Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Gülsün Karamustafa

1946 | Ankara, Turkey
Informations
Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Alexander Heinl

Visual artist from Turkey.

Gülsün Karamustafa holds one of the most important artistic positions in the second half of the twentieth century in Turkey. She was trained in the painting studio of Bedri Rahmi Eyüboglu (1911-1975) in the Istanbul State Academy of Fine Arts (now the Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University) between 1964 and 1969. G. Karamustafa shaped her oeuvre around nation, class and culture constructions in modern Turkey, notions of citizenship and human agency, colonial narratives, and cultures of resistance and migration forced by wars. In her artistic narratives based on humanist observations, many of her protagonists are women. From the mid-1970s, G. Karamustafa continues to produce artworks as a form of resilience and her media includes painting, installation, performance and video. She is one of the first artists who found their political poetics and freedom in Turkey’s then newly developing contemporary art which grew as a reaction to oppressive political and cultural conditions nurtured by the Turkish state.

Her base has always been Istanbul, a city that, like the artist, cannot be locked within binary definitions; this place has been more a state of mind for G. Karamustafa who likes to play with the methodologies of social and cultural historiography. “Who has the right to narrate history and why?” is a driving question for her relentless research. The mundane materials contained within human touch become a driving force in her colourful installations. From this particular position, she has been researching the crossovers between times and spaces, looking for undrawn connections between geographies with a fresh curiosity that is always drawn to erased iconographies, invisible stories of women, migrating subjects and their histories, limitations of taken for granted social and cultural categories.

The political for G. Karamustafa is not only personal but always in an unpredictable state of collision with everyday life. Her colossal Mystic Transport (1992) that brought her the well-deserved international recognition exemplifies such a collision with multicoloured handmade satin quilts tucked in metal buckets on wheels, placed close to other throughout an installation space inviting audience to roll them around. Later works such as The Apartment Building (2012) shows where the personal collides into the collective as G. Karamustafa dives into the heavy history of the building she has lived in since 1991, which was built in 1931 as a residence for the Vaslamatzis family who were obliged to leave the country after the pogrom against minorities on 6–7 September 1955.

Thus, when she titles a piece as Create Your Own Story with the Given Material (1997), it also denotes the standpoint that G. Karamustafa chose for herself as a subject, an artist and a citizen to confront the country’s complex narratives and fragmented historical discourse. Such a contextualization is the potential G. Karamustafa shapes in every story she creates as a way to combat and liberate existing narratives. G. Karamustafa’s most extensive solo exhibitions include Chronographia atHamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart in Berlin (2016) and A Promised Exhibition at SALT Istanbul and Ankara (2013). Her monograph Gülsün Karamustafa: Chronographia was published by Verlag für Moderne Kunst in collaboration with Hamburger Bahnhof Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin in 2016. Her prolific work has significantly influenced younger generations since the 1990s.

Read more

Övül Ö. Durmusoglu

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Double Reality, 1987-2013, fabric, iron, and polyester, 192 x 170 x 171 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Körebe (Blind Man’s Bluff), 1974, from the series Prison Paintings, 1972-1978, acrylic on paper, 23 x 17, Private Collection

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Fallen Variation Of The Last Supper, 1984, tapestry, Courtesy Gülsün Karamustafa & Rampa Istanbul, © Photo: Cem Berk Ekinil

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Prison Paintings 9, 1972, acrylic paint, graphite, crayon, and ink on paper, 20 x 17.2 cm, © Tate

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Create Your Own Story with the Given Material, 1997, cotton, 30 parts, 30 x 40 cm each, Collection Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Exhibition view Chronographia, Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin, 2016-2017, © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, © Photo: Thomas Bruns

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Promised Paintings 3, 2019, acrylic on canvas, 30 x 50 cm, © Nitra Gallery

Magazine
Linked article
Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Gülsün Karamustafa

1946 | Ankara, Turquie
Informations
Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

© Photo : Alexander Heinl

Plasticienne de Turquie.

