Prix AWARE

Marianne Mispelaëre
Nominee of Prix 2018

© Photo: Marcus Heim

Marianne Mispelaëre’s work functions on a sensitive plane by deploying fleeting gestures or spoken exchanges that become embodied in the simple tracing of lines, the silent eloquence of the signs we produce, and the disappearance of conventional forms of language. The artist’s universe is not withdrawn from the world. Rather, it explores one of its marginal paths: that which consists in distancing oneself from the continuous flow of words stripped from their context and singular histories in order to return to more essential, and yet fragile, forms of language.

Marianne Mispelaëre - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marianne Mispelaëre, mesurer les actes, 2015, in situ drawing, drawing performance, Indian ink on wall, paint brush, variable dimensions, Courtesy Marianne Mispelaëre, © Photo: Nicolas Lelièvre, © ADAGP, Paris

Marianne Mispelaëre observes the world’s agitation and its moments of uprising. This can be seen in the series Silent Slogan (2016-ongoing), in which she searches the Internet for pictures of gestures made during spontaneous rallies since 2010, from the Arab Spring to Nuit debout. The resulting series of postcards is a visual encyclopaedia in its own right, and brings together anonymous attempts to communicate the here and now of the people’s action to the rest of the world through ordinary and impulsive hand signs. All that is left today of these disappointed hopes is the polyphony of silent messages, which, at the time, chose the immediacy of a universal and direct form of expression over the media’s chaotic comments. “To me, the ‘Arab Spring’ is a fervent reminder of the impossibility of accepting the loss of a certain conception of free humankind”1 , says the artist. “Explaining reality doesn’t necessarily make it real. The telling of History must bear traces that do not imply an immediacy of methods or an accreditation of sources.”2 Silent Slogan also tells of the impossibility of this visual Babel. Indeed, the gestures, when taken out of their context and culture, can be subjected to a multitude of interpretations. What remains is the fulgurance of history in the making.

Marianne Mispelaëre - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marianne Mispelaëre, newspaper, 2013, photograph, set of 5 posters, digital print on blue back paper, 120 x 176 cm, Courtesy Marianne Mispelaëre, © Photo: Marianne Mispelaëre, © ADAGP, Paris

There is also the silence of hands that refuse to communicate or reveal their identity in the performance No Man’s Land (2014-ongoing), in which participants systematically striate the palm and fingers of their hand with a ballpoint pen before applying it to a piece of paper. The hand with its palm, the ultimate visual map of one’s life, and with its fingers, the intimate trace of one’s singularity, is in this case covered up, as if to deny its identity. The idea for the performance came from an image from Sylvain Georges’ documentary Qu’ils reposent en révolte (2010) about Calais and the men who scarify their hands in a final move to erase their roots and history.

While our lifespan may be read in the palm our hands, in this case existence becomes indistinct, caught in a cacophony of tangled lines, like a blur of various destinies.

Sometimes a line becomes a furrow and the body a standard by which to gauge space, as in Mesurer les actes (2011-ongoing). Created as performance pieces, these murals consist in vertical parallel lines drawn very close to each other in varying densities of greys and blacks and in continuous, unbroken strokes starting from the highest point the artist is able to reach. She keeps drawing until she runs out of ink, space, or energy. The line – both a trajectory and a process – becomes a seismograph of the body in its own right.

In this constant to and fro between an anthropomorphic reinterpretation of drawing and an anthropology of gestures, and between intimate and collective realms, Marianne Mispelaëre pursues her quest for a form of primitivism or quintessence of movements. While her work expresses a certain difficulty to enunciate or be heard amid the deafening sound of the world, it also affirms, project after project, the persistence of vital impulses, forms of resistance, and essential signs.

 

Marianne Mispelaëre (1988, France) graduated from the Haute École des arts du Rhin (HEAR) in Strasbourg in 2012, received the Grand Prize at the Salon de Montrouge 2017, and is due for a solo show at the Palais de Tokyo in February 2018. Her work has been shown in France and abroad, particularly by the mfc-michèle didier Gallery, at the Centre des livres d’artistes (CDLA, Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche), at 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine (Metz), and at Centre Pompidou-Metz. She was selected for the Kunstpreis Robert Schuman (Trier, Germany) in 2015 and for the Edward Steichen Award (Luxembourg) in 2017; she received the Ville de Grenoble Prize, organised by Le Magasin – CNAC, in 2016.

1
Portfolio de l’artiste, en ligne, URL : www.mariannemispelaere.com.

2
Ibidem.

Commissioner: Hélène Guenin, director of the MAMAC in Nice

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Marianne Mispelaëre
Nommée au Prix 2018

© Marcus Heim

Marianne Mispelaëre

Le travail de Marianne Mispelaëre œuvre sur un territoire sensible en déployant des gestes éphémères ou des échanges oraux qui s’incarnent dans le simple tracé de lignes, l’éloquence silencieuse des signes que nous produisons et la disparition de formes conventionnelles de langage. Son univers ne fait pas sécession avec le monde. Il en explore une voie marginale : celle qui consiste à s’éloigner du flux continu de mots vidés de leur contexte, désincarnés des histoires singulières pour revenir à des formes de langage essentielles et pourtant fragiles.

