Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Zoe Leonard

1961 | New York, United States
Informations
Sponsor
— Gallery Hauser & Wirth

American photographer, multimedia artist and activist.

A self-taught artist, Zoe Leonard experimented with both photography and activism. By the early 1980’s, instead of practicing conceptual photography which at that point thanks to technological advances and new pictorial formats rivaled painting, she was drawn to the form and texture of the gelatin silver process, to which she brought the utmost care, often using long exposure times after taking the shot. Her first photographs, of clouds taken through an airplane window (Untitled, 1989), railways (Aerial Untitled, 1986), waterfalls (Niagara Falls, 1986-1991), unfolded city maps (Map of Krakow, 1988-1990), as well as her nocturnal cityscapes (Paris, 1986) show apparent signs of accidents, marks and scars of use, including what happens during the creation of the image and the photographic process. For the artist, these small imperfections are the spearhead of resistance to norms—societal, gendered, and sexual. Leonard’s activism within Act Up in New York, but also in multiple lesbian artist groups, including Gang and Fierce Pussy (revived in 2010), created the link between radical action (dramatic public acts, expressing the activists’ anger with various administrations or agencies), and visual representation.

Her images describe social and sexual conventions as so many instruments of control: Chastity Belt 1990-1993 and Beauty Calibrator 1993. Her installation at Documenta 9 in Kassel, Germany in 1992 was one of the high points of her critique: the rooms of the Neue Galerie were emptied of their classical and romantic paintings, except those where women, represented by the male brush, occupied the center of the piece. Meanwhile the vacant places were hung with small, close-up black and white photographs of vulvas—friends of the artist—reversing both typical museum representations and the heterosexual point of view. The installation Strange Fruit (for David) (1992-1997), composed of some 300 fruit peels, sewn and “repaired” with colorful thread and stickers, is dedicated to her friend, the artist David Wojnarowicz, who died of AIDS. This piece both reflects the process of the work of mourning and, though purchased by the Philadelphia Museum of Art for its collection, is intended itself to perish one day.

Leonard has also developed a body of sculptural work (reconstituted trees, a disturbing assembly of damaged dolls, stacks of suitcases), and published materials (books of images and quotes, among others.) She also created, from scratch, an important collection of archives documenting the fictional biography of a black, lesbian actress in Hollywood in the 1930s, for the film The Watermelon Woman (1996) by filmmaker Cheryl Dunye. From 1998 to 2007, she embarked on Analog, a vast and poignant project based in her neighborhood, the Lower East Side of New York, at that point in full “gentrification.” Armed with a Rolleiflex 6×6 film camera (at the very moment digital photography was about to triumph), she began to capture each window of an endangered local retailer, threatened by the expansion of large chain stores and malls. This inventory of milliners, hairdressers, hardware stores, cobblers and television repair places also documents the waves of immigration happening at the same time as media images were developing of New York as the capital of the twentieth century. Also fascinated by recycled textiles, the artist followed each step of the path of used clothing; sold, worn again, then sold again, in batches across the world. She went as far as Cuba, Asia, and Uganda to photograph various styles and the bundling of things in the global economy: more than 10,000 photos—including about 400 selected by her for a book and several exhibitions, organized into different chapters and maps—of what she modestly calls, “her everyday life.” Leonard has exhibited in many international institutions.

Read more

Élisabeth Lebovici

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Wall, 2002, gelatin silver print, 101.2 x 68 cm, 39 7/8 x 26 3/4 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Dress + Suit (for Nancy), 1990-1995, gelatin silver print, 17.8 x 12.2 cm, 7 x 5 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 c-prints and gelatin silver prints, 28 x 28 cm each, 11 x 11 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 c-prints and gelatin silver prints, 28 x 28 cm each, 11 x 11 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 c-prints and gelatin silver prints, 28 x 28 cm each, 11 x 11 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 c-prints and gelatin silver prints, 28 x 28 cm each, 11 x 11 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, 1961, 2002 – on going, suitcases, height and width variable, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Tree, 1997, wood, steel, installation view: ‘Zoe Leonard’, Wiener Secession, Vienna, Austria, 1997, © Photo: Matthias Herman, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Untitled, 1989-2008, gelatin silver print, 40.3 x 27.3 cm, 15 7/8 x 10 3/4 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, You See I am Here after all, 2008, 3851 postcards, installation view, ‘You See I am Here After All’, Dia:Beacon, New York NY, 2008, Photo: Bill Jacobson, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, January 19, frame 7 + frame 11, 2012, two gelatin silver print, 28 x 33,3 cm chaque, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, 945 Madison, 2014, camera obscura, installation view, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York NY, 2014, © Photo: Bill Jacobson, © Zoe Leonard

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Zoe Leonard

1961 | New York, États-Unis
Informations
Soutien
— Gallery Hauser & Wirth

Photographe, artiste multimédia et activiste américaine.

