Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lygia Clark

1920Belo Horizonte, Brazil | 1988Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Informations
Sponsor
— Galerie Nathalie Seroussi

Brazilian painter, sculptor and psychotherapist.

Married at the age of eighteen, Lygia Clark led a normal middle-class life until her divorce in 1947, then moved to Rio de Janeiro to take up art. Her training in painting began under Roberto Burle Marx (1909–1994), a famous landscape architect, and continued in Paris between 1950 and 1952 alongside Fernand Léger (1881–1955) and Árpád Szenes (1897–1985). When concrete art – an abstractionist movement strongly derived from Russian constructivism – dominated the visual arts in South America, her painting concerned itself with the concretist exploration of the elements in the pictorial space, paying particular attention to the interstices between planes, especially the interphase between the canvas and the frame, which Clark would treat as a plastic element in its own right. In 1959 a group of artists based in Rio de Janeiro signed the Neo-Concrete Manifesto in response to the formalist and rationalist intransigence of concretism. Lygia Clark became one of the central figures in this dissident reaction and advocated a more organic and personal approach to the creation of a work of art. She claimed, “So-called geometric forms totally lose the objective character of geometry to turn into vehicles for the imagination”. In her series Bichos (“creatures”, 1960), made of sheets of polished metal joined by hinges, the viewer becomes the agent of the work in giving it a new form by altering the spatial relationships between the sheets. In the same year Clark taught visual arts at the national institute for the education of the deaf, where she created works that increasingly required the interaction of their viewers and which moved towards the de-substantiation of art. Caminhando (“walking”, 1964) is emblematic of this transition: a strip of paper is cut longitudinally by a participant until a Moebius Strip is created. “The work consists in the creation of the work itself; you and it become indissociable”, she declared.

During the 1960s she considered that the role of the artist was to propose and channel experiences of this sort with the aim of exploring perceptive, mnemonic and emotional phenomena. Examples of works with this purpose were: Luvas sensoriais (“sensorial gloves”, 1968), an invitation to the participant to rediscover the sense of touch; O Eu e o tu, série roupacorpo- roupa (“the I and the you, clothing-bodyclothing series”, 1967), in which a man and a woman are asked to wear industrial suits created by the artist that have the aim of inculcating “feminine” sensations in the man and “masculine” sensations in the woman; A Casa é o corpo, labirinto (“the house is the body, labyrinth”, 1968), a tunnel 8 metres long that the participant walks through, pushing successively through spaces titled “Penetration”, “Ovulation”, “Germination” and “Expulsion”. The viewer’s participation and the utilization of the material support to engender something beyond the immediate experience were fundamental themes in Clark’s practice, and were associated during the 1970s with a discourse based on the theories of Melanie Klein and Donald Winnicott. This period was a turning point in the work of Lygia Clark towards therapeutic art, and towards the end of her life she considered her practice as being more in the realm of psychoanalysis than art. Between 1970 and 1975 she ran a seminar on the phantasmatic nature of the body at the Centre Saint-Charles in the Université Paris 1-Panthéon-Sorbonne, in which she asked her students to perform group exercises that were a continuation of her exploration of the psyche, such as Túnel, Canibalismo and Baba antropofágica (“anthropophagic slobber”), in which she conceived various rituals designed to trigger symbolic experiences.

Following her return to Brazil in 1976, her art continued to develop on the edge of the art world but her activities, which were then purely psychotherapeutic, stimulated little interest among psychologists or psychiatrists. The works in her last series, Objetos relacionais (“relational objects”) were conceived for therapeutic purposes and had the purpose of regressing the participant so as to bring to the surface sensations recorded in the body’s memory at a time before the acquisition of language. It was only as from 1980 that her work received broad international recognition. Retrospectives celebrate its multi-faceted character (de-substantiated work, work as process, work-medium) and emphasize the critical nature of Lygia Clark’s interest in a certain fetishist aspect of contemporary art, with the aim of establishing and exalting the figures of the artist and the work of art.

Read more

Liliana Padilla-Arevalo

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Bicho « monumento a todas as situaçóes », 1964, aluminium sculpture, 41 x 66 x 54 cm, © galerie Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Superficie modulada, 1955, industrial paint on Eucatex, 61.9 x 91.6 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi, © O Mundo de Lygia Clark-Associação Cultural, Rio de Janeiro

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Sem titulo [Untitled], 1952, graphite, paper, 15.5 x 44.5 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi, © O Mundo de Lygia Clark-Associação Cultural, Rio de Janeiro

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Estudo para Planos em superficie modulada [Study for plans in modulated surface], 1957, collage, cardboard, 8 x 12 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Planos em superficie modulado, 1957, doublesided collage, cardboard, 21.6 x 20.7 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Superficie modulada, 1956, graphite, gouache on paper, 15.5 x 44.5 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Espaço modulado, 1958, acrylic paint, graphie, cardboard, 19.9 x 20 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Bicho « Em si » [Creature « in itself »], 1962, aluminium sculpture, 20 x 22 x 15 cm, © Galerie Nathalie Seroussi

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Lygia Clark

1920Belo Horizonte, Brésil | 1988Rio de Janeiro, Brésil
Informations
Soutien
— Galerie Nathalie Seroussi

Peintre, sculptrice et psychothérapeute brésilienne.

