Shigeko Kubota

1937Niigata, Japan | 2015New York, United States
Informations
Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Photo: Tom Haar

Sponsor
— Kamakura Gallery

Japanese multimedia and performance artist.

Shigeko Kubota studied sculpture at Tokyo University. After a brief stint as a teacher, she became a well-known multimedia artist of the Tokyo avant-garde scene in the 1960s. In the wake of World War II, Japan came out of its artistic isolation: on the occasion of a visit to the capital, Yoko Ono*, then an eminent artist of the New York scene, introduced her home country to Fluxus and other avant-garde movements, while a 1962 performance in Japan by John Cage would make a lasting impression on S. Kubota. Japanese avant-garde movements such as Gutai and Jikai-Ha appeared during these years. Kubota became a member of the group Ongaku, a collective that experimented with performance, music and visual arts – a common combination at the time. Inspired by Y. Ono and the Korean artist Nam June Paik, she sent her ideas for happenings to the Fluxus pioneer George Maciunas, who encouraged her to come to New York. Kubota’s first solo show was held at the Naiqua Gallery in Tokyo in 1963, but garnered very little critical attention. After coming to terms with the fact that she had no prospects as a female experimental artist in Japan, she moved in 1964 to New York, where she immediately made contact with major artists of the Fluxus movement (of which she would become vice-president), such as the performer Maciunas and filmmaker Jonas Mekas, with whom she would later work as a curator for the Anthology Film Archives that he founded. She also became an essential link between American and Japanese artists abroad.

Her most famous early pieces include Flux Napkins (1965), paper napkins with cutouts of a face that were used during Fluxus meals; Flux Medicine (1966), a set of pills she invented for Maciunas because he was always ill; and, of course, Vagina Painting (1965), a performance she presented during the Summer Perpetual Fluxus Festival, in which she painted red smears on a sheet of white paper laid on the stage with a large paintbrush attached between her legs. The performance marked the first anniversary of her move to the United States, and affirmed her independence as an artist and woman artist who clearly chose to distance herself from her Japanese roots. However, her artistic career truly began to stand out in the late 60s, first with the appearance of the first portable video camera, the Sony Portapak, which she used immediately, and second thanks to her meeting with Marcel Duchamp. She filmed her first video piece, Marcel Duchamp’s Grave (1972), in Normandy on the site of Duchamp’s grave, as a tribute to the Dada artist. While Duchamp is the inspiration behind her Video Sculptures – among them Nude Descending a Staircase (1976), the first film acquired by the Museum of Modern Art – N. J. Paik also shared an artistic and personal proximity with Kubota, and the couple were married in 1977. Both artists took part in the other’s projects while they respected each other’s individuality, thus developing an exemplary and egalitarian collaboration rarely seen during the century, except perhaps for Niki de Saint Phalle and Jean Tinguely. She would later devote an entire exhibition and a number of pieces to this exceptional experience, My Life with Nam June Paik (2007). In the 1980s and 1990s, the nature of her relationship to technology became a recurring subject of her video sculptures, while her enduring interest in the condition of women and her desire to confirm her position as a woman artist continued to be a driving force of her work: Jogging Lady (1993), meant to promote exercising as an affirmation of female empowerment, consists of several monitors playing footage of women running marathons, some of which are reflected onto a sculpture of a feminine body. S. Kubota belongs to a generation of Japanese women artists (Yayoi Kusama, Yoko Ono, Takako Saito, Mieko Shiomo, Atsuko Tanaka) who brought deep changes not only to the fields of installation, performance art, and video, but also to the relationship between art and music in the 1960s and 70s. As a major artist of the second half of the 20th century, her work is widely featured in American museums. She was awarded numerous prizes and grants during her lifetime and has been the subject of several retrospectives.

Read more

Camille Morineau

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota, Vagina Painting, 4 July 1965, live performance during Perpetual Fluxus Festival, cinematheque, New York, gelatin silver print, 50.2 x 40.4 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota, Vagina Painting, 1965, performance at Perpetual Fluxus Festival in New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

HI RED CENTER, Bundle of Events, 1965, map documenting the performance of the group in Tokyo, edited by Shigeko Kubota and George Maciunas, © Fluxus Edition, New York, © Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota with Nam June Paik in their Westbeth studio, 1974, black and white photography, © Photo: Tom Haar, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota, Berlin Diary Thanks to My Ancestors, 1981, 23 x 20.2 x 11 cm, © Galerie Hubert Winter Wien, © ADAGP, Paris

Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Shigeko Kubota

1937Niigata, Japon | 2015New York, États-Unis
Informations
Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Tom Haar

Soutien
— Kamakura Gallery

Artiste multimédia et performeuse japonaise.