Marianne Mispelaëre - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marianne Mispelaëre, mesurer les actes, 2015, dessin in situ, action performative de dessin, encre de chine sur mur, pinceau petit gris, dimensions variables, Courtesy Marianne Mispelaëre, © Photo : Nicolas Lelièvre, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Marianne Mispelaëre observe l’agitation du monde, ses moments de soulèvement, comme dans la série Silent Slogan (2016-en cours), collecte de gestes entamée sur Internet et témoignant de rassemblements spontanés advenus depuis 2010, du Printemps arabe à Nuit debout. Véritable encyclopédie visuelle, la série de cartes postales rassemble des tentatives anonymes de communiquer l’ici et maintenant de l’action au monde entier à travers des mouvements de mains banals et impulsifs. Il reste aujourd’hui, de ces espoirs déçus, la polyphonie de messages silencieux qui ont préféré alors, aux commentaires chaotiques des médias, l’immédiateté d’une expression à vocation universelle et directe. « Le “Printemps Arabe” me raconte avec ferveur le deuil impossible d’une certaine conception de l’humanité libre1 » précise Marianne Mispelaëre. « Expliquer le réel n’a pas forcément de réalité. L’écriture de l’Histoire doit porter des traces qui ne se donnent pas l’immédiateté des méthodes ni l’accréditation des sources2. » Silent Slogan dit aussi l’impossibilité de cette Babel visuelle, car les gestes, sortis de leur contexte, de leur culture, prennent une multiplicité d’interprétations. Reste la fulgurance d’une histoire en train de s’écrire.

Marianne Mispelaëre - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Marianne Mispelaëre, newspaper, 2013, photographie, série de 5 affiches, impression numérique sur papier dos bleu, 120 x 176 cm, Courtesy Marianne Mispelaëre, © Photo : Marianne Mispelaëre, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Silence aussi de ces mains qui refusent de communiquer, de livrer leur identité, avec No Man’s Land (2014-en cours), performance consistant à strier systématiquement de stylo-bille la paume de la main et l’extrémité des doigts avant de reporter ces traces sur une feuille de papier. La main, véritable carte visuelle de l’existence avec sa paume, trace intime de notre singularité avec ses empreintes digitales, est ici recouverte comme pour nier l’identité. Cette action est inspirée d’une image glanée dans le documentaire Qu’ils reposent en révolte (2010) de Sylvain George, consacré à Calais, à ces hommes qui scarifient leurs mains dans un ultime geste d’effacement des racines et de leur histoire.

Si l’espérance de vie peut se lire au creux de la main, l’existence ici devient confuse, dans cette cacophonie de lignes entremêlées, comme autant de destins.

Parfois la ligne devient sillon, le corps un étalon à l’aune duquel se jauge l’espace, comme dans Mesurer les actes (2011-en cours). Élaboré au cours de performances, ce dessin mural montre des lignes parallèles et verticales qui se frôlent et varient en densité dans une gamme de gris et de noirs, sans arrêt ni reprise depuis le point le plus haut que l’artiste puisse atteindre. Le dessin se poursuit jusqu’à épuisement de l’encre, de l’espace ou jusqu’au sien propre. La ligne – à la fois trajectoire et processus – devient un véritable sismographe du corps.

Dans ce va-et-vient permanent entre relecture anthropomorphique du dessin et anthropologie des gestes, entre intime et collectif, Marianne Mispelaëre poursuit sa quête d’une forme de primitivisme ou de quintessence des mouvements. Si son travail exprime la difficulté d’énoncer ou d’être entendu·e dans le bruit assourdissant du monde, il affirme, au fil des projets, la persistance d’élans vitaux, de formes de résistance, de signes essentiels.

 

Diplômée en 2012 de la Haute École des arts du Rhin (HEAR), à Strasbourg, Marianne Mispelaëre (1988, France) est lauréate du grand prix du Salon de Montrouge 2017 et bénéficiera d’une exposition personnelle au palais de Tokyo en février 2018. Son travail est montré en France et à l’étranger, notamment à la galerie mfc-michèle didier, au Centre des livres d’artistes (CDLA, Saint-Yrieix-la-Perche), au 49 Nord 6 Est – FRAC Lorraine (Metz) et au Centre Pompidou-Metz. Elle a été sélectionnée pour le Kunstpreis Robert Schuman (Trèves, Allemagne) en 2015 et pour l’Edward Steichen Award (Luxembourg) en 2017 ; en 2016, elle a été lauréate du prix de la Ville de Grenoble, organisé par Le Magasin – CNAC.

1
Portfolio de l’artiste, en ligne, URL : www.mariannemispelaere.com.

2
Ibidem.

Rapporteuse : Hélène Guenin, directrice du MAMAC à Nice
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29