Our publications

Symposium papers

Published on 01.10.2020

Performance: a place of visibility for female artists?

Juliette Bertron et Carole Halimi

Introduction

This publication follows a conference that took place on May 14th, 2018 at the Beaux-Arts de Paris. Entitled, “La performance : un espace de visibilité pour les femmes artistes ?” [Performance: a place of visibility for female artists?], the conference was part of the interdisciplinary research programme “Visibilité et invisibilité des savoirs des femmes : les créations, les savoirs et leur circulation, XVIe-XXIe siècles” [Visibility and Invisibility of Women’s Knowledge: Creations, Knowledge and Circulation, 16th-21st century].1 Led by Caroline Trotot in the heart of the Littératures, Savoirs et Arts (LISAA) research lab at the Université Paris-Est – Marne-la- Vallée from 2017-2018, this programme benefited from the support and active collaboration with the association AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, for both the conference and the present publication. One of the objectives was to study how creative work or the use of the body can give way to strategies of diversion allowing to question mechanisms of visibility and invisibility that regulate women’s knowledge. As a result, performance has become a field interweaving these aspects of the body and of the work of art, particularly since it has been largely invested by women throughout its history.

If we consider performance in its strictest definition—“an artistic manifestation in which the execution of an act or gesture has value in and of itself”— we can immediately understand how this medium lies directly on the border of where the artwork and the body merge not only as operators of knowledge, but also as instruments of interaction with the social, the audience and the environment.2 The performative act, in its visibility and invisibility, is the place of tangible interrogation able to convey and divert knowledge, as well as raising questions. If this medium has been able to serve a field of feminist revendications, it is because in performance women have found themselves simultaneously as actors, creators and subjects. The method of visibility and exhibition of the self at play in performance allows us to create a hollow space where women can physically and conceptually engage in a questioning of their own condition.

By becoming a popular artistic embodiment of the feminine, performance has only exacerbated a strategy that has been at work for a long time. When we consider attitudes by lady Hamilton at the end of the 18th century, or even the tableaux vivants from the 19th century, it is clear that women already occupied positions as both creators and subjects.3 Often at the initiative of men and intended for their enjoyment, these representations could have nevertheless created a liberating space where women could free themselves from the existing norms. This space of body exposure and its physical valorisation through movement and pose was readily given to women to satisfy the pleasures of the male gaze’s scopic drive. Several female performers, as seen with numerous articles in this publication, have openly played with this dual reality between seduction and denunciation. Thus, one can question the intrinsic link that binds performance to women. In an aphorism from The Gay Science by Fredrich Nietzsche that addressed the unveiling of the invisible and the beautiful in the space of life and the visible, comes the following affirmation: “Yes, life is a woman!”4 In this publication, we wish to divert this statement coming from a place of masculine thinking, as gay as it was, to address another hypothesis — “Yes, performance is a woman!”

Beyond the medium itself, it is to the history of performance that this affirmation can thus be linked. It was RoseLee Goldberg that published one of the first books on the history of performance in the 20th century in 1979.5 For quite some time, this art form was thus found in the margins of canonical art history. The questions raised through consciences and bodies left only traces that could no longer be considered at the same level as traditional works of art. It was necessary to reconsider the traces and archives as a new mode of transmitting knowledge in order to make the invisible reality of performative practices visible. Over time, certain female artists emerged as established founding figures in the history of performance, among them are Gina Pane (1939-1990), Hannah Wilke (1940-1993) and Yvonne Rainer (born 1934), who will be discussed in this publication.

It is clear that a conference or a publication about performance must be in touch with the impetus of the medium and its impact on reality. The collective Laboratoire de la contre-performance (Counter Performance Lab, founded in 2014) thus delivered a lecture-performance under the provocative title Les Contre-archives [The Counter-archives] at the Beaux-Arts de Paris on May 14th, 2018. Initially, the framework of the conference favoured three axes of research: the exposed body, the intimate and sexuality, and social interaction. The authors of this publication adapted these various lines of thinking, reconsidering the dialectics of visibility and invisibility of women’s knowledge in and through the medium of performance. Through the performative act, women are confronted with their environment, allowing a re-examining of societal, historical, cultural and anthropological frameworks.

