le sol, 2019, terre crue, dans le cadre du chantier-école à l’ENS Lyon (2019, Courtesy Tiphaine Calmettes, © Photo : Tiphaine Calmettes

Ainsi, elle sonde la notion de structure, de l’âme du lieu, habité d’un fétiche, et traduit une pensée, l’invention formelle, sa plasticité. Dans le jardin du paysagiste et écrivain Gilles Clément, elle conçoit une agora en terre crue, munie d’un four à céramique et où des chercheur·e·s partagent leurs connaissances.

De septembre à octobre 2019, au sein d’un chantier-école1, l’artiste réalise La terre embrasse le sol ; nous, nous habitons cette œuvre.

En présentant une vision utopique, Tiphaine Calmettes tente de développer un processus de recherche à une plus grande échelle et de redéfinir nos modes de socialisation dans les espaces communs.

Élise Atangana

Tiphaine Calmettes (Ivry-sur-Seine, 1988) vit et travaille à Paris. Évolutives, ses sculptures et ses installations créent de nouveaux modes de coexistence entre des éléments a priori distincts. Incluant du béton, de la terre, de la mousse et du lichen, mais aussi des empreintes de plantes, d’animaux et de parties de corps, ses œuvres activent les récits qui informent notre rapport au monde. Elles ont été montrées notamment à La Panacée MOCO (Montpellier), à la Zoo galerie (Nantes), au CAC La Traverse (Alfortville), au Kunstwerk Carlshütte (Büdelsdorf, Allemagne), à l’École normale supérieure de Lyon, avec la Biennale de Lyon 2019. En 2020, elle expose au Centre Céramique contemporaine La Borne (Henrichemont), au Centre international d’art et du paysage de l’île de Vassivière (Beaumont-du-Lac) ; elle est également en résidence aux Laboratoires d’Aubervilliers.

1
Lors de ce chantier, des volontaires s’initient aux gestes de la fabrication du torchis, encadré·e·s par Samuel Dugelay, maçon, formateur spécialisé dans la construction en terre crue.

Rapporteuse : Élise Atangana situe son travail entre commissariat et production d’expositions. Établie à Paris, elle s’intéresse à la façon dont les mobilités comprenant les mouvements de personnes, des idées, des objets et des services nous affectent dans notre quotidien, et travaille également sur leur lien avec l’art contemporain. Ses projets curatoriaux récents incluent Bawwaba, une nouvelle section transversale du Sud global à l’Art Dubai 2019 ; Power from Within, à La Galerie (Noisy-le-Sec, 2018) ; Seven Hills, 2nd Kampala Art Biennale 2016 (Ouganda) ; Entry Prohibited to Foreigners, au centre d’art Havremagasinet (Boden, Suède, 2015) ; Produire le commun, exposition internationale de la XIe Biennale de Dakar (Sénégal, 2014), ainsi que les Rencontres Picha – Biennale de Lubumbashi (République démocratique du Congo, 2013).

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29