Marta Hoepffner

1912Pirmasens, German Empire | 2000Lindenberg im Allgäu, Germany
Informations
Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Self-Portrait in Mirror, 1941, gelatin silver print, 35.4 x 28.9 cm, The Audrey and Sydney Irmas Collection

German photographer.

Marta Hoepffner, the niece of Hugo Ball, was one of the small group of photographers who remained in Germany under Nazism, which resultedin a continuity between the avant-garde photographic research of the 1920s and that of the postwar period. Her abstract photos mingle references to pictorial abstraction with the techniques of the New Vision movement in photography. Her training at the Frankfurt School of Art (1929–33) proved a determining factor; Frankfurt had become the new centre of modernity in Germany, rivalling the flourishing cultural scenes of Berlin and Weimar. After studying photography under Willi Baumeister, who taught his students about the work of László Moholy-Nagy, Man Ray, and Herbert Bayer, Hoepffner quickly turned to experimental photography. Moholy- Nagy’s book Painting, Photography, Film (1925) propelled her further down this road. Thanks to her studies, she was familiar with the photographic techniques of the avant-garde, such as solarization, multiple exposure, double exposure, and photomontage, although she still remained attached to the pictorial medium.

The exhibition held at the Städel Museum in Frankfurt in 1931 under the title Vom Abbild zum Sinnbild (From the image to the symbol) and her repeated trips to Paris in 1937 furthered her knowledge of abstract painting and played a decisive part in fashioning her artistic imagination. She drew on this innovative vocabulary in some of her fantastical illustrations for the magazine Das Illustrierte Blatt (1936–8), and also in secretly kept photograms (such as Hommage à Kandinsky [Homage to Kandinsky] of 1937), which reflected the modernist aesthetic proscribed by the Nazi regime.

After the war, Hoepffner focused fully on creating colour photograms using the polarization process. These studies of the use of white light and the optical effect it produces were just a first step towards a far more ambitious aim: kinetic art. Her lightboxes are in fact transposals of her photograms into three dimensions. They have many affinities with Moholy-Nagy’s Light-Space Modulator (1930) because they do not just create a link between photography and the play of light and shade, but also give the impression, thanks to their pictorial aspect, that the light is actually painting what appears before our eyes. Hoepffner also became well known for her role as teacher at the school of photography she founded in Hofheim in 1949. Working alongside her sister Madeleine and her companion, the photographer Irm Schoeffers, she taught courses that focused on the technical, experimental, and total exploration of photography.

Read more

Laura Weber

Translated from French by Thames & Hudson.

As published in Women in Abstraction © 2021 Thames & Hudson Ltd, London

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Hommage à Kandinsky, 1937, gelatin silver print, 17.7 x 14 cm

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Experimentations photographiques, 1938 – 1948, gelatin silver print, 39 x 28 cm, private collection

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Bewegung [Move], 1940, later gelatin silver print solarisation, 39 x  26 cm, private collection

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Stilleben mit Archipenko [Vanity with Archipenko], 1943, vintage print Agfa paper, 29.8 x 23.4 cm, private collection

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Stilleben mit Archipenko [Vanity with Archipenko], 1943, vintage print Agfa paper, 29.8 x 23.4 cm, private collection

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Untitled, 1968, gelatin silver print

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Structures Spatiales (pourpre), 1979, chromogenic print on Kodak, 29.7 x 30 cm, private collection

Magazine
Linked articles
Explore
Linked themes
Artists
Discover other artists

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Marta Hoepffner

1912Pirmasens, Allemagne | 2000Lindenberg im Allgäu, Allemagne
Informations
Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Self-Portrait in Mirror, 1941, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 35,4 x 28,9 cm, The Audrey and Sydney Irmas Collection

Photographe allemande.