The publication opens with a text by Camille Paulhan, focusing on the recurrent use of domestic acts in performances from the 1960s and 1970s, and more specifically the actions of Mierle Laderman Ukeles (born 1939). C. Paulhan’s approach is nourished by feminist slogans as well as archetypes from popular culture. She highlights how these performances combine a politicised reflection on invisible and gendered savoir-faire and domestic work with a reflection on the institutional legitimacy of female artists.

The constraints and invisibilisation that affect women in the social field are also questions raised in the article by Maud Jacquin. Through the analysis of works by Gill Eatherley (born 1950), Sally Potter (born 1949), Trisha Brown (1936-2017), Barbara Hammer (1939-2019) and the duo formed by Maria Klonaris (1950-2014) and Katerina Thomadaki (born 1949), the author illustrates how the practices of expanded cinema, by orchestrating the confrontation between the physical presence of live performers and their filmed images, engendered not only the surpassing of the traditional cinematographic screen, but also the straitjacket too often imposed on the female body.

As seen in Thérèse St-Gelais’s contribution to the publication, this emancipatory potentiality of performance as a means of critiquing norms and stereotypes is mobilised in the works of Nadège Grebmeier Forget (born 1985) and Rebecca Belmore (born 1960). Based notably on foundational theories of Judith Butler, the author highlights the possible emergence of real representations of women and their sexuality, as well as the unveiling of new subjectivities. In the performances of N. Grebmeier Forget, the colourful and outrageous staging of feminine excessiveness disrupts the social expectations of seduction and beauty. With R. Belmore, the same seduction is displaced towards a troubling aestheticization of suffering and wounds employed to reveal the underlying violence against women, particularly indigenous Anishinaabe women.

These same decrees of beauty, youth and health specific to patriarchal societies are highly criticised through the works of Y. Rainer, Jo Spence (1934-1992) and H. Wilke, as discussed by Johanna Renard. The suffering bodies of these artists, all suffering from cancer in the 1980s and 1990s, were exposed to scrutiny and invested with a strong contentious force, not without a certain subversive impertinence. Performative practices thus become a means of documenting illness while fighting against a dispossession of the body suffering in a medical context.

The theme of suffering takes on a different role in the performances of G. Pane between 1968 and 1979, here studied by Janig Bégoc. The author reveals a survival of popular feminine rituals with healing and cathartic functions, particularly regarding the phenomenon of tarantism. She weaves the links between these performances and the both symbolic and mythological figure of the spider, proposing a new reading of the artist’s use of wounds and blood, enriched by the anthropology of feminine knowledge. The last article in this publication written by the collective Laboratoire de la contre-performance documents the lectureperformance Les Contre-archives. With caustic humour, the links between performance and archives are questioned through the use of fiction, as well as a theoretical discourse and re-enactment carried out with artefacts.

This contribution invites us to reconsider the role of the archive in the dialectic of visibility and invisibility from a historiographical perspective.6 Through her analysis, C. Paulhan mentions the absence of archives related to the performances of M. Laderman Ukeles at the Wadsworth Atheneum museum of art—a revealing absence in regards to the housework that is unnoticed by society and the fate that is too often reserved for female artists. According to J. Bégoc, it is precisely from the photographs of the performances by G. Pane that she is able to detect a “slightly visible” oscillation and swaying in the artist’s body that gives her importance. It is thus through the full scope of these documents—at times having the status of a work of art in and of themselves—from which a history of performance can be extracted. The fifty-year period, from the late 1960s until today, covered by the works examined here provides an additional testimony— if still needed—to the essential role held by female artists in the artistic field.

It must be noted that the contributions brought together in this publication shed light on a new history of current and ancestral feminine knowledge, whether intimate, medical, ritual, domestic or artisanal. Against the backdrop of the strong ties to the demands of feminist activism, performance appears in all of its active and profoundly reformative strength as a tool of protest and empowerment allowing women artists to assert themselves as subjects.

In conclusion, we would like to warmly thank the participants of the conference and the authors of the present publication; Caroline Trotot; Kathy Alliou, Jean-Marc Bustamante, Jany Lauga and Armelle Pradalier from the Beaux-Arts de Paris; the AWARE team, and notably Hanna Alkema, Camille Morineau and Sorana Munteanu.

