Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lee Miller

1907Poughkeepsie, United States | 1977Chiddingly, United Kingdom
Informations
Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Selfportrait with sphinxes, Vogue Studio, London, 1940, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 20 x 24.8 cm, 7 9/10 x 9 4/5 in., © Lee Miller Archives

American photographer.

Born into a wealthy family, Elizabeth Miller, known as Lee, learnt photography from her father. After spending a few months in Paris in 1925 to further her artistic and cultural education, she studied painting and draughtsmanship in New York, where she started working as a model for Vogue. Upon returning to Paris in 1929, she became the assistant to the American photographer Man Ray. She posed for his commissioned works and his photographic experiments with solarisations, “rayographs”, tilted frames, and lighting effects. During this time, she also taught herself photographic and lighting techniques. In 1931, she and Man Ray worked together on the advertisement brochure Électricité commissioned by the Compagnie parisienne de distribution d’électricité. The gravure-printed portfolio included ten “rayographs” and is now considered one of the most emblematic surrealist works. In 1932, she was given a leading role in Jean Cocteau’s film The Blood of a Poet. After this, L. Miller began to publish her own works: modernist fashion photographs with strong luminous contrasts and compositions suffused with surrealist aesthetics – combinations of unusual objects, abstract compositions, isolated body parts, mannequins, shop windows, and carrousels. She also continued to work as model for French Vogue, most notably posing for George Hoyningen-Huené.
In 1932, she returned to New York, where she set up her own studio. It quickly became successful, receiving commissions from advertising agencies, fashion houses, perfume and cosmetic brands, and film and theatre production companies. Her black and white photographs bore a resemblance to the modernist images of the Nouvelle Vision movement, and her commercial activity came as no obstacle to her relationship with avant-garde artistic circles. The gallerist Julien Levy presented a selection of her portraits on the occasion of two group exhibitions in 1932, and organised her first solo show of architectural views, still lifes, and portraits in 1933. From 1934 to 1939, she lived in Cairo with her husband, Aziz Eloui Bey, an Egyptian senior official. She then returned to Europe, where she lived with British artist Roland Penrose, a member of the surrealist movement and friend of Paul Éluard and Pablo Picasso.

At the outbreak of World War II, she remained in London, where she published several articles illustrated with photographs in British Vogue, for which she became one of the leading photographers. Her fashion photographs stood alongside documentary views, portraits, and pictures of everyday life during the Blitz. In 1941, she published a series of photographs documenting unusual scenes in the aftermath of the bombings; in a surrealist vein, Grim Glory: Pictures of Britain under Fire (edited by Ernestine Carter) included pictures of mannequins left lying in the street, crushed typewriters, and statues covered in rubble. She was accredited by the US Army as an official war correspondent for Vogue Britain in 1942, which allowed her to photograph the battlefront. Her photographs documented different aspects of the war, from the life of a military hospital in Normandy to street scenes in Germany. In 1945, she photographed the horrors of the Nazi concentration camps at Buchenwald and Dachau. After the War, she continued to shoot fashion photographs and portraits for Vogue for a few years, after which she chose to focus exclusively on co-writing articles and biographies with R. Penrose. Despite her ability, and considerable courage, to shift from fashion photography to the most challenging form of photojournalism, L. Miller only gained recognition late in life. Like Tina Modotti*, the wife of Edward Weston, and like Dora Maar*, Pablo Picasso’s partner, she belongs to an interwar generation of women who, because they were the wives and muses of famous artists, were pushed out of the limelight and had their personal work ignored until years later.

Read more

Gaëlle Morel

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Portrait of Space, Nr Siwa, Egypt, 1937, silver gelatin print, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Floating Head Mary Taylor, New York Studio, 1933, silver gelatin print, 30 x 40 cm, 11 4/5 x 15 7/10 in., © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Severed breast from radical surgery, c. 1930, silver gelatin print, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Leonor Fini, Saint Martin d’Ardèche, 1939, silver gelatin print, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, David E. Scherman, dressed for war, 1942, silver gelatin print, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Casualties being airlifted to England, 1944, silver gelatin print, © Lee Miller Archives

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lee Miller

1907Poughkeepsie, États-Unis | 1977Chiddingly, Royaume-Uni
Informations
Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Selfportrait with sphinxes, Vogue Studio, London, 1940, silver gelatin print, 20 x 24.8 cm, © Lee Miller Archives

Photographe américaine.

