Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Gloria Friedmann

1950 | Kronach, Germany
Informations
Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Gloria Friedmann

Sponsor
— Gloria Friedmann

German visual artist.

Gloria Friedmann left Germany for France in 1977. Self-taught and mainly a sculptress, this prolix artist developed an experimental energy in activities as different as painting, installation, photography, performance, and video. The deliberately multifaceted aspect and scathing spirit of her approach combine seriousness and futility, in a language which she has cultivated in a manner that is at once scholarly and comical. Pouncing on a historical genre—the landscape—abandoned by contemporary sculpture, she became recognized in the early 1980s through her installations and performances whose subject was nature, which she reckoned she was “part” of. It was nevertheless on “non-human” nature, the one existing “outside” herself, to use her own words, that she focused, and in particular the acts of violence which she suffered. Works such as Vagues Normandie (1983), made of shattered windscreens, and Paysage d’hiver (1986) stem at once from a poeticization of the lexicon of minimal art and a certain culture of the materials peculiar to Arte Povera. Raw and unconventional forms of matter represent her message, conveying it in a full of imagery presentation, whose ‘existential scenarios’ kindle antagonist forces, without any compromise. In associating irony, parody and incongruousness, Friedmann develops the logic of a naturalist metaphor, by exhibiting pieces of a true nature, the fragments of which she moves about using the procedure of the readymade, the better to reinstate the idea of chaos rather than that of a proverbial harmony.

By lending it an emotional and spectacular character, by re-kindling that other genre, the still life, through memento mori and the vanitas, then, conversely, with the tradition of tableaux vivants [Living pictures], she broaches the destruction of nature as the issue of ecological suicide, peculiar to society overall. This extremely unusual and unexpected series, from then on called Recyclés, embarked upon in 1994, may use the form of musical comedy as much as combining theatre, film, and painting, in order to invent, during improbable playlets, incongruous encounters (on her arrival in Paris, Friedmann spent time with Bulle Ogier, Barbet Schroeder, Jean Eustache, and Jean-Jacques Schuhl). Through her interest in the living world, Friedmann focused on the animal world which became her favourite theme from the early 1990s onward.  Invariably in a tone of impropriety, she combines two types of discourse in order to evoke it:  the scientific discourse, which is that of classification, observation, objective distance, and differentiation, and the poetic, prophetic discourse, which sides with the animal factor by attributing human qualities and virtues to it.

In the form of stuffed vestiges, or skeletons and skulls, of birds and mammals, from Envoyé special (1996) to the Karaoke series (2002), these appropriations, including those of their traces (earth, feathers, bones, leaves), display the death which connects us with animals, while at the same time depicting their exploitation by culture, because they often represent myths, judgments, and affects, as in YP32 (1996). Her compositions, devised on the basis of piles of bones, their alignment and their suspension (En direct, 1994), conjure up baroque and monumental ossuaries. If the animal is the supreme example of the other, the double, the alter-ego, and the fellow creature, it is above all innocent, and unconscious.  Since Surrealism, many women artists, including Dorothea Tanning, Leonora Carrington, Meret Oppenheim, Frida Kahlo, Louise Bourgeois, and Annette Messager, have dealt with this theme which also deals with the territory of the undifferentiated, the indeterminate, the interstitial, ambivalence, hybridity, and even the monstrous, as much as that of politics and the spectacle. With regard to this relationship, Friedmann contributes a moralistic but free viewpoint. “Ingenuous and libertine”, Pierre Restany said of her, she wavers between horror and beauty.

Read more

Chantal Béret

Translated from French by Simon Pleasance.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, YP 32, 1996, horse skin, electronic components, 235 x 100 x 100 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Le locataire, 2004, clay, fabric, steel, 270 x 205 x 240 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Les Représentants, 19/09/1995, tableau vivant, thermal power, Cattenhom, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, En direct, 1994, skulls, televisions, 70 x 700 x 50 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Le Gardien, 2015, steel and clay, 10 x 3 x 3.5 m, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Karaoké, 2002, glass, lacquers, mounted bird, 200 x 200 x 25 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Les Représentants, 1993, installation, deer, leafs, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, La Matrix, 2005, clay, fabric, steel, 175 x 57 x 65 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Gloria Friedmann

1950 | Kronach, Allemagne
Informations
Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Courtesy Gloria Friedmann

Soutien
— Gloria Friedmann

Plasticienne allemande.