Colophon

Direction d’ouvrage
Juliette Bertron
Carole Halimi
Hanna Alkema

Coordination éditoriale 
Juliette Bertron

Conception graphique et mise en page
Lisa Sturacci
avec Clément Wibaut

Relecture
Marion Lacroix

Iconographie
Consuelo Crulci

Traduction
Katia Porro

Co-édition
Archives of Women Artists,
Research and Exhibitions
LISAA, UPEM

AWARE
Retour au sommaire
1
https://femmesavoir.hypotheses.org

2
Charles Daniel, “Performance, art”, in Encyclopædia universalis, Paris, 2010 (digital version).

3
With her attitudes, lady Hamilton is at the origin of the genre that emulates Ida Brun and Henriette Hendel-Schütz in the 19th century. See Gram Holmström Kirsten, Monodrama, Attitudes, Tableaux Vivants, Studies on Some Trends of Theatrical Fashion, 1770-1815, Stockholm, Almqvist & Wiksell, 1967. The implication of women as creators and/or subjects in the tableaux vivants at the end of the 18th and beginning of 19th century is apparent in a number of examples: lady Hamilton, as well as the Countess of Genlis, the painter Élisabeth Vigée- Lebrun or later the Countess of Castiglione. When such spectacles are reported in literary works, the role of women is highlighted once again. Such is the case in The Elective Affinities (1809) by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, La Curée [The Kill, 1871] by Émile Zola, and The House of Mirth (1905) by American novelist Edith Wharton. See Halimi Carole, Le Tableau vivant de Diderot à Artaud, et son esthétique dans les arts visuels contemporains (XXe-XXIe siècles), PhD dissertation in art history, Paris, université Paris 1 – Panthéon-Sorbonne, 2011.

4
Nietzsche Friedrich, Le Gai Savoir (La gaya scienza) (1882-1887), in OEuvres, edited by Jean Lacoste and Jacques Le Rider, translated from German by Henri Albert, Paris, Robert Laffont, 1993, t. II, IV, § 339, « Vita femina », p. 201. The English title The Gay Science comes from the 1974 translation by Walter Kauffmann.

5
Goldberg RoseLee, Performance Art from Futurism to the Present (1979), London, Thames & Hudson, 1988.

6
See Bégoc Janig, Boulouch Nathalie and Zabunyan Elvan (eds.), La Performance. Entre archives et pratiques contemporaines, Rennes, Presses universitaires de Rennes, 2011.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Nos publications

Actes de colloque

Publiés le 01.10.2020

La performance : un espace de visibilité pour les femmes artistes ?

Juliette Bertron et Carole Halimi

Introduction

La présente publication fait suite à une journée d’étude qui s’est déroulée le 14 mai 2018 aux Beaux-Arts de Paris. Intitulée « La performance : un espace de visibilité pour les femmes artistes ? », cette journée s’inscrivait dans le cadre du programme de recherche interdisciplinaire « Visibilité et invisibilité des savoirs des femmes : les créations, les savoirs et leur circulation, XVIe-XXIe siècles1 ». Porté par Caroline Trotot au sein du laboratoire Littératures, Savoirs et Arts (LISAA) de l’université Paris-Est — Marne-la-Vallée en 2017-2018, ce programme a bénéficié, pour cette journée d’étude et pour cette publication, du soutien et de la collaboration active de l’association AWARE : Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions. Un des objectifs était d’étudier comment l’œuvre créatrice ou encore l’usage du corps pouvaient donner lieu à des stratégies de détournement permettant d’interroger les mécanismes de visibilité et d’invisibilité qui régissent les savoirs des femmes. La performance s’est en conséquence imposée comme un terrain imbriquant conjointement ces aspects du corps et de l’œuvre, d’autant qu’elle a, dans son histoire, été en grande partie investie par les femmes.

