Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Ghita Skali
Nominee of Prix 2020

© Photo: Henna Hyvärinen

Ghita Skali employs rumour and transaction as methods and primary material for her “social sculptures” (Joseph Beuys). However, she doesn’t only spread these rumours: she inserts herself into them and amplifies them – not their volume (+), but their value (x), qualitatively.

Ghita Skali - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Ghita Skali, Le 32 octobre, 2019, performance with Tarek Lakhrissi, Courtesy Ghita Skali, © Photo: Isabelle Arthuis

By rendering unimportant the question of whether the facts are true or not, she chooses to focus on the political and social charge of what we might call “banal utopias” (utopia in the sense of a judicial and spatial non-place – οὐ-τόπος) or “banana dystopias”, of which here are a few examples:

– an Eiffel Tower appears temporarily in Fez, Morocco;
– passports are invalidated by border police at Casablanca airport after they stamp them with the date 32 October 2018;
– donkey tails from a Rita McBride sculpture disappear in Mönchengladbach, Germany;
– a spy duck is captured and detained by the Egyptian police;
– Morocco faces an invasion of artificial palm tree spies;
– an Egyptian military chief announces the invention of a machine that can detect and cure diabetes, hepatitis C and HIV/AIDS.

Ghita Skali - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Ghita Skali, Narratives Machines : Episode 2, 2019, installation, Courtesy Ghita Skali, © Photo: Isabelle Arthuis

Ghita Skali - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Ghita Skali, Narratives Machines : Episode 2, 2019, installation, Courtesy Ghita Skali, © Photo: Isabelle Arthuis

The list goes on. This last anecdote was the starting point for the series Narrative Machines (2018+), a project in several parts, each of which take the form of installations that are also used as backdrops for Ghita Skali’s performance pieces. These Narrative Machines push the military chief’s lie to the limit by materialising these supposedly miraculous machines called CCDs (Complete Cure Devices) – one is shaped as a sort of stapler and the other as a parking metre. Ghita Skali also echoes the ingenious (and funny) reaction of the Egyptian people – who are not fooled – by inventing her own “AIDS kebabs” (which began to be sold as such after the military chief used a kebab as a metaphor to explain how the miracle cure worked).1

Not only do these gestures have the power to focus our attention on the role of fiction in politics, but they also lead us to consider other ways in which invention and the strength of irony can be used by those who are not described as “artists” (an important point to make, in that Ghita Skali does not hierarchise the establishment and amateurism: she has been known to indiscriminately draw from both Zoe Leonard’s displays and anonymous Facebook photo albums).

The mention of Beuys’s concept in the opening sentence of this text is deliberate. One of Ghita Skali’s favourite exercises is Powerpoint presentations. If you Google “blackboard beuys powerpoint performance”, the first result is a question: “Would Joseph Beuys have used Powerpoint?”2 Perhaps the intuition was well-founded (?).

However, while the artist is interested in the formats of performance-reading and Powerpoint for their didactic aspects (which she manipulates at will, in that her lessons are not meant to tell the Truth with a capital T), she has also chosen these formats in response to her excessive nomadism (sometimes deliberate, at other times forced), as well as for its ease of use and questionable aesthetics (according to good taste).

Therefore, Ghita Skali’s praxis must be identified not as a production process (resulting in a “product”), but rather as a circulation process, which often sabotages itself to set off what Kodwo Eshun calls “the deprogramming of fascist patterns of regressive progress”.3  This is to say that the artist’s actualised fables, as well as the paths taken to confuse the issue, are often designed to destabilise the modes and parameters of classic knowledge, which, once absorbed without criticality, are reduced to the status of indubitable opinions (which we should all be wary of).

In spite of this, Ghita Skali does not place herself in a posture of direct confrontation. By giving her works the pleasant (and comfortable) veneer of relational aesthetics aesthetics, she pretends to “welcome” her public. After all, this is what is expected of her. However, while she is well aware of the way she is perceived (because of her name, her age, and her country of origin – three crucial markers that are bound to fuel the economy of culture’s desire for youth and exoticism) and of the role she is expected to play in the contemporary art system (“represent, Ghita, represent!”), she chooses to hijack these.

In this sense, her approach is reminiscent of that of William Pope.L, who proclaimed himself “The Friendliest Black Artist in America” in order to make it easier for him to deconstruct American mythologies. Food is prepared and passed around, but must not be eaten. Passports pile up, but the public is advised not to hoard them. And there are smells of rotting meat. So, despite what we think we are seeing, Ghita Skali is clearly not inviting us to sit at her table!

Cédric Fauq

 

Ghita Skali (b. 1992, Casablanca, Morocco) is currently an artist in residence at De Ateliers (Amsterdam, Netherlands), after studying at Villa Arson (Nice, France) and the Beaux-Arts in Lyon (France). Her projects draw from anecdotes found in the media and later obscured, revealing relationships of power based on mythologies and demonstrating both systems of belief and authority as well as irony. The aim of her works is less to find truth in rumour than it is to map out the possible ramifications and contradictions that generate it. Ghita Skali’s work was recently shown at Été 78 (Brussels, Belgium), Project Space Festival (Berlin, Germany), Beirut Art Fair (Lebanon), Triangle (Marseille, France), 18 (Marrakesh, Morocco), and the Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin, Italy).

