Browse by Themes

Healing Genius: Women Artists and Psychiatry
Major Questions in Art History
25.09.2020 | Nina Meisel

Unica Zürn, Untitled, 1965, ink and gouache on paper, 65 x 50 cm, 25 5/8 x 19 3/4 in., Courtesy Ubu Gallery, New York & Galerie Berinson, Berlin

Madness, hysteria (comes from the word uterus): these disorders are stereotypically labelled as female. Sometimes alienated due to their eccentricity and exuberance, out of the ordinary for the 1950s, women’s lives were shattered when they were removed from everyday life and placed in institutions or underwent operations such as a lobotomy, a revolution in modern medicine that was extremely popular in the United States at the time.
Yet for certain women these troubled times were sources of creation, giving them a different perception and understanding of the world. Illness inspired Unica Zürn (1916-1970) who questioned her female self from exterior perspectives through her texts and artworks. She observed and staged herself amongst chimeric animals, the distance taken from her own body betraying the schizophrenia that she lived with. Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama (b. 1929) uses art to curb the anguish of her hallucinations. She seeks to immerse her spectators in the infinite exuberance of the colourful forms of her childhood. Dora Maar’s depressive phase led her to abandon photography and turn to painting and engraving the austere landscapes of Provence, where she had withdrawn.

However for some artists the confinement of body and mind sometimes sounded the death knell of creation. Camille Claudel (1864-1943) was interned from 1913 at the request of her brother, as Séraphine Louis, known as Séraphine de Senlis (1864-1942), in 1932, after having squandered her fortune and sinking into madness, and Frances Hodgkins (1869-1947) in the 1940s. They ended their days in institutions abandoning their artistic practice.

For other artists these places of care are the source of inspiration. The observations of Annette Messager (b. 1943) and Mâkhi Xenakis (b. 1956) are haunted by child neuroses, which echo the pathologies of patients in psychiatric hospitals. For Les Folles d’enfer de la Salpêtrière (2004), M. Xenakis immersed herself in hospital archives to capture its atmosphere and create a work for the chapel that speaks of the confinement of women in the hospice. In Chile, after gaining the trust of the patients of the Putaendo psychiatric hospital, Paz Errázuriz (b. 1944) assembled portraits of the internees, cut off from the world, whose lives she wanted to illustrate and document, together in the album El Infarto del Alma (The infarction of the soul, 1994).

Healing Genius: Women Artists and Psychiatry

In 1945 Jean Dubuffet (1901-1985) defined the part of art brut born from artistic research in places of internment by two parameters. The first was the self-taught character of the artist, which often implied their social marginalisation. The second lay in aesthetic research, which found new languages and new techniques. It was also J. Dubuffet who first exhibited the works Aloïse Corbaz, known as Aloïse (1886-1964) in 1948 within the framework of the Compagnie de l’Art Brut. For this artist, confinement coincided with the beginning of her creative work, which proved to be an outlet. She worked with materials recovered from hospital rubbish bins to form the characters she met in her delirium during her 46 years of isolation.

The art brut movement and the interest in it have made it possible, even today, for artists suffering from mental illness to be exhibited in museums. The exhibition Flying High: Women Artists of Art Brut (12 February to 23 June 2019) at the Bank Austria Kunstforum in Vienna brought together more than three hundred art brut works by ninety-three women from twenty different countries from public collections and the private collections of leading psychiatrists. The history of madness as a creative force has also inspired filmmakers such as Martin Provost, who directed the 2008 film Séraphine, a tribute to Séraphine Louis played by Yolande Moreau.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Parcours thématiques

Soigner le génie : artistes femmes et psychiatrie
Les grandes questions de l’histoire de l’art
25.09.2020 | Nina Meisel

Unica Zürn, Untitled, 1959, encre et gouache sur papier, 45,1 x 61,9 cm, Courtesy Ubu Gallery, New York & Galerie Berinson, Berlin