Si l’on considère la performance dans sa définition la plus stricte — une « manifestation artistique dans laquelle l’acte ou le geste de l’exécution a une valeur pour lui-même2 » —, on comprend immédiatement comment cette forme d’art travaille directement sur cette frontière où l’œuvre et le corps fusionnent comme opérateurs du savoir, mais aussi comme instruments d’interaction avec le social, le public et l’environnement. L’acte performatif, dans sa visibilité ou son invisibilité, est le lieu d’une interrogation tangible, à même de véhiculer des savoirs comme d’en détourner ou d’en interroger d’autres. Si ce médium a pu servir de terrain aux revendications féministes, c’est que les femmes s’y trouvent à la fois actrices, créatrices et sujets. Le mode de visibilité et d’exposition de soi en jeu dans la performance permet de dessiner un espace en creux, où les femmes peuvent physiquement et conceptuellement se livrer à une remise en question de leur propre condition.

En devenant un mode de réalisation artistique particulièrement prisé du féminin, la performance n’a fait qu’exacerber une stratégie à l’œuvre depuis fort longtemps. Quand on songe aux attitudes de lady Hamilton à la fin du XVIIIe siècle ou encore aux tableaux vivants du XIXe siècle, il apparaît que les femmes occupaient déjà les positions de créatrices et de sujets3. Souvent à l’initiative des hommes et destinées à leur regard, ces représentations pouvaient toutefois constituer un espace libérateur où parvenir pour un temps à s’affranchir des normes en vigueur. De fait, l’espace de l’exposition du corps, de sa valorisation plastique par le mouvement et par la pose s’est trouvé sans difficulté cédé aux femmes, pour satisfaire aux plaisirs de la pulsion scopique du regard masculin. De nombreuses performeuses, comme le montrent plusieurs articles de cette publication, jouent ouvertement sur cette réalité duelle de la séduction et de la dénonciation. Autrement dit, on pourrait s’interroger sur le lien intrinsèque qui relie la performance aux femmes. Dans un aphorisme du Gai Savoir, Friedrich Nietzsche, abordant justement, dans l’espace de la vie et du visible, le dévoilement de l’invisible et de la beauté, en vient à cette affirmation : « Oui, la vie est une femme4 ! » Nous aurons plaisir dans le présent volume à détourner cette chute énoncée depuis l’espace d’un savoir masculin, aussi gai soit-il, pour interroger une autre hypothèse selon laquelle « Oui, la performance est une femme ! »

Au-delà du médium lui-même, c’est à son histoire que peut se rattacher cette affirmation. C’est à RoseLee Goldberg que l’on doit l’un des premiers ouvrages de synthèse sur l’histoire de la performance au XXe siècle, publié pour la première fois en 19795. C’est dire si, pendant longtemps, cette forme d’art s’est trouvée en marge de l’histoire de l’art canonique. Les questionnements portés par les consciences et les corps n’avaient laissé que des traces que l’on ne souhaitait pas envisager sur le même plan que l’œuvre traditionnelle. Il a fallu reconsidérer ces traces, ces archives, comme un autre mode de transmission du savoir pour que cet invisible de la réalité des pratiques performatives devienne visible. Certaines artistes femmes ont pu émerger pour être érigées, avec le temps, en figures fondatrices de l’histoire de la performance. Parmi elles, on peut compter Gina Pane (1939-1990), Hannah Wilke (1940-1993) et Yvonne Rainer (née en 1934), dont il sera question dans ce volume.

Enfin, une journée d’étude ou une publication sur la performance se doivent d’être en prise avec la force d’action du médium et son impact sur le réel. C’est ainsi que le collectif du Laboratoire de la contre-performance (fondé en 2014) s’est livré le 14 mai 2018 aux Beaux-Arts de Paris à une conférence-performance, sous le titre provocateur Les Contre-archives. Initialement, le cadre de la journée d’étude privilégiait trois axes : le corps exposé, l’intime et la sexualité, l’interaction avec le social. Les autrices des textes du présent ouvrage se sont approprié ces orientations, en repensant la dialectique de la visibilité et de l’invisibilité des savoirs des femmes dans et par le médium de la performance. Les femmes s’y trouvent confrontées à leur environnement, invitant dans l’acte performatif à réexaminer les cadres sociétaux, historiques, culturels et anthropologiques.

