Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Georgia O’Keeffe

1887Sun Prairie, United States | 1986Santa Fe, United States
Informations

American painter.

Georgia O’Keeffe was the only woman painter of the first wave of American “abstractionism” formed around Alfred Stieglitz in New York. She left her family’s farm in 1907 to study at the Art Institute in Chicago, then at the Art Students League in New York – an academic training which enabled her to earn a living teaching fine arts and commercial art as from 1911. Influenced by the French avant-garde and the writings of Kandinsky, G. O’Keeffe adopted an “organic” abstract approach similar to Arthur Dove’s, considered a pioneer of American abstract painting. Geometrical shapes, graceful and wavering curved lines, and glowing spaces lit up by flashes of colour allowed her to create series of paintings in which she could represent the multiple modulations of her introspection and define a singular style, distancing herself from other early American “abstracts” like Marsden Hartley and John Marin. Perhaps the most decisive photographer and gallerist in New York at the time, A. Stieglitz (editor of the review Camera Work) held a solo exhibition of her work in 1917, saluting her new incandescent watercolours in which light played as important a part as abstract composition. In 1918 the painter joined him in New York, where he devoted an exhibition to her every year. The pair would eventually marry in 1924. The questioning of natural cosmic forces became the central theme of her work as from 1919.

Her non-mimetic, almost abstract paintings (Lake George with Crows, 1921) were “inner landscapes”, mental projections of sorts, defined by chromatic variations: the artist readily explored a single colour – midnight or ocean blue (Blue, 1916-1917), or solar red –, which she used in various series of combinations and shades, very fluid but always precisely defined. These “subjective” formal modulations express powerful feelings of rapture: flora, sea and the cosmos mingle in a same expanding flow, which imposes its growth pattern in parallel or concentric curves and uniform symmetries. In addition to these compositions, O’Keeffe continued to paint precise figurations of objects (fruit, flowers, shells) or nudes, and even cityscapes (City Night, 1926), exploring their explosive and secret “nature”, which fascinated her as much as that of sunsets, clouds, and waves (Grey Line with Lavender and Yellow, 1923-1924). As such, referent subjects almost disappear in many of her giant flower paintings from the 1920-1930s: the abstract orbs of Grey Blue and Black-Pink Circle (1929) may evoke both the headpiece of a Native American doll and the petals of a flower. Because they were the visual expression of a woman, American critics were prompt to underline the analogy between these figurative abstractions and the curling shapes of an intimate, eminently sexual realm.

While the wave of American Abstraction underwent criticism, or at least discredit, in the 1930s – culminating in 1935 on the occasion of the exhibition Abstract Painting in America at the Whitney Museum in New York –, Georgia O’Keeffe’s work found a new audience in the followers of the new non-geometric biomorphic abstraction movement, encouraged by Alfred Barr at his exhibition Fantastic Art, Dada, Surrealism at the Museum of Modern Art in 1937. And while the upholders of cold geometrical abstraction criticised her for her mystical “formalism” poised between abstraction and figuration, and for her fondness for fauve expressionist colour – formalism which met the new injunctions for a subjective expression of a “vital drive” –, these qualities would draw the attention of both Abstract Expressionists as from 1945-55 (Gottlieb, De Kooning) and the disciples of Optical Abstraction, who admired the boldness of her compositions. Her resolutely independent approach and pioneering work paved the way, fifty years earlier, for a form of “anti-purist, anti-Bauhaus, anti-systemic (…), additive, subjective, local, specific, colourful, joyful, whimsical” abstraction advocated by the feminist artist Joyce Kozloff in 1976. The Alfred Stieglitz/Georgia O’Keeffe Foundation opened in Abiquiú (New Mexico) in 1998.

Read more

Agnès de La Baumelle

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Blue #2, 1916, watercolor on paper, 40.3 x 27.8 cm, 15 7/8 x 10 15/16 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Blue #1, 1916, watercolor, graphite, on paper, 40.5 x 27.8 cm, 15 15/16 x 10 15/16 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, 2 Yellow Leaves (Yellow Leaves), 1928, oil on canvas, 101.6 x 76.5 cm, 40 x 30 1/8 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Red Hills with the Pedernal, 1936, pastel on paper mounted to wood-pulp board, 54.6 x 69.2 cm, 21 1/2 x 27 1/4 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Fishhook From Hawaii – No. I, 1939, oil on canvas, 45.7 x 35.6 cm,18 x 14 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Rib and Jawbone (recto) and Tulip (verso), 1935, oil on canvas, 22.9 x 61 cm, 9 x 24 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Bridge, 1949, oil on masonite, 121.8 x 91.1cm, 47 15/16 x 35 7/8 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Green, Yellow and Orange, 1960, oil on canvas, 101.6 x 76.2 cm, 40 x 30 in. Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Georgia O’Keeffe

1887Sun Prairie, États-Unis | 1986Santa Fe, États-Unis
Informations

Peintre américaine.