1
“I take AIDS from the patient, and feed the patient on AIDS, I give it to him as a kebab skewer to feed on”, quoted by Berman Lazar, “AIDS cured! (says Egypt’s military)”, The Times of Israel, 26 February 2014, https://www.timesofisrael.com/aids-cured-says-egypts-military.

2
This is the title of a performance by Daniel Ladnar.

3
Remarks taken from the question and answer session with the Otolith Group (Anjalika Sagar and Kodwo Eshun), following the screening of the film O Horizon (2018) at Nottingham Contemporary (Nottingham, 19 November 2019).

Commissioner: Cédric Fauq is a French curator living in Nottingham (UK). Since September 2017, he has worked as a curator for Nottingham Contemporary, where he develops exhibition projects (Still I Rise: Feminisms, Gender, Resistance; Sung Tieu: In Cold Print; Grace Before Jones: Camera, Disco, Studio) and performances (Okwui Okpokwasili; Steffani Jemison; Lou Lou Sainsbury), and contributes to publications. In addition to this, he also writes (particularly for Mousse magazine), curates shows independently [DOC, Paris (2018); Sophie Tappeiner, Vienna (2018); Nir Altman, Munich (2019); Cordova, Barcelona (2020); Litost, Prague (2020)]. He co-directed the clearview.ltd Gallery in London from 2016 to 2018 and was a member of the curatorial team for the Baltic Triennial XIII (2017-2018).

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Ghita Skali
Nommée au Prix 2020

© Photo : Henna Hyvärinen

Ghita Skali emploie la rumeur et la transaction comme méthodes et matières premières de ses « sculptures sociales » (Joseph Beuys). Toutefois, elle ne fait pas que les colporter, ces rumeurs. Elle s’y insère puis les amplifie : non en volume (+), mais en valeur (x), qualitativement.

Ghita Skali - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Ghita Skali, Le 32 octobre, 2019, performance avec Tarek Lakhrissi, Courtesy Ghita Skali, © Photo : Isabelle Arthuis

Rendant la question de la véracité des faits rapportés caduque, elle se concentre sur la charge politique et sociale de ce que l’on pourrait appeler des « utopies banales » (utopie dans le sens de non-lieu – οὐτόπος –, juridique et spatial) ou « dystopies bananes ». En voici une liste non exhaustive :
– l’apparition temporaire d’une tour Eiffel à Fès (Maroc) ;
– des passeports invalidés par la police frontalière de l’aéroport de Casablanca (Maroc) par l’apposition de la date du 32 octobre 2018 ;
– la disparition des queues d’ânes d’une sculpture de Rita McBride à Mönchengladbach (Allemagne) ;
– la capture et la détention d’un canard espion par les forces de l’ordre égyptiennes ;
– une invasion de palmiers artificiels espions au Maroc ;
– l’annonce par un chef militaire égyptien d’une machine pouvant détecter et guérir le diabète, l’hépatite C et le sida.

Ghita Skali - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Ghita Skali, Narratives Machines : Episode 2, 2019, installation, Courtesy Ghita Skali, © Photo : Isabelle Arthuis

Ghita Skali - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Ghita Skali, Narratives Machines : Episode 2, 2019, installation, Courtesy Ghita Skali, © Photo : Isabelle Arthuis

Et ainsi de suite. Cette dernière anecdote est d’ailleurs celle qui a donné naissance à la série des Narrative Machines (2018-en cours). Il s’agit d’un projet aux épisodes multiples se manifestant par des installations qui servent aussi de décors pour ses performances. Les Narrative Machines poussent la fabulation du chef militaire à l’extrême, d’abord en matérialisant ces machines supposément miraculeuses, les CCD (Complete Cure Devices) : l’une prend la forme d’une sorte d’agrafeuse, l’autre d’un parcmètre. Ghita Skali fait aussi écho à la réponse ingénieuse (et comique) du peuple égyptien – qui n’est pas dupe – en fabriquant ses propres « kebabs au sida » (qui ont commencé à être commercialisés sous ce nom alors que le chef militaire avait utilisé le kebab comme métaphore pour expliquer le fonctionnement du remède miracle)1.

Non seulement ces gestes ont le pouvoir de focaliser notre attention sur le rôle de la fiction en politique, mais ils nous amènent aussi à considérer d’autres usages de l’invention et la force de l’ironie par ceux qui ne sont pas qualifiés d’« artistes » (ce qui doit être souligné puisque Ghita Skali ne fait pas de hiérarchie entre l’establishment et l’amateurisme : elle peut à la fois se nourrir des modes de display de Zoe Leonard et d’albums photo d’anonymes sur Facebook).

L’emploi du terme de Beuys dans la phrase d’ouverture de ce texte n’est donc plus anodin. Un des exercices préférés de Ghita Skali est d’ailleurs la présentation Powerpoint. Faites une petite recherche Google en tapant « blackboard beuys powerpoint performance », le premier résultat qui s’affiche est une question : « Would Joseph Beuys have used Powerpoint? » (Joseph Beuys aurait-il utilisé Powerpoint ?)2. L’intuition était donc juste (?).