Nous inaugurons l’ouvrage avec le texte de Camille Paulhan qui a choisi de porter son attention sur l’utilisation récurrente des gestes ménagers dans les performances des années 1960 et 1970, et plus particulièrement dans les actions de Mierle Laderman Ukeles (née en 1939), tout en nourrissant son approche par la convocation de slogans féministes et par le rappel de grands archétypes issus de notre culture populaire. Elle met ainsi en exergue la manière dont ces performances mêlent une réflexion politique sur un savoir-faire et un travail domestiques genrés et invisibilisés à une réflexion sur la légitimité institutionnelle des artistes femmes.

Les contraintes et l’invisibilisation touchant les femmes dans le champ social sont des aspects également abordés par Maud Jacquin dans son article. À travers l’analyse des œuvres de Gill Eatherley (née en 1950), de Sally Potter (née en 1949), de Trisha Brown (1936- 2017), de Barbara Hammer (1939-2019) et du duo formé par Maria Klonaris (1950-2014) et Katerina Thomadaki (née en 1949), l’autrice démontre comment les pratiques du cinéma élargi, en orchestrant la confrontation entre les présences physiques des performeuses live et leurs images filmées, engendrent le dépassement non seulement du cadre de l’écran cinématographique traditionnel, mais aussi du carcan trop souvent imposé aux corps féminins.

Cette potentialité émancipatrice de la performance pour s’attaquer aux normes et aux stéréotypes est mobilisée dans les œuvres de Nadège Grebmeier Forget (née en 1985) et de Rebecca Belmore (née en 1960), étudiées par Thérèse St-Gelais dans sa contribution. En s’appuyant notamment sur les théories fondatrices de Judith Butler, l’autrice met en avant l’émergence possible de représentations réelles des femmes et de leurs sexualités, ainsi que le dévoilement de nouvelles subjectivités. Dans les performances de N. Grebmeier Forget, la mise en scène colorée et outrancière d’une démesure féminine vient perturber les attentes sociales en matière de séduction et de beauté. Chez R. Belmore, cette même séduction est déplacée vers une esthétisation troublante de la souffrance et de la blessure, employée pour mieux révéler la violence sourde faite aux femmes et plus particulièrement aux femmes autochtones anichinabées.

Ces mêmes diktats de beauté, de jeunesse et de santé propres aux sociétés patriarcales sont aussi attaqués en profondeur dans les œuvres d’Y. Rainer, de Jo Spence (1934-1992) et H. Wilke, abordées par Johanna Renard. Les corps souffrants de ces artistes, toutes trois atteintes de cancers dans les années 1980 et 1990, s’exposent aux regards et sont investis, non sans une certaine impertinence subversive, d’une vive force de contestation. Les pratiques performatives deviennent ainsi un moyen de documenter la maladie tout en luttant contre une dépossession du corps subie dans le contexte médical.

Le thème de la souffrance revêt un visage fort différent dans les performances réalisées par G. Pane entre 1968 et 1979, ici étudiées par Janig Bégoc. L’autrice y décèle la survivance de rituels populaires féminins à la fonction curative et cathartique, et plus particulièrement du phénomène du tarentisme. De fil en aiguille, et mythologique de l’araignée, proposant ainsi une nouvelle lecture de l’usage de la blessure et du sang chez l’artiste, enrichie par l’anthropologie des savoirs féminins. Le dernier article de cet ouvrage, rédigé par le collectif du Laboratoire de la contre-performance, rend compte de la conférence-performance Les Contre-archives. Avec un humour corrosif, les liens de la performance aux archives y sont interrogés par le recours à la fiction, à travers un discours théorique et des reenactments effectués à partir d’artefacts.

