Florine Stettheimer

1871Rochester, United States | 1944New York, United States
Informations

Peintre américaine.

Born to a wealthy German Jewish family, Florine Stettheimer never needed to sell her painting to make a living. From 1892 to 1895 she studied at the Art Student League in New York under the supervision of the painter and illustrator Kenyon Cox and of Robert Henri. She was a great admirer of the work of John Singer Sargent, and started painting portraits and still lives, which revealed her will to do well rather than her genuine talent. In 1906, she followed her mother and two sisters Ettie and Carrie to Europe where they lived for several years. There, she studied at art academies in Berlin, Munich and Stuttgart, discovered the symbolism of Gustav Klimt and Ferdinand Hodler, became familiar with the works of the Impressionists, Nabis and Fauves, and visited the 1909 Venice Biennale. Upon returning to the United States in 1914, the sisters opened a salon, which quickly became a hub of the artistic avant-garde. Marcel Duchamp, the painters Marsden Hartley and Charles Demuth, the photographers Alfred Stieglitz and Edward Steichen, the art critic Henry McBride and the writer Carl Van Vechten all attended the soirees at the Stetties’, as they were known at the time. Florine painted, Ettie wrote novels using the pen name Henrie Waste, and Carrie spent her time building a doll’s house that even contained an art gallery showing reproductions of works by M. Duchamp (Nude Descending a Staircase), Elie Nadelman, Gaston Lachaise and Alexander Archipenko, made by the artists themselves (1916-1944, Museum of the City of New York).

After the failure of her only personal exhibition at the Knoedler Gallery in New York in 1916, F. Stettheimer strove to find her own distinctive style. During the soirees she hosted, she made sketches of the guests, then used their silhouettes in large compositions that she called, as a nod to a historic genre of English painting, conversation pieces, such as Soiree and Studio Party, New Haven, Yale University, 1917-1919). She depicted her characters flattened, with singular perspectives and increasingly bold colours, finally settling for her own original style in the early 1920s. Despite being influenced by new movements, her style, which combined false naivety and sophistication, remains in a class of its own. She painted the world around her, made portraits of her mother, her sisters, her friends – M. Duchamp and C. Van Vechten. She sought to represent, with an ever-ironical eye, the leisure of the New York upper classes (Beauty Contest, Hartford, Wadsworth Atheneum, 1924). Some of her works bear more socially conscious characteristics, such as Asbury Park South (Nashville, Fisk University, 1920), which shows a black-only beach in New Jersey.

The only public success she enjoyed during her lifetime came in 1934 with the sets and costumes she designed for Virgil Thompson’s opera Four Saints in Three Acts with a libretto by Gertrude Stein, which was a great success at the Wadsworth Atheneum Theatre on Broadway. However, her major – if not best-known – work is the Cathedrals series, which she painted between 1929 and 1942 (New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art). In this series, she celebrates her hometown of New York and its pillars – leisure, power, money and art – while also making an amused satire of it. In 1935, she set up her studio in the very fashionable Beaux-Arts Building across from Bryant Park. She continued painting and entertaining, making her life a reflection of her art. A retrospective exhibition was held at the Whitney Museum of American Art of New York two years after her death. Her work was repopularised by feminist studies of the 1980s, and the painter is now considered as one of the first representatives of camp aesthetics as defined by Susan Sontag (“Notes on Camp”, in Partisan Review, 1964) – a deliberately kitsch, artificial and excessive form of art.

Read more

Marie Gispert

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, Spring Sale at Bendel’s, 1921, oil on canvas, 127 x 101.6 cm, 50 x 40 in., © Philadelphia Museum of Art

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, Heat, 1919, oil on canvas, 127 x 92,7cm, 50 x 36 1/2in., © Brooklyn Museum

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, Lake Placid, 1919, oil on canvas, 101.6 x 127 cm, 40 1/8 x 50 1/8 in., © Museum of Fine Arts Boston

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Broadway, 1929, oil on canvas, 152.7 x 127.3 cm, 60 1/8 x 50 1/8 in., © The Met

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Fifth Avenue, 1931, oil on canvas, 152.4 x 127 cm, 60 x 50 in., © The Met

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Wall Street, 1939, oil on canvas, 152.4 x 127 cm, 60 x 50 in., © The Met

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Art, 1942, oil on canvas, 153 x 127.6 cm, 60 1/4 x 50 1/4 in., © The Met

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Florine Stettheimer

1871Rochester, États-Unis | 1944New York, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre américaine.