Shigeko Kubota étudie la sculpture à l’université de Tokyo, puis, après une brève expérience d’enseignante, devient une artiste multimédia reconnue sur la scène d’avant-garde tokyoïte, dans les années 1960. Au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Japon sort de son isolement artistique : à l’occasion d’un bref passage dans la capitale, Yôko Ono, artiste éminente de la sphère new-yorkaise, introduit Fluxus et d’autres mouvements d’avant-garde américains dans son pays d’origine, tandis que John Cage y réalise, en 1962, une performance qui influencera durablement S. Kubota. Ainsi, des courants d’avant-garde japonais voient le jour, tels Gutaï et Jikan-ha. Le groupe Ongaku, dont elle fait partie, est un collectif qui s’investit dans le domaine de la performance, de la musique et des arts visuels – mélange tout à fait caractéristique de l’époque. Inspiré par Y. Ono et par l’artiste coréen Nam June Paik, alors résident à Tokyo, elle envoie des propositions de happenings au pionnier de Fluxus, George Maciunas, qui lui conseille de venir à New York. La première exposition personnelle de S. Kubota se tient à la Naiqua Gallery à Tokyo en 1963 et n’entraîne aucune retombée critique. Réalisant que sa position de femme artiste expérimentale au Japon n’a pas d’avenir, en 1964, S. Kubota décide de partir à New York, où elle entre en contact immédiat avec les tenants les plus importants de Fluxus (dont elle héritera du titre de vice-présidente), comme le performeur G. Maciunas ou le réalisateur Jonas Mekas avec qui elle travaillera plus tard, notamment en tant que commissaire de l’Anthology Film Archives dont il est l’un des fondateurs. Elle devient aussi un lien essentiel entre les artistes américains et japonais.

Parmi ses premières œuvres les plus célèbres figurent les Flux Napkins (1965), des serviettes en papier illustrant des parties de visage, et utilisées dans les dîners Fluxus, les Flux Medicine (1966), pilules inventées à l’intention de G. Maciunas, souvent malade, et enfin Vagina Painting (1965), performance lors du Summer Perpetual Fluxus Festival, au cours de laquelle, à l’aide d’un large pinceau fixé entre ses jambes, la performeuse peint des traces rouges sur un papier blanc fixé sur la scène. À cette date, qui correspond au premier anniversaire de son arrivée aux États-Unis, elle affirme son indépendance d’artiste et de femme artiste, se démarquant clairement de ses origines japonaises. Ce n’est toutefois qu’à la fin des années 1960 que son parcours artistique se singularise, d’une part avec l’apparition de la première caméra vidéo portative, la Sony Portapak, qu’elle utilise aussitôt, d’autre part grâce à sa rencontre tardive avec Marcel Duchamp. Sa première œuvre vidéo, Marcel Duchamp’s Grave (1972), tournée en Normandie sur le site de sa tombe, est un hommage au grand artiste dada. Si celui-ci est l’inspirateur de ce qu’elle nomme ses Video Sculptures, qui comptent, entre autres, Nude Descending a Staircase (1976), premier film acquis par le Museum of Modern Art, N. J. Paik partage avec elle une proximité à la fois artistique et personnelle – ils se marient en 1977. Chacun participe au projet de l’autre, tout en respectant son individualité et en développant une collaboration modèle et égalitaire, comme il en existe peu dans le siècle, hormis Niki de Saint Phalle et Jean Tinguely. Elle consacrera une exposition entière et un certain nombre d’œuvres à cette exceptionnelle expérience, My Life With Nam June Paik (2007). Dans les années 1980-1990, la nature et ses liens avec la technologie deviennent un sujet récurrent de ses sculptures vidéo, tandis que son intérêt pour la condition féminine et sa volonté de confirmer sa position de femme artiste, continuent d’être les moteurs de son travail : Jogging Lady (1993) prône l’exercice physique comme affirmation du pouvoir féminin ; plusieurs écrans y diffusent des images de marathoniennes, dont certaines se reflètent sur une sculpture métallique de corps féminin. S. Kubota fait partie d’une génération d’artistes japonaises (Yayoi Kusama, Y. Ono, Takako Saito, Mieko Shiomo, Atsuko Tanaka) qui ont profondément bouleversé aussi bien l’installation, la performance, la vidéo que les rapports de l’art avec la musique, dans les années 1960-1970. Artiste essentielle de la seconde moitié du siècle, elle est largement représentée dans les collections des musées américains ; récipiendaire de nombreux prix et bourses, elle a fait l’objet de plusieurs rétrospectives.

Lire plus

Camille Morineau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota, Vagina Painting, 4 juillet 1965, performance au cours du Perpetual Fluxus Festival, cinémathèque, New York, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 50,2 x 40,4 cm, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota, Vagina Painting, 1965, performance au Perpetual Fluxus Festival à New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

HI RED CENTER, Bundle of Events, 1965, carte documentant la performance du groupe à Tokyo, édité par Shigeko Kubota et George Maciunas, © Fluxus Edition, New York, © Getty Research Institute, Los Angeles, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota avec Nam June Paik dans leur studio Westbeth, 1974, photographie en noir et blanc, © Photo : Tom Haar, © ADAGP, Paris

Shigeko Kubota — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Shigeko Kubota, Berlin Diary Thanks to My Ancestors, 1981, 23 x 20,2 x 11 cm, © Galerie Hubert Winter Wien, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29