Pinaree Sanpitak

1961 | Bangkok, Thailand
Informations
Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Lee Wei Swee

Sponsor
— Pinaree Sanpitak

Thai mixed media artist.

Pinaree Sanpitak, one of Thailand’s foremost contemporary artists, received a scholarship from the Japanese government and trained in Japan, obtaining a BFA from the University of Tsukuba in 1986. Among the first wave of Thai practitioners who developed a language of contemporary art that mixed multi-media and conceptual approaches in the 1980s-1990s, P. Sanpitak participated in her first group exhibition in Tokyo, in 1986. Three years later, the artist’s international career was launched when she joined the Asia-Pacific contemporary art circuit, exhibiting in the 2nd Artists’ Regional Exchange (ARX2), in Perth, Australia.
From the beginning of her professional ascent, P. Sanpitak has demonstrated her versatile approach to medium. Effortlessly combining photography, collage, painting, drawing, sculpture, and site-specific installation, she deploys a wide array of materials and techniques, classical and unconventional, according to each work’s expressive exigencies – paper, textile, glass, candles, ceramics, topiary, sound, and food, among others. Her experimentation with media, coupled with her interest in organic structures and concepts, supports her art’s restrained lexicon of images centring on the human form.

Initially, the artist’s images were principally abstracted representations of the female body. By the late 1990s, she began focusing on breast and vessel shapes, and some years later, playing on the breast’s ambiguous outline, she devised her idiosyncratic breast-vessel-stupa representation. This conflation of forms, with its trio of powerful symbolic associations – solace, nurture, and spiritualism – extended the dynamism of P. Sanpitak’s emblematic breast image to create a metaphoric dialogue with audiences. In 2003, her Noon-Nom marked a turning point in the artist’s practice, as the installation’s sensuality and spatial command prompted viewers to participate performatively by plunging into its breast-cushion components. This action, starting as a form of surrender, evolved into a form of empowerment, such that Noon-Nom can be seen as having a social interpretation. Breast Stupa Cookery (ongoing from 2005), which is also participative and performative through the caring action of food preparation in breast-shaped moulds, also suggests critical dichotomies: those between individuals and the collective, and freedom and containment.

Recently, the artist has extended her repertoire with hammock forms emblematising rhythmic movement. Through its many modes of presentation, intimate or monumental scale, and inventive media, P. Sanpitak’s limited iconography, conveys distinctive atmospheres and responses, so remaining visually and conceptually fresh despite formal re-statement. Frequently framed within feminist discourse, P. Sanpitak’s practice transcends identity politics to speak to broadly relevant social and human concerns. In its underlining of the woman-icon, her practice is couched in a Southeast Asian cultural context where women traditionally wielded power. As one of relatively few internationally-acclaimed Thai female artists, P. Sanpitak is today an important beacon for women artists in Thailand seeking to make their mark in contemporary art.

Read more

Iola Lenzi

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Noon–Nom, 2001-2002, organza, synthetic fiber, variable dimension, exhibition view : Breasts and Beyond, Bangkok University Art Gallery, 2002, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Kiyoyuki Sawai

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Breast Stupas, 2000-2001, 37 unthreaded silk pieces, 122 x 500 cm each fabric, fabrics by Jim Thompson, The Thai Silk Co. Ltd. Co., exhibition view: Breasts and Beyond, Chulalongkorn University Art Center, Bangkok, Thailand, 2002, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Aroon Permpoonsopol

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Anything Can Break, 2011, handmade glass, paper, specially composed music, motion sensors, sound system, variable dimensions, installation view, Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, United States of America, 2014-2015, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Pinaree Sanpitak

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Hanging by a Thread, 2012, tie-Hammocks with Paa-Lai, traditional Thai printed cotton fabric, variable dimensions, Collection Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, United States of America, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Museum Associates / LACMA

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Vessels and Mounds : Continued – Compelled – Comforted, 2000-2001, molded scented candles, charcoal, pencil on paper, 8 drawings, 150 x 200 cm each, exhibition view Glocal Scents of Thailand, Edsvik Konst & Kultur, Sweden, 2000, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Manit Sriwanichpoom