Marta Hoepffner, nièce d’Hugo Ball, fait partie du groupe restreint de photographes qui, resté en Allemagne sous le national-socialisme, assure la continuité entre la recherche photographique avant-gardiste des années 1920 et celle de l’après-guerre. Dans son travail abstrait se mêlent références à l’abstraction picturale et procédés de la Nouvelle Vision. Sa formation à la Kunstschule de Francfort (1929-1933) a été sur ce point déterminante : la ville, nouveau foyer moderne de l’Allemagne, a rivalisé avec l’effervescence culturelle de Berlin ou de Weimar. Initiée à la photographie par son professeur Willi Baumeister, qui diffuse à ses élèves les travaux de László Moholy-Nagy, Man Ray ou encore Herbert Bayer, Hoepffner s’engage immédiatement dans la photographie expérimentale. La lecture de Peinture, photographie, film (1925) de Moholy-Nagy ne fait que renforcer cette aspiration. Elle profite de ses années de formation pour se familiariser avec les techniques photographiques des avant-gardes (solarisation, exposition multiple, surexposition ou encore photomontage), mais reste attachée au médium pictural.

L’exposition Vom Abbild zum Sinnbild au Städelsmuseum de Francfort en 1931 et ses multiples visites à Paris en 1937 enrichissent sa connaissance de la peinture abstraite et sont décisives dans l’élaboration de son imaginaire artistique. Ce vocabulaire innovant est mis à profit dans certaines compositions au rendu irréel pour le journal Das Illustrierte Blatt (1936-1938) mais aussi dans des photogrammes tenus secrets (Hommage à Kandinsky, 1937) pour défendre l’esthétique moderniste proscrite par le régime nazi.

Après la guerre, Hoepffner se consacre pleinement à la création de photogrammes en couleurs à l’aide du procédé de polarisation. Ce travail sur la révélation de la lumière blanche et de l’effet optique produit n’est en réalité qu’un premier pas vers quelque chose de plus ambitieux : le cinétisme. Les lightboxes sont en effet la transposition en trois dimensions de ses photogrammes. Elles présentent de multiples affinités avec le Modulateur espace-lumière (1930) de Moholy-Nagy : elles font non seulement le lien entre la photographie et les jeux d’ombres et de lumière, mais donnent également l’impression, par leur aspect pictural, que la lumière est en train de peindre ce qui apparaît sous nos yeux. Enfin, Hoepffner s’est distinguée par son rôle de professeure dans l’école de photographie qu’elle fonde en 1949. Aux côtés de sa sœur Madeleine et de sa compagne et photographe Irm Schoeffers, ses cours visaient surtout une exploration technique, expérimentale et totale de la photographie.

Lire plus

Laura Weber

Publication en partenariat avec le Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre de l’exposition Elles font l’abstraction présentée au Centre Pompidou, Musée national d’art moderne, Galerie 1, Paris, du 5 mai au 23 août 2021, sous le commissariat de Christine Macel et de Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska (pour la photographie), assistées de Laure Chauvelot. Notice tirée du catalogue de l’exposition publié par les éditions du Centre Pompidou ©Éditions du Centre Pompidou, 2021

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Hommage à Kandinsky, 1937, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 17,7 x 14 cm

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Experimentations photographiques, 1938 – 1948, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 39 x 28 cm, collection particulière

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Bewegung [Bouge-toi], 1940, solarisation à la gélatine argentique, faite ultérieurement, 39 x  26 cm, collection particulière

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Self-Portrait in Mirror, 1941, épreuve gélatino-argentique, 35,4 x 28,9 cm, The Audrey and Sydney Irmas Collection

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Stilleben mit Archipenko [Vanité avec Archipenko], 1943, impression d’époque sur papier Agfa, 29,8 x 23,4 cm, collection particulière

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Hoepffner, Untitled, 1968, épreuve gélatino-argentique

Marta Hoepffner — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Marta Heopffner, Structures Spatiales (pourpre), 1979, impression chromogénique sur Kodak, 29,7 x 30 cm, collection particulière

Magazine
Articles liés
Découvrir
Thèmes liés
Artistes
Découvrir d'autres artistes

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Facebook - AWARE Twitter - AWARE Instagram - AWARE
Villa Vassilieff - 21, avenue du Maine 75015 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29