Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marie Raymond

1908La Colle-sur-Loup, France | 1989Paris, France

French Painter.

Born into a wealthy family from Provence, Marie Raymond began painting in the studio of painter Alexandre Stoppler, in Cagnes-sur-Mer. Married in 1926 to a young Dutch painter, Fred Klein, with whom she had a son (Yves Klein, also an artist) two years later, she and her husband lead a bohemian life in Montparnasse, meeting artists Jacques Villon and Frank Kupka from Puteaux, pioneers of abstract art. Back in Nice in 1932, she took courses at the School of Decorative Arts, where she met the abstract sculptor Emile Gilioli. She was commissioned to produce a mural for the pavilion of the Alpes-Maritimes in the International Exhibition of 1937. The war forced her family to settle in Cagnes-sur-Mer, where Raymond began painting Paysages imaginaires (“Imaginary Landscapes”, 1941-1944), inspired by her inland walks.

Once back in Paris, she exhibited at the 1945 Salon des Surindépendants. The art critic Charles Estienne noticed her work and later presented it alongside that of John Dewasne, Jean Deyrolle, Hans Hartung, and Gérard Schneider, in the exhibition Peinture abstraite (“Abstract Painting”), which he organized at the Denise René gallery. In 1949, Raymond won the Kandinsky prize and participated in the first Biennial in Sao Paulo, Brazil, as well as in the large exhibition Klar Form, organized by Denise René. It was a period of intense social activity for Raymond: “Marie’s Mondays” gathered gallery owners, collectors, and young artists who were close to her son, including Jean Tinguely, Dufrêne, Hains, Villeglé, Arman, and César. In January 1957, the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam organized a retrospective of her work.

The early 1960s were marked by her divorce, and the death of her son, after which she painted a series of cosmological works Abstraction-Figures-Astres (“Abstraction-Figures-Stars”, 1964-1989). In 1972, a retrospective exhibition of the works of Raymond and Yves Klein took place at the Grimaldi de Cagnes château-musée. Her paintings can now be found in many museums (in Paris, Nantes, Amsterdam, Tokyo). In the year of her 80th birthday, Pascal de Sarthe Gallery in San Francisco dedicated a solo exhibition to her.

Read more

Nathalie Ernoult

Translated from French by Emily Freeman.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Untitled, circa 1943, oil on canvas, 33 x 41 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Rythmes, 1946, oil on canvas, 82 x 142 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Fond rouge, 1946, oil on canvas, 91.5 x 64.7 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Arabesques ou Variations sur la Volute, 1948, oil on canvas, 91 x 72.5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Essor, 1961, oil on canvas, 162 x 97 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, 2015, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Untitled, circa 1967, oil on canvas, 96 x 160 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Astre figure A, 1968, gouache and pencil on paper mounted on canvas, 92 x 65.5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Multiplicité – Unité, 1974, oil on canvas, 81 x 100 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Discover
Linked theme
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Marie Raymond

1908La Colle-sur-Loup, France | 1989Paris, France

Peintre française.

Issue d’une famille aisée provençale, Marie Raymond débute la peinture dans l’atelier du peintre Alexandre Stoppler, à Cagnes-sur-Mer. Mariée en 1926 à un jeune peintre néerlandais, Fred Klein, avec qui elle a un fils (Yves Klein, également plasticien) deux ans plus tard, elle mène avec son mari une vie de bohème à Montparnasse, et rencontre les artistes de Puteaux Jacques Villon et Frank Kupka, précurseurs de l’art abstrait. De retour à Nice en 1932, elle prend des cours à l’École des Arts Décoratifs, où elle fait la connaissance du sculpteur abstrait Emile Gilioli. Elle obtient une commande pour réaliser une fresque destinée au pavillon des Alpes-Maritimes lors de l’exposition internationale de 1937. La guerre contraint la famille à s’installer à Cagnes-sur-Mer, où M. Raymond commence à peindre des Paysages imaginaires (1941-1944), inspirés par ses promenades dans l’arrière-pays.

De retour à Paris, elle expose au Salon des surindépendants de 1945. Le critique d’art Charles Estienne remarque ses œuvres et les présente aux côtés de celles de Jean Dewasne, Jean Deyrolle, Hans Hartung et Gérard Schneider, dans l’exposition Peinture abstraite, qu’il programme à la galerie Denise René. En 1949, la peintre obtient le prix Kandinsky, participe à la première Biennale de Sao Paulo au Brésil, ainsi qu’à la grande exposition Klar Form, organisée par Denise René. C’est, pour l’artiste, une période d’intense activité sociale : les « lundis de Marie » réunissent galeristes, collectionneurs et jeunes artistes proches de son fils, dont Jean Tinguely, Dufrêne, Hains, Villeglé, Arman, César. En janvier 1957, le Stedelijk Museum d’Amsterdam lui consacre une rétrospective.

Le début des années 1960 est marqué par son divorce et la mort de son fils ; elle peint alors une série d’œuvres cosmologiques, Abstraction-Figures-Astres (1964-1989). En 1972, une exposition rétrospective rassemblant les œuvres de M. Raymond et d’Y. Klein se déroule au château-musée Grimaldi de Cagnes. Ses peintures sont présentes dans de nombreux musées (Paris, Nantes, Amsterdam, Tokyo). L’année de ses 80 ans, la Pascal de Sarthe Gallery à San Francisco lui dédie une exposition personnelle.

Lire plus

Nathalie Ernoult

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Sans titre, vers 1943, huile sur toile, 33 x 41 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Rythmes, 1946, huile sur toile, 82 x 142 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Fond rouge, 1946, huile sur toile, 91,5 x 64,7 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Arabesques ou Variations sur la Volute, 1948, huile sur toile, 91 x 72,5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Essor, 1961, huile sur toile, 162 x 97 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, 2015, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Sans titre, vers 1967, huile sur toile, 96 x 160 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Astre figure A, 1968, gouache et crayon sur papier marouflé sur toile, 92 x 65,5 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Marie Raymond — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marie Raymond, Multiplicité – Unité, 1974, huile sur toile, 81 x 100 cm, © ADAGP, Paris, Banque d’Images de l’ADAGP

Découvrir
Thème lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29