Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Tania Mouraud
Nominee of Prix d'honneur 2018

© Photo: Christian Legay

1968: Tania Mouraud burned her paintings in public in the courtyard of Villejuif hospital, thus inaugurating a quest for artistic, technical, and intellectual emancipation with which she has never ceased to experiment, from the conception of her initiation and meditation rooms to her more recent pieces. There is, however, a consistent pattern in her work, which continuously questions the primordial paradoxes at work in life: order and chaos, plenitude and fury, serenity and terror, creation and loss.

Tania Mouraud - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tania Mouraud, MDQRPV?, 2015, acrylic on wall, 300 × 1942.6 cm, exhibition view, Centre Pompidou-Metz, 2015, artist’s collection, Courtesy Tania Mouraud, © Tania Mouraud, © ADAGP, Paris

1969 saw her inaugurating a cycle on meditation chambers and initiation rooms: thirteen environment projects, six of which were built. Her aspiration for an environmental art, then relatively new on the European scene, manifested a philosophical reflexion on our identity and relationship to the world – the quest for “a little more space for a little more soul.1” Some of the rooms also feature sound designs that led to creations or collaborations with contemporary composers.

As from 1972, Tania Mouraud continued her research on “the act of seeing” by exhibiting large words written on construction sheeting. This economical and “anti-aesthetic” form of medium enabled her to work on a monumental scale, renewing her approach of the notion of environment. City Performance #1 (1977-1978), now considered a classic work of art of the 1970s, experiments with this research on a citywide scale by reproducing the word “NI” on fifty-four 4 x 3 metre billboards in Eastern Paris. She pursued this research as from 1988 with her series Words, Black Power, Black Continent, and Wall Paintings. Tania Mouraud returned to painting to explore the plastic potential of lettering and language, first by reversing habitual reading processes (positive-negative), then by stretching out words to the full height of the walls, making them almost illegible in the process.

Tania Mouraud - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tania Mouraud, Ad Nauseam, 2012-2014, video HD 1920, 3 channel installations, 29 loudspeakers, random sound broadcasting program, © Ircam, camera, editing and video production © Tania Mouraud, sound composition © Tania Mouraud, sound program © Ircam, Courtesy Tania Mouraud, © Photo: Tania Mouraud, © ADAGP, Paris

At the turn of the 2000s, Tania Mouraud used video to tackle the subject of history and its silences, and the atrocity of any form of alienation or destruction. However, she chose not to add any depiction of disaster to the dreadful flow of pictures we are exposed to, the overabundance of which lessens our capacity to react. Instead, she preferred to summon the power of evocation, the physical dimension of her video environments and of the sounds she composed, and their capacity to generate a form of shock. The question of the mechanical and organised disappearance of life is a significant part of her work, the evolution of which is visible in her works Sightseeing (2002) and its evocation of the Holocaust; Once upon a Time (2011-2012) and its powerful images of felling machines in Canadian and French forests; and La Fabrique (2006), which addresses the issue of the alienation of bodies at work.

Tania Mouraud chose her path and voice early on in her career: “One must be a soldier[1]” and conquer the right to be an artist without restrictions or determination of any kind. Her feminism expresses itself through her actions: leaving the sphere of intimacy and taking possession of the symbolic realm, starting with its first tool of power: language. Tania Mouraud has ever since pursued a permanent insurrection in the face of domination by favouring action over declarations: she works on an environmental scale, taking over the public space, questioning and deconstructing authoritarian regimes and history.

 

Tania Mouraud (1942, France) is an unclassifiable artist of the French art scene who has never ceased to reinvent her practice since the late 1960s through the use of a variety of mediums. Her artistic career is interspersed with many solo and group exhibitions in France, particularly at the Saint-Étienne Métropole Museum of modern and contemporary art (2014), at MAC VAL in Vitry-sur-Seine (2014), at the Museum of Fine Arts in Nantes (2009), and at the Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature (2008); and abroad, at the Slought Foundation (Philadelphia), California State University, and Fullerton Grand Central Art Center (Los Angeles). The first major retrospective of her work was held at Centre Pompidou-Metz in 2015.

1
Restany Pierre, Mouraud, exh. cat. One More Night, galerie Rive Droite, Paris, 1970, Rive droite, 1970.

2
Interview with the artist, November 2014.

Commissioner: Hélène Guenin, director of the MAMAC in Nice
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Prix AWARE

Tania Mouraud
Nommée au Prix d'honneur 2018

© Christian Legay

Tania Mouraud

1968 : Tania Mouraud brûle ses toiles en public, dans la cour de l’hôpital de Villejuif, inaugurant ainsi une quête d’émancipation artistique, technique et intellectuelle qu’elle n’a cessé d’éprouver, de la conception de ses espaces d’initiation et de méditation jusqu’à ses pièces les plus actuelles. Une constante demeure toutefois dans ses travaux qui n’ont de cesse d’interroger les paradoxes primordiaux à l’œuvre dans l’existence : l’ordre et le chaos, la plénitude et la fureur, la sérénité et la terreur, la création et la disparition.

