Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Judy Watson

1959 | Mundubbera, Australia

Australian painter.

Trained in printmaking at the University of Tasmania, Judy Watson graduated from the University of Monash (Melbourne) in 1986. In 1990, the discovery of her aboriginal roots in the northwest of Queensland marked a turning point in her life. From then on, her work became archaeology of memory. Her canvases are created from confrontations between materials as diverse as lacquers, inks, pastels, or dry pigments, sometimes including eucalyptus bark, shells, or clay. Unexpected effects emerge: transparent, lacquered, or thicker layers gradually accumulate on the canvas, which remains floating on the wall. This work depicts the process of geological formation of the earth, reflecting the “dreamtime”, the timeless present at the origins of the physical and spiritual world of the Aboriginal people. Against these backgrounds, the artist applies human or natural forms, which seem to emerge from the matter and make reference to the ancestral images that are etched or traced onto rock, indicating the sacred sties of aboriginal history. Her œuvre is as much a work of remembrance as it is an evocation of the world of women. Winner of the Moet & Chandon award, she came to France in 1995, where she visited the collections of European museums, thus continuing to compile her inventory of objects made by aboriginal women.

From this exploration came the series of engravings Our Bones in Your Collections, Our Hairs in Your Collections (1997): objects are evoked in these works, sometimes hidden under layers of paper or lacquer; this dissimulation denounces the concealment of the female world by the museums, while revealing, as the titles indicates, the appropriation of aboriginal culture by the West. The piece that she produced for the Musée du Quai Branly in Paris in 2006 was based on the same approach. Watson acquired international recognition in 1997, at the Fluent exhibition at the Venice Biennale. Since then, she has participated in many monumental projects in Sydney or Melbourne. She has also produced some major series of engravings, including A Preponderance of Aboriginal Blood (2005), which conjures up the past of the Aboriginals and their struggle for the recognition of the right to vote in their own country.

Read more

Philippe Peltier

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, A picnic with the natives – the gulf, 2015, pigment and acrylic on canvas, 204 x 180 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Christopher Snee, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, The guardians, 1986-1987, powder pigment on plywood, 5 figures: each 180 x 58 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Carley Wright, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Red rock from the portfolio Crossroads, 1998, lithograph, 56 x 76 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Ray Woodbury, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Our hair in your collections, 1997, etching and chine collé, 29.5 x 20.4 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Diana Panuccio, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Deadly bloom, 1997, pigment and pastel on canvas, 194 x 114 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Jenni Carter, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Saltpan, 1992, powder pigment and pastel on canvas, 180 x 110 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Jenni Carter, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Inside the rock, 1988, powder paint, oil paint, bitumen, charcoal and oil stick on canvas, 191.5 x 127.5 cm Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, Jenni Carter, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Untitled, 1990, pigment and charcoal on plywood, 240 x 120 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo: AGNSW, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Judy Watson

1959 | Mundubbera, Australie

Peintre australienne.

Formée à la gravure à l’université de Tasmanie, Judy Watson est aussi diplômée en 1986 de l’université Monash (Melbourne). En 1990, la découverte de ses racines aborigènes dans le nord-ouest du Queensland est un tournant dans sa vie. Dès lors, son travail s’inscrit dans une archéologie de la mémoire. Ses toiles naissent de la rencontre entre des matières aussi diverses que les laques, les encres, le pastel ou les pigments secs, et incluent parfois l’écorce d’eucalyptus, les coquillages ou les terres. Des effets inattendus en résultent : peu à peu, les couches transparentes, laquées ou plus épaisses s’accumulent sur la toile qui restera flottante sur le mur. Ce travail évoque le processus de la formation géologique de la terre, reflétant ainsi le « temps du rêve », présent immémorial à l’origine du monde physique et spirituel des Aborigènes. Sur ces fonds, l’artiste inscrit des formes humaines ou naturelles, qui semblent émerger de la matière, et font référence aux images ancestrales qui, gravées, frottées ou tracées sur la roche signalent les hauts lieux de l’histoire aborigène. Son œuvre est autant un travail sur la mémoire qu’une évocation du monde des femmes. Lauréate du prix Möet & Chandon, elle séjourne en France en 1995, et visite les collections des musées européens, poursuivant ainsi son travail d’inventaire des objets fabriqués par les femmes aborigènes.

De cette exploration sont nées les séries de gravures, Our Bones in Your Collections, Our Hairs in Your Collections (1997) : les objets y sont évoqués, parfois cachés sous des couches de papiers ou de laque ; cette dissimulation dénonce l’occultation de l’univers féminin par les musées, tout en révélant, comme les titres l’indiquent, l’appropriation par l’Occident de la culture aborigène. Son œuvre réalisée pour le musée du Quai Branly à Paris en 2006 relève de la même approche. J. Watson acquiert la reconnaissance internationale en 1997, à l’exposition Fluent, lors de la Biennale de Venise. Depuis, elle a participé à de nombreux projets monumentaux à Sydney ou Melbourne. Elle a aussi produit d’importantes séries de gravures, dont A Preponderance of Aboriginal Blood, (2005) qui évoque le passé des Aborigènes et leur lutte en faveur de la reconnaissance du droit de vote dans leur propre pays.

Lire plus

Philippe Peltier

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, A picnic with the natives – the gulf, 2015, pigment et acrylique sur toile, 204 x 180 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Christopher Snee, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, The guardians, 1986-1987, poudre de pigment sur contreplaqué, 5 pièces de chacune 180 x 58 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Carley Wright, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Red rock from the portfolio Crossroads, 1998, lithographie, 56 x 76 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Ray Woodbury, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Our hair in your collections, 1997, gravure et chine collé, 29,5 x 20,4 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Diana Panuccio, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Deadly bloom, 1997, pigment et pastel sur toile, 194 x 114 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Jenni Carter, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Saltpan, 1992, poudre de pigment et pastel sur toile, 180 x 110 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Jenni Carter, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Inside the rock, 1988, peinture en poudre, peinture à l’huile, bitume, charbon et bâton d’huile sur toile, 191,5 x 127,5 cm Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, Jenni Carter, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Judy Watson — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Judy Watson, Untitled, 1990, pigment et craie sur contreplaqué, 240 x 120 cm, Art Gallery of New South Wales, © Photo : AGNSW, © Judy Watson, © ADAGP, Paris

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29