Autodidacte, Zoe Leonard a expérimenté conjointement la photographie et le militantisme. Dès le début des années 1980, au lieu de pratiquer une photographie plasticienne qui rivalise alors avec le tableau grâce à ses avancées technologiques et son format pictural, elle s’attache à la forme et à la texture du tirage argentique, auquel elle apporte un soin extrême, respectant souvent un long temps de pose après la prise de vue. Ses premières photographies de nuages à travers le hublot d’un avion (Untitled, 1989), de chemins de fer (Untitled Aerial, 1986) de chutes d’eau (Niagara Falls, 1986-1991), de plans de ville dépliés (Map of Krakow, 1988-1990), ses vues urbaines nocturnes (Paris, 1986) portent d’emblée les accidents, marques et cicatrices de l’usage, y compris de ce qui « arrive » au cours de la fabrication de l’image, le procès de l’« épreuve » photographique. Ces petites imperfections sont, pour l’artiste, le fer de lance d’une résistance aux normes (sociales, genrées, sexuelles). L’activisme de Z. Leonard, au sein d’Act Up à New York, mais aussi de plusieurs groupes d’artistes lesbiennes, dont Gang et Fierce Pussy (réactivé en 2010), fait le lien entre « zap » politique (actions publiques, spectaculaires, exprimant la colère des militants contre telle administration ou tel organisme) et représentation visuelle.

Ses images décrivent les conventions sociales et sexuelles, comme autant d’instruments de contrôle : Chastity Belt (« ceinture de chasteté », 1990-1993) ; Beauty Calibrator (« calibrateur de beauté », 1993). L’installation de la Documenta 9 à Kassel en 1992 constitue l’un des points culminants de sa critique : les salles de la Neue Galerie sont vidées de leur peinture classique ou romantique ; seuls sont épargnés des tableaux où des femmes, représentées par un pinceau masculin, figurent en position centrale, tandis que les places vacantes sont occupées par de modestes photographies en noir et blanc de vulves, en plan rapproché, des amies de l’artiste, inversant à la fois le genre des représentations muséales et le point de vue de l’hétérosexualité. L’installation Strange Fruit (for David) (1992-1997), composée de quelque 300 peaux de fruits, cousues et « réparées » avec des fils colorés et des badges, est dédiée à son ami, l’artiste David Wojnarowicz, mort du sida. Cette œuvre traduit aussi le processus du travail de deuil et, quoique achetée par le musée de Philadelphie pour sa collection, est destinée elle-même à périr un jour.

L’artiste développe également un corpus de travaux sculpturaux (des arbres reconstitués, une inquiétante assemblée de poupées abimées, des piles de valises) ou éditoriaux (des livres d’images et de citations, entre autres) ; elle crée, de toutes pièces, un important ensemble d’archives destiné à documenter la biographie fictive d’une actrice noire et lesbienne dans le Hollywood des années 1930, pour le film de la cinéaste Cheryl Dunye, The Watermelon Woman (1996). De 1998 à 2007, elle se lance dans Analogue, un vaste et poignant projet à partir de son voisinage, le Lower East Side new-yorkais alors en pleine « gentrification » ; armée d’un appareil Rolleiflex analogique de format 6 x 6 (au moment où le digital est sur le point de triompher), elle entreprend de capter chaque vitrine des commerces de détail en voie de disparition, menacés par l’expansion des grandes marques et des malls. Cet inventaire d’enseignes de modistes et de coiffeurs, de quincailleries et de chausseurs, de réparateurs de télévision documente ainsi les vagues d’immigration concomitantes au « développement » des images médiatiques d’un New York, capitale du XXe siècle. Fascinée par le recyclage des textiles, l’artiste suit aussi pas à pas le parcours des ventes de vêtements usagés, portés à nouveau, puis, une fois de plus, revendus, en lots, à travers le monde. Elle va jusqu’à Cuba, en Asie ou en Ouganda pour photographier les divers styles de devantures et le ballotement des choses dans l’économie globale : soit plus de 10 000 photos, dont environ 400, sélectionnées par ses soins en vue d’un livre et de plusieurs expositions – organisées en différents chapitres et cartographies – de ce qu’elle appelle, avec modestie, « le quotidien de sa vie courante ». Z. Leonard a exposé dans de nombreuses institutions internationales.

Lire plus

Élisabeth Lebovici

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Wall, 2002, épreuve à la gélatine argentique, 101,2 x 68 cm, 39 7/8 x 26 3/4 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Dress + Suit (for Nancy), 1990-1995, épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 17,8 x 12,2 cm, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 tirages couleurs et épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 28 x 28 cm chaque, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 tirages couleurs et épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 28 x 28 cm chaque, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 tirages couleurs et épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 28 x 28 cm chaque, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Analogue, 1998-2009, 412 tirages couleurs et épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 28 x 28 cm chaque, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, 1961, 2002 – en cours, valises, poids et tailles variables, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Tree, 1997, bois, acier, vue de l’installation: ‘Zoe Leonard’, Wiener Secession, Vienna, Austria, 1997, © Photo : Matthias Herman, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, Untitled, 1989-2008, épreuve à la gélatine argentique, 40.3 x 27.3 cm, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, You See I am Here after all, 2008, 3851 cartes postales, vue de l’installation view, ‘You See I am Here After All’, Dia:Beacon, New York NY, 2008, Photo : Bill Jacobson, © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, January 19, frame 7 + frame 11, 2012, deux épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 28 x 33.3 cm each, 11 x 13 1/4 in., © Zoe Leonard

Zoe Leonard — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Zoe Leonard, 945 Madison, 2014, chamber noire, vue de l’installation, Whitney Museum of American Art, New York NY, 2014, © Photo : Bill Jacobson, © Zeo Leonard

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29