Mais, si l’artiste est intéressée par le format de la lecture-performance et du Powerpoint pour son aspect pédagogique (qu’elle manipule à souhait puisque ses leçons n’ont pas pour objectif la Vérité avec un grand V), elle l’a aussi adopté en réponse à son nomadisme excessif (parfois voulu, parfois forcé), pour sa facilité d’usage et son esthétique douteuse (selon le bon goût).

Ainsi, la pratique de Ghita Skali est à situer dans un processus non pas de production (donnant lieu à un « produit ») mais de circulation qui, souvent, se sabote pour mieux enclencher ce que Kodwo Eshun appelle « la déprogrammation des schémas fascistes de progrès régressifs3 ». C’est dire que les fables actualisées de l’artiste, ainsi que les trajectoires empruntées pour en brouiller les pistes, ont souvent pour rôle la déstabilisation des modes et des paramètres des savoirs classiques, qui, une fois ingurgités, sans criticalité, sont réduits au statut d’opinions indubitables (dont nous devrions tous nous méfier).

Pour autant, Ghita Skali n’est pas dans une position de confrontation directe. Sous couvert de donner à ses œuvres un vernis sympa (et moelleux) d’esthétique d’esthétique relationnelle, elle fait mine d’« accueillir » son public. C’est bien ce qu’on attend d’elle. Mais, bien consciente de l’image qu’elle projette (par son nom, sa date de naissance et son pays d’origine : trois marqueurs cruciaux pour nourrir les désirs de jouvence et d’exotisme de l’économie de la culture) et du rôle qu’on lui demande de jouer dans le système de l’art contemporain (« représente, Ghita, représente ! »), elle détourne.

En ce sens, elle n’est pas loin d’un William Pope.L qui s’autoproclame « The Friendliest Black Artist in America » pour faciliter son travail de déconstruction des mythologies américaines. De la nourriture se prépare et circule, mais elle ne doit pas être mangée. Des passeports s’accumulent, mais le public est prié de ne pas les accaparer. Et puis il y a les odeurs de putréfaction de viande. Alors, malgré ce que l’on peut penser de ce que l’on voit, Ghita Skali est loin de nous inviter à passer à table !

Cédric Fauq

 

Ghita Skali (Casablanca, Maroc, 1992) est actuellement en résidence à De Ateliers (Amsterdam, Hollande), après avoir étudié à la Villa Arson (Nice) et aux Beaux-Arts de Lyon. Ses projets se nourrissent d’anecdotes apparues dans les médias, puis occultées, qui révèlent des relations au pouvoir fondées sur des mythologies et reflètent des systèmes de croyance et d’autorité tout autant qu’elles expriment l’ironie. Il s’agit moins de distinguer la rumeur de la vérité que de cartographier les ramifications possibles et les contradictions qui l’ont fabriquée. Son travail a récemment été montré à l’Été 78 (Bruxelles, Belgique), au Project Space Festival (Berlin, Allemagne), à la Beirut Art Fair (Liban), au Triangle (Marseille), au 18 (Marrakech, Maroc), ainsi qu’à la Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo (Turin, Italie).

1
« I take AIDS from the patient, and feed the patient on AIDS, I give it to him as a kebab skewer to feed on », cité par Berman Lazar, « AIDS cured! (says Egypt’s military) », The Times of Israel, 26 février 2014, https://www.timesofisrael.com/aids-cured-says-egypts-military.

2
Il s’agit du titre d’une performance de Daniel Ladnar.

3
Propos prononcés lors de la séance de questions/réponses, avec Otolith Group (Anjalika Sagar et Kodwo Eshun), suivant la projection du film O Horizon (2018) au Nottingham Contemporary (Nottingham, 19 novembre 2019) ; traduction de l’anglais au français par l’auteur.

Rapporteur : Cédric Fauq est un commissaire d’exposition français vivant à Nottingham (Grande-Bretagne). Depuis septembre 2017, il travaille au Nottingham Contemporary où il occupe le poste de curateur (département des expositions). Il y conçoit des expositions (Still I Rise: Feminisms, Gender, Resistance ; Sung Tieu: In Cold Print ; Grace before Jones: Camera, Disco, Studio), des performances (Okwui Okpokwasili, Steffani Jemison, Lou Lou Sainsbury), ainsi que des publications. Parallèlement, il écrit (notamment pour Mousse Magazine), et développe des projets en indépendant : au DOC (Paris, 2018) ; Sophie Tappeine (Vienne, Autriche, 2018) ; Nir Altman (Munich, Allemagne, 2019) ; Cordova (Barcelone, Espagne, 2020) ; Litost (Prague, République tchèque, 2020). Il a codirigé clearview.ltd à Londres (Grande-Bretagne, 2016-2018) et était membre de l’équipe curatoriale de la Baltic Triennial XIII (Vilnius, Lituanie ; Tallinn, Estonie et Riga, Lettonie, 2017-2018).
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29