Gloria Friedmann quitte l’Allemagne pour la France en 1977. Autodidacte et principalement sculpteure, cette artiste prolixe déploie une énergie expérimentale dans des pratiques aussi différentes que la peinture, l’installation, la photographie, la performance ou la vidéo. L’aspect volontairement protéiforme et l’esprit caustique de sa démarche, allient gravité et futilité, dans un langage qu’elle cultive sur un mode à la fois savant et drolatique. Se saisissant d’un genre historique – le paysage – désinvesti par la sculpture contemporaine, elle se fait reconnaître au début des années 1980 par ses installations et performances ayant pour sujet la nature, dont elle estime faire « partie ». C’est cependant sur la nature « non humaine », celle existant « en dehors » d’elle-même, selon ses propres mots, qu’elle se concentre, et notamment sur les violences qu’elle subit. Des œuvres telles que Vagues Normandie (1983), composée de pare-brise brisés, ou Paysage d’hiver (1986) relèvent à la fois d’une poétisation du lexique de l’art minimal et d’une certaine culture des matériaux propres à l’Arte povera. Des matières brutes et non conventionnelles représentent son message, le véhiculent dans une mise en scène imagée, dont les « scénarios existentiels » activent les forces antagonistes, sans compromis aucun. Associant l’ironie, la parodie, l’incongru, G. Friedmann développe la logique d’une métaphore naturaliste, en exposant les pièces d’une nature vraie, dont elle déplace des fragments selon la procédure du ready-made pour restituer davantage l’idée du chaos que celle d’une harmonie proverbiale.

En lui conférant un caractère émotionnel et spectaculaire, en réactivant cet autre genre qu’est la nature morte à travers des memento mori et autres vanités, puis, à l’opposé, avec la tradition des Tableaux vivants, elle aborde la destruction de la nature comme la question du suicide écologique, propre à la société globale. Cette série si singulière et inattendue, dorénavant appelée Recyclés, entreprise dès 1994, peut utiliser aussi bien la forme de la comédie musicale que combiner théâtre, cinéma et peinture pour inventer, au cours de saynètes improbables, des rencontres incongrues (à son arrivée à Paris, G. Friedmann fréquentait Bulle Ogier, Barbet Schroeder, Jean Eustache, Jean- Jacques Schuhl). En s’intéressant au monde du vivant, G. Friedmann s’est penchée sur celui de l’animal, dont elle a fait son thème privilégié depuis le début des années 1990. Toujours sur le ton de l’inconvenance, elle combine deux types de discours pour l’évoquer : le discours scientifique, qui est celui de la classification, de l’observation, de la mise à distance, de la différenciation, et le discours poétique, prophétique, qui se met du côté de l’animal en lui attribuant des qualités et des vertus humaines.

Sous forme de vestiges, empaillés ou naturalisés, ou encore de squelettes et de crânes, d’oiseaux ou de mammifères, depuis Envoyé spécial (1996) jusqu’à la série des Karaoké (2002), ces appropriations, y compris celles de leurs traces (terre, plumes d’oiseaux, ossements, feuilles), manifestent la mort qui nous lie aux animaux, tout en figurant leur instrumentalisation par la culture, puisqu’ils représentent souvent des mythes, jugements et affects, comme dans YP32 (1996). Ses compositions, conçues à partir d’empilements d’os, de leur alignement ou de leur suspension (En direct, 1994), évoquent les ossuaires baroques, monumentaux. Si l’animal est, par excellence, l’autre, le double, l’alter ego, le semblable, il est surtout innocent, inconscient. Depuis le surréalisme, nombre de femmes artistes, dont Dorothea Tanning, Leonora Carrington, Meret Oppenheim, Frida Kahlo, Louise Bourgeois ou Annette Messager, ont abordé ce thème, qui touche aussi bien au territoire de l’indifférencié, de l’indéterminé, de l’entre-deux, de l’ambivalence, de l’hybridité, voire du monstrueux qu’à celui du politique et du spectacle. Au regard de cette filiation, G. Friedmann apporte un point de vue moraliste, mais libre. « Ingénue et libertine » disait d’elle Pierre Restany, elle oscille entre horreur et beauté.

Lire plus

Chantal Béret

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, YP 32, 1996, peau de cheval, composants électroniques, 235 x 100 x 100 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Le locataire, 2004, terre, tissu, acier, 270 x 205 x 240 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Les Représentants, 19/09/1995, tableau vivant, centrale thermique, Cattenhom, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, En direct, 1994, crânes, téléviseurs, 70 x 700 x 50 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Le Gardien, 2015, acier et terre, 10 x 3 x 3,5 m, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Karaoké, 2002, verre, laques, oiseau naturalisé, 200 x 200 x 25 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, Les Représentants, 1993, installation, cerf, feuilles, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Gloria Friedmann — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gloria Friedmann, La Matrix, 2005, terre, tissu, acier, 175 x 57 x 65 cm, Courtesy Gloria Friedmann, © ADAGP, Paris 2017

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29