Atsuko Tanaka

1932Osaka, Japan | 2005Nara, Japan
Informations

Japanese visual artist.

Atsuko Tanaka was one of the most iconic artists of the Japanese avant-garde movement Gutai in the 1950s and 1960s. In 1953 she began her artistic practice with collages of numbers drawn in ink on paper. She was invited to join the Gutai group in 1955 by its leader Jiro Yoshihara (1905-1972). This artistic association appeared as an assembly of abstract painters who used new supports and materials for their creations. From the outset the artist exploited these new techniques. For the first Gutai exhibition, in October 1955, she created the piece Work (Bell), by arranging a series of bells that rang one after another. At the same time she began creating outdoor works with large pieces of coloured fabric. For example, she stretched 10 square metres of bright pink silk 30 centimetres from the ground letting the cloth float in the wind and surrounding space. This piece, titled Work, was reproduced for Documenta 12 in Kassel in 2007.
Shortly after these works, A. Tanaka produced a series of costumes for the Gutai group’s theatrical performances, including the Denkifuku dress [“Electric garment”, 1956], made from electric lightbulbs and flashing light tubes, which brought her worldwide fame, and which she herself wore during the second Gutai exhibition in October 1956. This piece represents one of the first examples of the use of electricity in art. The artist explained having been fascinated by a neon light in a pharmacy in Osaka that revealed the beauty of artificial coloured light to her. By slipping into the dress as a second skin, she highlighted the relationship between the feminine body and its envelope, thus anticipating feminist discourse of the 1960s. In 1986 the work was recreated for the exhibition Le Japon des avant-gardes at the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris. The diagrams realised for the fabrication of her light garments foreshadowed a truly original pictorial approach in which the electric circuit and the lights were replaced by coloured circles and lines, evolving towards geometric abstraction.

A. Tanaka left Gutai in 1965, and in 1966 participated in the important exhibition New Japanese Painting and Sculpture at the Museum of Modern Art, New York. In 1968 she created Round in Sand, a performance during which she traced ephemeral circles and lines in sand. In 2001 a retrospective of her work was held at the Museum of Art and History of Ashiya, followed by a second exhibition at the Grey Art Gallery in New York in 2004 titled Electrifying Art: Atsuko Tanaka, 1954-1968. In 2003 her most important works were shown in the exhibition Gutai: Splendid Playground at the Guggenheim in New York.

Read more

Lucia Pesapane

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled, 1964, enamel on canvas, 90.5 x 72.5 cm, Art Institute Chicago © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Denkifuku [electric gound], 1956 – 1999, light bulb, linolites varnished in 8 shades, felt, electrical cable, metal, painted wood, electric box, 165 x 90 x 90 cm, © Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, No.25, 1971, vinyl paint on canvas, 24.4 x 19.3 cm, private collection, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, 99K, 1999, synthetic polymer paint on canvas, 145.6 x 112 cm, private collection, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled from For 1954, 2005, one from a portfolio of five etchings, 14.6 x 19.6 cm, MOMA, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Denkifuku [electric gound], 1956, light bulb, linolites varnished in 8 shades, felt, electrical cable, metal, painted wood, electric box, 165 x 90 x 90 cm, © Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled, 1964, acrylic on canvas, 333.4 x 225.4 cm, MoMA, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled, 1956, crayon, watercolor, and felt-tip pen on paper, 108.9 x 77.2 cm, MoMA, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Explore
Linked theme
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Atsuko Tanaka

1932Osaka, Japon | 2005Nara, Japon
Informations

Plasticienne japonaise.

