Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina

1889Riga, Latvia | 1953Moscow, Russia

Russian sculptor.

Her monumental sculpture, Worker and Kolkhoz Woman – a symbol of the dynamic and conquering USSR for some, socialist realism for others, or the even worse period of Stalinism – is recognisable not only for having dominated the Soviet Pavilion at the 1937 World’s Fair in Paris, but also for having been the emblem of Soviet cinema: the work was seen at the opening credits for the films produced by Mosfilm. Born to a family of well-off merchants in Riga, Vera Ignatevna Moukhina studied under Konstantin Yuon in Moscow, took sculpting courses in the studio of Sinitsyna in 1908, and worked in the studio of Ilya Machkon from 1911 to 1912, before honing her skill with sculptor Antoine Bourdelle at the Chaumière in Paris for two years. At the outbreak of the war in 1914, she returned to Russia. As the assistant to Alexandra Exter from 1915 to 1916, she worked on the sets of the Kamerny theatre. Starting from 1919, she contributed to the propaganda activities initiated by Lenin by sculpting the monument dedicated to N. I. Novikon, and designing posters and calendars. During this period, she competed in monumental sculpture projects. In 1926, she participated for the first time in the annual exhibition of sculpture at the History Museum, where she would go on to show her work for the following two years. Anchored in figurative realism, her work responded to the demands of Soviet propaganda: austere portraits (Koltsov, Zamkov, Taranovitch, Khijniak) exalting the energy and force that accompanied the heroic ideology of the time.

She quickly became an official artist of the regime. However, some of her sculptures, like that of the ballerina Galina Oulanova, reflected a certain sadness. Worker and Kolkhoz Woman remains her masterpiece, not only because of its size, but also because of her employment of stainless steel, the extension that it offered to the Palace of the Soviets built by Boris Iofan, as well as the impetus it gave to the group and its ideology. The realisation of the sculpture required a collaboration with two other women, Zinaida Ivanov and Nina Zelinskaya. Feminist Parisian journalists viewed the monumentality of the work by these three female sculptors was a demonstration of feminism.

Read more

Catherine Gonnard

Translated from French by Katia Porro.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Le Pain, 1939, bronze, 153 x 166 x 133 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Bertran Knight of Misfortune, 1916, gouache, silver and black ink on paper, 40 x 48.5 cm, costume Sketch for The Unperformed Drama The Rose and the Cross by A. Blok, collection particulière

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Flame of the Revolution, 1922, bronze, 90 x 43 x 50 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, L’Ouvrier et la Kolhozienne, 1937, stainless steel, 2500 cm high, Moscow

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Peasant Woman, 1927, bronze, 186 x 70 x 68 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Portrait Airwoman Yekaterina Budanova, 1943, bronze, 63 x 46 x 26 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Wind, 1927, Bronze, 88.5 x 54 x 40 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina

1889Riga, Lettonie | 1953Moscou, Russie

Sculptrice russe.

Sa sculpture monumentale, L’Ouvrier et la kolkhozienne, symbole de l’URSS dynamique et conquérante pour les uns, du réalisme socialiste pour les autres, ou même de la pire période du stalinisme, nous est familière pour avoir dominé le pavillon soviétique à l’Exposition universelle de Paris en 1937, mais aussi pour avoir été, pendant de longues années, l’emblème du cinéma soviétique : l’œuvre ouvrait les génériques des films produits par la Mosfilm. Née dans une famille de marchands aisés de Riga, Vera Ignatevna Moukhina suit l’enseignement de Konstantin Yuon à Moscou, prend des cours de modelage dans l’atelier de la sculptrice Sinitsyna en 1908, puis travaille, de 1911 à 1912, dans celui d’Ilya Machkov, avant de parfaire sa formation auprès du sculpteur Antoine Bourdelle, à la Chaumière à Paris, pendant deux ans. Lorsque la guerre éclate en 1914, elle revient en Russie. De 1915 à 1916, assistante d’Alexandra Exter, elle travaille sur des décors du théâtre Kamerny. À partir de 1919, elle contribue au plan de propagande initié par Lénine, en sculptant le monument dédié à N. I. Novikov, et en dessinant des affiches et des calendriers. Au cours de cette période, elle concourt à des projets de sculptures monumentales. En 1926, elle participe pour la première fois à l’exposition annuelle de sculptures au musée d’Histoire ; elle y exposera ensuite tous les ans.

Ancré dans le réalisme figuratif, son travail répond bien aux exigences de la propagande soviétique : les portraits austères (Koltsov, Zamkov, Taranovitch, Khijniak) exaltent l’énergie et la force qui accompagnent l’idéologie héroïque en vigueur. Elle devient assez rapidement une des artistes officielles du régime. Toutefois, certaines sculptures, comme celle de la ballerine Galina Oulanova, laissent transparaître un sentiment de tristesse. L’Ouvrier et la kolkhozienne reste son œuvre majeure, par la taille bien sûr, mais également par l’emploi d’acier inoxydable, le prolongement qu’elle offre au palais des Soviets de Boris Iofan, l’élan donné au groupe et l’idéologie qu’il porte. Sa réalisation a nécessité la collaboration de deux femmes, Zinaida Ivanov et Nina Zelinskaya. Des journalistes féministes parisiennes ont alors noté la monumentalité de l’œuvre des trois sculptrices comme une preuve de féminisme.

Lire plus

Catherine Gonnard

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Le Pain, 1939, bronze, 153 x 166 x 133 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Bertran Knight of Misfortune, 1916, gouache, encre argentée et noire sur papier, 40 x 48,5 cm, esquisse de costume du drame non interprété La rose et la croix de A. Blok, collection particulière

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Flame of the Revolution, 1922, bronze, 90 x 43 x 50 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, L’Ouvrier et la Kolhozienne, 1937, acier inoxydable, 2500 cm de haut, Moscou

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Peasant Woman, 1927, bronze, 186 x 70 x 68 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Portrait Airwoman Yekaterina Budanova, 1943, bronze, 63 x 46 x 26 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Vera Ignatevna  Moukhina — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Vera Ignatevna Moukhina, Wind, 1927, Bronze, 88,5 x 54 x 40 cm, Tretyakov Gallery

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29