Mariée à 18 ans, Lygia Clark mène une vie bourgeoise jusqu’à son divorce en 1947, puis s’installe à Rio de Janeiro pour embrasser une carrière artistique. Sa formation picturale commence auprès de Roberto Burle Marx (1909-1994), célèbre architecte paysagiste, et se poursuit à Paris, entre 1950 et 1952, aux côtés de Fernand Léger (1881-1955) et d’Árpád Szenes (1897-1985). À l’heure où l’art concret, mouvement abstractionniste tributaire du constructivisme russe, domine les arts visuels en Amérique du Sud, sa peinture s’inscrit dans l’exploration concrétiste des éléments de l’espace pictural, avec une attention spéciale aux interstices entre plans, et notamment à l’interphase entre la toile et le cadre – qu’elle traitera comme un élément plastique à part entière. En 1959, un groupe d’artistes de Rio de Janeiro signe le Manifeste néo-concret, en réaction à l’intransigeance formaliste et rationaliste du concrétisme. L. Clark devient l’une des figures centrales de cette dissidence prônant une approche plus organique et personnelle de l’œuvre d’art. « Les formes dites géométriques perdent le caractère objectif de la géométrie pour devenir un véhicule de l’imagination », affirme-t-elle. Dans la série Bichos (« insectes », 1960), des plaques de métal poli unies et articulées par des charnières, le spectateur doit devenir l’agent de l’œuvre, c’est-à-dire la réactualiser en modifiant les rapports spatiaux entre les plaques. La même année, L. Clark enseigne les arts plastiques à l’Institut national d’éducation de sourds, où elle met en place des expériences qui demandent toujours plus de participation de la part du public et qui vont dans le sens de la désincarnation de l’art. Caminhando (« en marchant », 1964) est l’œuvre emblématique de cette transition : un ruban est rompu longitudinalement par un spectateur, au fur et à mesure qu’il avance dans le sens de sa longueur ; le participant crée ainsi un ruban de Möbius. « L’œuvre consiste dans l’acte de faire l’œuvre même ; vous et elle devenez indissociables », déclare L. Clark.

Dans les années 1960, elle considère que l’artiste doit proposer et canaliser des expériences de ce genre, ayant pour but d’explorer certains phénomènes perceptifs, mnémoniques ou émotionnels : Luvas sensoriais (« gants sensoriels », 1968) est une invitation à la redécouverte du toucher ; dans O Eu e o tu, série roupacorpo-roupa (« le moi et le toi, série vêtement-corps-vêtement », 1967), un couple mixte est invité à porter des vêtements confectionnés par l’artiste, censés procurer des sensations « féminines » à l’homme et « masculines » à la femme ; A Casa é o corpo, labirinto (« la maison est le corps, labyrinthe », 1968) consiste en un tunnel de 8 mètres de longueur que le spectateur parcourt, plongeant successivement dans des atmosphères intitulées « Pénétration », « Ovulation », « Germination » et « Expulsion ». La participation du spectateur et le dépassement du support matériel, qui sont alors les axes de l’œuvre clarkienne, s’associent dans les années 1970 à un discours tributaire des théories de Melanie Klein et Donald Winnicott : c’est un tournant définitivement thérapeutique dans le travail de L. Clark, qui, vers la fin de sa vie, considère sa démarche comme appartenant davantage au domaine de la psychanalyse qu’à celui de l’art. Entre 1970 et 1975, elle dirige un séminaire sur la fantasmatique du corps au centre Saint-Charles de l’université Paris 1-Panthéon-Sorbonne, dans lequel elle propose des exercices collectifs qui poursuivent son exploration du psychisme, tels que Túnel, Canibalismo, Baba antropofágica (« nounou anthropophage »), partant de l’exécution de différents dispositifs conçus comme médiateurs d’expériences symboliques ultérieures.

Après son retour au Brésil en 1976, elle évolue en marge du monde de l’art, mais ses activités alors purement psychothérapeutiques ne suscitent guère l’intérêt des psychologues ni des psychiatres. Sa dernière série, Objetos relacionais (« objets relationnels »), conçue en vue de rencontres thérapeutiques individuelles, devait servir à faire revivre, dans une logique régressive, des sensations enregistrées dans la mémoire du corps dans un temps antérieur à l’acquisition du langage. Ce n’est qu’à partir de 1980 que son œuvre acquiert une ample reconnaissance internationale. Les rétrospectives qui lui sont consacrées célèbrent son caractère polymorphe (œuvre désincarnée, œuvre processus, œuvre-médium) et soulignent le regard critique que L. Clark portait sur une certaine dérive fétichiste dans l’art contemporain, tendant à figer et à sacraliser les figures de l’artiste et de l’objet d’art.

Lire plus

Liliana Padilla-Arevalo

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Bicho « monumento a todas as situaçóes », sculpture en aluminium, 1964, 41 x 66 x 54 cm, © Galerie Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Superficie modulada, 1955, peinture industrielle sur Eucatex, 61,9 x 91,6 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi, © O Mundo de Lygia Clark-Associação Cultural, Rio de Janeiro

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Sem titulo [Sans titre], 1952, papier, graphite, 15,5 x 44,5 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi, © O Mundo de Lygia Clark-Associação Cultural, Rio de Janeiro

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Estudo para Planos em superficie modulada [Etudes pour les plans en surface modulable], 1957, collage, carton, 8 x 12 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Planos em superficie modulado, 1957, collage double face, carton, 21,6 x 20,7 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Superficie modulada, 1956, graphite, gouache sur papier 15,5 x 44,5 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Espaço modulado, 1958, peinture acrylique, graphite, carton, 19,9 x 20 cm, Courtesy Nathalie Seroussi

Lygia Clark — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Lygia Clark, Bicho « Em si » [Créature « en soi »], 1962, sculpture en aluminium, 20 x 22 x 15 cm, © Galerie Nathalie Seroussi

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29