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Breast Stupa Cookery, 2005-today, 3 days event Breast Stupa Cookery Market co-organized by ROCKET and ART-U ROOM with chefs Yuki Kimura, Satoko Kobiyama and Yoyo, set up by designer Philippe Stouvenot of Transprofil and ceramist Mo Jirachaisakul and Pim Suthikam, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Pinaree Sanpitak

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Murano Breast Stupa Cookery Glasswares, 2007-2008, set of 100 / 4 editions, Collection The Artist, private collections and Sansab Museum of Contemporary Art, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Pinaree Sanpitak

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Breast Leaves I, 2000-2001, cast aluminum, variable dimensions, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Aroon Permpoonsopol

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, The Hammock, 2014, blown glass, steel, edition of 3, collection Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, United States of America, Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation, Sydney Australia, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Toledo Museum of Art

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, The Black and the White, 1995, acrylic, pastel and charcoal on canvas, 200 x 150 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, Japan, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Aroon Permpoonsopol

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, The Egg (Left Painting), 1997, charcoal, acrylic and pastel on canvas, 200 x 210 cm, Collection Sansab Museum of Contemporary Art, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo: Aroon Permpoonsopol

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Pinaree Sanpitak

1961 | Bangkok, Thaïlande
Informations
Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Lee Wei Swee

Soutien
— Pinaree Sanpitak

Artiste multidisciplinaire thaïlandaise.

Pinaree Sanpitak est actuellement l’une des artistes thaïlandaises les plus reconnues. Le gouvernement japonais lui accorde une bourse d’études, grâce à laquelle elle obtient une licence d’arts plastiques à l’Université de Tsukuba en 1986. Elle fait partie de la première vague d’artistes thaïlandais qui, depuis les années 1980-1990, développe un langage artistique mêlant techniques mixtes et approches conceptuelles. Sa première exposition collective se tient à Tokyo en 1986. Trois ans plus tard, sa carrière internationale est lancée lorsqu’elle intègre le circuit de l’art contemporain de l’Asie-Pacifique et expose son travail lors de la seconde édition de l’Artists’ Regional Exchange (ARX2) à Perth, en Australie.
Dès le début de sa carrière, P. Sanpitak fait preuve d’une pratique plastique polyvalente. À travers son usage harmonieux de supports aussi variés que la photographie, le collage, la peinture, le dessin, la sculpture et les installations in-situ, elle déploie un vaste éventail de matériaux et de techniques à la fois classiques et originaux, qu’elle adapte aux exigences esthétiques de chacune de ses œuvres – papier, textile, verre, bougies, céramique, topiaire, acoustique, et nourriture, entre autres. Cette exploration d’une multitude de supports, doublée d’un intérêt pour les structures et concepts organiques, étaye un champ lexical restreint axé sur la forme humaine.

Dans un premier temps, ses images sont principalement des représentations du corps féminin. À partir des années 1990, elle se focalise davantage sur des formes de seins et de récipients et, quelques années plus tard, joue sur l’ambiguïté morphologique du sein pour créer la forme hybride sein-récipient-stupa caractéristique de son œuvre. En amalgamant ces formes empreintes de puissantes connotations symboliques – réconfort, nourriture et spiritualité – P. Sanpitak accentue le dynamisme de sa représentation emblématique du sein afin d’initier un dialogue métaphorique avec le public. En 2003, son œuvre Noon-Nom marque un tournant dans sa pratique. En effet, la sensualité de l’installation et l’attractivité qui s’en dégage incite les public à y prendre part en se plongeant dans ses éléments rembourrés en forme de seins. Cette action, qui s’amorce telle une sorte d’abandon, se mue en force émancipatrice, conférant ainsi à Noon-Nom une valeur sociale. Breast Stupa Cookery (2005, en cours) met également en avant des valeurs participatives et performatives à travers la préparation soigneuse de nourriture dans des moules en forme de seins et, ce faisant, met en avant certaines dichotomies essentielles : entre l’individuel et le collectif, entre la liberté et le confinement.