Issue d’une famille aisée, Elizabeth Miller, connue sous le prénom de Lee, est initiée à la photographie par son père. Après un séjour de quelques mois à Paris en 1925, où elle complète sa formation artistique et culturelle, elle étudie la peinture et le dessin à New York, et entame une carrière de mannequin pour Vogue. De retour à Paris en 1929, elle devient l’assistante du photographe américain Man Ray. Mannequin pour ses commandes, elle pose également pour ses expériences photographiques – solarisations, « rayogrammes », décadrages et jeux de lumière. Par ailleurs, elle se forme aux techniques de prises de vue et aux manipulations lumineuses. En 1931, elle travaille en commun avec Man Ray sur l’album publicitaire Électricité commandé par la Compagnie parisienne de distribution de l’électricité. Ce portfolio imprimé en héliogravure et constitué de dix « rayogrammes » est considéré aujourd’hui comme l’un des ouvrages emblématiques du surréalisme. En 1932, elle tient l’un des premiers rôles dans le film de Jean Cocteau Le Sang d’un poète. La photographe commence ensuite à publier ses propres photographies : des images de mode modernistes aux contrastes lumineux prononcés et des compositions empreintes d’une esthétique surréaliste – associations d’objets insolites, compositions abstraites, morceaux d’anatomie isolés, mannequins, vitrines, manèges de chevaux de bois. Elle poursuit par ailleurs sa carrière de modèle auprès du Vogue français en posant notamment pour George Hoyningen-Huené.
En 1932, elle retourne à New York, où elle fonde son propre studio qui acquiert rapidement une certaine notoriété. Ses clients sont des agences de publicité, des marques de mode, de parfums et de cosmétiques, des maisons de production cinématographiques et théâtrales. Ses photographies en noir et blanc s’apparentent aux images modernistes du mouvement de la Nouvelle Vision, son activité commerciale ne la coupant nullement des milieux artistiques d’avant-garde. Le galeriste Julien Levy présente une sélection de ses portraits au cours de deux expositions collectives en 1932, puis organise sa première exposition individuelle, composée de vues d’architecture, de natures mortes et de portraits, en 1933. Entre 1934 et 1939, elle réside au Caire avec son mari, Aziz Eloui Bey, haut fonctionnaire égyptien. Puis elle revient en Europe, où elle vit avec l’artiste anglais Roland Penrose, membre du mouvement surréaliste et proche de Paul Éluard et de Pablo Picasso.

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, elle demeure à Londres, publiant différents articles accompagnés de clichés dans le Vogue britannique, dont elle devient l’un des photographes principaux. Les photographies de mode côtoient des vues documentaires, des portraits et des images de la vie quotidienne sous le Blitz. En 1941, elle publie un ouvrage sur les scènes insolites causées par les bombardements ; dans un esprit surréaliste, Grim Glory : Pictures of Britain under Fire (« une gloire grimaçante, images de la Grande Bretagne sous le feu », édité par Ernestine Carter) réunit des tirages de mannequins abandonnés dans la rue, de machines à écrire écrasées, de statues couvertes de gravats. Accréditée comme correspondante de guerre officielle de l’armée américaine pour Vogue Grande-Bretagne en 1942, elle parvient à se rendre sur le front. Ses reportages illustrent différentes réalités, tant les activités d’un hôpital militaire en Normandie que des scènes de rue en Allemagne. En 1945, elle photographie les camps de Buchenwald et de Dachau, témoignant ainsi des horreurs du régime nazi. Après la guerre, elle poursuit sa collaboration avec Vogue quelques années durant en tant que photographe de mode et de portraits. Puis elle se consacre exclusivement à l’écriture : des articles et des biographies d’artistes qu’elle cosigne avec R. Penrose. Passant avec courage du surréalisme et de la photographie de mode au photojournalisme le plus exigeant, L. Miller n’a bénéficié que d’une reconnaissance institutionnelle tardive. Comme Tina Modotti, l’épouse d’Edward Weston, comme Dora Maar, la compagne de P. Picasso, elle a appartenu à cette génération de femmes de l’entre-deux-guerres qui, pour avoir été les muses ou les épouses d’artistes célèbres, ont été reléguées au second rang, sans qu’on daigne, avant longtemps, prendre en considération leur œuvre personnelle.

Lire plus

Gaëlle Morel

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Portrait of Space, Nr Siwa, Egypt, 1937, épreuve gélatino-argentique, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Floating Head Mary Taylor, New York Studio, 1933, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 30 x 40 cm, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Severed breast from radical surgery, c. 1930, épreuve gélatino-argentique, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Leonor Fini, Saint Martin d’Ardèche, 1939, épreuve gélatino-argentique, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, David E. Scherman, dressed for war, 1942, épreuve gélatino-argentique, © Lee Miller Archives

Lee Miller — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lee Miller, Casualties being airlifted to England, 1944, épreuve gélatino-argentique, © Lee Miller Archives

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29