Née dans une riche famille juive d’origine allemande, Florine Stettheimer n’eut jamais besoin de vendre sa peinture pour vivre. De 1892 à 1895, elle étudie à l’Art Student League de New York sous la direction du peintre et illustrateur Kenyon Cox et de Robert Henri. Admirative de l’œuvre de John Singer Sargent, elle réalise alors des portraits et des natures mortes, plus caractérisés par une volonté de bien faire que par un réel talent. En 1906, elle part avec sa mère et ses deux sœurs Ettie et Carrie pour un séjour de plusieurs années en Europe. Elle étudie dans les académies d’art de Berlin, de Munich et de Stuttgart, découvre le symbolisme de Gustav Klimt et de Ferdinand Hodler, se familiarise avec les œuvres des impressionnistes, des Nabis et des fauves, visite la Biennale de Venise en 1909. En 1914, de retour aux États-Unis, les sœurs ouvrent un Salon qui devient très vite un lieu de rencontre de l’avant-garde artistique. Marcel Duchamp, les peintres Marsden Hartley et Charles Demuth, les photographes Alfred Stieglitz et Edward Steichen, le critique d’art Henry McBride, l’écrivain Carl Van Vechten, tous assistent aux soirées des Stetties, comme on les surnomme alors. Florine peint, Ettie écrit des romans sous le pseudonyme de Henrie Waste, et Carrie consacre sa vie à réaliser une maison de poupée qui contient jusqu’à une galerie d’art avec des reproductions d’œuvres de M. Duchamp (Nu descendant un escalier), d’Elie Nadelman, de Gaston Lachaise et d’Alexander Archipenko, réalisées par les artistes eux-mêmes (1916-1944, Museum of the City of New York).

Après l’échec de son unique exposition personnelle dans la galerie Knoedler de New York en 1916, F. Stettheimer s’attache à trouver une manière qui lui soit propre. Durant les soirées organisées chez elle, elle dessine les différents invités puis reprend leurs silhouettes dans de grandes compositions qu’elle nomme, en s’inspirant d’un genre historique de la peinture anglaise, la conversation piece (« scène de conversation » ; ainsi Soiree ou Studio Party, New Haven, Yale University, 1917-1919). Elle représente alors les personnages aplanis, dans des perspectives singulières et avec des couleurs de plus en plus intenses. Au début des années 1920, elle adopte définitivement une manière de peindre originale. Malgré les influences de nouveaux courants, son style qui mêle fausse naïveté et sophistication reste inclassable. Elle peint le monde qui l’entoure. Elle fait le portrait de sa mère, de ses sœurs, de ses amis – M. Duchamp et C. Van Vechten. Elle s’attache à représenter, gardant toujours un regard ironique, les loisirs de la haute société new-yorkaise (Beauty Contest [Concours de beauté], Hartford, Wadsworth Atheneum, 1924). Certaines œuvres ont un caractère social plus engagé, comme Asbury Park South (Nashville, Fisk University, 1920) qui représente une plage du New Jersey réservée aux Noirs.

En 1934, elle connaît son seul succès public de son vivant en réalisant les décors et les costumes de l’opéra de Virgil Thompson sur un livret de Gertrude Stein, Four Saints in Three Acts, qui triomphe au Wadsworth Atheneum Theater à Broadway. Son œuvre la plus importante, sinon la plus connue, reste cependant la série des Cathedrals qu’elle réalise entre 1929 et 1942 (New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art). Dans cette série, elle célèbre sa ville de New York et ses piliers – les loisirs, le pouvoir, l’argent, l’art –, en même temps qu’elle en propose une satire amusée. En 1935, elle installe son atelier dans le très en vogue Beaux-Arts Building sur Bryant Park. Elle continue de peindre et de recevoir, jouant sa vie à l’image de son art. Deux ans après sa mort, une exposition rétrospective est organisée au Whitney Museum of American Art de New York. Remise sur le devant de la scène par les études féministes des années 1980, la peintre est aujourd’hui considérée comme l’une des premières représentantes de l’esthétique camp (« kitsch », « affecté »), telle que définie par Susan Sontag (« Notes on camp », in Partisan Review, 1964) : un art volontairement kitsch, artificiel et excessif.

Lire plus

Marie Gispert

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, Spring Sale at Bendel’s, 1921, huile sur toile, 127 x 101,6 cm, 50 x 40 in., © Philadelphia Museum of Art

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, Heat, 1919, huile sur toile, 127 x 92,7cm, © Brooklyn Museum

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, Lake Placid, 1919, huile sur toile, 101,6 x 127 cm, © Museum of Fine Arts Boston

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Broadway, 1929, huile sur toile, 152,7 x 127,3 cm, © The Met

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Fifth Avenue, 1931, huile sur toile, 152,4 x 127 cm, © The Met

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Wall Street, 1939, huile sur toile, 152,4 x 127 cm, © The Met

Florine Stettheimer — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Florine Stettheimer, The Cathedrals of Art, 1942, huile sur toile, 153 x 127,6 cm, © The Met

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29