Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lamia Joreige

1972 | Beirut, Lebanon
Informations
Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo: Alexandre Guirkinger

Sponsor
— Lamia Joreige

Lebanese visual artist and filmmaker.

Born in Lebanon, Lamia Joreige left with her family for Paris in 1983, during the Lebanese Civil War (1975-1990), but returned often to Beirut, maintaining connections to the city throughout this period. L. Joreige received a Bachelor of Fine Arts from the Rhode Island School of Design in 1995, with a focus on painting and filmmaking. She is among the postwar generation of Lebanese artists, alongside Rabih Mroué, Joana Hadjithomas and Khalil Joreige, and Akram Zaatari, whose works explore the memory and legacy of the war in the absence of public discourse and commemoration. Fusing archival and fictional elements, L. Joreige’s work develops narrative strategies that break away from the linearity of chronology, the totality of history, and the authoritativeness of truth. Rather than aiming to represent, it introduces traces, reactivates moments, excavates layers, and embraces distortions and disruptions. In video, installation, and painting, L. Joreige grapples with capturing the passage and concretization of time, the tensions between the personal and collective in Lebanon, and the lived realities of present-day Beirut.

Objects of War (1999-present), a video installation that includes multiple testimonials triggered by objects from the time of the war, was the first major work to launch her to international acclaim. The project presents diverse personal memories that refuse to cohere into a single narrative. In 2009, L. Joreige co-founded (along with Sandra Dagher) Beirut Art Center, Lebanon’s first non-profit space dedicated to contemporary art, in which she remains actively involved. From 2013 to 2017, she developed the multi-chapter project Under-Writing Beirut, which weaves together the layered temporalities sedimented in different parts of the city: the National Museum (Chapter 1), Beirut River (Chapter 2), and suburb of Ouzai (Chapter 3). Each chapter engages with traces from the past, complexities in the present, and future uncertainties, providing glimpses of the city in flux. In 2014, she released her first feature film, And the Living is Easy. Revolving around fictional adaptations of her characters’ real-life intimate experiences, L. Joreige’s film captures the unease that tinges the daily pleasures of life in Beirut in the midst of the regional uprisings that have brought to the fore the ever-present possibility of a (re)turn to war.

L. Joreige is currently developing research that explores anachronistic resonances between the states of upheaval in the Middle East today and in the World War I era. Building from historical memoirs and records, this new body of work will highlight the lived effects of events like the Sykes-Picot Agreement, which divided the area among colonial powers and contributed to the establishment of its contemporary borders. Since her first solo exhibition in Beirut in 1997, her work has been shown at Tate Modern, MoMA, and MAXXI, among others, as well as in the inaugural Lebanese pavilion at the 52nd Venice Biennale (2007).

Read more

Nadia Christidi

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, A Strange Feeling of Familiarity, 2007, Diasec-mounted Lambda C-type print, 120 x 90 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Here and Perhaps Elsewhere, 2003, video, 54’, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, A Journey, 2006, Essay film video, 41 min, with the support of Ministere de la culture et de la communication – CNAP, France

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Replay, 2000, multimedia installation three channels video, book and text, produced by Lamia Joreige, co-produced by Ashkal Alwan, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Objects of War, 2003, installation view of Ici et peut-etre ailleurs, musée Nicéphore Niepce museum, Chalon-sur-Saône, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Embrace, 2004, series of 7 inkjet prints, 75 x 100 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, One Night of Sleep, 2013, printed on Ilford multigrade fiber paper, 180 x 95 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Nights and Days (he has no face left to cry), 2007, test film, video, 17’, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, And the Living Is Easy, 2014, fiction film, 74’, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, After the River, 2016, three-channel video installation, 20’, © Photo: Jamie Woodley, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, The River 6, 2016, wax, pigments, pastels and crayons on Velin d’Arche paper, 100 x 65 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Coastline 3, 2017, wax, pigments, pastels & crayons on Velin d’Arche paper, 75 x 106 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Ouzai, 2017, metal alloy, 90 x 240 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lamia Joreige

1972 | Beyrouth, Liban
Informations
Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Alexandre Guirkinger

Soutien
— Lamia Joreige

Plasticienne et réalisatrice libanaise.

