Prix AWARE

Julie Béna
Nominee of Prix 2018

© Margot Montigny

Julie Béna’s work is marked by her own history. The artist spent her childhood with a travelling theatre and became an actress when she was a teenager. Her universe is rooted in theatre, Antiquity, mythology, literature, and nightlife. It is made up of scenarios, romantic and epic heroes, and set sceneries, and has revolved around the same fictional figure for almost five years: Rose Pantopon.

Julie Béna - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Julie Béna, exhibition view Julie decided to try growing watermelons, 2017, ceramic, brass, metal, Plexiglas, Courtesy Julie Béna & Galerie Joseph Tang, © Galerie Joseph Tang

Like everything in Julie Béna’s work, Rose’s character is defined in relation to her place of existence and to the people who surround her. Rose Pantopon originally appears in the last chapters of Naked Lunch in the ramblings of an old junkie: “Have You Seen Pantopon Rose?” (2017) started with this fleeting apparition in William S. Burroughs’ text to gradually become the incarnation of Rose. Concurrently with the famous beat novel, the artist began reading Homer’s Odyssey and re-immersed herself in Greek tragedy. To her, it is as if Jack and Neal, the two protagonists of Jack Kerouac’s On the Road, had crossed paths with Homer – as if the beat generation had met Greek tragedy.

Have You Seen Pantopon Rose? combines the principles of the cabaret review with performance art and musicals. Rose Pantopon is not a patchwork, but rather an unusual, sweet and sour, bittersweet cocktail, for which the recipe is written bit by bit. Various elements are added and mixed in to make its taste more complex and longer lasting.

Julie Béna - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Julie Béna, Have you seen Pantopon Rose? The one woman show, 2017, film, 35’, Courtesy Julie Béna, © Julie Béna & we areghosthouse

The story of Have You Seen Pantopon Rose? is made up of objects, texts, gestures and musical pieces that follow two entities: Rose Pantopon and the Chorus. The Chorus is the principal, explanatory voice, the one which sets the tone. Rose Pantopon, an almost mute character played by the artist herself, is concerned with gestures, manipulations, cocktails, and dancing.

Her existence is lived, performed and seen following her creator’s travels. She performed in London, Montréal, New York, Los Angeles, and more recently in Brest, for her latest opus to date.

The time came for Julie Béna to bring together all these experiences and such an epic journey in one same venue. On this occasion, she produced a film in which Rose reveals herself through words, dance and music. The film comes with an interacting series of sculptures. Neither environment nor setting for the film, these sculptures become part of the story for a while before withdrawing from it later. They are to Rose Pantopon what the Cowardly Lion and the Tin Man are to Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz – fellow travellers who will keep on without her.

 

Julie Béna (1982, France) works on environments inspired by the worlds of literature, cinema, theatre, and popular culture. After graduating from the Villa Arson (Nice) in 2007 and studying at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam, she joined the Palais de Tokyo’s creative lab programme in 2012-2013. Between 2012 and 2016, she worked with the Fonderie Darling (Montréal), Futura Project (Prague), International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP, New York), Farenheit Flax Foundation (Los Angeles) and Rupert (Vilnius). In 2011 she participated in the Salon de Montrouge. Her performance pieces have since been seen in various venues in France and abroad: ICA (London), Performa (New York), Palais de Tokyo (Paris), Kadist Foundation (San Francisco), Syntax (Lisbon), IAC (Villeurbanne), Mendes Wood DM (São Paulo), and Passerelle centre d’art contemporain (Brest).

Commissioner: Étienne Bernard, director of Passerelle Contemporary Art Centre in Brest

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Julie Béna
Nommée au Prix 2018

© Margot Montigny

Julie Béna

Le travail de Julie Béna est marqué par son histoire. Elle passe son enfance dans un théâtre itinérant, sera elle-même comédienne à l’adolescence. Son univers s’appuie sur le théâtre, l’Antiquité, la mythologie, la littérature, la vie nocturne. Il se compose de scenarii, de héros romanesques et épiques, de décors plantés, et tourne depuis près de cinq années autour d’une figure fictive : Rose Pantoponne.

