Angèle Etoundi Essamba

1962 | Douala, Cameroon
Informations

Cameroonian photographer.

Angèle Etoundi Essamba left Cameroon for France in 1972 and lived there until she graduated from high school. She then moved to Amsterdam and in 1984 began to study photography at the Nederlandse Fotovakschool (Dutch Professional School of Photography), from which she graduated. As mentioned in the booklet for the exhibition Force et fierté (Dakar, Théodore-Monod Museum, 2016), A. Etoundi Essamba has always used her work to “portray womankind”. As such, her prolific production displays her constant ambition: to dedicate herself to photographing African women “beyond stereotypes”. These stereotypes can stem from the fantasies of both afro-pessimism and afro-optimism. In this sense, while A. Etoundi Essamba’s photographs display a deeply aesthetic sensibility – an ode and fascination for the female, black body – they are also political. By defying the boundaries between realistic photography, societal commentary, documentary, and a formal approach to the photographic medium (blacks, contrasts, reflection), her pictures strive to remain consistent with the complexity of their subjects.

A. Etoundi Essamba has mentioned several of her inspirations – from African to North American photographers – and the influences from the various countries she grew up and lived in. However, she has always stated that her intention was to dedicate her work to the representation of her “African heritage”. From the late 1980s to the early 2000s, with her series Passions, Contrastes, and Noirs, her consistent aim was to show black-and-white-only depictions of “strong, proud, and empowered” women. Works such as Cobra (1986), Femme portant l’univers (Woman Carrying the Universe, 1993), Rupture 2 (1993), Héritage 3 (1999), Noir 26 and Noir 40 (2000), and Cheveux de paille (Straw Hair, 2005) are all examples of this first period. Later series are marked by her transition to colour series motivated by the aesthetic emotion she felt during her stays in Zanzibar and Mauritania. While they remain faithful to her aim to depict black women and to her previous work on contrast and texture, these series show an increasing interest in specific communities and “African heritages” – customs, resources, and stories, whether localised or endemic. Examples of this can be found in Un air d’antan (An Old Tune, 2002), Jaune bambou (Bamboo Yellow, 2008), Second Skin and Second Skin 3 (2014), Healing 5052 (2016), or Appartenance 4 (Belonging 4, 2018). This more anthropological orientation was confirmed in the series Invisible (2015) and Femmes de l’eau (Water Women, 2013) (including Regard sorti des profondeurs [Underwater Gaze]). The latter is a photographic narration of the lives of women who work in the sectors of energy, construction, commerce, and agriculture, and of the everyday life of the women of Ganvié, Benin, who are in charge of oyster fishing, trading, and transportation.

Since her first exhibition in Amsterdam in 1985, A. Etoundi Essamba’s work has been shown at a large number of institutions, biennales (including Venice, Havana, Dakar, Johannesburg, and Bamako), and fairs in Africa, Europe, the United States, Cuba, Mexico, and China. Several monographic exhibitions of her work have been held abroad, including several retrospectives, such as Daughters of Life at the Museum Fünf Kontinente in Munich in 2018. Her works are featured in several public and private collections.

Read more

Eva Barois De Caevel

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Héritage 3, 1999, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Appartenance 4, 2018, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Cheveux de paille 2, 2005, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Cobra, 1986, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Femme portant l’univers, 1993, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Healing 5052, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Jaune bambou, 2008, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Noir 26, 2000, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Noir 40, 2000, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Regard sorti des profondeurs, 2013, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Rupture 2, 1993, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Second skin 3, 2014, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Second skin, 2014, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Un Air d’antan, 2002, photograph, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Angèle Etoundi Essamba

1962 | Douala, Cameroun
Informations

Photographe camerounaise.