Plus récemment, l’artiste a étendu son répertoire à des formes de hamac, censées symboliser le mouvement de balancier. À travers ses nombreux modes de présentation, de l’échelle intime à l’échelle monumentale, et son utilisation astucieuse des supports, l’iconographie restreinte de l’œuvre de P. Sanpitak engendre des atmosphères et réactions uniques et réussit à maintenir une fraîcheur visuelle et conceptuelle malgré sa répétitivité formelle. Fréquemment formulée en regard du discours féministe, la pratique de P. Sanpitak transcende tout communautarisme pour aborder des problématiques sociales et humaines bien plus vastes. Cette pratique, forte de l’image de la femme-icône, s’ancre dans un contexte culturel où, en Asie du Sud-Est, les femmes détenaient traditionnellement le pouvoir. Parce qu’elle est aujourd’hui l’une des rares femmes artistes thaïlandaises mondialement reconnues, elle est devenue un modèle pour toutes les artistes de son pays qui souhaitent se démarquer dans le domaine de l’art contemporain.

Lire plus

Iola Lenzi

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Noon–Nom, 2001-2002, organza, fibre synthétique, dimensions variables, vue d’exposition : Breasts and Beyond, Bangkok University Art Gallery, 2002, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Kiyoyuki Sawai

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Breast Stupas, 2000-2001, morceaux de soie non filetés, 122 x 500 cm chaque tissu, tissus par Jim Thompson, The Thai Silk Co. Ltd. Co., vue d’exposition : Breasts and Beyond, Chulalongkorn University Art Center, Bangkok, Thaïlande, 2002, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Aroon Permpoonsopol

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Anything Can Break, 2011, verre fait main, papier, musique spécialement composée, détecteurs de mouvement, système audio, dimensions variables, vue d’installation, Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, États-Unis, 2014-2015, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Pinaree Sanpitak

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Hanging by a Thread, 2012, hamacs avec Paa-Lai, tissu de coton thaïlandais traditionnel imprimé, dimensions variables, Collection Los Angeles County Museum of Art, Los Angeles, États-Unis, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Museum Associates / LACMA

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Vessels and Mounds : Continued – Compelled – Comforted, 2000-2001, bougies parfumées moulées, fusain, crayon sur papier, 8 dessins, 150 x 200 cm chacun, vue d’exposition Glocal Scents of Thailand, Edsvik Konst & Kultur, Suède, 2000, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Manit Sriwanichpoom

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Breast Stupa Cookery, 2005-aujourd’hui, événement de trois jours Breast Stupa Cookery Market co-organisés par ROCKET et ART-U ROOM avec les chefs Yuki Kimura, Satoko Kobiyama et Yoyo, mise en place par le designer Philippe Stouvenot de Transprofil et les ceramistes Mo Jirachaisakul et Pim Suthikam, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Pinaree Sanpitak

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Murano Breast Stupa Cookery Glasswares, 2007-2008, ensemble de 100 / 4 éditions, Collection The Artist, Private collections et Sansab Museum of Contemporary Art, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Pinaree Sanpitak

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, Breast Leaves I, 2000-2001, fonte d’aliminium, dimensions variables, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Aroon Permpoonsopol

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, The Hammock, 2014, verre soufflé, acier, édition de 3, collection Toledo Museum of Art, Toledo, États-Unis, Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation, Sydney Australia, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Toledo Museum of Art

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, The Black and the White, 1995, acrylique, pastel et fusain sur toile, 200 x 150 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Tokyo, Japan, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Aroon Permpoonsopol

Pinaree Sanpitak — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Pinaree Sanpitak, The Egg, 1997, fusain, acrylique et pastel sur toile, 200 x 210 cm, Collection Sansab Museum of Contemporary Art, Courtesy Pinaree Sanpitak, © Photo : Aroon Permpoonsopol

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29