Julie Béna - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Julie Béna, vue de l’exposition Julie decided to try growing watermelons, 2017, céramique, cuivre, métal, Plexiglas, Courtesy Julie Béna & Galerie Joseph Tang, © Galerie Joseph Tang

Comme tout, chez Julie Béna, le personnage de Rose se définit par rapport à son lieu d’existence et aux gens qui l’entourent. À l’origine, Rose Pantoponne apparaît dans les derniers chapitres du Festin nu à travers les divagations de l’esprit d’un vieux camé : « Z’avez pas vu Rose Pantoponne ? » Have You Seen Pantopon Rose ? (2017) s’est construit à partir de cette apparition échappée du texte de William S. Burroughs vers l’incarnation de Rose. Parallèlement au fameux roman de la beat generation, l’artiste entame la lecture de l’Odyssée d’Homère et se replonge dans la tragédie grecque. Pour elle, c’est un peu comme si Jack et Neal, deux protagonistes de Sur la route de Jack Kerouac, avaient croisé Homère. Ou comment la beat generation rencontre le tragique antique.

Have You Seen Pantopon Rose ? conjugue la revue de cabaret avec la performance et la comédie musicale. Rose Pantoponne n’est pas un patchwork mais plutôt un cocktail surprenant, salé-sucré, doux-amer. La recette s’écrit au fur et à mesure. Des éléments viennent s’ajouter, se mêler pour sans cesse complexifier le goût et allonger le temps en bouche.

Julie Béna - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Julie Béna, Have you seen Pantopon Rose? The one woman show, 2017, film, 35’, Courtesy Julie Béna, © Julie Béna & we areghosthouse

L’histoire de Have You Seen Pantopon Rose ? est composée d’objets, de textes, de gestes, de musiques que suivent deux entités : Rose Pantoponne et le Chœur. Le Chœur, c’est la parole principale, explicative, celle qui donne le la. Rose Pantoponne, personnage quasi muet incarné par l’artiste elle-même, ce sont les gestes, les manipulations, les cocktails, la danse.

Et son existence d’être vécue, performée et vue à mesure des pérégrinations de son autrice. On la rencontrera ainsi à Londres, Montréal, New York, Los Angeles et, plus récemment, à Brest pour son dernier opus en date.

Car il était temps pour Julie Béna de réunir tant d’expériences et une telle épopée en un lieu. Pour l’occasion, elle a produit un film dans lequel Rose va se dévoiler par les mots, la danse et la musique. Le film s’accompagne d’un corpus de sculptures qui entrent en dialogue. Ni environnement ni, encore moins, décor du film, les pièces participent de l’histoire un temps pour mieux s’en détacher plus tard. Elles sont à Rose Pantoponne ce que le lion peureux et l’homme de fer blanc sont à Dorothy dans Le Magicien d’Oz, des compagnons de route qui continueront sans elle.

 

Julie Béna (1982, France) travaille sur des environnements qui s’inspirent du monde de la littérature, du cinéma, du théâtre et de la culture populaire. Diplômée en 2007 de la Villa Arson (Nice), passée par la Gerrit Rietveld Academie à Amsterdam, elle a rejoint en 2012-2013 le programme du laboratoire de création du palais de Tokyo. Entre 2012 et 2016, on la retrouve à la Fonderie Darling (Montréal), au Futura Project (Prague), à l’International Studio & Curatorial Program (ISCP, New York), au Fahrenheit de la Flax Foundation (Los Angeles) ou au Rupert (Vilnius). En 2011, elle a participé au Salon de Montrouge. Depuis, ses performances et ses travaux ont été montrés en divers lieux, en France et à l’étranger : ICA (Londres), Performa (New York), palais de Tokyo, Kadist Foundation (San Francisco), Syntax (Lisbonne), IAC (Villeurbanne), Mendes Wood DM (São Paulo), Passerelle centre d’art contemporain (Brest).

Rapporteur : Étienne Bernard, directeur de Passerelle centre d’art contemporain à Brest
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29