Cecilia Beaux

1855Philadelphia, United States | 1942New York, United States
Informations

American painter.

Cecilia Beaux was the daughter of an American teacher, who died twelve days after she was born, and of a French manufacturer, who returned to France and left her and her sister to be raised by relatives. With little money to her name, C. Beaux had to provide for her own needs. She worked as a lithographer and porcelain painter while studying at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts in Philadelphia. Her early works showed the influence of James Abbott McNeill Whistler (1834-1903) and Impressionist techniques. She was awarded a prize for The Last Days of Infancy, also known as Les Derniers jours d’enfance, in 1884. In 1887, while still living in the United States, she sent the painting to the Salon des Artistes Français in Paris. The favourable reception of her painting led her to travel to France in 1888 and 1889. In Paris she attended classes at the Académie Julian (she presented herself as a student of MM. W. Sartain, Bouguereau and T. Robert-Fleury in the booklet of the 1889 Salon des Artistes Français) and Académie Colarossi, but did not hide her dissatisfaction with their teachings. Back in Philadelphia she started a successful career as a portrait artist. She taught at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts from 1895 to 1915, returning to France frequently. During one of her stays in the country in the summer of 1896, Lilla Cabot Perry (1848-1933) introduced her to Claude Monet (1840-1926), but the meeting would not prove influential on her subsequent art.

C. Beaux was friends with Ellen Day Hale (1855-1940), Martha Walker (1975-1976), poet and publisher Richard Watson Gilder, and his wife, illustrator Helena de Kay Gilder. Their daughter, Dorothea Gilder, became C. Beaux’s favourite model. Through the Gilder’s agency, she was commissioned to paintFirst Lady Edith Roosevelt (Mrs Theodore Roosevelt and Daughter Ethel, 1902). C. Beaux’s works were exhibited regularly in the United States, London and Paris, and often drew comparisons with the works of John Singer Sargent (1856-1925). She was awarded a gold medal at the 1900 World’s Fair. After World War II, she offered to paint portraits of major figures of the Allied forces, most notably Ferdinand Foch and Joseph Joffre. She also painted, not without some difficulty, Georges Clemenceau’s portrait in 1920.

In 1921 she donated the picture Sita and Sarita (Femme au chat), which she had painted in 1893-94 in New Jersey, to the French state. She also produced a copy of the painting, now kept in Washington. The model for the painting was her cousin Sarah Allibone Leavitt, and the cat was meant as a reference to Édouard Manet’s Olympia (1863). The canvas was one of six pictures she presented at the Salon de la Société Nationale des Beaux-Arts in 1896, and earned her the title of “Associate of the Société Nationale des Beaux-arts”, of which she was quite proud. The picture was also shown in 1898 at the International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers in London.

C. Beaux was the first woman to be given a permanent teaching position at the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (where she taught portraiture) and the first American woman to have a self-portrait commissioned for the Uffizi Gallery in Florence. She received a number of awards in the 1930s. In 1933, Eleanor Roosevelt awarded her the Chi Omega gold medal, which honoured the American women who had made the greatest contributions to world culture. Two retrospective exhibitions of her work were held in New York in 1931 and 1935. Her autobiography, Background with Figures, was published in 1930.

Read more

Laurent Manoeuvre

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

Publication made in partnership with musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Autoportrait, 1894, oil on canvas, 63.5 x 76.2 cm, 25 x 30 in., National Academy of Design, New York

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Sita et Sarita or jeune fille au chat, 1893-1894, oil on canvas, 94 x 63.5 cm, musée d’Orsay, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Helen Biddle Griscom, 1893, pastel on prepared gray paper, 69 x 55.5 cm, 27 1/8 x 21 7/8 in., Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Ernesta (Enfant et sa nourrice), 1894, oil on canvas, 128.3 x 96.8 cm, © Photo : The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image of the MMA

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Landscape with Farm Building, Concarneau, France, 1888, oil on canvas, 28 x 36 cm, 11 1/16 x 14 3/16 in., Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Cardinal Mercier, 1919, oil on canvas, 198.1 x 131.4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Mrs. Robert Abbe (Catherine Amory Bennett), 1898-1899, oil on canvas, 188 x 99.1 cm, 74 x 39 in.,Brooklyn Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Georges Clemenceau, 1920, oil on canvas, 119.2 x 93.3 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Bertha Hallowell Vaughan, 1901, oil on canvas, 147.3 x 96.5 cm, Harvard University Portrait Collection

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Admiral Sir David Beatty, Lord Beatty, ca. 1920, oil on canvas, 158.6 x 116 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, New England Woman, 1895, oil on canvas, 109.2 x 61.6 cm, 43 x 24 1/4 in., Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Man with the Cat (Henry Sturgis Drinker), 1898, oil on canvas, 121.9 x 87.8 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Cecilia Beaux

1855Philadelphie, États-Unis | 1942New York, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre états-unienne.