Atsuko Tanaka a été l’une des artistes les plus représentatives du mouvement d’avant-garde Gutaï au Japon, dans les années 1950 – 1960. Elle commence sa pratique artistique par des collages de chiffres dessinés à l’encre sur papier en 1953. Sur l’invitation de Jirō Yoshihara, maître de Gutaï, elle rejoint le groupe en 1955. Cette association artistique apparaît comme un rassemblement de peintres abstraits, qui utilisent de nouveaux supports et matériaux pour leurs créations. L’artiste exploite d’emblée ces techniques nouvelles. À l’occasion de la première exposition d’art de Gutaï en octobre 1955, elle crée la pièce Work (Bell), en disposant une série de sonnettes qui se déclenchent les unes à la suite des autres. Dans le même temps, elle entreprend des œuvres en plein air avec de grands morceaux de tissus colorés : elle tend, par exemple, 10 mètres carrés de soie rose vif à 30 centimètres du sol, en laissant l’étoffe flotter dans le vent et dans l’espace environnant ; cette pièce, intitulée Tokyo Work, a été reproduite à la documenta 12 de Cassel en 2007.
Peu après, A. Tanaka produit une série de vêtements de scène destinés aux performances théâtrales du groupe Gutaï, parmi lesquels la robe Denkifuku [« vêtement électrique », 1956], confectionnée à partir d’ampoules électriques et de tubes lumineux clignotants, qui lui apporte une notoriété mondiale, et qu’elle arbore elle-même, lors de la deuxième exposition de Gutaï en octobre 1956. Cette pièce représente un des premiers exemples d’utilisation de l’électricité dans l’art. La plasticienne explique avoir été fascinée par un néon, dans une pharmacie d’Osaka, qui lui a révélé la beauté de la lumière artificielle colorée. En se glissant dans la robe comme une seconde peau, elle met en avant la relation entre le corps féminin, et son enveloppe, anticipant ainsi les discours féministes des années 1960. La pièce a été reconstituée en 1986 à l’occasion de l’exposition Le Japon des avant-gardes, au Centre Georges Pompidou à Paris. Les diagrammes réalisés pour la fabrication de ses vêtements préfigurent une démarche picturale très originale, dans laquelle le réseau électrique et la lumière sont remplacés par des lignes et des cercles colorés., évoluant vers une abstraction géométrique.

A. Tanaka quitte Gutaï en 1965 et participe en 1966 à une grande exposition au Museum of Modern Art (New York), the New Japanese Painting and Sculpture. En 1968, elle crée Round in Sand, une performance pendant laquelle elle trace des cercles éphémères et des lignes sur le sable. En 2001, une rétrospective de son œuvre a lieu au musée d’Art et d’Histoire d’Ashiya, suivie par une deuxième, à la Grey Art Gallery de New York en 2004, sous le titre Electrifying Art : Atsuko Tanaka, 1954 – 1968. Ses œuvres les plus importantes ont été rassemblées dans l’exposition Gutai : Splendid Playgroundau musée Guggenheim de New York en 2013.

Lire plus

Lucia Pesapane

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled, 1964, émail sur toile, 90,5 x 72,5 cm, Art Institute Chicago © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Denkifuku [vêtement électrique], 1956 – 1999, Ampoules de couleur, linolites vernis en 8 teintes, feutre, câble électrique, métal, bois peint, boîtier électrique165 x 90 x 90 cm, © Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, No.25, 1971, peinture vinyl sur toile, 24,4 x 19,3 cm, collection particulière, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, 99K, 1999, peinture polymer synthetique sur toile, 145,6 x 112 cm, collection particulière, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled from For 1954, 2005, extrait d’un portfolio de 5 eaux fortes, 14,6 x 19,6 cm, MoMA, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Denkifuku [vêtement électrique], 1956, ampoules de couleur, linolites vernis en 8 teintes, feutre, câble électrique, métal, bois peint, boîtier électrique165 x 90 x 90 cm, © Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled, 1964, acrylique sur toile, 333,4 x 225,4 cm, MoMA, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Atsuko Tanaka — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Atsuko Tanaka, Untitled, 1956, craies grasses, aquarelle et feutre sur papier, 108,9 x 77,2 cm, MoMA, © Kanayama Akira and Tanaka Atsuko Association

Découvrir
Thème lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29