Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake)

1967 | Vilnius, Lithuania
Informations

Performance and multimedia artist.

Spanning the genres of performance, video and conceptual art, and working in a range of media, from painting to photography and objects, Eglė Rakauskaitė’s work deals with an myriad range of contemporary issues. Born in Soviet Lithuania, the artist came of age in post-Soviet independent Lithuania, at a time when artists were enjoying the full and unencumbered freedom to create for the first time.
Known as E. Rake, the artist’s early work in body and performance art was unprecedented in Lithuanian art. When artists in the country began working in action and performance in the 1980s, it was mainly focused on happenings and interventions. E. Rake was amongst the first artists in Lithuania, let alone female artists, to use her body in such a visceral manner in performance, covering it in fat or honey, drawing attention to the corporeality of the female body, as well as its consumption (In Honey, 1996; In Fat, 1998). Her first performance piece, Trap. Expulsion from Paradise (1995) also dealt with the young female body and the transition to adulthood and maturity, within the context of religion. From a city with no less than twenty-eight churches, and whose skyline is peppered with steeples, the artist addresses the prominence of religion in contemporary Lithuanian society, and all of the paradoxes that entails, with a series of Chocolate Crucifixes (1995) – religion fit for consumption.

Since this early work, the artist has addressed topics such as language, homelessness, consumerism, globalism, economic migration and ageing. She does not limit herself to one medium or form of expression, preferring to use the mode that will communicate her message or idea most efficiently. For example, My America (2003), is a video documentation of her daily work as an immigrant care worker in the United States. Meanwhile, a series of paintings from 2011 of everyday images such as the American flag, incorporated QR codes into the geometric shapes. During their exhibition at the National Kaunas Drama Theatre, viewers could interact with the images, scanning the code that would take them to a web page with information about the content or title of the work, or a video about a current social or political topic.

In addition to solo shows in Vilnius, Tallinn and Moscow, her work has been included in key international exhibitions of performance and feminist art: re.act.feminism #2 – a performing archive (2011–2014) at Akademie der Künste in Berlin in 2013 and Gender Check: Femininity and Masculinity in the Art of Eastern Europe in Vienna and Warsaw in 2009 and 2010; and the 1999 exhibition After the Wall: Art and Culture in Post-Communist Europe at Moderna Museet in Stockholm. She represented Lithuania at the Venice Biennale in 1999, the country’s first appearance there.

Read more

Amy Bryzgel

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, The dress, 1994, cotton, flowers, 160 x 85 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, Chocolate Crucifix, 1995-2017, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, Trap. Expulsion from Paradise, 1996, black and white video, 3’40”, without sound, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, In honey, 1996, video installation, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, U Masti, 1998, video installation, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, Taukuose, 1998, 3 synchronised videos, installation, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, In Fat, 1998, 3 videotapes, Betacam, 3 x 20, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Linked article
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake)

1967 | Vilnius, Lituanie

Plasticienne et performeuse lituanienne.

Située à la croisée des genres, entre vidéo et art conceptuel, et des supports, comme la peinture, la photographie ou encore les objets, l’œuvre d’Eglė Rakauskaitė aborde une myriade de problématiques contemporaines. Née en Lituanie sous le régime soviétique, E. Rakauskaitė atteint sa majorité alors que le pays va retrouver son indépendance, à une époque où les artistes jouissent pour la première fois d’une liberté de création totale et sans entrave.
Ses premières œuvres de performance et de body art, réalisées sous le pseudonyme d’Egle Rake, sont incroyablement novatrices dans le paysage de l’art lituanien de l’époque. En effet, les artistes du pays qui, dans les années 1980, s’intéressent aux actions et aux performances axent principalement celles-ci sur le happening et l’intervention. E. Rake, quant à elle, est l’une des premières artistes, femme de surcroît, à utiliser son corps de manière aussi viscérale dans des performances lors desquelles elle s’enduit de graisse ou de miel, insistant ainsi à la fois sur l’aspect physique du corps féminin et sur sa consommation (In Honey, 1996 ; In Fat, 1998). Sa première performance, Trap. Expulsion from Paradise (1995), traite également du corps de la jeune femme, du passage à l’âge adulte et à la maturité dans un contexte religieux. Originaire d’une ville qui ne compte pas moins de 28 églises et dont l’horizon fourmille de clochers, l’artiste aborde le poids de la religion dans la société lituanienne contemporaine et tous les paradoxes qui en découlent dans sa série Chocolate Crucifixes (1995), en mettant en scène la religion comme objet de consommation.

Depuis ces premières œuvres, E. Rake a exploré de multiples thèmes, parmi lesquels le langage, la situation des sans-abri, la surconsommation, la mondialisation, les migrations économiques et le vieillissement. Elle ne se contente pas d’un seul support ou d’une seule forme d’expression, préférant faire usage du médium qui lui permet de traduire au mieux son message ou son idée. À titre d’exemple, la vidéo My America (2003) documente sa mission quotidienne de travailleuse sociale immigrée aux États-Unis, tandis qu’une série de tableaux peints en 2011 donne à voir des codes QR incorporés dans les formes géométriques d’images ordinaires telles que le drapeau américain. Lors de leur présentation au Théâtre national de Kaunas, le public pouvait ainsi interagir avec les tableaux en scannant les codes, qui le renvoyaient vers une page Internet proposant des informations sur le contenu ou le titre de l’œuvre, ou encore une vidéo sur un sujet d’actualité social ou politique.

E. Rake connaît des expositions individuelles à Vilnius, Tallinn et Moscou, mais son œuvre a aussi été montrée lors d’événements internationaux majeurs consacrés à l’art féministe : re.act.feminism #2 – a performing archive (2011-2014) lors de son étape à l’Akademie der Künste de Berlin en 2013 et Gender Check: Femininity and Masculinity in the Art of Eastern Europe à Vienne et Varsovie en 2009 et 2010. Elle participe également à l’exposition After the Wall: Art and Culture in Post-Communist Europe au Moderna Museet de Stockholm en 1999-2000. En 1999, elle représente la Lituanie à la Biennale de Venise, à laquelle son pays figure pour la première fois.

Lire plus

Amy Bryzgel

Traduit l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, The dress, 1994, coton, fleurs, 160 x 85 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, Chocolate Crucifix, 1995-2017, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, Trap. Expulsion from Paradise, 1996, vidéo, 3’40”, noir et blanc, sans son, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, In honey, 1996, installation vidéo, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, U Masti, 1998, installation video, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, Taukuose, 1998, 3 vidéos synchronisées, installation, © ADAGP, Paris

Eglė Rakauskaitė (Egle Rake) — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Eglė Rakauskaitė, In Fat, 1998, 3 vidéos, Betacam, 3 x 20, © ADAGP, Paris

Magazine
Article lié
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29