Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

María Izquierdo

1902San Juan de los Lagos, Mexico | 1955Mexico City, Mexico
Informations

Mexican painter.

Born in a rural environment deeply attached to nineteenth-century Mexican Métis traditions, Maria Izquierdo was raised by her maternal grandparents, who pushed her to marry a soldier when she was fourteen years old. In 1926, after leaving her husband and distancing herself from her maternal family, she found herself alone in Mexico City with her three children. From 1927 to 1928 she studied at the prestigious San Carlos Academy of Fine Arts. Diego Rivera, whom she met during this period, wrote in 1929 that “her personality is like her painting: classically Mexican” – a formulation that would serve as a kind of baptism into the post-revolutionary artistic movement, a movement that viewed distinguished between artistic investigation and investigation into identity. 1929 was also the year in which she met Rufino Tamayo, whose influence proved decisive for her work, along with the more indirect influences of Pablo Picasso, Paul Gauguin, and Giorgio de Chirico. In addition to sharing a life and a studio until 1933, the couple shared a personal, highly intimate approach to painting which gradually distanced them from the triumvirate of D. Rivera, David Alfaro Siqueiros, and José Clemente Orozco, who accepted painting only insofar as it was a political tool for grandiloquent claims to “Mexicanness”. R. Tamayo taught the young woman techniques suited to small formats; together, they applied watercolours in small brushstrokes, a method particularly suitable for representing the dark spaces and implements of the indigenous world.
In the early 1930s, the painter’s watercolours and gouaches were dominated by an earthy palette. Antonin Artaud in particular was especially impressed by them during his stay in Mexico in 1936. Admiring what he referred to as the “primitive”, “sincere”, and “disturbing” dimensions of her work, he held portrayed her as a shaman with the key to the country’s virgin soul and exalted the hallucinatory qualities of her painting in an article, “Le Mexique et l’esprit primitif : Maria Izquierdo” [Mexico and the Primitive Spirit: María Izquierdo] (L’Amour de l’art, №. 8, 1937). His initial enthusiasm subsided, however, as he identified the influence of modern European art in the painter’s work. Nevertheless, he returned to Paris with several watercolours, which became the subject, in 1937, of the artist’s first European exhibition. (She had already been the first Mexican woman to exhibit in the United States, in 1930.) Although M. Izquierdo is often grouped with the surrealists, in fact A. Artaud’s remarks remain her only link with the movement. Alegoría del trabajo [Allegory of Work, 1936] and Alegoría de la libertad [Allegory of Liberty, 1937] attest to the temporary influence of A. Artaud on the artist, seeming to respond to his metaphysical expectations.

From then on, the painter would remain faithful to her chosen subjects: village circuses, peaceful horses, still lifes, self-portraits, and portraits (although the latter was not her favourite genre because she preferred to paint from memory and without the constraints of realism; some are nevertheless remarkable, like that of Henri Chatillon, Retrato del turista [Portrait of the Tourist, 1940]). Her self-portraits highlight her indigenous features by portraying her wearing the traditional ornaments that she would also wear in daily life, a gesture of resistance to the country’s accelerated urbanization, which increasingly relegated traditional clothing to the rank of costume. And the theme of the circus gave her the opportunity to depict a kind of microcosm that she loved for its purely formal existence on the margins of history. Her still lifes rely on the theatrical representation of religious subjects in colonial art: everyday objects, treated with reverence and with a devotional frontality, are mixed with images evoking religious figures, as in Ofrenda de Viernes de Dolores [Good Friday Offering, 1944-1945]. In 1945, following a triumphant trip to South America during which she was welcomed as a hero by the political and artistic elite, she learned that the fresco she was meant to paint at the Mexico City Hall had been cancelled: D. Rivera and D.A. Siqueiros had argued that such a work was beyond the capabilities of an artist with no experience in muralism. From this point on, her artistic life would become more difficult. Preoccupied by a full-on war against the artistic dictatorship of the muralists and by illness, her productivity would gradually decrease. The shadow cast by the muralists and the dismissive nature of the labels attributed to her work have contributed to the relative neglect of this artist who was nevertheless a major figure in Mexican modernism.

Read more

Liliana Padilla

Translated from French by Anna Knight.

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Autoportrait, 1940, oil on canvas, 140 x 87 cm, collection Blaisten, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Autoportrait, 1946, oil on canvas, 53 x 45 cm, private collection, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Mis sobrinas [My nieces], 1940, oil on canvas, 139.8 x 99.8 cm, Courtesy Museo Nacional de Arte, © Museo Nacional de Arte, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Maternité, 1944, oil on canvas, 85 x 70.2 cm, private collection, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, La nina indifférente [The indifferent girl], 1946, oil on canvas, 85.5 x 66 cm, Courtesy Galeria de Arte Mexicano, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Rêve et pressentiment, 1947, oil on canvas, 45 x 60 cm, private collection, © María Izquierdo

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

María Izquierdo

1902San Juan de los Lagos, Mexique | 1955Mexico, Mexique
Informations

Peintre mexicaine.