Angèle Etoundi Essamba quitte le Cameroun en 1972 pour la France, où elle demeure jusqu’à la fin de ses études secondaires. Après le baccalauréat, elle s’installe à Amsterdam, où elle s’initie, à partir de 1984, à la photographie et où elle suit les cours de la Nederlandse Fotovakschool (École professionnelle néerlandaise de la photographie), dont elle sort diplômée. Comme elle l’affirme dans le livret de l’exposition Force et fierté (Dakar, musée Théodore-Monod, 2016), par son œuvre, A. Etoundi Essamba a toujours voulu « montrer la femme ». Son travail, prolifique, révèle effectivement une ambition constante : se consacrer à la photographie des femmes africaines « au-delà des stéréotypes ». Des stéréotypes qui peuvent être issus des fantasmes aussi bien de l’afro-pessimisme que de l’afro-optimisme. C’est de cette manière que les images d’A. Etoundi Essamba, si elles sont profondément esthétiques – ode et fascination pour le corps féminin, noir –, sont aussi politiques. Défiant les limites entre photographie réaliste, témoignage sociétal ou documentaire et mise en scène plastique qui joue avec la matière photographique (les noirs, les contrastes, les reflets), ces images s’efforcent d’être à l’unisson de la complexité de leurs sujets.

Elle revendique des inspirations multiples : photographes africain·e·s ou états-unien·ne·s, et influences des divers pays au sein desquels elle a grandi et évolué. Cependant, elle a toujours dit vouloir dédier ses créations à la représentation de son « héritage africain ». De la fin des années 1980 au début des années 2000, à l’époque des Passions, Contrastes et Noirs, A. Etoundi Essamba s’attache à montrer, uniquement en noir et blanc, des femmes « fortes, fières et conscientes de leur existence ». Des œuvres telles que Cobra (1986), Femme portant l’univers (1993), Rupture 2 (1993), Héritage 3 (1999), Noir 26 et Noir 40 (2000) ou Cheveux de paille 2 (2005) relèvent de cette première période. S’ensuivront des séries marquées par le passage à la couleur – transition motivée par des émotions esthétiques ressenties par l’artiste à Zanzibar et en Mauritanie – qui, tout en restant fidèles à l’objectif de représentation de la femme noire et au travail entrepris sur les contrastes et les matières, s’intéressent de plus en plus à des communautés et à des « héritages africains » spécifiques : des pratiques, des ressources, des récits, localisés et endémiques. C’est par exemple le cas d’Un air d’antan (2002), de Jaune bambou (2008), Second Skin et Second Skin 3 (2014), Healing 5052 (2016) ou Appartenance 4 (2018). Cette orientation, plus anthropologique, se confirme dans les séries Invisible (2015) et Femmes de l’eau (2013) (dont Regard sorti des profondeurs) : narration photographique de la vie de femmes travaillant dans les secteurs de l’énergie, de la construction, du commerce et de l’agriculture, et récit du quotidien des femmes de Ganvié, au Bénin, qui pratiquent la pêche à l’huître, le négoce et le transport de marchandises.

Depuis sa première exposition à Amsterdam en 1985, le travail d’A. Etoundi Essamba a été montré dans nombre d’institutions, de biennales (entre autres celles de Venise, La Havane, Dakar, Johannesburg et Bamako) et de foires, en Afrique, en Europe, aux États-Unis, à Cuba, au Mexique ou encore en Chine. Beaucoup d’expositions monographiques lui ont été consacrées à l’étranger, notamment des rétrospectives, comme Daughters of Life, au Museum Fünf Kontinente à Munich, en 2018. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans plusieurs collections publiques et particulières.

Lire plus

Eva Barois De Caevel

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Héritage 3, 1999, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Appartenance 4, 2018, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Cheveux de paille 2, 2005, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Cobra, 1986, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Femme portant l’univers, 1993, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Healing 5052, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Jaune bambou, 2008, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Noir 26, 2000, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Noir 40, 2000, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Regard sorti des profondeurs, 2013, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Rupture 2, 1993, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Second skin 3, 2014, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Second skin, 2014, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Angèle  Etoundi Essamba — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Angèle Etoundi Essamba, Un Air d’antan, 2002, photographie, © Angèle Etoundi Essamba

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29