Gülsün Karamustafa est considérée comme l’une des artistes les plus importantes de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle en Turquie. Elle se forme dans l’atelier du peintre Bedri Rahmi Eyüboglu (1911-1975) à l’Académie nationale des beaux-arts d’Istanbul (aujourd’hui l’université des beaux-arts Mimar-Sinan) de 1964 à 1969, et structure son œuvre autour des thèmes de la nation, de la classe sociale et des constructions culturelles dans la Turquie moderne, ainsi que sur les notions de citoyenneté et d’agencéité humaine, les récits coloniaux, les voies de résistance et les migrations liées aux conflits. Dans les narrations qu’elle met en scène, qui s’appuient sur ses observations humanistes, les personnages sont en majorité des femmes. Depuis le milieu des années 1970, G. Karamustafa n’a eu de cesse de créer, comme s’il s’agissait d’une forme de résistance, au moyen de médiums aussi variés que la peinture, l’installation, la performance ou la vidéo. Karamustafa est l’une des premières artistes à pratiquer une poétique politique et à défendre sa propre liberté dans le monde de l’art contemporain qui se développe alors en réaction à l’oppression politique et intellectuelle menée par l’État turc.

Son point d’ancrage a toujours été Istanbul, ville qui, comme elle-même, ne peut être réduite à une définition binaire, dans la mesure où elle est synonyme d’un certain état d’esprit pour l’artiste qui aime jouer avec les différentes méthodologies de l’historiographie sociale et culturelle. « Qui est habilité à raconter l’histoire et pourquoi ? » est la question qui motive sa recherche incessante. Les matériaux banals à la portée de l’humain deviennent le moteur de ses installations colorées. Forte de ce positionnement particulier, elle axe son travail sur une fusion de temporalités et d’espaces et part en quête de liens inconnus entre différentes géographies, avec une curiosité inébranlable qui l’attire vers les iconographies effacées, les récits invisibles de femmes, les migrants et leurs histoires, les limitations auxquelles font face les catégories sociales et culturelles qui ne sont pas considérées à leur juste valeur.

Karamustafa ne voit pas la politique comme une question personnelle, mais plutôt comme un état de conflit qui surgit de manière imprévisible dans la vie quotidienne. Son œuvre monumentale Mystic Transport (1992), qui lui vaut à juste titre une reconnaissance internationale, exemplifie ce conflit grâce à des édredons en satin multicolores confectionnés à la main et présentés dans des paniers à roulettes disposés les uns à proximité des autres dans l’ensemble de l’espace d’exposition, le public étant invité à les déplacer. Une autre installation plus récente, The Apartment Building (2012), illustre le choc entre le personnel et le collectif en plongeant le public dans l’histoire douloureuse de l’immeuble dans lequel elle vit depuis 1991 : construit en 1931, ce bâtiment était le lieu de résidence de la famille Vaslamatzis qui a dû quitter le pays à la suite des pogroms conduits contre les minorités les 6 et 7 septembre 1955.

Le fait que G. Karamustafa intitule une œuvre Create Your Own Story with the Given Material (1997) exprime également le point de vue qu’elle a choisi d’adopter en tant que sujet, artiste et citoyenne pour s’attaquer aux événements complexes et au discours historique fragmentaire de son pays. Ce genre de mise en contexte constitue un potentiel que l’artiste façonne dans chaque histoire qu’elle crée pour combattre les récits existants et pour s’en libérer. Parmi ses expositions individuelles les plus importantes, citons notamment Chronographia au Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart à Berlin (2016-2017) et A Promised Exhibition, organisée par le SALT à Istanbul (2013-2014). Sa monographie, Gülsün Karamustafa. Chronographia, paraît en 2016 aux éditions Verlag für Moderne Kunst, en collaboration avec le Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart à Berlin. Son œuvre prolifique a marqué de son influence plusieurs jeunes générations d’artistes depuis les années 1990.

Lire plus

Övül Ö. Durmusoglu

Traduit de l'anglais par Lucy Pons.

© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Double Reality, 1987-2013, tissu, fer et polyester, 192 x 170 x 171 cm, Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Körebe (Blind Man’s Bluff), 1974, issu de la série Prison Paintings, 1972-1978, acrylique sur papier, 23 x 17, Collection particulière

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Fallen Variation Of The Last Supper, 1984, tapisserie, Courtesy Gülsün Karamustafa & Rampa Istanbul, © Photo : Cem Berk Ekinil

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Prison Paintings 9, 1972, acrylique, mine de plomb, crayon de couleur et encre sur papier, 20 x 17,2 cm, © Tate

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Create Your Own Story with the Given Material, 1997, coton, 30 parties, 30 x 40 cm chacun, Collection Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Vue d’exposition Chronographia, Hamburger Bahnhof, Museum für Gegenwart, Berlin, 2016-2017, © Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, © Photo : Thomas Bruns

Gülsün  Karamustafa — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Gülsün Karamustafa, Promised Paintings 3, 2019, acrylique sur toile, 30 x 50 cm, © Nitra Gallery

Magazine
Article lié
Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29