Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Ilse Bing

1899Frankfurt am Main, Germany | 1998New York, United States
Informations
Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Self portrait, 1934, silver print, 27,9 x 21,6 cm, 11 x 8 1/2 in., Courtesy Collection Karsten Greve, © Estate Ilse Bing

Photographe allemande.

Nicknamed the Queen of Leica in the 1930s, Ilse Bing was an avant-garde photographer and photojournalism pioneer. Similar to Bauhaus in her abstraction, to Surrealism in her poetry, and to the modernist movement Nouvelle Vision in her attention to geometry, her work includes both portraits and fashion, architecture, and landscape photography. Along with her fellow-photographers Brassaï, Man Ray, Florence Henri, and Dora Maar, she contributed to making Paris the capital of photography in the 30s.
After studying mathematics and art history in Frankfurt and Vienna, she took up photography in 1923. She started out as a photojournalist and quickly made a name for herself in the press and illustrated magazines, including Frankfurter Illustrierte in 1929. According to the photographer Gisèle Freund, what persuaded Bing to move to Paris in 1930 were Florence Henri’s photographs. Upon arriving in Paris, the young woman was quickly recognised by the avant-garde circles. Her pictures were exhibited and published in many magazines, such as Vu, Arts et métiers graphiques, L’Art vivant, and Harper’s Bazaar, placing her at the heart of the golden age of illustrated magazines.

Using exclusively a small Leica, she worked on modernist motifs – geometrical and industrial landscapes, railways, stations. Some of her pictures, especially those of the Eiffel Tower (1931), with their metallic motifs and striking camera angles, are reminiscent of Germaine Krull and the Nouvelle Vision movement. Paris, Windows With Flags, Bastille Day (1933) also plays on the geometrical repetition of the windows and tricolour flags. Her Parisian period is also marked by a strong dreamlike quality – the whirling dancers at the Moulin-Rouge (French Can-can Dancers series, Paris, 1931) and nostalgic poetry found in the multitude of small details she encountered. Her close-ups of the Alexander III Bridge (1935) and of chairs in Parisian parks, puddles of water, and shop signs (Boucherie chevaline [Horse-meat Butcher’s], 1933), develop a vision that restores the enchanted facet of Paris through its particularities, a method also developed by the Surrealists at the time. The photographer also tried her hand at experimental photography, with solarisations of Parisian fountains (Place de la Concorde and Rond-Point des Champs-Élysées, 1934), and dance photography (Ballet Errante, 1933).

Her most famous photograph, Self-Portrait With Leica (1931), can be interpreted as a symbol. In this picture, the artist designates herself as the central figure of the historic moment that the 1930s were for photography, and makes the Leica a character in its own right. This cult, portable and lightweight device was the symbol of modernism; its user-friendliness made it an embodiment of the extension of the eye and revolutionised photography. It served the modern conception of photography as the art of capturing images in the flow of reality. This conception was shared in part by the artist, for whom the camera constituted a way of breaking the boundary between dreams and reality, and of capturing snatches of fantasy and imagination in the real world. The photographer is particularly marked by the world of childhood and fantasy, as is visible in the many pictures she took of festivals and fairgrounds. In 1940, Ilse Bing, a German Jew, was detained at the Pyrenean concentration camp of Gurs, waiting for an American visa. She fled to New York in 1941 and resumed her work as a photographer. But the start of her second career proved difficult, with financial troubles even forcing her to work at a dog-grooming parlour. In 1959, she put an end to her professional photography career and started making experimental compositions with an 8mm colour Bolex. She began writing poetry and drawing in 1968 and published two books, Words as Vision (1974) and Numbers in Images (1976). Forgotten for almost two decades, her work was rediscovered in the late 70s, when photography became recognised on the international scene. A few of her works were shown in New York at MoMA in 1976, where they came to the public’s attention, then at the Witkin Gallery. In 1982, she published her first book of photographs, Femmes de l’enfance à la vieillesse (Women from the Cradle to Old Age), with a preface by Gisèle Freund. Her crucial position in the history of photography makes her the embodiment of the modernist turning point and the Leica revolution, as well as a symbol of the birth of a new and essential figure of the interwar period: the woman photographer.

Read more

Anne Reverseau

From the Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
© Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions
Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Balayeur, 1947, silver print, 33 x 26,7 cm, 13 x 10 1/2 in., © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, French Can Can Dancers. Moulin Rouge, 1931, silver print, 20,3 x 27,9 cm, 8 x 11 in., © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Versailles, 1931, silver print (executed in 1941), 26 x 34 cm, 10 1/4 x 13 3/8 in., © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Avenue Du Maine, 1932, silver print, 19,1 x 27,9 cm, 7 1/2 x 11 in., ©C ourtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Self portrait, 1934, silver print, 27,9 x 21,6 cm, 11 x 8 1/2 in., © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Index
Related artists
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29

Archives
of Women Artists
Research
& Exhibitions

Soutenir AWARE

Ilse Bing

1899Francfort-sur-le-Main, Allemagne | 1998New York, États-Unis
Informations
Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Self portrait, 1934, tirage argentique d’époque, 27,9 x 21,6 cm, Courtesy Collection Karsten Greve, © Estate Ilse Bing

Photographe allemande.