La folie, l’hystérie (issu du mot utérus), voilà des maux tout particulièrement stéréotypés féminins. Parfois taxées d’aliénation pour leur excentricité et leur exubérance hors norme pour l’époque, des femmes ont vu leur quotidien s’effondrer lorsqu’on les a retirées de la vie civile pour les placer dans des institutions ou qu’on a pratiqué sur elles des opérations, comme la lobotomie, révolution de la médecine moderne extrêmement populaire dans les États-Unis des années 1950.
Pourtant ces périodes troubles ont été pour certaines femmes sources de création, leur conférant une perception et une appréhension différente du monde. La maladie inspire Unica Zürn (1916-1970) qui interroge dans ses textes et ses œuvres son moi-femme depuis des points de vue extérieurs. Elle s’observe et se met en scène parmi des animaux chimériques, la distance prise avec son propre corps trahit la schizophrénie dont elle est atteinte. La japonaise Yayoi Kusama (née en 1929) utilise l’art pour déjouer les angoisses que lui procurent ses hallucinations. Elle cherche à immerger les spectateur·rice·s dans l’infini exubérance des formes colorées de son enfance. La phase dépressive que connait Dora Maar (1907-1997) l’amène à délaisser la photographe et à se tourner vers la peinture et la gravure de paysages austères de Provence dans laquelle elle s’est retirée.

Cependant, l’enfermement du corps et de l’esprit sonne parfois le glas de la création pour certaines artistes. Camille Claudel (1864-1943) est internée à partir 1913 sur la demande de son frère, tout comme Frances Hodgkins (1869-1947) dans les années 1940 ou Séraphine Louis, dite de Senlis (1864-1942) en 1932 après avoir dilapidé sa fortune et sombré dans la folie. Elles finiront leurs jours dans des institutions délaissant leur pratique artistique.

Ces lieux de soins sont la source d’inspiration d’autres artistes. Les observations d’Annette Messager (née en 1943) et de Mâkhi Xenakis (née en 1956) sont hantées par les névroses enfantines, qui font écho aux pathologies des patient·e·s des hôpitaux psychiatriques. Pour Les Folles d’enfer de la Salpêtrière (2004), M. Xenakis s’immerge dans les archives de l’hôpital pour en saisir l’ambiance et créer une œuvre pour la chapelle qui parle de l’enfermement des femmes à l’hospice. Au Chili, Paz Errázuriz (née en 1944), après avoir gagné la confiance des malades de l’hôpital psychiatrique de Putaendo, rassemble dans l’album El Infarto del Alma [L’infarctus de l’âme, 1994], les portraits des interné·e·s dont elle souhait illustrer et documenter les vies coupées du monde.
Une part de l’art brut né des recherches artistiques dans les lieux d’internement, il est défini en 1945 par Jean Dubuffet (1901-1985) selon deux paramètres. Le premier est le caractère autodidacte de l’artiste, ce qui implique souvent la marginalisation sociale de celui·celle-ci. Le second réside dans la recherche esthétique, qui trouve de nouveaux langages et de nouvelles techniques. C’est aussi J. Dubuffet qui expose pour la première fois les œuvres Aloïse Corbaz, dite Aloïse (1886-1964) en 1948 dans le cadre de la Compagnie de l’Art Brut. Pour cette artiste, l’internement coïncide avec le début de la création qui semble être un exutoire. Elle travaille à partir des matériaux récupérés dans les poubelles de l’hôpital et façonne pendant ses 46 ans d’enfermement les personnages qu’elle rencontre dans ses délires.

Le mouvement de l’art brut et l’intérêt qui lui est porté permettent, encore aujourd’hui, à des artistes atteint·e·s de maladies mentales d’être exposé·e·s dans les salles des musées : dans les salles de la banque Austria Kunstforum de Vienne, l’exposition Flying High: Women Artists of Art Brut (12 février au 23 juin 2019) a rassemblé plus de 300 œuvres brutes réalisées par 93 femmes dans une vingtaine de pays différents issues de collections privées de grand psychiatres ou de collections publiques. L’histoire de la folie comme force créatrice a également inspiré des cinéastes comme Martin Provost qui réalise, en 2008, le film Séraphine, en hommage à Séraphine Louis interprétée par Yolande Moreau.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29