Tania Mouraud - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tania Mouraud, MDQRPV?, 2015, acrylique sur mur, 300 × 1942,6 cm, vue d’exposition, Centre Pompidou-Metz, 2015, collection de l’artiste, Courtesy Tania Mouraud, © Tania Mouraud, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

À partir de 1969, elle inaugure un cycle autour des chambres de méditation et espaces d’initiation : treize environnements pensés, dont six seront réalisés. Cette aspiration à un art de l’environnement, alors relativement inédite sur la scène européenne, manifeste une réflexion d’ordre philosophique sur l’identité et le rapport au monde, la quête d’« Un supplément d’espace pour un supplément d’âme1. » Un travail sur le son accompagne certaines des chambres et donne lieu à des créations ou collaborations avec des compositeurs contemporains.

À partir de 1972, elle poursuit ses recherches sur « l’acte de voir » en déployant des mots sur de la bâche de chantier. Ce parti pris économique et « antiesthétique » lui permet de travailler à une échelle monumentale, renouant avec la notion d’environnement. City Performance #1 (1977-1978), considéré comme une œuvre anthologique de la fin des années 1970, expérimente cette recherche à l’échelle de la ville avec « NI » reproduit sur 54 panneaux d’affichage de 4 ´ 3 mètres dans l’Est parisien. Cette recherche se prolonge à partir de 1988, avec les Words, les Black Power, les Black Continent puis les Wall Paintings. Tania Mouraud renoue avec la peinture pour explorer le potentiel plastique des lettres et du langage par l’inversion du processus habituel de lecture (positif-négatif), puis par l’étirement des mots sur toute la hauteur des murs, les rendant ainsi presque illisibles.

Tania Mouraud - AWARE Artistes femmes / women artists

Tania Mouraud, Ad Nauseam, 2012-14, vidéos HD 1920, 3 installations vidéo, 29 haut-parleurs, programme diffusion son aléatoire © Ircam, caméra, montage et production vidéo © Tania Mouraud, composition sonore © Tania Mouraud, programme sonore © Ircam, Courtesy Tania Mouraud, © Photo : Tania Mouraud, © ADAGP 2017, Paris

Au tournant des années 2000, le recours à la vidéo permet à Tania Mouraud d’investir l’histoire et ses silences, l’atrocité de toute forme d’aliénation ou de destruction. Elle n’ajoute pas de représentation du désastre au flot d’images terribles auxquelles nous sommes exposé·e·s et dont la surabondance a réduit notre capacité à réagir. Elle privilégie au contraire la puissance d’évocation, la dimension physique de ses environnements vidéo et du son qu’elle compose, leur capacité à générer une forme de sidération. La question de la disparition mécanique et organisée du vivant est prégnante et l’on pourrait en retracer le cheminement, de Sightseeing (2002) et son évocation de la Shoah à Once upon a Time (2011-2012) et ses puissantes images de machines d’abattage dans les forêts canadienne et française, en passant par La Fabrique (2006) et l’aliénation des corps au travail.
Dès l’aube de sa carrière, Tania Mouraud a choisi sa voix-e : « Il faut être soldat2 », conquérir son droit à être artiste sans restriction ni détermination d’aucune sorte. Son féminisme est en actes : sortir de la sphère de l’intime, s’emparer du symbolique, à commencer par le premier outil de pouvoir, le langage. Tania Mouraud, poursuit, depuis, une insurrection permanente face à la domination, qui s’acte mais ne se déclame pas : elle travaille à l’échelle d’environnements, investit l’espace public, questionne et déconstruit les régimes d’autorité et l’histoire.

 

Tania Mouraud (1942, France), artiste inclassable de la scène artistique française, ne cesse de réinventer sa pratique depuis la fin des années 1960 par l’intermédiaire de médiums variés. Son parcours artistique est ponctué de nombreuses expositions, personnelles et collectives, en France, notamment au musée d’Art moderne et contemporain de Saint-Étienne Métropole (2014), au MAC VAL à Vitry-sur-Seine (2014), au musée des Beaux-Arts de Nantes (2009), au musée de la Chasse et de la Nature (2008), ainsi qu’à l’étranger, à la Slought Foundation (Philadelphie), au California State University, Fullerton Grand Central Art Center (Los Angeles). En 2015, le Centre Pompidou-Metz lui a consacré sa première grande rétrospective.

1
Restany Pierre, Mouraud, cat. expo. One More Night, galerie Rive droite, Paris, 1970, Paris, Rive droite, 1970.

2
Entretien avec l’artiste, novembre 2014.

Rapporteuse : Hélène Guenin, directrice du MAMAC de Nice
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29