La place de cette contribution en conclusion nous invite à reconsidérer le rôle des archives dans la dialectique de la visibilité et de l’invisibilité, d’un point de vue historiographique6. C. Paulhan mentionne, au détour de ses analyses, l’absence d’archives relatives aux performances réalisées par M. Laderman Ukeles au musée d’art Wadsworth Atheneum. Absence fort révélatrice eu égard au travail ménager comme impensé de nos sociétés et au sort encore trop souvent réservé aux artistes femmes. Quant à J. Bégoc, c’est précisément à partir de photographies des performances de G. Pane qu’elle est à même de relever un mouvement « peu visible » de balancement et d’oscillation du corps de l’artiste et de lui donner toute son importance. C’est dire toute la portée de ces documents — ayant parfois le statut d’œuvres à part entière — à partir desquels s’élabore une histoire de la performance. La période de cinquante ans, de la fin des années 1960 à nos jours, couverte par les œuvres ici examinées apporte un témoignage supplémentaire, s’il en fallait encore un, de la place essentielle tenue par les artistes femmes dans ce champ artistique.

Ajoutons que les contributions réunies mettent en lumière une nouvelle histoire des savoirs féminins actuels ou ancestraux, qu’ils soient de l’ordre de l’intime, du médical, du rituel, du domestique ou de l’artisanal. Avec en toile de fond ses liens étroits avec les revendications du militantisme féministe, la performance y apparaît dans toute sa force agissante et profondément réformatrice, comme outil de contestation et de prise de pouvoir permettant aux artistes femmes de s’affirmer en tant que sujets.

Nous tenons à remercier chaleureusement les participant·e·s de la journée d’étude et les autrices du présent ouvrage ; Caroline Trotot ; Kathy Alliou, Jean-Marc Bustamante, Jany Lauga et Armelle Pradalier des Beaux-Arts de Paris ; toute l’équipe d’AWARE, et plus particulièrement Hanna Alkema, Camille Morineau et Sorana Munteanu.

Colophon

Direction d’ouvrage
Juliette Bertron
Carole Halimi
Hanna Alkema

Coordination éditoriale 
Juliette Bertron

Conception graphique et mise en page
Lisa Sturacci
avec Clément Wibaut

Relecture
Marion Lacroix

Iconographie
Consuelo Crulci

Traduction
Katia Porro

Co-édition
Archives of Women Artists,
Research and Exhibitions
LISAA, UPEM

AWARE
Retour au sommaire
1
https://femmesavoir.hypotheses.org

2
Charles Daniel, « Performance, art », dans Encyclopædia universalis, Paris, 2010 (édition numérique).

3
Avec ses attitudes, lady Hamilton est à l’origine d’un genre qui fait des émules comme Ida Brun ou Henriette Hendel-Schütz au XIXe siècle. Voir Gram Holmström Kirsten, Monodrama, Attitudes, Tableaux Vivants, Studies on Some Trends of Theatrical Fashion, 1770-1815, Stockholm, Almqvist & Wiksell, 1967. L’implication des femmes en tant que créatrices et / ou sujets, dans les spectacles de tableaux vivants à la fin du XVIIIe siècle et au XXIe siècle, se vérifie par de nombreux exemples : lady Hamilton, mais aussi la comtesse de Genlis, la peintre Élisabeth Vigée-Lebrun ou plus tard, la comtesse de Castiglione. Quand de tels spectacles sont relatés dans des ouvrages littéraires, le rôle des femmes est de nouveau souligné. C’est le cas dans Les Affinités électives (1809) de Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, La Curée (1871) d’Émile Zola ou encore Chez les heureux du monde (1905) de la romancière américaine Edith Wharton. Voir Halimi Carole, Le Tableau vivant de Diderot à Artaud, et son esthétique dans les arts visuels contemporains (XXe-XXIe siècles), thèse de doctorat en histoire de l’art, Paris, université Paris 1 — Panthéon-Sorbonne, 2011.

4
Nietzsche Friedrich, Le Gai Savoir (La gaya scienza) (1882-1887), dans Œuvres, édition dirigée par Jean Lacoste et Jacques Le Rider, traduit de l’allemand par Henri Albert, Paris, Robert Laffont, 1993, t. II, IV, § 339, « Vita femina », p. 201.

5
Goldberg RoseLee, Performance Art from Futurism to the Present (1979), Londres, Thames & Hudson, 1988.

6
À ce sujet, nous renvoyons à l’ouvrage suivant : Bégoc Janig, Boulouch Nathalie et Zabunyan Elvan (dir.), La Performance. Entre archives et pratiques contemporaines, Rennes, Presses universitaires de Rennes, 2011.

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29