Cecilia Beaux est la fille d’une institutrice américaine décédée douze jours après sa naissance et d’un industriel français qui retourne en France, les laissant elle et sa sœur être élevées par des proches. Sans fortune, C. Beaux est obligée de subvenir à ses besoins : elle travaille comme lithographe et peintre sur porcelaine, en même temps qu’elle suit les cours de la Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts de Philadelphie. Ses premières œuvres montrent l’influence de James Abbott Mc Neill Whistler (1834-1903). Elle est inspirée par les techniques impressionnistes. Elle obtient une médaille pour The Last Days of Infancy ou Les Derniers jours d’enfance en 1884. En 1887, alors qu’elle réside encore aux États-Unis, elle envoie cette toile au Salon des Artistes français à Paris. L’accueil favorable fait à son tableau l’incite à se rendre en France en 1888 et 1889. À Paris, elle fréquente les académies Julian (elle se présente comme élève de MM. W. Sartain, Bouguereau et T. Robert-Fleury dans le livret du Salon des Artistes français de 1889), et Colarossi, tout en ne cachant pas son insatisfaction face à ces enseignements. De retour à Philadelphie, elle entreprend avec succès une carrière de portraitiste. Elle enseigne à la Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts de 1895 à 1915, et fait de fréquents séjours en France. Au cours de l’été 1896, Lilla Cabot Perry (1848-1933) lui présente Claude Monet (1840-1926), cette rencontre n’aura aucune influence sur son art.

C. Beaux est proche de Ellen Day Hale (1855-1940), de Martha Walter (1875-1976) et du couple Richard Watson Gilder, poète et éditeur, et Helena De Kay Gilder, illustratrice. Leur fille, Dorothea Gilder devient le modèle favori de C. Beaux. C’est par l’entremise des Gilder que l’artiste obtient la commande du portrait de la Première dame des États-Unis, Edith Roosevelt (Mrs Theodore Roosevelt and Daughter Ethel, 1902). C. Beaux expose régulièrement aux États-Unis, à Londres et Paris. Son œuvre est souvent comparée à celle de John Singer Sargent (1856-1925). Elle reçoit une médaille d’or à l’occasion de l’exposition universelle de 1900. À la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale, elle propose de peindre les portraits des principales figures des forces alliées, notamment celui de Ferdinand Foch et Joseph Joffre. Elle réalise aussi, non sans difficultés, le portrait de Georges Clemenceau en 1920.

En 1921, elle offre à l’État français Sita et Sarita, Femme au chat, tableau exécuté entre 1893 et 1894 dans le New Jersey et dont elle fait une réplique aujourd’hui conservée à Washington. Le modèle est sa cousine, Sarah Allibone Leavitt. Le chat fait référence à celui de l’Olympia (1863) d’Édouard Manet. Il s’agit de l’une des six toiles présentées par l’artiste au Salon de la Société nationale des beaux-arts, en 1896, et qui lui vaut d’être élue « Associée de la Société nationale des Beaux-Arts », ce dont elle tire une certaine fierté. Le tableau est montré en 1898 à l’International Society of Sculptors, Painters and Gravers, de Londres.

C. Beaux est la première femme à obtenir un poste permanent de professeure à la Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts (classe de portrait) et la première Américaine à qui la galerie des Offices de Florence commande son autoportrait. Dans les années 1930, elle reçoit de nombreuses récompenses. En 1933, Eleonor Roosevelt lui remet la médaille d’or de la fraternité Chi Omega, décernée à l’Américaine qui a le plus contribué à la culture dans le monde. Deux rétrospectives lui sont consacrées en 1931 et 1935 à New York. Son autobiographie, Background with Figures, parait en 1930.

Lire plus

Laurent Manoeuvre

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec le musée d’Orsay.
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Autoportrait, 1894, huile sur toile, 63,5 x 76,2 cm, National Academy of Design, New York

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Sita et Sarita ou jeune fille au chat, 1893-1894, huile sur toile, 94 x 63,5 cm, musée d’Orsay, © Photo : RMN-Grand Palais (musée d’Orsay) / René-Gabriel Ojéda

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Helen Biddle Griscom, 1893, pastel sur papier gris, 69 x 55,5 cm, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Ernesta (Enfant et sa nourrice), 1894, huile sur toile, 128,3 x 96,8 cm, © Photo : The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Dist. RMN-Grand Palais / image of the MMA

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Landscape with Farm Building, Concarneau, France, 1888, huile sur toile, 28 x 36 cm, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Cardinal Mercier, 1919, huile sur toile, 198,1 x 131,4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Mrs. Robert Abbe (Catherine Amory Bennett), 1898-1899, huile sur toile, 188 x 99,1 cm, Brooklyn Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Georges Clemenceau, 1920, huile sur toile, 119,2 x 93,3 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Bertha Hallowell Vaughan, 1901, huile sur toile, 147,3 x 96,5 cm, Harvard University Portrait Collection

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Admiral Sir David Beatty, Lord Beatty, vers 1920, huile sur toile, 158,6 x 116 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, New England Woman, 1895, huile sur toile, 109,2 x 61,6 cm, Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts

Cecilia Beaux — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Cecilia Beaux, Man with the Cat (Henry Sturgis Drinker), 1898, huile sur toile, 121,9 x 87,8 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum

Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29