Née dans un milieu rural très attaché aux traditions mexicaines métisses du XIXe siècle, María Izquierdo est élevée par ses grands-parents maternels qui, lorsqu’elle atteint ses 14 ans, la poussent à épouser un militaire. En 1926, ayant rompu avec son mari et sa famille maternelle, elle se retrouve seule à Mexico avec ses trois enfants. De 1927 à 1928, elle étudie à la prestigieuse académie des beaux-arts de San Carlos. Diego Rivera, rencontré alors, écrira en 1929 que « sa personne est comme sa peinture : classiquement mexicaine » – formule tenant lieu de baptême dans le mouvement artistique postrévolutionnaire qui ne distingue pas recherche artistique et recherche identitaire. L’année 1929 est aussi celle de sa rencontre avec Rufino Tamayo, dont l’influence se révélera déterminante pour son travail, au-delà de celle, indirecte, de Pablo Picasso, de Paul Gauguin ou de De Chirico. Outre leur vie et leur atelier – jusqu’en 1933 –, ils partagent en effet une approche personnelle et intimiste de la peinture, qui les éloigne progressivement du triumvirat formé par D. Rivera, David Alfaro Siqueiros et José Clemente Orozco, les muralistes, qui tolèrent mal que la peinture soit autre chose qu’un outil politique de revendication grandiloquente d’une « mexicanité » épique. R. Tamayo apprend à la jeune femme des techniques adaptées au petit format ; ensemble, ils s’exercent à une application de l’aquarelle par petits coups de pinceau, qui convient particulièrement à la représentation des espaces et ustensiles sombres de l’univers indigène.
Au début des années 1930, une palette terreuse domine les aquarelles et gouaches de la peintre, objets d’une véritable révélation pour Antonin Artaud lors de son séjour au Mexique en 1936. Admirant la dimension « primitive », « sincère » et « inquiétante » de ses œuvres, selon ses propres mots, il est prêt à ériger l’artiste en chamane dépositaire de la clé de l’âme vierge du pays et exalte les qualités hallucinatoires de sa peinture dans son article « Le Mexique et l’esprit primitif : María Izquierdo » (L’Amour de l’art, no 8, 1937). Mais son enthousiasme initial se modère toutefois ensuite lorsqu’il identifie des traces de l’influence de l’art moderne européen dans le travail de la peintre. Malgré tout, il regagne Paris avec plusieurs aquarelles qui font l’objet en 1937 de la première exposition européenne de l’artiste – qui avait déjà été la première femme mexicaine à exposer aux États-Unis en 1930. Bien qu’elle soit souvent rattachée au surréalisme, A. Artaud reste donc en fait son seul lien avec ce mouvement. Alegoría del trabajo (« allégorie du travail », 1936) et Alegoría de la libertad (« allégorie de la liberté », 1937) témoignent de l’influence transitoire d’A. Artaud et semblent répondre aux attentes métaphysiques de celui-ci.

Désormais, la peintre reste fidèle à ses sujets : les cirques de village, les chevaux paisibles, les natures mortes, les autoportraits et les portraits, bien que ceux-là ne représentent pas son genre de prédilection car elle préfère peindre de mémoire et loin de tout impératif de réalisme. Certains sont néanmoins remarquables, comme celui d’Henri Chatillon (Retrato del turista, [« portrait du touriste »], 1940). Ses autoportraits soulignent ses traits indigènes par le port d’ornements traditionnels qu’elle adopte aussi dans sa vie ordinaire, geste de résistance face à l’urbanisation accélérée du pays reléguant l’habillement traditionnel au rang de costume. Quant au thème du cirque, il lui offre l’occasion de représenter une sorte de microcosme qu’elle aime pour son existence purement formelle aux marges de l’histoire. Ses natures mortes sont tributaires de la représentation théâtrale des sujets religieux dans l’art colonial : les objets quotidiens, traités avec révérence et avec une frontalité votive, se mêlent à des images évoquant les figures religieuses (Ofrenda de Viernes de Dolores, [« offrande de Vendredi saint »], 1944-1945). En 1945, au terme d’un voyage triomphant en Amérique du Sud, où les élites politiques et artistiques la reçoivent en héroïne, elle apprend que la fresque qu’elle devait peindre à l’Hôtel de Ville de Mexico a été décommandée : D. Rivera et D. A. Siqueiros ont de fait argumenté qu’un tel travail excédait les capacités d’une artiste sans expérience dans le muralisme. À partir de là, ses dernières années seront difficiles, occupées par une guerre frontale contre la dictature artistique des muralistes et par une maladie qui réduit progressivement sa productivité. L’ombre des muralistes comme le caractère réducteur des étiquettes attribuées à son œuvre ont contribué à l’oubli relatif de cette figure pourtant majeure du modernisme mexicain.

Lire plus

Liliana Padilla

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Autoportrait, 1940, huile sur toile, 140 x 87 cm, collection Blaisten, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Autoportrait, 1946, huile sur toile, 53 x 45 cm, collection particulière, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Mis sobrinas [Mes nièces], 1940, huile sur toile, 139,8 x 99,8 cm, Courtesy Museo Nacional de Arte, © Museo Nacional de Arte, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Maternité, 1944, huile sur toile, 85 x 70,2 cm, collection particulière, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, La nina indifférente [La fille indifférente], 1946, huile sur toile, 85,5 x 66 cm, Courtesy Galeria de Arte Mexicano, © María Izquierdo

María  Izquierdo — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

María Izquierdo, Rêve et pressentiment, 1947, huile sur toile, 45 x 60 cm, collection particulière, © María Izquierdo

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29