Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nancy Graves

1939Pittsfield, United States | 1995New York, United States
Informations

American painter, sculptor, and filmmaker.

With a body of work that combined abstraction and figuration, Nancy Graves was active in fields as varied as painting, sculpture, film, set design, and occasionally teaching. She was one of the first women to study for a master’s degree in art and architecture at Yale University. She graduated in 1964 and was granted a scholarship to study in Paris. Her stay in France would be the first in a long series of journeys in which she found valuable sources of inspiration, especially in Morocco, where she shot the films Goulimine and Isy Boukir in 1970. She married sculptor Richard Serra (1939) in 1965 – the couple separated in 1970 – and moved to New York in 1966. In the mid-1960s, N. Graves created her first assemblages, which included live and stuffed animals. These later evolved into life-size sculptures of camels made from wood, polyurethane, skin, and steel, which were shown in 1968 at the Graham Gallery in New York (Camels). Her realistic works, which included skeletons and body parts, stood out from the fashion for abstract and minimalist art of the time, although she insisted on the abstract origin of each of their constitutive elements.

The following year, she was the first woman to give a solo exhibition at the Whitney Museum. She reverted to painting in the 1970s, with works inspired by geography, astronomy, and palaeontology, and merging abstraction with figuration. Abstract assemblages coated in bold-coloured patina marked her return to sculpture at the end of the decade. Around this time, she also discovered a technique that would revolutionise her approach: bronze casting, which would allow her to add natural forms to her sculptures. During this same period, she also began including sculptural elements in her pictures, in an effort to abolish the boundaries between these disciplines. The Nancy-Graves Foundation preserves the legacy of her work.

Read more

Fanny Drugeon

Translated from French by Lucy Pons.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, I Part of Sabine D Region, Southwest Mare Tranquilitatis from Lithographs Based on Geologic Maps of Lunar Orbiter and Apollo Landing Sites, 1972, lithograph, 57.4 x 76.2 cm, MoMA, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Pleistocene Skeleton, 1970, steel, wax, marble dust and acrylic, 213.4 x 304.8 x 91.4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Courtesy The Nancy Graves Foundation, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Cantileve, 1983, bronze with polychrome patina, 250.5 x 179.5 x 128.6 cm, Courtesy The Nancy Graves Foundation, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, National Air ans Space Museum, 1975, color screenprint on white wove paper, Art Institute of Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Six Frogs from the Simca Series, 1985, screenprint on paper, 74.9 x 106 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Courtesy Nancy Graves Foundation, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Zaga, 1983, cast bronze with polychrome chemical patina, 182.9 x 124.5 x 81.3 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Nancy Graves

1939Pittsfield, États-Unis | 1995New York, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre, sculptrice et cinéaste américaine.

Associant abstraction et figuration, Nancy Graves a été active en peinture, sculpture, cinéma, réalisations de décors, tout en enseignant ponctuellement. Elle est l’une des premières femmes à intégrer le mastère du département d’art et d’architecture de l’université Yale. Diplômée en 1964, elle reçoit une bourse pour étudier à Paris ; ce séjour français inaugure de nombreux voyages, qui seront sources d’inspiration, notamment au Maroc, où elle tourne en 1970 ses films Goulimine et Isy Boukir. Mariée en 1965 avec le sculpteur Richard Serra (1939), dont elle se sépare en 1970, elle s’installe à New York en 1966. Au milieu des années 1960, N. Graves conçoit ses premiers assemblages, incluant des animaux vivants et empaillés, qui aboutissent à des sculptures en grandeur nature de chameaux en bois, polyuréthane, peau et acier, présentées en 1968 à la Graham Gallery de New York (Camels). Ses créations réalistes – squelettes, fragments corporels – se distinguent de l’art abstrait et minimaliste qui domine alors, bien qu’elle insiste sur l’origine abstraite de chaque élément qui les constitue.

L’année suivante, elle est la première femme à qui le Whitney Museum consacre une exposition personnelle. Au tournant des années 1970, elle revient à la peinture, avec des œuvres inspirées de la géographie, de l’astronomie et de la paléontologie, à la croisée de l’abstraction et de la figuration. Des assemblages abstraits, recouverts d’une patine vivement colorée, marquent son retour à la sculpture, à la fin de la décennie. Elle découvre alors une technique qui révolutionne son approche : le moulage en bronze qui lui permet désormais d’intégrer des formes naturelles à ses sculptures. À la même époque, elle incorpore à ses peintures des éléments de sculpture, cherchant ainsi à supprimer les frontières entre les pratiques. La fondation Nancy-Graves conserve la mémoire de son travail.

Lire plus

Fanny Drugeon

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, I Part of Sabine D Region, Southwest Mare Tranquilitatis from Lithographs Based on Geologic Maps of Lunar Orbiter and Apollo Landing Sites, 1972, lithographie, 57,4 x 76,2 cm, MoMA, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Pleistocene Skeleton, 1970, acier, cire, poussière de marbre et acrylique, 213,4 x 304,8 x 91,4 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Courtesy The Nancy Graves Foundation, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Cantileve, 1983, bronze avec une patine polychrome, 250,5 x 179,5 x 128,6 cm, Courtesy The Nancy Graves Foundation, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, National Air ans Space Museum, 1975, sérigraphie couleur sur papier blanc tissé, Art Institute of Chicago, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Six Frogs issue du the Simca Series, 1985, sérigraphie sur papier, 74,9 x 106 cm, Smithsonian American Art Museum, Courtesy Nancy Graves Foundation, © ADAGP, Paris

Nancy Graves — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Nancy Graves, Zaga, 1983, bronze moulé et patine chimique polychrome, 182,9 x 124,5 x 81,3 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29