Surnommée la Reine du Leica dans les années 1930, Ilse Bing est une photographe d’avant-garde ainsi qu’une pionnière du photojournalisme. Proche à la fois du Bauhaus par l’abstraction, du surréalisme par la poésie et du mouvement moderniste appelé Nouvelle Vision par l’attention à la géométrie, son oeuvre rassemble des portraits et des photographies de mode, d’architecture et de paysages. Avec Brassaï, Man Ray, Florence Henri et Dora Maar, elle contribue à faire de Paris la capitale de la photographie dans les années 1930.
Après des études de mathématiques puis d’histoire de l’art à Francfort et à Vienne, elle aborde la photographie en 1923. Elle débute comme photojournaliste et se fait rapidement une place dans la presse et les magazines illustrés : en 1929, elle travaille pour le Frankfurter Illustrierte. Selon la photographe Gisèle Freund, ce sont les images de F. Henri qui l’ont incitée à venir s’installer à Paris en 1930. À son arrivée, la jeune femme est rapidement reconnue par les milieux d’avant-garde ; ses images sont exposées et publiées dans de nombreux magazines comme Vu, Arts et métiers graphiques, L’Art vivant ou Harper’s Bazaar. Elle participe ainsi pleinement à l’âge d’or du magazine illustré.

En utilisant exclusivement un petit Leica, elle travaille alors les motifs modernistes : paysages géométriques et industriels, rails, gares. Certaines de ses images, en particulier celles de la tour Eiffel (1931), évoquent Germaine Krull et la Nouvelle Vision avec leurs motifs métalliques et leurs angles de vue saisissants. Paris, Windows With Flags, Bastille Day (1933) joue aussi sur la répétition géométrique des fenêtres et des drapeaux tricolores. La période parisienne est également marquée par un grand onirisme : tourbillon des danses au Moulin-Rouge (série French can-can Dancers, Paris, 1931) et poésie nostalgique faite d’une foule de petits détails qui la surprennent. Ses plans rapprochés sur le pont Alexandre III (1935), ses gros plans de chaises dans les squares parisiens, de flaques d’eau, d’enseignes (Boucherie chevaline, 1933), développent une vision de Paris participant au réenchantement de la ville par ses particularités, comme le pratiquent au même moment les surréalistes. La photographe s’essaie également à la photographie expérimentale avec des solarisations de fontaines parisiennes (Place de la Concorde et Rond-point des Champs-Élysées, 1934) ainsi qu’à la photographie de danse (Ballet Errante, 1933).

Sa photographie la plus célèbre, Autoportrait au Leica (1931), peut être interprétée comme un symbole. Dans cette image, l’artiste se désigne comme figure centrale du moment historique que sont les années 1930 pour la photographie et fait du Leica un personnage à part entière. Cet appareil culte, maniable et léger, symbole du modernisme, incarne le prolongement du regard et révolutionne la photographie par sa facilité d’utilisation. Il sert la conception moderne de la photographie comme art de capturer des images dans le flot de la réalité, conception qui est en partie celle de l’artiste pour qui l’appareil photographique constitue un moyen d’abolir la frontière entre le rêve et la réalité, de faire advenir de purs instants de fantaisie et d’imagination arrachés au réel. Aussi la photographe est-elle très marquée par l’univers de l’enfance et par le merveilleux, comme le montrent ses nombreuses images de foires et de fêtes foraines. En 1940, I. Bing, juive et allemande, est internée dans le camp de concentration pyrénéen de Gurs, où elle attend son visa pour les États-Unis. En 1941, elle s’installe à New York où elle reprend son travail de photographe. Mais le démarrage de sa seconde carrière est difficile : en proie à des problèmes financiers, elle est même contrainte de travailler dans un salon de toilettage pour chiens. En 1959, elle met fin à son activité photographique professionnelle et réalise des compositions expérimentales avec un Bolex 8 mm couleur. En 1968, elle pratique poésie et dessin, puis elle publie deux livres, Words as Vision (1974) et Numbers in Images (1976). Oublié pendant presque vingt ans, son travail est redécouvert à la fin des années 1970, au moment où la photographie est reconnue sur la scène internationale Quelques-uns de ses travaux sont montrés à New York au Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) en 1976, où ils sont remarqués, puis à la Witkin Gallery. En 1982, elle publie son premier livre de photographies, Femmes de l’enfance à la vieillesse, préfacé par G. Freund. Occupant une position cruciale dans l’histoire de la photographie, elle incarne le tournant moderniste et la révolution du Leica, en même temps qu’elle symbolise l’apparition d’une nouvelle figure essentielle de l’entre-deux-guerres, celle de la femme photographe.

Lire plus

Anne Reverseau

Extrait du Dictionnaire universel des créatrices
© 2013 Des femmes – Antoinette Fouque
Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Balayeur, 1947, tirage argentique d’époque, 33 x 26,7 cm, © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, French Can Can Dancers. Moulin Rouge, 1931, tirage argentique d’époque, 20,3 x 27,9 cm, © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Versailles, 1931, tirage argentique (réalisé en 1941), 26 x 34 cm, © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Avenue Du Maine, 1932, tirage argentique d’époque, 19,1 x 27,9 cm, © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Ilse Bing — AWARE Women artists / Femmes artistes

Ilse Bing, Self portrait, 1934, tirage argentique d’époque, 27,9 x 21,6 cm, © Courtesy the Estate of Ilse Bing / Courtesy Collection Karsten and Claudia Greve

Index
Artistes liées
110 boulevard Saint Germain 75006 Paris (France) — info[at]aware-art[.]org — +33 (0)1 55 26 90 29