Maureen Lander

1942 | Rawene, New Zealand
Informations
Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Star Waka, 2019, workshop for Tuia 250 celebration, Whitianga

Māori visual artist.

Maureen Lander (Ngāpuhi, Te Hikutu, Pākehā) is a leading exponent of weaving and a significant installation artist in Aotearoa. Her exceptional career spans photography, academia, community-based projects, weaving and installation. In 1984 she learnt the techniques of harvesting and processing New Zealand flax, known as harakeke, for cloak-making and weaving from the renowned senior artist Diggeress Te Kanawa (1920-2009). M. Lander then started incorporating muka, a silky fibre extracted from harakeke, into the work she developed during her Bachelor of Fine Arts at the University of Auckland’s Elam School of Fine Art. After completing her BFA in photography in 1987 she also completed a Bachelor in Māori Studies in 1989 where she continued her research and became Senior Lecturer in Māori Material Culture. In 1993 she gained her MFA and in 2002 M. Lander became the first Māori to gain a PhD in Fine Arts from a New Zealand university.

She eloquently employs materials such as various parts of harakeke alongside endemic plants, feathers and materials used for customary Māori weaving, and intersects them within a Western art cannon. This is not a Kete (1994), an installation of a kete (a woven kit bag) on a plinth with the inscription “This is not a kete”, with other kete were arranged on the floor. Exhibited in Art Now (1994) at the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, the work referenced Ceci n’est pas une pipe (1928-1929), the well-known painting by René Magritte (1898-1967), and questioned the values an ethnographic museum upholds when their collection items are divorced from their source communities.

Her work has been exhibited in key exhibitions throughout Aotearoa including Pū Manawa (1993) and Kahu Ora (2012)at Te Papa Tongarewa, Korurangi (1995) and Pūrangiaho (2001) at Auckland Art Gallery and internationally in Mrs Cook’s Kete (2002-2003) at the Pitt Rivers Museu in Oxford in United Kingdom; Pasifika Styles (2006-2008) at the Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology in Cambridge in United Kingdom; and Towards the Morning Sun (2013) at the Campbelltown Arts Centre in Sydney in Australia. Her exhibition Flat-Pack Whakapapa (2017), which explored kinship, friendship and genetic heritage, was first exhibited at The Dowse Art Museum in Lower Hutt in 2017 and is touring to galleries throughout Aotearoa from 2018-2021.

In 2020, M. Lander completed a large-scale commission for the Waitohi Johnsonville Library and Community Hub, which opened in 2019. The wall installation Whetūrangi was woven from harakeke in collaboration with local Wellington weavers Te Roopu Raranga o Manaia.  She also collaborated with Mata Aho Collective, whom she has mentored for a number of years, on a commissioned work for Auckland Art Gallery. Titled Atapō, the installation of insect mesh, muka and wool has a gallery footprint of over 9 x 6 x 8 m and represents represents the Māori female deities Hinetītama and Hinenuitepō. In 2019 she received the Sir Kingi Ihaka Award recognising a lifetime contribution to Māori art. In 2020 she became a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to Māori art.

Read more

Bridget Reweti

Publication made in partnership with Contemporary HUM, with funding from Creative New Zealand.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions


© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, String Games, 1998, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New-Zealand, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, First installation with flax fibre and seeds in Karanga, 1986, Fisher Gallery, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Shade House, 2004, Whangarei Art Museum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Wai o te Marama, 2005, in The Eternal Thread, Auckland Museum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Crown Grab Bag in Pasifika Styles, 2006, Cambridge University Museum of Archeology and Anthropology, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Hakari on Henrys Hill, 2010, collaboration and interactive community event, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Aho Kura Huna in Kahu Ora, 2012, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New-Zealand, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Kit-Set Whanaungatanga, 2017, Harakeke, teri dyes, © Photo: Mark Tantrum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Flatpack Whakapapa, 2017, The Dowse Museum, © Maureen Lander

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Maureen Lander

1942 | Rawene, Nouvelle-Zélande
Informations
Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Star Waka, 2019, travail collectif pour Tuia 250 celebration, Whitianga

Plasticienne maorie.