Georgia O’Keefe fut la seule femme peintre de la première vague de « l’abstractionnisme » américain formée autour d’Alfred Stieglitz à New York. Elle quitte en 1907 la ferme familiale pour étudier à l’Art Institute de Chicago, puis à l’Art Students League de New York – formation académique qui lui permettra, à partir de 1911, de gagner sa vie en enseignant les arts plastiques et le dessin publicitaire. Influencée par l’avant-garde française et les écrits de Kandinsky, O’Keeffe adopte en 1915 une sorte d’abstraction « organique », proche de celle d’Arthur Dove, considéré comme le pionnier de la peinture abstraite américaine. Formes géométriques, lignes courbes souples et fluctuantes, espaces embrasés, traversés de leurs colorées, vont lui permettre de représenter, par séries, les multiples modulations de ses états d’âme et de définir un style singulier, s’éloignant des autres premiers « abstraits » américains, comme Marsdsen Hartley et John Marin. Le photographe et galeriste peut-être le plus décisif de la scène New-yorkaise de l’époque, A. Stieglitz (éditeur de la revue Camera Work), lui consacre une première exposition personnelle en 1917, saluant ses nouvelles aquarelles incandescentes, où la lumière joue un rôle égal à celui de la composition abstraite. En 1918, la peintre le rejoint à New York (ils se marieront en 1924) ; il lui organisera chaque année une exposition. L’interrogation des forces cosmiques naturelles constitue, dès 1919, le fil conducteur de son travail.

Ses peintures, non mimétiques, quasi abstraites (Lake George with Crows, 1921) sont des « paysages intérieurs », des sortes de projections mentales définies par des variations chromatiques : l’artiste explore volontiers une seule couleur – le bleu nocturne ou maritime (Blue, 1916-1917) ou le rouge solaire -, qu’elle décline sous différentes combinaisons et nuances d’une grande fluidité, mais toujours précisément définies. Ces modulations formelles « subjectives » expriment des sensations d’extase puissantes : flore, mer et cosmos se mêlent en un même flux d’expansion, qui impose son rythme de croissance en courbes parallèles ou concentriques, en symétries régulières. Parallèlement à ces compositions, la peintre continue à s’attacher à des figurations précises d’objets (fruits, fleurs, coquillages) ou de nus, ou même d’architectures urbaines (City Night, 1926) dont elle explore la « nature » tout à la fois explosive et secrète qui exerce sur elle la même fascination que celle des couchers de soleil, des nuages ou des vagues (Grey Line With Lavender and Yellow, 1923 – 1924). Ainsi, dans ses très nombreuses peintures de fleurs géantes des années 1920 – 1930, le référent disparaît quasiment : les formes abstraites de Grey Blue and Black-Pink Circle (1929) évoquent tout aussi bien la coiffe d’une poupée indienne que les pétales d’une plante. S’agissant d’une expression plastique de femme, la critique américaine n’a pas manqué de souligner l’analogie de ces abstractions figuratives avec les formes en volutes d’un espace intime, éminemment sexuel.

Si, dans les années 1930, la vague abstraite américaine est, sinon condamnée, du moins déconsidérée – les attaques culminent à l’occasion de l’exposition Abstract Painting in America, au Whitney Museum à New York en 1935 -, la place de l’œuvre de G. O’Keeffe trouve une nouvelle écoute auprès des tenants de la nouvelle abstraction biomorphique non géométrique, encouragée par Alfred Barr dans son exposition Fantastic Art, Dada, Surrealism, au Museum of Modern Art en 1937. Alors que son « formalisme » mystique, hésitant entre abstraction et figuration lui est reproché (ainsi que son attachement à la couleur expressionniste fauve) par les partisans d’une abstraction froide géométrique – il répond en effet aux nouvelles injonctions attachées à l’expression subjective d’un « élan vital » -, il captera l’attention des expressionnistes abstraits dès les années 1945 – 1955 (Gottlieb, De Kooning), mais aussi celle des adeptes d’une abstraction optique, qui reconnaissent l’audace de ses cadrages ? Relevant d’une démarche résolument indépendante, son œuvre pionnière ouvre, cinquante ans plus tôt, la voie à cette abstraction « antipuriste, antibauhausiste, antisystémique (…), additive, subjective, locale, spécifique, pleine de couleurs, joyeuse, tarabiscotée », prônée par l’artiste féministe Joyce Kozloff en 1976. Sont créées la Alfred Stieglitz/Georgia O’Keeffe Foundation à Abiquiú (Nouveau-Mexique) en 1998.

Lire plus

Agnès de La Baumelle

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Blue #2, 1916, aquarelle sur papier, 40,3 x 27,8 cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Blue #1, 1916, aquarelle et graphite sur papier, 40,5 x 27,8 cm, 15 15/16 x 10 15/16 in., Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, 2 Yellow Leaves (Yellow Leaves), 1928, huile sur toile, 101.6 x 76.5 cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Red Hills with the Pedernal, 1936, pastel sur papier monté sur panneau de pâte de bois, 54,6 x 69,2 cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Fishhook From Hawaii – No. I, 1939, huile sur toile, 45.7 x 35.6 cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Rib and Jawbone (recto) and Tulip (verso), 1935, tuile sur toile, 2,9 x 61 cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Bridge, 1949, huile sur isorel, 121,8 x 91,1cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Georgia O’Keeffe — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Georgia O’Keeffe, Green, Yellow and Orange, 1960, huile sur toile, 101,6 x 76,2 cm, Brooklyn Museum, New York, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29