Née au Liban, Lamia Joreige émigre à Paris avec sa famille en 1983 lors de la guerre civile libanaise (1975-1990), mais retourne néanmoins souvent à Beyrouth et entretient des liens avec la ville durant cette période. L. Joreige obtient une licence d’arts plastiques spécialité peinture et réalisation à la Rhode Island School of Design en 1995. Elle fait partie de la génération d’artistes libanais d’après-guerre civile, aux côtés de Rabih Mroué, Joana Hadjithomas et Khalil Joreige, ainsi qu’Akram Zaatari, dont les œuvres explorent la mémoire et l’héritage liés à la guerre là où ces derniers sont absents de tous discours et commémorations officielles. L. Joreige associe éléments d’archives et de fiction dans son travail et, ce faisant, développe des stratégies narratives libérées de toute linéarité chronologique, de la nature totale de l’histoire et de l’autorité de la vérité. Son œuvre ne cherche pas à représenter, mais à introduire des traces, réactiver des moments, mettre au jour des strates et accepter les déformations et bouleversements. À travers ses vidéos, installations et peintures, L. Joreige tente de retranscrire le passage et la concrétisation du temps, les tensions entre le personnel et le collectif au Liban, ainsi que la réalité des conditions de vie actuelles dans le pays.

Objects of War [« Objets de guerre », 1999 – en cours], une installation vidéo faite de multiples témoignages déclenchés par des objets liés à la guerre, est la première œuvre de L. Joreige qui lui vaut une reconnaissance internationale. Le projet présente divers souvenirs qu’il est impossible de contenir en un seul fil narratif. En 2009, L. Joreige cofonde avec Sandra Dagher le Beirut Art Center, le premier espace associatif dédié à l’art contemporain au Liban, dans lequel elle est encore très impliquée. De 2013 à 2017, elle développe le projet en plusieurs chapitres Under-Writing Beirut [« Assurer Beyrouth »], qui entrelace diverses strates temporelles présentes à travers la ville : le musée National (Chapitre 1), le fleuve de Beyrouth (Chapitre 2) et la banlieue d’Ouzai (Chapitre 3). Chaque chapitre aborde les traces du passé, les complexités du présent et les incertitudes de l’avenir, proposant ainsi un regard sur les fluctuations de la ville. Son premier long-métrage, And the Living is Easy, sorti en 2014, met en scène des adaptations fictives d’expériences personnelles vécues par l’artiste et, ainsi, décrit l’inquiétude qui entache le bien-vivre à Beyrouth dans un contexte de révoltes régionales qui ont fait ressurgir la possibilité omniprésente d’un retour de la guerre.

L. Joreige développe actuellement une recherche sur les résonances anachroniques entre les soulèvements au Moyen Orient et l’époque de la Première Guerre mondiale. Cette nouvelle œuvre a pour but de mettre en évidence les effets réels d’évènements tels que les accords Sykes-Picot, suite auxquels la région fut répartie en plusieurs zones administrées par les puissances coloniales, contribuant ainsi à la mise en place des frontières actuelles. Depuis sa première exposition individuelle à Beyrouth en 1997, les œuvres de L. Joreige ont été entre autres présentées à la Tate Modern, au MoMA et à MAXXI, ainsi qu’au premier pavillon national du Liban à la 52ème Biennale de Venise (2007).

Lire plus

Nadia Christidi

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, A Strange Feeling of Familiarity, 2007, tirage colour monté sur Diasec, 120 x 90 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Here and Perhaps Elsewhere, 2003, vidéo, 54’, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, A Journey, 2006, vidéo d’essai, 41 min, avec le soutien du ministère de la culture et de la communication – CNAP, France

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Replay, 2000, installation multimédia avec trois canaux vidéo, livre et texte, produits par Lamia Joreige, co-produits par Ashkal Alwan, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Objects of War, 2003, vue de l’installation de Ici et peut-être ailleurs, musée Nicéphore Niepce museum, Chalon-sur-Saône, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Embrace, 2004, série de 7 impressions jet d’encre, 75 x 100 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, One Night of Sleep, 2013, imprimé sur du papier à fibres multigrades Ilford, 180 x 95 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Nights and Days (he has no face left to cry), 2007, film d’essai, vidéo, 17’, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, And the Living Is Easy, 2014, film fiction, 74’, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, After the River, 2016, installation vidéo à trois canaux, 20’, © Photo : Jamie Woodley, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, The River 6, 2016, cire, pigments, pastels et crayons sur papier Velin d’Arche, 100 x 65 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Coastline 3, 2017, cire, pigments, pastels et crayons sur papier Velin d’Arche, 75 x 106 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Lamia Joreige — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lamia Joreige, Ouzai, 2017, alliage métallique, 90 x 240 cm, © Lamia Joreige

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29