Maureen Lander (d’ascendance ngāpuhi, te hikutu et pākehā) est une représentante majeure du tissage traditionnel maori et une importante artiste d’installation en Aotearoa (nom maori de la Nouvelle-Zélande). Sa carrière exceptionnelle recouvre un ensemble varié de domaines : photographie, recherche universitaire, projets associatifs, tissage et installations. C’est en 1984 qu’elle apprend auprès de la grande maîtresse tisseuse Diggeress Te Kanawa (1920-2009) les techniques de récolte et de transformation du lin d’Aotearoa, le harakeke, utilisé dans la fabrication de capes et d’objets tissés. M. Lander se met à incorporer le muka, une fibre issue du harakeke, dans les œuvres qu’elle crée lors de ses études d’art à l’Elam School of Fine Arts de l’University of Auckland. Titulaire d’une licence de photographie en 1987, elle est également licenciée en études maories en 1989, à la suite de quoi elle poursuit ses recherches et devient maîtresse de conférences en culture maorie. Après une maîtrise d’art en 1993, en 2002 elle est la première Maorie à obtenir un doctorat en art dans une université néo-zélandaise.
M. Lander fait un usage éloquent des différentes parties du harakeke, ainsi que de plantes et de plumes endémiques ou de matériaux traditionnellement employés dans le tissage maori, tout en les associant aux canons de l’art occidental. L’installation This Is not a Kete (1994) est constituée d’un kete (sac tissé) posé sur un socle portant la mention « This is not a kete», autour duquel sont placés d’autres kete. L’œuvre, présentée à Art Now (1994) au Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa à Wellington, fait référence au célèbre tableau de René Magritte (1898-1967) Ceci n’est pas une pipe(1994) et remet en question les valeurs que défend un musée ethnographique où le contenu des collections est séparé des communautés dont il est issu.

Ses œuvres figurent dans d’importantes expositions en Aotearoa, notamment Pū Manawa (1993) et Kahu Ora (2012) au Te Papa Tongarewa, Korurangi (1995) et Pūrangiaho (2001) à l’Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki, ainsi qu’à l’étranger : au Royaume-Uni sont organisés Mrs Cook’s Kete (2002-2003) au Pitt Rivers Museum à Oxford et Pasifika Styles (2006-2008) au Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology de Cambridge ; en Australie, Towards the Morning Sun(2013) au Campbelltown Arts Centre à Sydney. Flat-Pack Whakapapa (2017), qui aborde les thèmes de la parenté, de l’amitié et du patrimoine génétique, est présenté pour la première fois au Dowse Art Museum à Lower Hutt en 2017 et fera le tour du pays de 2018 à 2021.

En 2020, M. Lander mène à bien une commande de grande envergure pour la bibliothèque et maison de quartier Waitohi à Johnsonville, inaugurée en 2019. Cette installation murale, intitulée Whetūrangi, est un tissage en harakeke élaboré à l’aide des tisseurs et tisseuses locaux·ales de Wellington appartenant au groupe Te Roopu Raranga o Manaia. Elle travaille également avec le collectif Mata Aho, qu’elle a marrainé de nombreuses années, à une commande pour l’Auckland Art Gallery Toi o Tāmaki. Le fruit de cette collaboration, Atapō, sera une installation de 9 ´ 4 ´ 6 mètres qui représentera les déesses maories Hinetītama et Hinenuitepō. En 2019, M. Lander reçoit le prix Sir Kingi Ihaka, qui récompense sa contribution exceptionnelle à l’art maori. En 2020, elle devient membre de l’ordre du Mérite d’Aotearoa pour ses services rendus à l’art maori.

Lire plus

Bridget Reweti

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

Publication réalisée en partenariat avec Contemporary HUM et le soutien de Creative New Zealand.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, String Games, 1998, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New-Zealand, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Kit-Set Whanaungatanga, 2017, Harakeke, teri dyes, © Photo : Mark Tantrum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Shade House, 2004, Whangarei Art Museum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Wai o te Marama, 2005, in The Eternal Thread, Auckland Museum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Flatpack Whakapapa, 2017, The Dowse Museum, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, première installation avec de la fibre de lin et des graines à Karanga, 1986, Fisher Gallery, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Crown Grab Bag in Pasifika Styles, 2006, Cambridge University, Museum of Archeology and Anthropology, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Aho Kura Huna in Kahu Ora, 2012, Te Papa Tongarewa Museum of New-Zealand, © Maureen Lander

Maureen Lander — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Maureen Lander, Hakari on Henrys Hill, 2010, évènement collectivf de collaboration et d’échanges, © Maureen Lander

Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29